LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS 2009.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 30910 07-05-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: "The quarterly ISO image updates of PCLinuxOS 2009.2 and PCLinuxOS GNOME 2009.2 are now available, featuring a fully updated ISO image with the latest applications from the PCLinuxOS repositories. Additional features include a notification updater to let you know when there are updates available for your installation. 'Addlocale' will localize your PCLinuxOS into one of the many languages. 'GetOpenOffice' allows you to install OpenOffice.org 3.1 in any of the 104 languages available."
Keywords: Quarterly-ISO notification-updater Addlocale


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-14-2009, 08:26 PM   #1
corktowner
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install, all hardware detected properly, fast and fun!
Cons: No 64 bit



I have tried most every Linux distro available. PCLinuxOS has been the only distro I found which works without any problems. I have never had an issue with any of the PC's I have installed it on, which to date is five. All different systems with different hardware. I even have it running on a old Toshiba Satellite 400Mhz and 192MB ram. It's doesn't run particularly fast, however, it runs much better now than when it was running Windoze. Give the live CD a try. You have nothing to lose. If you decide to install PCLinuxOS you will have gained much by not spending endless $$$$ on so called "upgrades". If you are a gamer, this is not what you are looking for, although there are some very nice FREE games available for Linux. Plus if you install WINE, many Windoze programs will run under Linux. I like PCLinuxOS so much that I have donated to the cause.
 
Old 08-09-2009, 08:36 AM   #2
Red-Beard
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Good hardware recognition, very efficient
Cons:


I've installed pclinuxos on several computers, some with as little as 192 ram, and it operates very well. It is very easy to install, and configure. I have tried many others that just weren't as easy to use, or ran as well on the same machine. I would recommend this distro to anyone wanting to try Linux.
 
Old 09-19-2009, 11:53 PM   #3
catilley1092
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Linux Mint "Mate" x64 (primary OS), Win 7/8 x64, XP Home/Pro x32.
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Great community support!
Cons: some broadband wireless cards may not work


Last week, I downloaded PCLinuxOS ISO and made a bootable Live CD. I was on standard wi-fi when I tried it before installing. Anyway, their members helped me greatly on their forum to get me going. Their family is among the best. The only problem that they couldn't overcome was my Cricket Wireless broadband connection. It just wouldn't work, despite some members giving me a lot of time and all the help they could. I felt sorrow in letting this distro go. But I kept the live CD and mabye a workaround will come someday.
 
Old 03-30-2010, 11:16 AM   #4
SA_Ron
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Multiple. Depends on my mood.
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Faster, same admin tools
Cons: KDE 4.4 has issues for me.


Random thoughts...

I have a 3GHz system (Celeron D, no 64-bit) with 4G of RAM. I also have a network card with an Atheros chipset. I really liked how easy it was to upgrade to the PAE kernel which allowed PCLinuxOS to see all 4G of my RAM.

I've been using PCLinuxOS on and off since the 2007 version and have always been happy with it. I've tried quite a few other linux distros (I'm always looking for something smaller and faster but with the same quality of tools and ease of use) but they were either slower or unable to see my network card without major tinkering. None of them seemed to measure up for me. I always seem to come back to PCLinuxOS.

I believe this is a beta, but I was surprised how fast and how well it ran, for the most part. The stuff that didn't work I believe is all KDE related (as I repeat often below).

The only issue I have is that often when I try to start Firefox it doesn't start. You can see in the panel that it is trying to start, but then I can't see it in the panel anymore and there is no firefox process running. Doesn't matter if I start it from the menus or from an icon on the desktop. I usually have to open a terminal and run 'firefox' to get it going. Sometimes even this doesn't work. No error messages, nothing. I've used different versions of firefox with the same result. I think it's the KDE 4.4 that's doing it, but I'm not sure. Hoping that the final release solves this problem. I don't have this problem with Thunderbird or any other software I'm using.

Then again, maybe I'm wrong and it's a Firefox issue. :)

There is also an issue with icons deleting themselves from the panel, usually after I've edited them. I've done this very many times, so I know it isn't something I'm doing wrong.

I think that all the problems are mostly KDE related, so I'm hoping for some fixes in the final release.

Don't get me started on the admin tools. They're all grouped in one place! Whoda thunk? Yes, other distros have most of their tools grouped, as well as having tools in all sorts of places on the menus. I've seen some of them place one network tool under System while another network tool is under Network. Aggravating as hell is what it is. I guess the PCLinuxOS grouping is base on the Mandriva model, but I wouldn't know. I haven't used that stuff since it was Mandrake. What I do know is that not only are the tools grouped logically, they are good tools that work, which is another thing I can't say about most of the other distros I've tried.

The LiveCD is great. I don't even bother with distros anymore that don't have one. I'm lazy and I don't want to burn 2 or 3 or 6(!) CDs in order to try a distro out that I probably won't even like. LiveDVDs are nice, but I had to 'donate' my DVD burner to another family member and now I've only got a CD burner.

To finish up, PCLinuxOS 2009.2 is now my stable OS. I'll use other distros when I feel like playing--I mean learning more linux. I don't need to tinker under the hood with this release, it just works for me.

UPDATE: Found the problem with Firefox. It was Fastest Fox. As soon as I removed that plugin, everything was fine.
 
Old 07-05-2011, 12:47 PM   #5
XenaneX
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Distribution: PClinuxOS
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: KDE 3.5
Cons: No longer supported


I'm still using this distro even though 2011.6 is out (which I do have installed and use sometimes). I just can't seem to do without Konqueror FM in this version.

I installed this distro on an old computer with an Intel Coppermine processor. Life is good.

The repository is still available, just not updated anymore.

These folks are so thorough they have lots and lots and lots of rules for posting in their forums. I really like this.
http://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/index.php/topic,92875.0.html
Another list of rules on how to politely reply to a question would be a nice addition.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration