LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
« Previous Product 

Ubuntu 9.04
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 92083 12-14-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: "The Ubuntu team is happy to bring you the latest and greatest software the Open Source community has to offer. This is their latest result, the Ubuntu 9.04 release, which brings a host of excellent new features. New features: Ubuntu 9.04 RC includes the latest GNOME 2.26 desktop environment with a number of great new features, including Brasero 2.26.0, an all-in-one CD burning application and the default disc burning utility in Nautilus, and improved handling of multiple monitors; X.Org server 1.6; Wacom tablet hotplugging; new style for notifications and notification preferences; significantly improved boot performance; Linux kernel 2.6.28; optional ext4 files system support...."
Keywords: GNOME-2.26 Brasero-2.26.0 Wacom-hotplug


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-04-2009, 01:46 AM   #1
mlinuxk
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 2 1.92 V3
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great Linux distribution
Cons: Needs a newbie help button or automated guide for new linux users.



Excellent product. This is an operating system for the masses. It appears to be well conceived and executed. I really like the package updater it works very well and makes linux a joy to use. I don't mind building a program from source as it can be a real challange and fun also, but when I need something that I've already built in the past and do not have all the libraries I need, it can be a real time waster. After all I just need to edit some video or write a nasty to congress and I only have a couple of hours to do it in, ubuntu gets the job done. I think ubuntu could give Microsoft a real run for the money if it was shipped with new computers. Great job, ubuntu!
 
Old 05-06-2009, 04:32 PM   #2
GRAMPSMONK
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Jaunty Jackalope
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: I am a non techie, new to Linux and this has been a pleasure.
Cons: Newbi help button?


I love Jaunty Jackalope and am having a ball. I do like to fool around with the computer and have contributed to some of the crashes of Windows. Needing twice to use the command prompt and instructions to restore a non-functioning XP. So maybe a newbi button would be desirable for some. However,there are so many Linux users and sites offering friendly, easy to understand help just a click a way.
If you have been interested in Linux, but haven't gotten your feet wet yet I heartily recommend starting with Unbuntu 9.04. If you are a Windows user, use WUBI installer and you won't have to bother with a partition, it will install in a folder and still give you a dual boot option.
 
Old 05-07-2009, 10:08 PM   #3
bhati
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Superb product. Beautifully done. Works right out of the box.
Cons: Needs better desktop aesthetics


I love Ubuntu and was eagerly waiting for the latest release. I must say that Jaunty has definitely not disappointed. The folks at Canonical have done a fantastic job and the product is extremely stable and works great. I use this as my primary PC and even though I have other OS'es I really never use them anymore as I can do everything on Ubuntu.
 
Old 05-10-2009, 02:53 PM   #4
chickenlinux
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Fedora 12, Arch Linux (updated daily =D)
Posts: 270

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: bootup screen that pwns, reliable, autoconfig is excellent, updates made easy, lots of packages
Cons: Killed my espeak, update notifications are irritating, a bit "over-graphical"


I love the new feel (and new synaptic!) of 9.04!
I think everything about it is great, save that the update from 8.10 killed my espeak, :( (festival is better) and that I get annoying update notifications 5 times a day. DX

Otherwise, it autoconfigured my strange hardware (and made the wireless work! WOO HOO!)

I would definitely recommend this to any user... think twice though if you like slackware and little other than slackware, in which case, you might find ubuntu a tad annoying (like me)
 
Old 06-02-2009, 02:05 PM   #5
res1b3uq
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast, reliable
Cons:


I down loaded 9.04 when it was in experimental stage, and had multiple bugs. I have stayed with it and installed all updates, and really didn't realize that it had been released until several days after the fact. I have used a bunch of different linux distros, but I find this one preferable to any others I have used. I am not a "technical wizard", just a common everyday desktop user. There are a few things I would still like fixed, like compatability with googleearth. That is my primary gripe.
 
Old 06-07-2009, 02:43 AM   #6
someone Awesome
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: nice desktop enviorment, easy, fast, relaible, good hardware drivers
Cons: doesn't come with a compiz manager preinstalled, not enogh preinstalled themes.


It is great!
as a former windows user I didn't have any problem moving to Ubuntu. I tried the 8.04 about a year and half ago but i moved back to windows when, after repetitive tries, I failed configuring my Usb wireless adapter. 9.04 got it right away on one computer and with a really small configuration on the other.

I have been working on it about a month now and there were no crashes once or ever (except for one unrelated electricity drop).

It has a real easy default look, a good community and awesome preinstalled softwares.



Quote:
Ubuntu Linux for people
 
Old 06-15-2009, 02:58 AM   #7
tamal
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Quick and easy installation
Cons:


I am using Ubuntu for almost 4 years now. When I left Fedora Core 5, it was hard to grasp Ubuntu (6.06/Dapper) concept. Initially quick and lightweight installation and free CD distribution attracted me towards Ubuntu. If you see google trends, you will know how much popularity it has got over other distributions.

The new release 9.04 is a replica of its earlier release (8.10) with some new features. It is a good distribution for newbies as well as experienced people.
 
Old 07-05-2009, 02:07 PM   #8
greenkernel
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: It is fast, stable, easy to use and has good hardware support
Cons: It has no pre-installed SELinux features


My current system is as follows:

System Version: Ubuntu 9.01 (Jaunty Jacklope)
Kernel Version: 2.6.28-13-generic
GNOME Version: 2.26.1

I'm satisfied (having fun!) with the current Ubuntu version.
 
Old 07-20-2009, 12:34 AM   #9
Arup65
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Runs out of box
Cons: proprietary hardware setup can be a pain at times, also codecs


Its the defacto Windows of Linux world minus all the headaches of Windows, have been using it since Gutsy after I ditched SuSE and have never given the reason to switch to other distros, sure I try every other distros when they are released and yet, I come back to the comfy arms of Ubuntu.
 
Old 07-27-2009, 11:55 PM   #10
gOLdenHaWK3D
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu - Jaunty Jackalope
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Good Support. Large hardware support. Easy to use. Has every software a user needs. Easy installation. Nice desktop effects. New release comes out often. Updates are fast and happen quite often. Feels good when you use it.
Cons: Drivers for Nvidia, and ATI sometimes cause some problems with the Desktop, but can be fixed easily. Games available in Windows cannot be run in Ubuntu, usually, but then we have PS3 :D


Using Ubuntu since last 2 years continuous. Ditched Windows XP. Update to latest release of Ubuntu as soon as it is released. Like it veryyy much.
Highly recommend it to all, except Gentoo people, who think Gentoo is the Best Linux distro on this planet. lol. They forget that the war is with someone else (the one of which everybody talks about) :P
 
Old 08-18-2009, 05:28 AM   #11
kombani
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Distribution: Ubuntu Desktop and Server
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


I have upgraded from 8.04 to 9.04 both server and desktop. All went without a hitch, just a pleasure to work with
 
Old 08-18-2009, 12:10 PM   #12
ANTONIOFO
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: very good
Cons: i mised LIMEWIRE


very good, WHO I CAN DOWNLOAD MUSIC ?
 
Old 09-08-2009, 11:06 PM   #13
Niarg
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, use and configure
Cons: Not for someone who wants a minimal distro


Everything worked like a charm from the start. This distro seems so great for people new to Linux that I'm recommending it to everyone thinking of making the switch from Windows to a better Desktop OS.
 
Old 10-07-2009, 01:49 AM   #14
mcooke1
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great replacement for Vista
Cons: Have not noticed any


My first full installation of linux. I used the entire drive and changed my 30 month old laptop into the computer I thought I was buying with Vista preinstalled. Every thing I have done with the ubuntu install has been noticeably faster and no problems at all. Combined with Firefox it is amazingly faster than Vista and Internet Explorer 8.Simply awesome and I recommend it. Can not see me purchasing Windows 7 there is no point. Looking forward to the next upgrade.
 
Old 10-07-2009, 08:01 PM   #15
JakP
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Incredible for a free product.
Cons: Can require some time and effort to set up depending on hardware.


My first experince of linux. Am running Jaunty on a 4 year old dell laptop that had got to the point under windows where it took half an hour from turn on to loading web browser and was basically unusable, now it feels like a brand new computer. Only just scrapes the min. sys. requirements so some things are a bit slow but all in all it's great. Will admit it has taken some time to get ideal configuration but as a newbie this has been good as the process has been fun and I've learned a lot. Would recommend this product to anyone - an excellent alernative to the nighmare that is windows.
 
Old 10-15-2009, 07:05 PM   #16
PapaTom
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install and runns error free, unlike MicroCrap
Cons: None so far.



I installed Ubuntu 9.04 about 3 1/2 weeks ago on 2 old machines that no longer worked with XP.

I have an old emachine laptop that would take 30 or more minutes to bootup and maybe run and hour and quit. I reinstalled several times but it didn't help.

I had a PC that no longer ran and couldn't reinstall the XP on it. I assumed it had a bad hard drive.

I installed Ubuntu on both of these machines the first time, fast and without any problems. Both ran much faster than the XP that was on these machines before.

Both had been running since I set them up until the loss of power last night.

I also setup a dual system beside Vista on a newer PC.
Linux is much faster than Vista and as soon as I install Wine and sure that it will run any windows program I need, it will be Vista, bye, bye and good riddance.

Papa Tom
 
Old 11-13-2009, 06:07 AM   #17
lampamp
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Fedora 11
Posts: 72

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons: Doesnt work


The live cds for Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu and Edubuntu don't work.
:(

Other distros live cd have worked.
 
Old 12-14-2009, 12:00 PM   #18
Nicos
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: RedHat
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy to install and ready-to-go
Cons: due to the pros aboe, it may be a bilt bloated


I have been using the 64-bit version for six months now. Mostly, I use it as my base system on top of which I run a few virtual machines for specific applications. It is very easy to install and run, making ideal for a newcomer to linux world, or to somebody who does not want to mess with various configuration files before one has a working system.

However, I recently noticed a major problem. I do not know whether that happened with one of the updates, but the ethernet speed within the LAN is less than 2mbit. It is not a LAN problem, as all the other computers work fine. I will give another try re-installing the same OS, I may try the 32-bit, as well, before I try another OS. I will hate it if I have to go with Windows 7.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration