LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 03-27-2015 11:27 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 106

Not only installable from a CD, now there are pendrive installation images. Can be used live from pendrives or SD(HC) cards. Some network/wifi adapters not supported because the manufacturers won't release the code; need to check first to avoid disappointment. You may find your favourite program is not available, but there are suitable alternatives. You will need to know the basics of how unix works to get the best from the system. Full documentation is available to be read by the user, when needed, & there is a comprehensive FAQ. All in all, a very good O/S.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.6" by wsteward - posted: 11-02-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 02-25-2015 03:23 AM [ Post a Review
screet.jpg

Views: 399

I have been using AntiX for a couple of years now, & it has made my life easy not having to search for any extras, which I had to do when running plain Debian. Being lightweight, it is a good distro to bring your old machine back to life with modern software. (A good replacement for that old XP machine.)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Killah" by rokytnji - posted: 02-24-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:51 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 12972

I always come back to this distro. It is the modern 'Damn Small Linux' of the Linux world. It is mainly a very lightweight live web browsing distro for old and new hardware. It uses 'crunchbox' instead of the 'GNU utils', which can cause some problems with some GNU programs, but generally works well. Well worth investigating - but dowload the 'cooking' version, as it is the more upto date version, soon to be release 5.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "4.0" by wsteward - posted: 04-11-2012 - Rating: ****** 6.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 921

Whilst trying this version of FreeBSD, I found it to be a somewhat heavy system, if you have the resources, it is a good BSD desktop system. I had it running on a 3.4ghz i3 with 4gb ram, and a dual 1ghz, 1gb ram system, but found it slow compared to my usual Linux distro. (Perhaps because it uses ZFS.)

Rating: 9
Product Details: "10.0.3" by wsteward - posted: 09-09-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:24 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1698

Whilst this distro was one of the first lightweight live installable distros, it has become stuck in the past, nothing new since 2012. It still works, but trying to get security updates seems unlikely. I would leave this distro to the history books. There are better more modern lightweight distros out there now, such as SliTaz, which I like.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "4.11" by dpeirce - posted: 08-16-2014 - Rating: ****** 6.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 571

Very good midweight distro with just about everything you could want on a daily basis, uses XFCE desktop to save on resources.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.2 "MX"" by wsteward - posted: 07-01-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2415

A very full desktop distro, yet still only takes about 2.5gb of your disk. Works on old and new computers, using very little ram. Excellent forum also.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.2" by wsteward - posted: 11-06-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:06 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 9159

I use 'base' mainly because I need a web browser, music player, and a movie player - all included in the 'base' distro, plus much more, yet only about 1.5gb installation. N.B. The 'base' version has been dropped in 13.2, so this 13.1 is the latest, however, install it and just 'upgrade' to bring it right upto date.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.1" by wsteward - posted: 06-21-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 01-30-2012 09:25 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 18966

Why is this posted as a review, when there isn't one!
Product Details: "Building Embedded Linux Systems" by t3gah - posted: 05-06-2005 - Rating:

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 01-30-2012 09:23 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14835

Why is this listed as a review, as there isn't one!
Product Details: "Learning the vi Editor, 6th Edition" by t3gah - posted: 05-05-2005 - Rating:

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration