LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat 9
Reviews Views Date of last review
84 391647 07-21-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $44.23 7.4



Description: Controversial release from Red Hat, this version fixes many of the bugs found in version 8. Bluecurve theme in Gnome and KDE unifies both desktops. As Newbie and/or Guru friendly as you like.
Keywords: RH9 Red Hat 9


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-07-2003, 02:00 PM   #1
philipacamaniac
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Slackware 10, Slackware-current, Slax
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Best looking out-of-box UI, OpenOffice.org included by default
Cons: Red Hat Network (need I say more?), GNOME is default when installed with KDE



THE GOOD:
Best version of RedHat I've experienced, whether for server, desktop, or laptop applications. Nice look with KDE 3.1, even better when you upgrade to KDE 3.1.4. Mozilla is now the default browser, and OpenOffice.org is the default office suite. Actually, I prefer AbiWord (smaller footprint). But, that was easily added during installation. I had no problems installing, and all my hardware in my Toshiba Satellite 2805-S201 worked wonderfully.

THE BAD:
Everyone is gun-ho about RHN, but come on, people!! This has Micros*ft proprietary business practices written all over it. It is .NET Services, Windows Update, and the new Office Online, but in the corporate Linux world. Who needs RHN, when you can get yum or apt ports for free?

And what's the deal with GNOME being the default desktop environment? Give Joe User the choice, please. But this is not signifigant in only 9, it is a recurring RedHat issue. Not much KDE support.

THE UGLY:
Oh, and though I give RedHat 9 an great rating, please remember that RedHat is moving to providing only RedHat Enterprise, so hobbyists and home users must move to another Linux flavor. And in light of recent SuSE-Novell decisions, I question the stability of the free Linux world.

Final thought: most of us joined the Linux world because of Microsoft. Let's not move out of the Linux world because of RedHat's shortcomings. Use RedHat 9 to convert Windows worshippers, because it just works so nicely and easily.
 
Old 11-14-2003, 07:57 PM   #2
asegebrecht
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: RH9, Debian, OSX (BSD huh...) and a Knoppix Rescue-CD
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: desktop look'n'feel, user / admin friendliness
Cons: up2date, rhn


Overall a good distro to get started with. I've tried Mandrake, SuSE, Debian and Slackware before (all of which are good) but find RH9 to be more friendly to the novice user/admin.

Debian however remains my favorite :D

Axel says: Get RH9 if you are moving (away) from M$ O/S or Debian if you are little more experimental and want more functions. Slackware is for the hardballs. Mandrake is so/so but fairly easy to install / user (IMHO). SuSE... well... I don't like it.

Hope this helps ;)

Peace,
Axel
 
Old 11-24-2003, 04:39 PM   #3
techrolla
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Gentoo, Debian
Posts: 188

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Looks amazingly clean and has a great interface
Cons: A little slow, Defined a few incorrect drivers


I really like redhat. I have to say, from the other few (debian, slackware) distros Ive tried, I love the gnome on here. It looks cleaner that slackwares does for some reason because its "Customized" by red hat. The system is a little slow though, but all together its great. I recommend updating to fedora, which is much faster on my system and looks even better!
 
Old 11-26-2003, 04:34 AM   #4
fuelinjection
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 238

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy Install
Cons: none so far


I installed a linux os for the first time in my life only the other night.

I chose redhat because I'd heard good reports.

Installation went so smoothly, I was amazed, detected all my hardware, apart from 56k modem, but I have another machine running xp, so I had the simple job of setting up a proxy on the xp machine so I could allow redhat to share my adsl connected(which was very simple).

I am a complete newbie to Linux/redhat, and am abit lost so far, but it will take me time so understand how things work.

Redhat itself is fine, the comparisons people are making between redhat 9 and xp are nonesense, I felt totally lost the first I booted.

I recommend redhat 9 to newbies like me, and things arnt too difficult to understand.
 
Old 11-27-2003, 10:13 AM   #5
dr_who
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


I've used Red Hat Linux 9 for around 9 months and have to say I like it. I tried Mandrake Linux 7.0 before and hated it so much I was turned off by Linux for a good while. When RH 9 came along and Windows XP was the latest offering from Microsoft, I thought I would give Linux another look. I'm really glad I did. Although I use Win XP at work, I can't say I'm addicted to it like I have been over RH 9. RH 9 is addictive because of the versatility of the OS over Win XP. The ability to fine tune the OS to your specific needs, your likes and dislikes, verses taking what is there and that's it, whether you like it or not, is a real selling point for RH 9 over Win XP.

Maybe Windows should go UNIX. They could call it WindEX for Windows Environment X, but I guess there would be a lawsuit over the name's similarity to the glass cleaning product. UNIX is where it's at. The Microsoft Foundation Class (MFC) structure is too cumbersome and is a real disk hog.

What is disturbring to me to learn is the fact that Red Hat is driving everyone to the Enterprise distribution. As I understand it, support for all distributions aside from Enterprise will cease effective August 2004. It would appear that open-source is going away as power-hungry, capitalists seek to reap profits as a priority instead of producing and supporting an OS that is founded on the open-source concept. Too bad!
 
Old 01-04-2004, 08:20 PM   #6
sxa
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mac OS 10.7 / CentOS 6(servers) / xubuntu 13.04
Posts: 1,186

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable, Dependable, Fast
Cons: Bugs


I used Red Hat 9 for several months, not all that much. Still I did enjoy the experience. To compare this with Fedora Core 1, it looks about the same, Yet RH9 had bugs that just got in the way, I under stand FC1 has bugs, yet so far done of them have gotten in the way of what I do on the computer.

You might wonder why, even know I think this product is great, why I won't recommend it to friends, well you see here is the deal with that. All Red Hat products are plain great, I have loved each and every one of them, yet within the past month I have gotten so used to FC1, I know how to use it, and it does what I need it to do. If I recommend a distro, I want to know how to use that distro, and I can say that RH9 Vs. FC1, IMHO, FC1 wins..

Stability: 10 (All Linux Distros Are Stable)

Dependibility: 6 (The Bugs Made RH9, not all that dependable)

Simplicity: 8 (With KDE it was simple, yet with the bugs in RH9 there became problems that I had trouble getting fixed, without tons of help)

Speed: 9 (When I used RH9 I would have have given it a 10 for speed, but now after using FC1, it only gets a 9 for speed)
 
Old 02-02-2004, 06:01 AM   #7
Nic-MDKman
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 9.2
Posts: 159

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: It honestly TRIES to be good
Cons: BUGS!


RedHat is a great distribution if you dont have a problem with constantly downloading bug fixes and patches daily. I left RedHat a long time ago and I am still amazed that people still continue to use RedHat even though they still complain about all of the problems with it. LINUX DOES NOT HAVE TO BE LIKE THIS! So many people think that this is a part of using Linux! That is crazy. Try another distribution! Using distributions that require this much effort only annoy Linux users, and scare away potential newcomers. I switched from RedHat to Mandrake, and went from pulling my hair out for hours just trying to get a specific application installed and dealing with all of the bugs in the distro and the problems with dependencies that should be satisfied by the OS (mostly files that were actually installed as part of RedHat yet RedHat didnt know where!!) to using Mandrake and becoming so quickly comfortable with it and satisfied with it that I plan to setup Mandrake on a computer for my Mom who can barely use M$ Win***$! Talk about a transformation!
 
Old 02-03-2004, 01:02 PM   #8
sgtbob
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Windows 7, iMAC Lion 8.5, Ubuntu
Posts: 92

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Installation
Cons: Trying to find stuff I want to try - i.e., playing a CD


I initially installed Mandrake 9 last fall (may go back to it because of the support probabilities with RH 9); however, the SIG I joined last week is a RH group, so I dug out the RH9 discs and installed it on a 2nd box. The installation went smoothly, but I still have trouble figuring out how to do certain tasks. Takes hours fo reading and experimenting to do some of the simplest chores - such as getting a DL RPM to run! Found out that the SSL Certification had to be re-employed since RH stopped supporting the SSL version last year. RH9 found all my hardware, set up my internet connection and this went better than anticipated. I realize that experienced users prefer to tell us 'noobies' to RTFM, which is a great learning experience, but be that as it may, I am making progress ssslllloowwllyy! So, far, I have not been able to get a CD to play from the CD-Rom - have copied to a directory and plays from there one song at a time! XMMS box comes on screen, but can not make it work. On my 500 MHZ box 256 MB RAM, 12 GB HDD, RH9 seems to operate somewhat slower than my Win XP box - but it is a 2.4 unit. All in all, as I learn more about Linux, I am beginning to enjoy it - now if I can just begin to understand it better. At 71, I am still trying to 'drive this thing'. Linux is a great field, but tough on 'self-learning' folks like me.
 
Old 02-10-2004, 05:48 AM   #9
killer_bunny
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: RedHat 9, Slack
Posts: 106

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Installation & hardwear detecting & apps
Cons: you have to pay for it from now on, and no mp3


Well first used RH8 and i hade truble with configuring the vido card and sound.
That is something i never had to bother with RH9.
Ati Radeon 9000 works great now.

The second thing about RH is that i got everything i needed on a system with it.
For ripping music, open_office...

I had to install mp3 support my self.
 
Old 02-11-2004, 07:10 AM   #10
LinuxBlackBox
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9
Posts: 243

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $2.00 | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy to use, excellent for people migrating from windows
Cons: Has a lot of unessecary software, holds your hand too much for more experienced users


RedHat Linux is a good distrobution for people who are new to Linux and want to learn about the system in an envirnonment similar to windows. RedHat has an impressive support team, and also has the RPM system to make updating your software a breeze. On the downside, I have found that as I learned more about Linux, I want to move something that is a little more easy to customize. While RedHat's configuration tools are excellent for beginners, they dont present many of the more advanced options. All-In-All: I would reccomend it to anybody looking for a clean, friendly, easy to learn operating system.
 
Old 02-19-2004, 01:27 PM   #11
asalford
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: unbuntu breazy
Posts: 140

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install
Cons: week or out of date packages


Because of RH 9.0, I was able to migrate all home PC's to linux. No M$ in my home. The out of date packages were two to three generations old. DVgrab for example, XMMS, or Video Lan Client. My cards were all recognized on the first go which was nice, but I had a chore ahead of me with enabling 3D Accel on the video card.

Great Package overall.
 
Old 02-19-2004, 06:47 PM   #12
wi77ard
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Redhat 9
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.99 | Rating: 7

Pros: user friendly to a point, heaps of programs
Cons: modem and printer support


Being new to linux i dont have anything to compare it with, but i know windows operating systems inside out. In comparision to a windows OS, Redhat 9 has tons more funtionality and seemingly lots more advanced settings. Linux has been a big eye opener to me. Tis unreal how much microsoft hides and decides for you on all sorts of issues.

One thing i love about linux is the freedom to choose, Today KDE tomorrow Gnome, next week who knows ...... the list is endless.

One thing you must have if you buy or download Redhat 9 is time and patience (lots of it). Setting everything up to work as you'd like it too takes some, but once there ....... life is sooo much better without windows.

wi77ard
 
Old 02-19-2004, 10:41 PM   #13
Hell Cheese
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 2
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy Install, Slick GUI, Useful as HELL
Cons: I come from Windows, so I don't really notice anything :P


Kickass distro (compared to my numerouse failed attempts to install Mandrake 9.2) and beats Windows. The only thing I don't like is that I have to boot to DOS if I want to use Windows. And it failed to detect my soundcard.
 
Old 03-10-2004, 01:05 PM   #14
dushkinup
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Computer I : Slackware 9.1 ; Computer II : Windows XP
Posts: 144

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Configureable yet easy enough, contains every base package needed in most applications
Cons: Not enough RPMs on the web, up2date is very annoying, I just don't like GNOME, installation is very long


The very very long installtation proccess is the first thing that dragged me. I do want to use linux, but not when I'm 40! I don't care that my lucky numbers are 6, 7, 7.6 and 9! I wanna use linux!

Configuration is pretty comprehansive, even more than in SuSE. Is it internet you want? Sound configurations are driving you nuts? After settting up a few parameters in the very friendly GUI and you'll be ready to go!

It has all of the base packages and libraries you would expect to see on a modern distro plus a few more.

Redhat is definetly not for starters, so make sure you know enough linux.
 
Old 03-15-2004, 11:01 PM   #15
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of setup,
Cons:


Wanting to get a Linux box into the MS network I saw an opportunity when the MS RAS server kept crashing due to drivers (modem). Red Hat 9 was deployed as the new RAS server and has not crashed (of course) using old internal iNTRa 4 modem.
 
Old 03-19-2004, 11:58 PM   #16
American Psycho
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: LFS
Posts: 88

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: good interface, switchable, nice login, choice of programs, easy install
Cons: a bit slow, sometimes 'bloated' if you don't configure everything



My first experience with redhat was installing everything, making it seem bloated, but once you get down to business, decide what you want/need and choose, it actually makes for a nice, easy to install, newbie friendly version of linux which I will be using until I either run gentoo or LFS (most likely LFS).

Anyway, great distro, recommended to any newbies who know as much or less than i do :P .
 
Old 03-24-2004, 09:06 PM   #17
darthtux
 
Registered: Dec 2001
Distribution: Debian, Gentoo, Red Hat, Solaris
Posts: 2,070

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: ease of installation, hardware detection, apt-get
Cons: software buggy


I have used Red Hat since version 5.2. I have installed RH9 on several machines and on some multiple times. The first problem someone might encounter is that disk 2 many times has errors and has to be re-downloaded. Other than that the installation is smooth and the hardware detection and configuration excellent. It is the only distro I've used that automatically configures my cd-writer.

rpm's are sometimes a nightmare but apt-get makes many programs easy to install.

The biggest problem I see is that the gnome and kde software is at times buggy and prone to not coming up or crashing. I also have Slack 9.1 and do not have the same problems.

Overall, I think RH9 is a good choice for a beginner just for the excellent hardware detection.
 
Old 04-18-2004, 01:22 AM   #18
vdogvictor
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 498

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $14.99 | Rating: 4

Pros: widely used = lots of support
Cons: a bit to microsoft for me


Install is simple. Not recommended for a dual boot w/ windows on an NTFS system unless you have an extra partition space...because it won't resize NTFS for you. Also i could not access my NTFS partition. Not that it matters much because I installed red hat 4 times...all times GNOME working then crashing after a few days and not booting to anything but a command prompt. I could hav eprobably gotten lots of help here but for noobs SuSE or Mandrake is a lot better
 
Old 04-26-2004, 05:37 PM   #19
Nz_Boy_2004
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 258

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install, Good hardware surport.
Cons: Windows xp abit, Some sill bugs.


Install is great nice look and feel for the newbie like me, It did take a long time to install but you just dont look at it for a while and it all good.

It booted o.k. speed the first time but my modem in a winmodem which was a bit gay, but was still a lot nicer to me then mandrake 10 CE was, I cotomized it abit and got rid of that MS xp look and feel and i was sweet, got my modem going the secound distro or thrid i think i used slack but that was abit over hard for the newbie like me but from what ive read ill be usin it in a couplr of mouths lol.

They should have waited abit longer after there version 8 release so they would have more up2date stuff but its fine for me and what im using it for the main proplem was some of the network bugs etc, i hate them rh9 is alot better the mandrake 10 CE the offical release is surpost to have fixed them.
 
Old 05-09-2004, 11:32 PM   #20
csm0004
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: GUI, lots of features
Cons: Requried more ram to install than other distros


I had some difficulty installing it on a PIII with only 64Mb RAM. Once I upped it to 128Mb, I had no troubles.

The look and feel of the os and the features work great. I don't like RH's system configuration apps as much as SuSE'S YaST.
 
Old 05-12-2004, 05:56 PM   #21
J.W.
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Mint
Posts: 6,642

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Good distro for newcomers
Cons: No longer supported by RH


Overall RH is a good product but I outgrew it pretty quickly. It definitely is a good "get your feet wet" type of distro for adventurous Windows users to give Linux a try, and for that alone it deserves high marks.

Note however that RH v9 has hit its end-of-life date, and will no longer be officially supported by RH. This of course will not have any functional impact on your installation, but you do need to be aware that RH will no longer send you an Email alerting you to security alerts, patches, etc.

In closing, if you're insterested in checking out Linux, I'd strongly consider RH as an initial distro. It was my first install, and I learned a lot from using it. With that knowledge though, I was prompted to check out other distros for comparison. -- J.W.
 
Old 05-28-2004, 12:45 AM   #22
digiplaya
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Sabayon 3.3 & Sidux 2007
Posts: 111

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Excellent server capability, plenty of games
Cons: Non-user friendly GUI, slow on older machines


RedHat 9.0, apparently the final free version of the RedHat series, impressed me mostly with it's great server abilities and such. However, it's non-user friendly interface, and running slower on older machines (though it is made for older server computers) un-attracted me from it.

Graphics:
What caught my eye in the RedHat Control Panel was it's built-in Themes feature, with the ability to import themes.

The graphics that come with it are fairly standard for a Linux distro, but are good enough for a client-based distro like RedHat 9.

Sound:
RedHat works fine with any sound card it seems. At least mine worked. Not much else can be said here.

Stability:
RedHat has got to be the most stable distribution I have tried. Out of Mandrake, itself, Suse and others, this is true.

Efficiency:
RedHat's file manager is very nice, I liked it a lot. Though it is the KDE standard, it is one of the good features in the RedHat 9 package.

Overall:
RedHat 9 has plenty of features for server-based or Workstation computers, but shouldn't be used by typical home users (like those who also use Windows XP)
 
Old 06-16-2004, 12:11 AM   #23
mrcrossroads
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


 
Old 07-06-2004, 01:14 PM   #24
thriller
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: RedHat 9, Knoppix 3.3, soon Gentoo 2004.1
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy Install, not much tweaking NEEDED, easy to figure out
Cons: bluecurve, no multimedia support, drivers lacked


RedHat was my first encounter w/ Linux. I still use it everyonce in a while. It is way more dependable than my XP machine, and this runs on a worse setup in comparison. Altho my soundcard and eth0 devices didn't work. so i had to go get a new ethernet card. but i was gonna anyways, since i wanted 10/100/1000. i didnt get a soundcard since its not most important. I like it very much, and would recommend it to anyone who wants to start out on Linux. Altho their customer support is HORRIBLE!! i won't go on a rant, but i had to call them 7-8 times just to get my order shipped.
 
Old 07-13-2004, 06:57 PM   #25
baird
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: driver library good and easy to install
Cons: mp3 application support poor


this is the first distro i have used.
faqs on redhat website are poor.

distro picked up all my hardware correctly. setup and config of NIC proved difficult. setup of samba was painful but this is not unique to RH.

nice to have openofc bundled with distro.
all in all - a very stable and impressive OS.
 
Old 08-01-2004, 02:54 AM   #26
tadpole
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: installed with out crashing
Cons: doesnt identifiy my video card


well ati and red hat dont seem to mix !!!! i have had no lunix knowlage prior to tring to install suse knoppix and finaly redhat but red hat does not see to know what my video card is.
 
Old 08-10-2004, 03:02 AM   #27
vavoem
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Debian Sarge
Posts: 102

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install stable and fast rpm's
Cons: No conversion possibility for NTFS to Ext3


After playing around a little with debian. got so sick from those "everyone tells me so easy to install apt-get crap." where the hell do you get those from anyway.

I installed RH9 what a relieve there are binaries i'm in heaven no more makefile Bullshit just knowing your kernel version and processor and download the package you want and install.

NTFS support within ten minutes.
Xine up and running in 15 minutes
Mp3 support in not even a minute
XCdroast Burning support included!

what more do you want....
--------
P4 2,8Ghz
512 MB DDR
Nvidia TI4100i 128 MB
Aopen DVD+/- writer
Aopen dvd reader
100 GB IBM Deskstar
NEC XP21+ monitor
Intel Nic 10/100/1000



 
Old 09-02-2004, 05:26 PM   #28
nhjm449
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 1

Pros: none.
Cons: its crappiness


wow... its crap!

rpms suck.

all those damn gui config editors fuck shit up.

awful.

bad uptime.
 
Old 09-15-2004, 02:07 PM   #29
ashwin_cse
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: arch, rhel
Posts: 132

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: easy installation, good hardware detection
Cons: Red hat support has expired


Hi,
As a newbee to linux i find this distro best to work on, learn linux. It has excellently written manual. It detected all my hardware, so no driver installation required(atleast in my PC). If u r planing to learn linux, i think this is probably the best distro to start with. I find it to b very stable. Though, i haven't put it under stressfull situation. One problem i find in RHL9 is that if u make a software installation, even if its through RPM it doesn't get displayed in start(or hat or whatever) menu. u will hav to start software through command line(shell prompt). May b there is way, but i do through shell prompt. If u r making a transistion to linux from windows and plan it to use it as ur desktop then make sure u hav enough memory. Its memory hungry(both HDD & RAM).
 
Old 10-24-2004, 09:07 PM   #30
petervii
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons:


Not SATA RAID friendly. Does not recognize the following controllers :
- ICH6R
- sil3114

I used RH9 on P5AD2 motherboard with WD Raptor 10K drives.
Could not install the system. Period.

Stay away from this distribution if you plan to setup RAID configuration!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration