LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 5 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by zeebra - posted: 07-22-2013 06:46 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 19356

debian is great as a complete Linux distributio for people who know what they are doing. Is it perfect? far from. Personally I cant stand all the dependencies just to install simple programs that otherwise can be installed from source without most those dependencies!!! what is that? debian ofcourse is on the other side very reliable and offers all imaginable setups for all architectures and with FreeBSD kernel and Hurd. Debian as a free distribution, free as in freedom not free beer is the spine of the GNU/Linux community and is therefor good in itself. Do I use it as a main distro? No. I use the netinstaller version installed without connecting to the internet to build a minimal package. Have I tried the full version? Yes. The full version seems quite bloated to me.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by zeebra - posted: 07-22-2013 06:37 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 5704

As a user who has been through various GNU/Linux distributions over the years I like the configurability of Slackware, the completeness of Debian and the ease of use of Linux Mint KDE. Some years ago for a combination of thos reasons I landed on Mandriva as my favorite distribution. I found Mandriva absolutely wonderful. It was fully configurable to your own likes like Slackware, powerful and complete like Debian and easy to use like Buntu family. I cant stand Fedora for example. I find that you in no way can configure and change it yourself without breaking things. Fedora is absolutely annoying I find. Ubuntu is too simplistic and somewhat restrictive, I don't like that although I do like Kubuntu far better than Fedora. Mageia is a for of Mandriva, a perfect and heavenly one. Unfortunately Mandriva had some problems and some annoying bugs and some tiny restrictions. Mageia has none of these and to me is an absolutely perfect distribution. It has KDE desktop which I like, it has a huge amounts of preconfigured packages, it is powerful, very much configurable and has no bugs or annoyances that I know of. Everything just seems to work. It is perfect in almost every way. Perhaps one weakness that Slackware do not have is that packages have too many non needed dependencies. Packages are wrapped around each others in a not needed way, so I sometimes just download source packages and install those without all the non-needed dependencies. for that reason I also use Debian netinstall version with openbox as a "light" distribution, although I found that it also has the same issues with unecessary dependencies required. But at least I can keep debian netinstall version small and tidy. Perhaps time to revisit Slackware? For now there is no need for that. Mageia has lots of drivers, works perfect with most media files and codecs, is fully configurable, good for advanced users and beginners. I have not yet replaced the Kernel with a custom from source Kernel which might proov to be another negative thing as this was completely impossible with Mandriva, using almost every method conceivable without being a total smooth pro. I know how to change the Kernel and put my own there, but Mandriva just made that inredibly difficult and only gave the possibility of a preconfigred kernel package. But again, I will try this with Mageia soon and hope it is not the same. Mageia is just a joy to use so far. (I jumped right on version 3from Mandriva 2011 & 2010.1)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "3" by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-04-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by zeebra - posted: 12-19-2011 03:04 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 101225

great distro, great improvement since last Debian I tried, etch. Stable and excellent performance, configurable, user friendly and overall just Debian excellence.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "6.0" by wsteward - posted: 02-06-2011 - Rating: ********* 8.93

Last Review by zeebra - posted: 12-19-2011 02:57 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 120913

I have wanted Fedora to be great for years but have always ended up sadly disappointed. The last version(13) I tried was awful, many taditional Linux configure options removed and a horrible custom Grub that doesnt let you edit menu.lst this is fine enough, but get worse when the GUI boot config tool only allows Fedora to be added! an unfriendly rude community IRC did not help and the lack of wireless success left me finding solutions elsewhere. Fedora as the child of Redhat may have become too commercial for its own good, and for me is only slightly better than Windows Vista In fact it doesnt let you configure that much more of the system than Windows vista does either. I wil never try a future version of Fedora again, even though I havee waited for a good one. The overall impression was just too poor. since Fedora 10 it has only gone downhill.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "13" by wsteward - posted: 05-26-2010 - Rating: ******** 7.59

Last Review by zeebra - posted: 12-18-2011 09:46 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 33516

best distro I have tried by a large margin. I also have tried: Ubuntu SuSE Fedora Debian Slackware PcLinuxOS Kubuntu FreeBSD Knoppix

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Mandriva Linux 2010.2" by wsteward - posted: 12-26-2010 - Rating: ******* 6.89



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration