LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > CentOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

CentOS 5.3
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 31816 09-03-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0



Description: "We are pleased to announce the immediate availability of CentOS 5.3 for the i386 and x86_64 architectures. CentOS 5.3 is based on the upstream release EL 5.3, and includes packages from all variants, including server and client. This release brings in a completely new artwork stack. Given the widespread requests for user contributed packages directly being hosted within the CentOS repositories, the contribs repository is now back with CentOS 5.3. There are no packages yet, but over the next few weeks we hope to have a policy and process in place that allows users to submit and manage packages in the contribs repository."
Keywords: Artwork-stack Contribs-repository


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-15-2009, 03:00 AM   #1
Krajisnik
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: stable, easy to install and configure
Cons:



I have 2 CentOS 5.3 servers installed.
First one i'm using for my SABnzbd usenet download tool, and a httpd webserver. Very stable, downloaded 100gb in a few days without any problems. NFS share works great, puts all my downloads on the second server.

Second one is my fileserver. Also great, installed vsftpd for my Windows FTP client.

Both servers have never let me down!
 
Old 07-17-2009, 07:40 AM   #2
dudley
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Being able to use a Red Hat operating system
Cons: none; anything that helps spread open source is great!


It allows a person to learn about a Red Hat system without having to buy it. I have used Fedora but I realy missed Red Hat when it went closed source. I will use CentOS very soon. I have to thank Ubuntu, their support, and available books that helped my learn about open source.I also have Red Hat / Fedora tech books which are also a great help.
 
Old 08-25-2009, 10:33 AM   #3
sawrub
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable,no crashing of apps seen so far
Cons: The Cache is not cleaned up ,which is to be carried out manually.


Using CentSO as a desktop machine ,at work place,it going great for the last one year now had 5.2 earlier. really a cool and stable system,the updates from the community are also great,no quick updates.
 
Old 08-27-2009, 05:54 AM   #4
sweta.mulgavker
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: CentOS 5
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of use.. as m a newbie
Cons:


using this os for past 8 months now :) learnt a lot.. not much ino technical.. but our live servers use CentOS 5 .. no problems till date..
 
Old 09-03-2009, 12:23 PM   #5
sohail
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


lets us try the new release
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration