LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat 9
Reviews Views Date of last review
84 395750 07-21-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $44.23 7.4



Description: Controversial release from Red Hat, this version fixes many of the bugs found in version 8. Bluecurve theme in Gnome and KDE unifies both desktops. As Newbie and/or Guru friendly as you like.
Keywords: RH9 Red Hat 9


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-12-2003, 11:27 AM   #1
XavierP
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,176

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Apt4RPM, Up2Date and the Red Hat Network together make this a very easy to update distro
Cons: Bluecurve - not everyone likes it.



I am new to using Linux but not to knowing about it. The install eventually went very smoothly. All the packages I chose worked fine and it detected both my printer and my graphics card. My modem connected via ethernet card was also detected and installed.

Bearing in mind that most distros have a large number of graphics cards (albeit with generic drivers) which install immediately, why can't one manufacturer bring out a cd with full drivers on and give you the option to install them or not?

I find RedHat very easy to use - I had to do lots of tweaking to make the desktop look the way I wanted it to - but now I have KDE updated it looks just fine.

I would recommend this product to newbies as the install is very simple and the distro comes with a large number of programs preinstalled - Mozilla, Galeon, KOffice, Evolution, games, etc, etc. This means that any user will not have the hassle of searching out sites for these programs.
 
Old 06-13-2003, 09:41 PM   #2
jt1020
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Fedora Core 5, Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 537

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Widely used, excellent community support, lots of innovation.
Cons: Limited product life-span of the free edition, poor multimedia support.


Red Hat was my first distro, I tried Red Hat 9 and the install went flawlessly without a hitch... I haven't encountered any problems yet. Its pretty stable AFAIK...

I have heard some feedbacks about Red Hat 9 that it is running very slow compared to other distro and older versions of Red Hat. Red Hat doesn't have mp3 support also, but you can download the xmms plug in for it to be able to play mp3s...
 
Old 06-16-2003, 03:59 AM   #3
pe2338
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: debian etch, sarge and sid
Posts: 407

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: easy to install, looks and feels good
Cons: rpm is really messed up..., tends to look and move more and more like WinXP


I tried RH 9.0 after a nice experince with RH 7.2. The first impression was "WOW":
- my samba server worked out from the start with no text editing of the smb.conf (I'm in a MS network)
- impressed by the smb graphic browser
- bluecurve was really neat and SLOW with a strong winXP lookalike


That was the first impression. Then I realized that I coudn't find the GnoRPM utility, but a "Add/Remove Programs"(sounds familliar to MS users?) menu that looked very much alike the same utility from winXP.
At first I said : "ok they must attract the newbies, let's use it".

Total disappointment : the libraries were on the disk after the removal of the OpenOffice suite although noboby needed it.
Ok, then I will remove them from the console with RPM... - that's what I thought then. After some work I found out that "*NONE*" of the packages from the CDs were installed - that's what RPM reported. I tried to convice it otherways(parameters, reinstalations of rpms, removal - all from the console - they all tended to eat more and more disk space and get lost from rpm's point of view), but I couldn't.

To RedHat : is RPM - RedHat Package Manager - are you geting rid of it?

I was angry : only 200MB of free disk space and no apps installed, just their libraries.

Solution :
1 - Reinstall from scrath with my options set up really straight from anaconda, then god help me.
2 - Migrate to Debian - my present distro
 
Old 06-16-2003, 09:24 AM   #4
kvbx
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


 
Old 06-29-2003, 10:29 AM   #5
nakkaya
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Emacs and linux is its device driver(Slackware,redhat)
Posts: 1,398

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: widely used,has the cleanest interface among others,the only dist that never complained about my hardware
Cons: needs some tweaking after install


 
Old 07-01-2003, 12:49 PM   #6
ghight
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Centos, RedHat Enterprise, Slackware
Posts: 524

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: APT4RPM, easy to understand file system, LVM setup is as good as it gets
Cons: Default install is slow, downloading 3 CDs is annoying


Using webmin as a remote management console, I can put this server is some far away closet and never have to see it again. Despite what others say, RH is very reliable and I feel comfortable enough with its tools to make changes to the setup and not have to worry about breaking it. Although some will tell you that commandline is the only way,... I have found RH's tools to make for a very consistent, easy-to-configure server.
 
Old 07-02-2003, 01:47 AM   #7
buddy_epson
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: RH
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: fairly easy to install, seemingly plentiful drivers
Cons: silly bugs, nothing major though


I've used 7.3, which wasn't very impressive, 8.0 which works pretty well but needs more drivers, and now 9. Installation was pretty painless, and my hardware was detected. However, when I changed from my 17" to a 14" monitor, Linux loaded but when the graphical login began, the screen went blank, so I had to put back the other monitor and set the resolution down. This shouldn't have been necessary, as the 14" monitor has had no problems with 1024x768. Also, my ps/2 keyboard wouldn't work with a USB mouse installed. Another mouse problem was when I changed mouse setup (testing the 3 button vs. wheel mouse configuration), the mouse pointer went ape-sh*t and started selecting every menu and program in sight. Upon resetting (which was tough since the mouse was going crazy) the mouse then worked properly. Silly. I've also had a few incidents where upon logging out the log-in screen was totally blank except for the field to enter your name (no words however). I logged in and back out and the log-in screen was normal again. This has happened a few times in the last few days.
Also, I couldn't get my digital camera to work. The prog had the camera model name but not number, and it wouldn't recognize the camera no matter what.

They've finally started organizing the start menu, (about time), so things are easier to find. As usual, RH comes with boatloads of programs, (scientific, publishing, programming) this is a MAJOR plus.

I think RH9 is simply too new. I'll probably go back to RH8 and wait for more bugfixes before switching to RH9. Most of the problems are fairly minor, so I'll still give this distro a "good" rating. Just don't get too silly with it and it'll probably work OK.

I still wish I could play Vietcong on this mofo.
 
Old 07-10-2003, 02:41 PM   #8
JesterXXV
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.1
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy - everything worked right away
Cons: No native MPEG support, only two window managers


I was pleased with how easy it was to install. My sound card, printer, internet, etc. worked on the first boot. I was disappointed, however, that there was no native MPEG movie support (as far as I could tell...I had to get xine and mplayer myself). I also wish there were more window manager/desktop environment choices pre-installed than just KDE and GNOME, although it's not hard to get them yourself.

p.s. - I haven't tried any other distros yet, so take this for what it's worth.
 
Old 07-11-2003, 10:21 AM   #9
Power_Penguin
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: seting up your own apache server is not really hard tons of redhat stuff
Cons: RPMs are a joke, spotty hardware support


I found red hat dificult and would not recomend it as a newbie distro install was ok but the X server has "issues" however when I had it (I was not as good at computers then) I could fix it .also I have used redhat on 2 computers and the audio was nonexistant on both
all that said red hat is not hard to use but not easy either (according to me)
 
Old 07-13-2003, 10:34 AM   #10
Satriani
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Red Hat 7.3, Red Hat 9, Solaris8, Slackware 10, Slax on USB, AIX, FreeBSD, WinXP, AIX, Ubuntu
Posts: 418

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install, recognizes alost all hardware
Cons: Hard to customize to your flavour


As a linux newbie I started out with Redhat 7.3 . Later I upgraded to RH9, but immediately (for some strange reason) I hated it. It looked plain ugly to me, I couldn't find anything anymore. I just felt like a windoze XP (teletubbied) user. So i deinstalled and went back to 7.3

Later i did a fresh install of RH9 to try again, and spent some time customizing it. It now works fine for me. I only miss the kpackage-feature or gnoRPM, as mentioned before in this thread.

Would i recommend it to others? Definitely! Despite my first impressions, I have found RH9 a stable product with much possibilities to customize. For new Linux users its a great step to just use the graphical environment to setup and use linux, without using the shell.
For more experienced users, I wouldn't know. I am still not that experienced, hahaha.
I did try mandrake, but that completely messed up my entire system. I am now trying Debian Woody... But RedHat still runs as my main server...

Satch
 
Old 07-15-2003, 08:19 PM   #11
peace
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 214

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Good hardware recognition, easy to use, good docs
Cons: Bluecurve, RPMs


Well, I have been using Red Hat 9 (Shrike) for about a month or two now, and I must say I like it alot, and I would definatly recommend it.

In my opinion, installation was very easy and problem-free. The anaconda installer detected my hardware without too much trouble (unlike 8.0) and it did not take too long. With GNOME and develop packages, it was about 1.7 gigs.

Now one thing that I would put under cons is the Bluecurve "feature". Experienced users may not like it, but in all honesty, most experienced Linux users do not look to Red Hat for their distros. For people new (or fairly new) to the whole Linux world, Bluecurve can be a plus.

With the Red Hat Package Manager, RPM, it is the same as Bluecurve.

So in conclusion I would recommend the Shrike release to anyone in the Suse, Red Hat (previous releases), and Mandrake area. If you are used to the power and flexibility of Gentoo, this is not a good choice for you. The cons very well can be pros if you are an inexperienced user, and therefore I recommend this distro for you.
 
Old 07-15-2003, 09:14 PM   #12
martinman
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Gentoo 1.4
Posts: 290

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $19.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy, reliable, apt4rpm, widely used, no sweat install
Cons: slow until you recompile kernel and toy around with packages


 
Old 07-23-2003, 06:18 AM   #13
sanw2k
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: rh 9,,Mandy 9.1, Lycoris
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: +++
Cons: Network Neighbourhood,xwindow


For the past three years, i am using this RH without any disturbance, even after this i am not getting full satisfied, coz as i mentioned in cons Network neighbourhood, in mandy i feel they are usng linneighbourhood to access nearby win pc,s

other than this, distro will be very good for old as well as new PC's



 
Old 08-09-2003, 07:13 PM   #14
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: easier install, finds most devices, good documentation.
Cons: dependencies, kludged interface, uninstalling apps & kernels, manually mounting/umounting floppies and CDs. Interface could allow for more cusrtomisation, especially the tray icons.


downloaded ftp version, then installed RH Linux 9 Bible version. With the bible version one has to be carfull not to install everything, as the book suggests, as Bigmem, Boot, et. al. will also get installed.

It had no problem with my Audigy1 card, whereas I had to remove it to install SUSE8.2 on another caddy. (The Audigy1 firewire is seen as a network interface.) The plug and play is exceptional.

even though you install GNOME and KDE, both interfaces look pretty much the same, and Konqueror can even be accessed from the GNOME desktop.

one feature which I would like is being able to image copy it to another, larger drive, and have it work right out of the box.

Installing KDE themes can present a nightmare, but that is true of just about any distro, including Debian.

The RH download network needs a little work, as you will have to exit the installer if it finds dependencies - because it will try to install the dependent packages even if you do not want to. But at least most, if not all, of the recompiling and updating is done automatically when installing a package. SUSE8.2 on the other hand will "install" a package much like MS "install when first used" features.

Make sure that you download the kernel sources and have it reside in the HD. ;)
 
Old 08-17-2003, 11:52 PM   #15
blaisepascal
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $140.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation; Good hardware detection
Cons: Even more customization of desktop would be nice


Reason I paid $140 was because I wanted the Professional version, which includes the DVD. (It would be nice if the DVD was available separately, but alas, it isn't, AFAIK.)
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration