LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat 9
Reviews Views Date of last review
84 395367 07-21-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $44.23 7.4



Description: Controversial release from Red Hat, this version fixes many of the bugs found in version 8. Bluecurve theme in Gnome and KDE unifies both desktops. As Newbie and/or Guru friendly as you like.
Keywords: RH9 Red Hat 9


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-12-2003, 11:27 AM   #1
XavierP
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,176

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Apt4RPM, Up2Date and the Red Hat Network together make this a very easy to update distro
Cons: Bluecurve - not everyone likes it.



I am new to using Linux but not to knowing about it. The install eventually went very smoothly. All the packages I chose worked fine and it detected both my printer and my graphics card. My modem connected via ethernet card was also detected and installed.

Bearing in mind that most distros have a large number of graphics cards (albeit with generic drivers) which install immediately, why can't one manufacturer bring out a cd with full drivers on and give you the option to install them or not?

I find RedHat very easy to use - I had to do lots of tweaking to make the desktop look the way I wanted it to - but now I have KDE updated it looks just fine.

I would recommend this product to newbies as the install is very simple and the distro comes with a large number of programs preinstalled - Mozilla, Galeon, KOffice, Evolution, games, etc, etc. This means that any user will not have the hassle of searching out sites for these programs.
 
Old 06-13-2003, 09:41 PM   #2
jt1020
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Fedora Core 5, Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 537

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Widely used, excellent community support, lots of innovation.
Cons: Limited product life-span of the free edition, poor multimedia support.


Red Hat was my first distro, I tried Red Hat 9 and the install went flawlessly without a hitch... I haven't encountered any problems yet. Its pretty stable AFAIK...

I have heard some feedbacks about Red Hat 9 that it is running very slow compared to other distro and older versions of Red Hat. Red Hat doesn't have mp3 support also, but you can download the xmms plug in for it to be able to play mp3s...
 
Old 06-16-2003, 03:59 AM   #3
pe2338
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: debian etch, sarge and sid
Posts: 407

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: easy to install, looks and feels good
Cons: rpm is really messed up..., tends to look and move more and more like WinXP


I tried RH 9.0 after a nice experince with RH 7.2. The first impression was "WOW":
- my samba server worked out from the start with no text editing of the smb.conf (I'm in a MS network)
- impressed by the smb graphic browser
- bluecurve was really neat and SLOW with a strong winXP lookalike


That was the first impression. Then I realized that I coudn't find the GnoRPM utility, but a "Add/Remove Programs"(sounds familliar to MS users?) menu that looked very much alike the same utility from winXP.
At first I said : "ok they must attract the newbies, let's use it".

Total disappointment : the libraries were on the disk after the removal of the OpenOffice suite although noboby needed it.
Ok, then I will remove them from the console with RPM... - that's what I thought then. After some work I found out that "*NONE*" of the packages from the CDs were installed - that's what RPM reported. I tried to convice it otherways(parameters, reinstalations of rpms, removal - all from the console - they all tended to eat more and more disk space and get lost from rpm's point of view), but I couldn't.

To RedHat : is RPM - RedHat Package Manager - are you geting rid of it?

I was angry : only 200MB of free disk space and no apps installed, just their libraries.

Solution :
1 - Reinstall from scrath with my options set up really straight from anaconda, then god help me.
2 - Migrate to Debian - my present distro
 
Old 06-16-2003, 09:24 AM   #4
kvbx
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


 
Old 06-29-2003, 10:29 AM   #5
nakkaya
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Emacs and linux is its device driver(Slackware,redhat)
Posts: 1,398

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: widely used,has the cleanest interface among others,the only dist that never complained about my hardware
Cons: needs some tweaking after install


 
Old 07-01-2003, 12:49 PM   #6
ghight
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Centos, RedHat Enterprise, Slackware
Posts: 524

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: APT4RPM, easy to understand file system, LVM setup is as good as it gets
Cons: Default install is slow, downloading 3 CDs is annoying


Using webmin as a remote management console, I can put this server is some far away closet and never have to see it again. Despite what others say, RH is very reliable and I feel comfortable enough with its tools to make changes to the setup and not have to worry about breaking it. Although some will tell you that commandline is the only way,... I have found RH's tools to make for a very consistent, easy-to-configure server.
 
Old 07-02-2003, 01:47 AM   #7
buddy_epson
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: RH
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: fairly easy to install, seemingly plentiful drivers
Cons: silly bugs, nothing major though


I've used 7.3, which wasn't very impressive, 8.0 which works pretty well but needs more drivers, and now 9. Installation was pretty painless, and my hardware was detected. However, when I changed from my 17" to a 14" monitor, Linux loaded but when the graphical login began, the screen went blank, so I had to put back the other monitor and set the resolution down. This shouldn't have been necessary, as the 14" monitor has had no problems with 1024x768. Also, my ps/2 keyboard wouldn't work with a USB mouse installed. Another mouse problem was when I changed mouse setup (testing the 3 button vs. wheel mouse configuration), the mouse pointer went ape-sh*t and started selecting every menu and program in sight. Upon resetting (which was tough since the mouse was going crazy) the mouse then worked properly. Silly. I've also had a few incidents where upon logging out the log-in screen was totally blank except for the field to enter your name (no words however). I logged in and back out and the log-in screen was normal again. This has happened a few times in the last few days.
Also, I couldn't get my digital camera to work. The prog had the camera model name but not number, and it wouldn't recognize the camera no matter what.

They've finally started organizing the start menu, (about time), so things are easier to find. As usual, RH comes with boatloads of programs, (scientific, publishing, programming) this is a MAJOR plus.

I think RH9 is simply too new. I'll probably go back to RH8 and wait for more bugfixes before switching to RH9. Most of the problems are fairly minor, so I'll still give this distro a "good" rating. Just don't get too silly with it and it'll probably work OK.

I still wish I could play Vietcong on this mofo.
 
Old 07-10-2003, 02:41 PM   #8
JesterXXV
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.1
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy - everything worked right away
Cons: No native MPEG support, only two window managers


I was pleased with how easy it was to install. My sound card, printer, internet, etc. worked on the first boot. I was disappointed, however, that there was no native MPEG movie support (as far as I could tell...I had to get xine and mplayer myself). I also wish there were more window manager/desktop environment choices pre-installed than just KDE and GNOME, although it's not hard to get them yourself.

p.s. - I haven't tried any other distros yet, so take this for what it's worth.
 
Old 07-11-2003, 10:21 AM   #9
Power_Penguin
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: seting up your own apache server is not really hard tons of redhat stuff
Cons: RPMs are a joke, spotty hardware support


I found red hat dificult and would not recomend it as a newbie distro install was ok but the X server has "issues" however when I had it (I was not as good at computers then) I could fix it .also I have used redhat on 2 computers and the audio was nonexistant on both
all that said red hat is not hard to use but not easy either (according to me)
 
Old 07-13-2003, 10:34 AM   #10
Satriani
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Red Hat 7.3, Red Hat 9, Solaris8, Slackware 10, Slax on USB, AIX, FreeBSD, WinXP, AIX, Ubuntu
Posts: 418

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install, recognizes alost all hardware
Cons: Hard to customize to your flavour


As a linux newbie I started out with Redhat 7.3 . Later I upgraded to RH9, but immediately (for some strange reason) I hated it. It looked plain ugly to me, I couldn't find anything anymore. I just felt like a windoze XP (teletubbied) user. So i deinstalled and went back to 7.3

Later i did a fresh install of RH9 to try again, and spent some time customizing it. It now works fine for me. I only miss the kpackage-feature or gnoRPM, as mentioned before in this thread.

Would i recommend it to others? Definitely! Despite my first impressions, I have found RH9 a stable product with much possibilities to customize. For new Linux users its a great step to just use the graphical environment to setup and use linux, without using the shell.
For more experienced users, I wouldn't know. I am still not that experienced, hahaha.
I did try mandrake, but that completely messed up my entire system. I am now trying Debian Woody... But RedHat still runs as my main server...

Satch
 
Old 07-15-2003, 08:19 PM   #11
peace
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 214

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Good hardware recognition, easy to use, good docs
Cons: Bluecurve, RPMs


Well, I have been using Red Hat 9 (Shrike) for about a month or two now, and I must say I like it alot, and I would definatly recommend it.

In my opinion, installation was very easy and problem-free. The anaconda installer detected my hardware without too much trouble (unlike 8.0) and it did not take too long. With GNOME and develop packages, it was about 1.7 gigs.

Now one thing that I would put under cons is the Bluecurve "feature". Experienced users may not like it, but in all honesty, most experienced Linux users do not look to Red Hat for their distros. For people new (or fairly new) to the whole Linux world, Bluecurve can be a plus.

With the Red Hat Package Manager, RPM, it is the same as Bluecurve.

So in conclusion I would recommend the Shrike release to anyone in the Suse, Red Hat (previous releases), and Mandrake area. If you are used to the power and flexibility of Gentoo, this is not a good choice for you. The cons very well can be pros if you are an inexperienced user, and therefore I recommend this distro for you.
 
Old 07-15-2003, 09:14 PM   #12
martinman
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Gentoo 1.4
Posts: 290

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $19.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy, reliable, apt4rpm, widely used, no sweat install
Cons: slow until you recompile kernel and toy around with packages


 
Old 07-23-2003, 06:18 AM   #13
sanw2k
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: rh 9,,Mandy 9.1, Lycoris
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: +++
Cons: Network Neighbourhood,xwindow


For the past three years, i am using this RH without any disturbance, even after this i am not getting full satisfied, coz as i mentioned in cons Network neighbourhood, in mandy i feel they are usng linneighbourhood to access nearby win pc,s

other than this, distro will be very good for old as well as new PC's



 
Old 08-09-2003, 07:13 PM   #14
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: easier install, finds most devices, good documentation.
Cons: dependencies, kludged interface, uninstalling apps & kernels, manually mounting/umounting floppies and CDs. Interface could allow for more cusrtomisation, especially the tray icons.


downloaded ftp version, then installed RH Linux 9 Bible version. With the bible version one has to be carfull not to install everything, as the book suggests, as Bigmem, Boot, et. al. will also get installed.

It had no problem with my Audigy1 card, whereas I had to remove it to install SUSE8.2 on another caddy. (The Audigy1 firewire is seen as a network interface.) The plug and play is exceptional.

even though you install GNOME and KDE, both interfaces look pretty much the same, and Konqueror can even be accessed from the GNOME desktop.

one feature which I would like is being able to image copy it to another, larger drive, and have it work right out of the box.

Installing KDE themes can present a nightmare, but that is true of just about any distro, including Debian.

The RH download network needs a little work, as you will have to exit the installer if it finds dependencies - because it will try to install the dependent packages even if you do not want to. But at least most, if not all, of the recompiling and updating is done automatically when installing a package. SUSE8.2 on the other hand will "install" a package much like MS "install when first used" features.

Make sure that you download the kernel sources and have it reside in the HD. ;)
 
Old 08-17-2003, 11:52 PM   #15
blaisepascal
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $140.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation; Good hardware detection
Cons: Even more customization of desktop would be nice


Reason I paid $140 was because I wanted the Professional version, which includes the DVD. (It would be nice if the DVD was available separately, but alas, it isn't, AFAIK.)
 
Old 08-20-2003, 04:42 AM   #16
Andy@DP
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu
Posts: 208

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Quick Install (25mins), Full range of packages, Good Lookin ;)
Cons: ADSL modem support (speedtouch 330)



I d/l'ed RH9 and installed within 30 mins of burning the disks. How all that great software can be ready to run in half an hour is beyond me.
I just reinstalled WinXP Pro a few weeks ago and it took me 5 hours (!) for install of OS/drivers plus essential software (Office, studio MX etc).
30 mins compared to 5hrs, you decide!

Only problem was my Speedtouch 330 ADSL modem. But without the problems with the install script that would have been done in 2mins. (Anyone else with speedtouch probs email me for files and script)

Best thing I've ever done!
 
Old 08-24-2003, 11:55 PM   #17
Caeda
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Suse 6.0+, Mandrake 5.0-10.0, Redhat 6.0-9.0, Gentoo 1.2+, Gnoppix, Knoppix, Sabayon, Ubuntu 5.04+
Posts: 1,811

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 2

Pros: Name, Customer Support.
Cons: Features, drivers.


Its terrible for laptops, it has no acpi without recompiling the kernel. It often gets laptop video cards wrong, or sets up the displays incorrectly leaving the user stuck in text mode. It would also be nice to be able to see more of what redhat is actually installing. It offers you very little choices, grouping things into large sets such as "Office" "Server" "Sources."
This distro causes a lot of headaches cured by switcing to mandrake or suse.
 
Old 08-25-2003, 09:35 PM   #18
cnjohnson
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: FreeBSD, Linux, OS-X
Posts: 544

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Ease of install, hardware recognition, apt4rpm, dedication to open source
Cons: Clunky wireless support


I like Redhat's business model of providing a solid distro for which one must buy corporate support. This fosters the development and growth of a support community like the one found here at LQ. The number of people offering free support for Redhat continues to grow. Moreover, I appreciate Redhat's dedication to "Open Source" software. One does not find software of questionable predigree in Redhat. Want to play MP3's? No problem, go get the software, but be aware that MP3's are not "Open Source." This fosters the growth of the Open Source movement by fostering Open Source alternatives, like OGG instead of MP3. Overall, a good distro.
 
Old 08-27-2003, 09:13 PM   #19
js_530
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 162

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, nice support, updated RPM's
Cons: Easy to use (for you linux guru's), up2date program makes system really slow while it's running


Great if you want to switch to Linux. Easy to setup with alot of GUI configuration programs.
 
Old 09-17-2003, 06:42 AM   #20
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: the error of installing PCTEL modem
Cons: modem


I have the device of PCTEL MODEM .and REDHAT 9.0
I have intalled the PCTEL MODEM step by step.But when was in step 2.(./cofigure --with-hal=pct789)
configure: error: modversions.h is missing - you should configure your kernel first!
I checked file "modversions.h" ,it's right in the path.
why .
how can i do for these
 
Old 09-22-2003, 08:05 AM   #21
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


VMWARE LINUX HOST

hi, i have dual operating system redhat + MSW2K i have installed VMWARE desktop v4.
my question is how do i configure VMWARE (under windows) to detect the existing linux red hat OS and use it.

Cheers

Roger
 
Old 09-24-2003, 03:04 PM   #22
christer
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Red Hat 9
Posts: 131

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Name, Ease of Use, Quick Installation, User Friendly
Cons: Minor Bugs - These are to be found on any OS


I have been using Linux off & on for years now and have been waiting for a Distro that doesn't require quite so much tweaking on my end. I have been surprised with Red Hat 9.0 as it has been very easy to configure.

In the past I have tried Slackware and Mandrake but these needed a lot of tweaking. It took a lot of effort to get them setup and they were still lacking all the support I was looking for.

So far, in the 3 days I have had Red Hat 9 I have been able to use everything that I'm accustomed to. This week I've been trying to find a reason to drop RH9 but I haven't been able to find one. I can still use my Digital Camera, I have great IM support (gAIM), Web Browsing that rivals IE with FireBird and a great E-Mail client - ThunderBird!

It is true that RH9 doesn't come with native mp3 support but installing the plugin for XMMS is very easy! This is NOT something to worry about.

I am still testing other aspects of this Distro but as of now I'm ready to clean my Windows partitions and go straight Linux--something I haven't been able to do in the past.

I would recommend this Distro!
 
Old 09-28-2003, 08:33 AM   #23
gill1109
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Redhat 9
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: v. smooth install, reliable system, large user community hence easy to get advice
Cons: some important apps not included [but good learning experience to fix this yourself...]


I think redhat 9 is an excellent choice for a newbie, or for someone who doesn't want to spend much time tweaking their system and but just get a job done. The software which isn't included in the distro is usually easily available as rpm specially made for RH9. There is lots of good advice to be found on the web, e.g. this forum and especially the red hat 9 pages at "the easy linux guide"
http://members.rogers.com/ctmlinux/
 
Old 10-01-2003, 04:44 AM   #24
dae510
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: install, bluecurve
Cons: ssslllooowww, messed up mbr


first of all i'm a total linux newbie, i dlded RH9, because i bought an old pc PII that primarily had to serve as an external harddrive for my laptop. after that i tried installing it as a desktop on the laptop... both experiences have been quite different...

PII
the install went very smoothly no problems whatsoever, i was able to run a graphical interface though as expected that was slow : that was no problem since i didn't want to use a monitor on that pc... samba setup was quite easy : i did the basic setup in graphical mode, maintenance and modifs are now exclusively done with ssh. i also have apache, php, mysql running for tests and toying around no problems at all.

PIII-750-128MB laptop
since i was so happy with RH9 on the old pc and the "external hard drive" helped free up some space on the laptop i thought : why not...
the install was very smooth just as it was on the other machine with one serious BUT, i wasn't able to boot into XP anymore after the install. i didn't mind to much since my documents were moved to the other pc. so we boot RH9, graphical login : pretty, interface : pretty. everything worked except the acpi stuff and linmodem of course. but the overall impression was it was way too slow. i'm used to running xp on that laptop which runs very fast and to be honest i was hoping Linux would be even faster : NOT:), programs startup slow, close slow... i know that in linux you're able to tweak your system as much as you like, but since i didn't even know why it was slow i tried to fix the dual boot. but that went horribly wrong : format c: reinstall XP

conclusion : mixed emotions, maybe should've tried harder but that's for when i don't call myself a newbie anymore,

d
 
Old 10-02-2003, 04:57 PM   #25
KeTrueno
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: redhat 9
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: easy to install, great bundled software, nice gui and great options
Cons: easy to mess up for a newb, WINEX & radeon 9700pro...holy God...


I have bobbled with linux a little before, but I had always been too busy to make the leap from windows... I finally decided that I would do this and I decided before moving to something like BSD, Linux was an obvious choice... Redhat seemed like it offered enough support and was basic enough for someone who knew nothing.

Installation is a snap, all of my hardware was recognized (i didn't try my hauppauge wintv card). I had to install RH 3 times because, due to my lack of experience, I wasn't sure what XFree86 was installed so I somehow messed up everything trying to upgrade to something I already had. My third time around I learned alot and found out things are really not too hard with the proper help from forums. Everyone on this site was helpful and there was plenty of information if someone is willing enough to look for it.

Redhat's gui looks great, the bundled software is awesome! I'm used to countless installs on a windows box just to get a decent word processor and all the updates and drivers in place.... red hat did a great job of doing almost all of this for me! I thought it was fantastic to get gaim bundled in as well as open office right with the original install... I was dissappointed with the lack of some automated upgrade program, but I, shortly after install, found out about apt and was totally satisfied. Great operating system speed wise as well!

My only qualms with redhat are the difficulties installing wineX. I probably have not put enough effort into this seeings that I spent about 4 days almost straight trying to figure out how to install ati drivers (didn't know about kernel headers). I haven't learned this much in a long time though so I'm definently not complaining. Once I realized the newest XFree86 is bundled I was extremely happy as well. Installing wineX with my radeon 9700pro has grown to be just too much for me... that is why i'm taking redhat off and trying mandrake... knowing my luck i will have the same problems, BUT its worth a try....


Either way you look at it, redhat is a great distro and compared to my previous attempts at rh 7 I would have to say I'm extremely pleased. For newbies, this isn't a bad choice, but if you are very new, be prepared to do some major work (probably less than a lot of other distros, but still a lot compared to having directx bundled as well as double click on everything).

 
Old 10-03-2003, 01:45 AM   #26
sadhanandh
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: RedHat
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Refreshing UI (Bluecurve), good hardware support (My USB stick got on immdtly)
Cons: Many applications/applets were missing, No MP3 support, No default media player to play videos...


 
Old 10-04-2003, 01:28 AM   #27
beatlelane
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Bayanihan+RH9+FC1
Posts: 68

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy installation for both textmode and GUI, a very good linux starter product for windows defector.
Cons: Documentation focus more on the gui, lack of multimedia software.


Kernel sources not included in workstation install for which will confuse a newbie into recompiling the kernel and installing alsa like sources.
 
Old 10-15-2003, 09:05 AM   #28
grub
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Redhat 9
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install, nice hardware identification, and alot more ...
Cons: Yet to tweak


RedHat 9 is really wonderful.
It identified my graphics card, sound card and modem without any hitch.
(For which I was facing problems in 7.3 and 8)

It is really great.
 
Old 11-01-2003, 06:49 PM   #29
derrickdp
 
Registered: Jul 2002
Distribution: Mandriva 2007.0, OpenSuse 10.2
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable
Cons: The default gui is kinda silly, GNOME & KDE were fine


I started using Redhat at 5.? when I bought a book about it. It was my web server, firewall, and router all wrapped up in one package. At that time, I only used it occationaly(-10%). As I changed version, I started using it more than just "protection" for my windows machine. Now using 9.0, I use it majority of the time (90+%).

Reguardless of what people say about RPM(s), I think it is right up there with sliced bread. I love it! I know everyone millege will very, but RPM(s) makes this my distro of choice.

I don't use Linux because I hate microsoft, I use it because it is cheap, fast, and stable. I have tried other distro's but I like RH because for my HW and my purpose.
 
Old 11-02-2003, 06:08 PM   #30
Pete Dogg
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.0, RedHat 7.3, Mandrake 9.2
Posts: 178

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Nice GUI, Easy Network Neighborhood browser, Easy Install
Cons: Ugly Fonts, No MP3 Support, Bad Floppy and CDROM support, bad package manager


I'm reviewing this product from the point of view of someone who has been using Linux daily (but not exclusively) for over a year. I have used Mandrake 9.0 and RedHat 9.0

When you start the RedHat installation process, RedHat asks you to check your media. This is an extra ugly step for most users, but it probably saves a lot of trouble for some users who have burnt CDs with errors.

The install for RedHat is easy. It found all the hardware on my box and partitioned the hard drive without me having to specify any specifics. Mandrake did almost as well, but gave me troubles with the sound card.

RedHat's system for picking which software you want installed is oversimplified. So it's probably good if it's the first time you've installed linux. But for anyone else, it's trash. Also once RedHat is installed there is no GUI for selecting specific packages and having the dependencies resolved for you. Mandrake has those features.

RedHat does not have proper support for floppy disk and CDROMs. The default GUI for RedHat 9 is GNOME and this doesn't allow you anyway of accessing the Floppy or CDROM from the Desktop. When you insert a floppy disk or CDROM the icon for it is supposed to magically appear, which doesnt work consistently and it not intuitive for any users. Beginner or Expert.
If you use the KDE desktop you will get a permanent Floppy link, which improves the situation slightly.
Mandrake has Excellent support for Floppy and CDROM via it's Removable Media icon on the desktop which is always there.
RedHat also locks the CDROM drive which doesnt let you just press the eject button and get your CD back. Mandrake and Windows XP give you your CD back when you press eject, as it should be.

For Word Processing, RedHat is not good. The default fonts are ugly. I also had major troubles with fonts and upgrading OpenOffice. Do not use GNOME if you want to write documents, it has spotty support for OpenOffice and will you lead down a road of headaches, stick to KDE it's a more professional and stable desktop.

RedHat has put a nice "Network Neighborhood" style link in the GNOME desktop menu but forgot to put that same style link on KDE.

One thing that RedHat did do well was make GNOME and KDE's seem more similar.

A huge plus for RedHat is that the availability of free RPMs on the Internet is much superior to any other distro. This makes life simplier for average level users. Newbies still can't install software on RedHat.

Another plus for redhat was there easy and obvious update feature which sits in the bottom right corner next to the clock. Mandrake has an easy update program, but you have to dig for it.

RedHat does not come with MP3 support, and it is not easy to install. It's actually quite difficult.

RedHat does not update the desktop software that comes with the distro. They should not distribute GAIM, OpenOffice, Mozilla if they are not willing to provide timely upgrades. Mandrake has this same problem.
The CD burning software that comes with RedHat is garbage.

Overall the bottom line was that I was impressed with Mandrake 9 and I was disappointed by RedHat 9.

RedHat 9 was definitely worth the $0 I paid for it, but hey I can get a better deal at Mandrake for $0.
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration