LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 6 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by aRTee - posted: 12-10-2007 11:45 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 91206

Upon boot my graphics were not working well, the system locks up (due to the kernel libata driver combined with my drive, Ubuntu also has this problem), there are video playback problems and whatnot. Lots of things to fix, work around, and sort out. Some problems were due to my hardware for sure; but it's relatively standard hardware at that. You can read my full review here: www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/opensuse10.3.review.html Enjoy Linux, aRTee

Rating: 5
Product Details: "10.3" by wanderingmind - posted: 10-06-2007 - Rating: ******** 7.86

Last Review by aRTee - posted: 12-10-2007 11:30 AM [ Post a Review
mandriva1.png

Views: 91217

I really enjoy Mandriva 2008, I'm using the powerpack on my desktop (32 bit) and laptop (64 bit edition). If you want worldwide legal dvd playback, Mandriva 2008 Powerpack is the only big distribution that will offer it, and out of the box at that. Read my review here (don't forget to bring lunch, it got a bit long) : www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/review2008.0.html Enjoy Linux, aRTee

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Mandriva one, 2008 x32" by Olle Gladso - posted: 10-27-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.15

Last Review by aRTee - posted: 01-11-2005 04:56 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 116014

I have used SUSE 9.2 Pro for quite some time and as an experienced Mandrakelinux user found some differences. Mdk and SUSE are not very far apart, both are distro's that can be recommended without a problem. Preference for one or the other should be based on hardware compatibility - which you only find out for real after trying. Some things are somewhat better on SUSE, others on Mdk. I wrote an extensive review on my website: http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/reviewsuse92.html Just a note: please read at least the section about copying SUSE and the official statement from Novell. Enjoy Linux, aRTee

Rating: 9
Product Details: "9.2 Professional" by SlackerLX - posted: 12-11-2004 - Rating: ******** 7.65

Last Review by aRTee - posted: 11-10-2004 08:42 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 89159

Please read my full review here: http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/review101.html The most important thing is to properly set up urpmi, through http://easyurpmi.zarb.org after which you can install loads of software, including stuff for dvd viewing, video editing etc. If you have the powerpack, naturally it comes with loads of software, but my guess is that many will get the 3 cd download edition. The user community is also great, apart from here at linuxquestions http://www.mandrakeusers.org is a good place to come for assistance. The kde that 10.1 OE comes with is problematic in some cases (I found it problematic on 2 systems, of all those tested not too bad, but still) - usb drives or memory sticks not getting mounted, konqueror blocking. The updates (configure urpmi with easyurpmi for updates) do fix these issues. Another problem I faced is that the LIRC drivers are not included - I compiled them so you can find those on my configuration page at: http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/configuration101.html On the whole, after a few weeks of use I can really say that I enjoy using 10.1 OE. Go ahead, give it a try! Enjoy Linux, aRTee http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/

Rating: 9
Product Details: "10.1 Official Edition" by aRTee - posted: 11-10-2004 - Rating: ********* 8.83

Last Review by aRTee - posted: 04-12-2004 05:11 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 91578

Please read my full review of the Community Edition of Mandrake 10.0 here: http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/review100.html There sure are some small things to improve for me, and in general. When I first wrote my review, the annoying things like the first cd not booting on many systems were not known. It seems that on the whole, Mandrake 10.0CE has proved to be as good or bad as any previous final Mandrake release. Some have gotten a lot out of it (including me), some have not had a great experience. The only thing not working for me is vga resolution of my webcam - this is a kernel issue, and to me a low priority problem. Why Mandrake would be proprietary (as claimed above) is beyond me, all their own tools are GPL, and the D/L edition has no proprietary / non-GPL stuff in them. Actually, of all commercial distributions, none are more (GPL/FLOSS) Free than Mandrake (since SUSE's yast went fully GPL, it may well be as free as Mandrake). The great thing of Mandrake is urpmi or the gui via mcc -> software management, once urpmi is setup, it's all downhill from there. Currently, I am running Mandrake 10.0 OE, since I updated all I have just at the moment OE went to the presses. Nothing is perfect in this world, but as I said when I wrote my initial review of Mandrake 10.0CE, it is the best Mandrake Linux sofar, and actually the best Linux I ever used (note: I have not used FC2 yet, nor the latest SUSE - and I will never use a proprietary Linux). I think this will be doubly so for the Official Edition. To those who would like to try out Mandrake Linux, take the time to find out how to use it, set up urpmi properly (warning: at this very moment - April 12th 2004 - , many ftp repositories are not working correctly), and give it a go. Remember, if you get stuck, here and on forums like www.mandrakeusers.org people will gladly help you out. Enjoy Linux, aRTee

Rating: 9
Product Details: "10.0 Community Download" by raalynthslair - posted: 03-15-2004 - Rating: ******** 7.64

Last Review by aRTee - posted: 03-01-2004 05:34 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 118193

You can read my full review here: http://www.mandrake.tips.4.free.fr/review92.html The good: I can use all my hardware without too much hassle, must actually easier than when I was still using windows -- no drivers cds needed (and not being able to find in my mess) for anything. The bad: there were still some small things that a newbie might have problems with. One of the most annoying things was that the kernel sources weren't there; looks like for mdk10 they will include at least the kernel headers (all that is needed to compile drivers to be loaded into the kernel, such as nvidia closed source drivers). Note: of late I have found out (through cooker and 10 rc1 buglists) that the usb2 speed is a supermount problem, so mounting by hand and unmounting is the way to go. This is only a bad thing in that normally people don't know that they have to do that, and second that they normally don't know how to do that. All in all a fine distro, that I used to recommend to anyone to try out. But now, with mdk10 coming up, just be patient a bit longer.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "9.2 FiveStar" by Finalnight - posted: 10-19-2003 - Rating: ******** 7.71



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration