LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat 9
Reviews Views Date of last review
84 392107 07-21-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $44.23 7.4



Description: Controversial release from Red Hat, this version fixes many of the bugs found in version 8. Bluecurve theme in Gnome and KDE unifies both desktops. As Newbie and/or Guru friendly as you like.
Keywords: RH9 Red Hat 9


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-30-2004, 05:37 PM   #1
andy44
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.04
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Friendly for newbies, detects hardware, easy to install
Cons: needs a bit of kicking into shape to make it run how you want, rather than how it wants



It has a reassuring look and feel about it to make a previous windows user feel comfortable and this continues, right up until you want to install something new. The package manager, which allows you to pick which programs you want to install off the cd, breaks as soon as you run up2date as it wants to install stuff that requires an older version than what you now have, if there is a problem for any of the packages in a section, it won't install any of them.

That said, hardware recognition just works! Almost all of my hardware just worked as soon as RedHat was installed, although my friend did have some trouble with his wireless network card.

It would be perfect for newbies if they had someone else to install and set up everything for them, my mum could probably write letters and surf the web not I've got everything set up, other than that, it is merely ok.
 
Old 11-02-2004, 10:17 AM   #2
tiredoflogins
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Red Hat Linux
Posts: 89

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy to install.
Cons: USB Drivers don't work. X-Windows Crashes often.


I am complete newbie to the product and I loved the smooth installation. I got the CD's written for me from a friend who has broad-band.

I was impressed with the range of applications that it provided. Also the free office suite was useful. It was able to detect most drivers with ease. The picture manipulation pakckages like kpaint and GIMP were useful, plus I got imageMagick which was a boon for me.

The issue I faced and continue to face is X_Windows. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I have nVidia graphics AGP on a Asus Motherboard. Another issue I faced was teh USB port. AS soon as I connect my digital camera cable, the system freezes.
 
Old 11-03-2004, 01:32 PM   #3
dtournas
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Red Hat (and look-alike), SUSE (when drunk), Slackware (when mad)
Posts: 148

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy installation, support from every linux related forum
Cons: Discontinued project from RedHat


I started using Linux in a working enviroment 18 months ago, and I tried some other distros before RH9. I was amazed from the easy installation and the hardware compatibility. I have never since then encountered any problems.

I believe that RH9 is a must for a linux newbie.

NOTE: I have never installed graphical enviroment (!?) and I administrating RH9 with webmin (www.webmin.com)
 
Old 11-14-2004, 06:05 PM   #4
green_squirrel
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: fc3
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: My Favorite Linux Distro
Cons: No longer supported and updates is a major event


This is my favorite distribution. I got it with the Red Hat 9 Bible. It is well documented and easy to use. There are plenty of programs to manually adjust settings that the automatic setting don't get right.
(These manual adjustments are missing from the Fedora replacements. (And I miss them...))

The down side is that Red Hat has stopped supporting the Red Hat 9 distribution and updating anything seems to require you to update everything. And that is a nighmare.
 
Old 12-04-2004, 04:26 PM   #5
D10|\/|3|)3$
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: RedHat 9.0
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to use (sort of), fully customizable, great set of included packages
Cons: RPM system shockingly frustrating, desktop looks cramped


Well, first off, RedHat 9.0 was my first endeavor into Linux, and it was very nice. The reason it is _sort_of_ easy to use is because Linux is like Klingon - it is NOT for the weak. I come from a Windows background, and when I got into Linux for the first time, I was dazzled by the difference between it and Windows 95 & co. This is not a problem, as Windows sucks, but it is intimidating. However, once you begin experimenting with things, you will likely find the RedHat environment to be very intuitive. For example, unlike in Windows, you do not really "install" applications (a term which I found very misleading, and despised in Windows). Instead, you can either execute a pre-built RPM (like a self-installer; I will get to that later) or manually compile the source code. This sounds difficult, but after the first few times, compiling in the shell prompt is very easy.
You can pretty much alter any aspect of one of the three desktop environments, provided you have the patience to find the options for it. Hunting down various preference and configuration files and menus can be taxing, but, again, after a while it becomes second nature.
RedHat 9.0 comes with a great mass of useful applications, many of which you may never even have to use. But almost anything you DO need is already there.
However, I have found a few flaws in the nearly-perfect system. First, RPMs are a pain. AFAIK, RPM stands for Redhat Package Manager. It is sort of like a Windows installer, but it installs to a specific place w/o telling you, and it only includes options and extensions which the author included in the RPM. This can make _everything_ more annoying. Hunting down installed applications without a lead to start is very frustrating, but with the alternative of simply manually compiling it yourself, the OS is redeemed.
One more thing, and I will be done talking. The desktop looks kind of small. Not to sound picky, but when you have an application open, it looks like you do not have any more room to do anything else comfortably. However, I found comfort in the up-to-16 desktop system, in which you can sort applications into up to 16 different desktops. This certainly makes everything better. If only each desktop had its own independent taskbar instead of all of them sharing one, it would be perfect.
As it stands, I give RedHat Linux 9.0 a 9 of 10. I have since used several other distro's, and, apart from a few areas, can call myself Linux-knowledgable. The only problem with this OS is the RPM system, which can easily be remedied by a downloaded third-party RPM manager.

Hope this helped!
D10M3D3$
 
Old 12-21-2004, 02:53 PM   #6
yellowjelly
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy install, good hardware compatability
Cons: Red Hat's GUI interface for server setup


Red Hat 9. The install went very well. I had problems with Mandrake. Everything works as well as I expected.

I did have problems using the Red Hat GUI interface for setting up server and services. I'm going to have to stay with command lines for a little while longer.
 
Old 01-22-2005, 12:51 AM   #7
trempel
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: SuSE 10 Eval
Posts: 130

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: incredibly easy install, everything just sort of works right off the bat
Cons: small but strange errors that are frustrationg for newbs


I got my cd's from a "for dummies" how to book, and along with that, the install was flawless. I really was worried about about my dual boot, but it set it up for me quickly and easily.

About those errors: Sometimes audio cd's won't mount, and the PDF viewers take so long to load, you think the pc's frzoen. Also, I was unable to mount an NTFS hard drive or USB flash disk. "file system not supported by kernel"

This is definately a good choice for the absolute first-timer.
 
Old 02-03-2005, 06:39 PM   #8
daikatana_
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Turbolinux
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2

Pros: It is linux and uses linux kernel
Cons: Everything except see above


It is really poor linux distro. It is usable only for newbies which just want to see how linux look like. And I don't think it is much satisfying though. This distro can't be used for any real work.
 
Old 03-14-2005, 02:23 AM   #9
al_periodical
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: redhat9
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: you do not have to use gnome or kde
Cons: ship with gnome and kde


Without using gnome or kde,I am able to convince my sons and wife to use Linux instead MS.
Instead of gnome or kde , you can use either ROX or xfce4.Forget about those gnome and kde "main stream" softwares.
Trust me!
 
Old 05-09-2005, 04:56 AM   #10
egingell
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Red Hat 9.0
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy to install
Cons: RPM


It's not bad once you figure out how to satisfy the RPM dependencies.
 
Old 06-15-2005, 09:23 PM   #11
gernt
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: RedHat 9
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $140.00 | Rating: 5

Pros: Not platform dependent
Cons: Showing age, perhaps?


I do real work with this OS. It is running our UNIX legacy programs. It comes nearly complete for my purposes. But I have a problem. I used to buy the latest revision regularly, but when Red Hat started specifying platforms I was stumped. Part of the usefulness of Linux is security. If the box dies, go to the office supply and get another. In a couple of hours, you're back in business. But now that Red Hat is selling platform-dependent systems, the releases stopped at 9. I don't want to be stuck with a particular platform, but I want to have a current release. I'm thinking of switching.
 
Old 07-07-2005, 02:49 PM   #12
Tuxman8898
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Vector Linux 5.0.1 Standard RC2
Posts: 51

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very stable
Cons: Trying to get things to work, lack of support, etc.


Red Hat 9 was my first journey into Linux. I tried it because of it's popularity. I tried this on two different machines. The first was a 233mhz. After the install with this one, the mouse didnt work(it worked during the install though, funny). Then I tried it on a 600mhz machine the mouse worked after boot(maybe because I selected something other then Generic Serial Mouse). I like it because it is somewhat easy to use and is very stable. Everything you could want comes out-of-the box. Only problem with it is, the lack of support from the community. I asked for help with RH9 many times and was left on my own because no one answered my questions. I would stare at INSTALL files and be confused beyond hell! Hardware support doesnt seem so great either. The fact that most Red Hat distros hate my mouse just pisses me off. Like I said, it comes with alot of crap, which I think is way to much. It installs loads of crap I dont want. Takes up to much HD space with it to. I'm new to Linux and just want to mess around with it. All these extra apps just take up the HD space! I like the distros that give you a good 1 disc install with enough apps to get a good distro running. Did I mention I used 3 CDs? O, and everytime I tried to install something it always gave some error. I would always be waiting for an error to pop up while I was doing something. I consider it OK.
 
Old 09-14-2005, 01:35 AM   #13
lockout
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Slackware/Gentoo
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 3

Pros: Great for noobs to enter the world of Linux. A desktop-user-enviroment
Cons: Preconfigured daemons (all TCP ports open). Poor multimedia support


The first Linux distro I ever installed. It was reaaly good for beginners to enter the world of Linux and to achieve the basics of system operations, because all services were already preconfigured, up and running (really dumb though). With default settings ideal for home desktop-users. If stability and confidence must be achieved a lot of reconfiguration work should be embedded.
 
Old 09-02-2006, 02:20 PM   #14
sahil_1160
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: give me segusation how can i configure internal network
Cons: urgent


how can i configure internal network

please help me and give me segusion

i will send me all detail

1st i will tell my server ips

my server ip is 192.168.0.78 and gatway is 192.168.0.60 and dns is 212.93.192.4 and 212.93.192.5
And my system Host Name is Taibanet


vi /etc/inittab
#
# inittab This file describes how the INIT process should set up
# the system in a certain run-level.
#
# Author: Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@drinkel.nl.mugnet.org>
# Modified for RHS Linux by Marc Ewing and Donnie Barnes
#

# Default runlevel. The runlevels used by RHS are:
# 0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
# 1 - Single user mode
# 2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have
networking)
# 3 - Full multiuser mode
# 4 - unused
# 5 - X11
# 6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#
id:3:initdefault:

# System initialization.
si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

l0:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6

# Trap CTRL-ALT-DELETE
ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

# When our UPS tells us power has failed, assume we have a few minutes
# of power left. Schedule a shutdown for 2 minutes from now.
# This does, of course, assume you have powerd installed and your
# UPS connected and working correctly.
pf:owerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting
Down"

# If power was restored before the shutdown kicked in, cancel it.
pr:12345owerokwait:/sbin/shutdown -c "Power Restored; Shutdown
Cancelled"


# Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

# Run xdm in runlevel 5
x:5:respawn:/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon

ntsysv

network
sshd
syslog
sysstat
squid


vi /etc/hosts.allow
#
# hosts.allow This file describes the names of the hosts which are
# allowed to use the local INET services, as decided
# by the '/usr/sbin/tcpd' server.
#
ALL: 212.93.193.179
ALL: 212.93.203.150
ALL: 212.93.193.201
in.named: ALL
ALL: 192.168.100.1



vi /etc/host.deny

ALL: ALL



vi /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
1


vi /etc/sysctl.conf
# Kernel sysctl configuration file for Red Hat Linux
#
# For binary values, 0 is disabled, 1 is enabled. See sysctl(8) and
# sysctl.conf(5) for more details.

# Controls IP packet forwarding
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1

# Controls source route verification
net.ipv4.conf.default.rp_filter = 1

# Controls the System Request debugging functionality of the kernel
kernel.sysrq = 0

# Controls whether core dumps will append the PID to the core filename.
# Useful for debugging multi-threaded applications.
kernel.core_uses_pid = 1


vi /etc/rc.local
#!/bin/sh
#
# This script will be executed *after* all the other init scripts.
# You can put your own initialization stuff in here if you don't
# want to do the full Sys V style init stuff.

touch /var/lock/subsys/local
/root/ipt
/root/arp
/root/qos



vi /etc/hosts
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.0.78 taibanet.taibanet.net taibanet



vi /etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=taibanet.taibanet.net
#GATEWAY=192.168.1.254


vi /etc/resolv.conf
search taibanet.net
#nameserver 127.0.0.1
nameserver 212.93.192.4
nameserver 212.93.193.179
nameserver 212.93.203.150


vi ipt
#/etc/rc.d/init/named restart
#/bin/echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
/sbin/ifconfig eth0 192.168. 0.78 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255 up
/sbin/route add default gw 192.168.0.60
/sbin/ifconfig eth0:1 192.168.100.254 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.100.255 up
/sbin/iptables -F
/sbin/iptables -F -t nat
/sbin/iptables -A POSTROUTING -t nat -s 192.168.100.0/24 -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
/sbin/iptables -A FORWARD -p icmp -j DROP
#/sbin/iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -s 192.168.100.0/24 -p tcp --dport 80 -j REDIRECT --to-port 8080
 
Old 03-05-2007, 02:52 PM   #15
MensaWater
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 5,995

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Good stable distribution - pre Fedora Core
Cons: Old version - Fedora Core should be used instead


Noticed last review was 2003.

RedHat 9 was the last "free" RedHat labeled distribution. After that it diverged with RedHat Enterprise Level (RHEL) being the commercial version and Fedora Core (FC) being the "free" version.

Accordingly anyone considering RedHat should use FC or RHEL instead of RedHat 9.
 
Old 07-19-2007, 02:22 AM   #16
wolfmanx23
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:



excellect product
 
Old 07-28-2007, 11:35 PM   #17
ngvanbinh2000
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros:
Cons:


i want to RH7.2
 
Old 08-20-2008, 12:07 AM   #18
ashikali22
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


hai this is ashik im anew one of this site
 
Old 10-09-2008, 01:36 PM   #19
julie.zunk
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: RedHat Enterprise V.2.1, RedHat 7.2, CentOS 5.2
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Easy to install, most apps are loadable
Cons: trouble with linking to older libraries


I'm still trying to figure this issue out. I loaded a gnat compiler (3.15a1) and when I tried compiling my program that requires rts-fsu posix threads (i.e. libgthreads.a), gnatlink fails with, &quot;undefined reference to 'errno'&quot;. I've been trying to find a workaround, but if I don't find one soon, I'll be looking for another free distro to handle what RedHat 7.2 could.
 
Old 03-26-2009, 06:20 PM   #20
lazy5100
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


hi where is it ?
 
Old 05-04-2009, 12:36 AM   #21
mlinuxk
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 2 1.92 V3
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Updated from the previous version with no problems.
Cons:


I think theubuntu is a great product. I had a subscription with Red Hat for a couple of years but they got to be too much like microsoft wanting money all the time and limiting me from trying new editions on the old license . I like the file manager /updater very much. It
is really
intuative the way microsoft once was. I can load any program I want with out much trouble and it brings all of the correct files with it when it comes. I don't mind building programs from scratch if I need to learn how something works, but if I want to play with the latest video editor I don't think it is necessary to reinvent the wheel everytime I want to look at something.
I can't tell you the times I've down loaded the tars and all the How tos then spend three hours looking for the correct libraries and then to build, compile and trooble shoot a program that really sucks. Ubuntu is an easy way to play with all the great stuff that has been built by these linux geniuses on the net, without all the tears. I know thats not the way a real slacker would do it, but alas, tis the way it tis,
 
Old 06-11-2009, 09:24 PM   #22
enkhbold_it
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Easy Install
Cons: No MP3 Support


Another plus for redhat was there easy and obvious update feature which sits in the bottom right corner next to the clock. Mandrake has an easy update program, but you have to dig for it.

RedHat does not come with MP3 support, and it is not easy to install. It's actually quite difficult.

RedHat does not update the desktop software that comes with the distro. They should not distribute GAIM, OpenOffice, Mozilla if they are not willing to provide timely upgrades. Mandrake has this same problem.
The CD burning software that comes with RedHat is garbage.

Overall the bottom line was that I was impressed with Mandrake 9 and I was disappointed by RedHat 9.
 
Old 03-22-2010, 12:24 AM   #23
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Nice GUI, Easy Network Neighborhood browser, Easy Install
Cons: Documentation focus more on the gui, lack of multimedia software.


I think redhat 9 is an excellent choice for a newbie, or for someone who doesn't want to spend much time tweaking their system and but just get a job done. The software which isn't included in the distro is usually easily available as rpm specially made for RH9. There is lots of good advice to be found on the web, e.g. this forum and especially the red hat 9 pages at "the easy linux guide"
 
Old 07-21-2010, 01:19 AM   #24
ashish vig
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.


<D:error>
<C:error/>
<m:human-readable errcode="2">
Could not open the requested SVN filesystem
</m:human-readable>
</D:error>
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration