LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-17-2015 01:23 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2134

do not trust them with your support dollars. They reneg, stalk & slander you if you complain.

Rating: 2
Product Details: "2014.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-24-2014 - Rating: ****** 5.50

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-17-2015 06:47 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 301

I've been using Linux for over 15 years and I like what I see here. LXDE version was tested and installed on several machines. Compared to LinuxMint Debian it does not break as often and bugs reports are not completely ignored. Being Debian based this distro will run on older machines >10years with low specs. I've found the update function is broken since some repos have moved and the terminal will close and give a false positive. Users must correct the repos and then run command line update, upgrade Debian 8 and kernels not longer support nvidia legacy cards 173; you must use nouveau (ugg) Suggested improvements:
  • alter lsb-release to show Sparky instead of Debian. (this will give better grub listings)
  • Sparky GUI apps will show ok when they are not, it needs a delay or better command results display
  • have web site posts made prominent to show users how to fix upgrade blocks, breakage


Rating: 7
Product Details: "3.6" by galen - posted: 06-16-2015 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-15-2015 05:50 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 225

I've been using Linux for over 15 years & I believe these matter; honesty, ethics, support. Not eye candy. There are close to nil Linux reviews from this perspective. LL is a very impressive distro, it would be a top distro except:
  • dislike and censor bug reports
  • no code of conduct
  • no transparency on who owns & who is affiliated
  • no root access during install
  • no mounting devices during install
  • no root access during recovery mode
  • rogue grub2, it takes over. it's also misconfigured, does not play nice with other distros
  • unjust banning for support & forums
  • unjust demands on users (respond or else mentality, while blocking responses)
  • refusal to state user / supporter guidelines or rules
  • hostile to feedback
  • egocentric
The minor oversight of not including card games to lure the MS users over. Conclusion: No matter how good a distribution is, ethical support matters. Any distro deserves no respect when they censor bug reports, life ban supporters, lie about their conduct. Any egocentric admin undermines a foundation of Linux that Linux has better standards of behaviour than MicroSoft. I expected better from Linux Lite; I was sadly disappointed. I plan to update this review when more information is gathered. Unanswered questions:
  • who backs Linux Lite?
  • what is with the military 5-eyes affiliation?
  • why so anti-skeptic?
  • why back paranormal scam artists?


Rating: 3
Product Details: "2.4" by galen - posted: 06-15-2015 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-15-2015 05:34 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3089

Sad to report LL suffers major flaws in how it is run. There is no place for ego and an admin who refuses to accept legit bugs reports, demand quick responses while blocking responses, bug reports and attachments. They have no code of conduct, nor terms of use, no transparency and quick to life ban supporters. Plus when the admin has a hate on for skeptics; you know they need to fix their ethical void. They need to get the message ethics & honesty matter. see 2.4 for more

Rating: 3
Product Details: "Lite 2.0" by wsteward - posted: 06-02-2014 - Rating: ****** 5.50

Last Review by galen - posted: 03-26-2013 03:25 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 9243

Superb support for machines at least as old as 2002. Very tight and frugal OS, low resources needed. Even the nvidia legacy video card 3d support is stable. No trainwrecks like pulseaudio or nouveau are forced on you. Puppy is a relaxing experience. I routinely hand out Puppy CDs.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "5.5 "Wary", "Racy"" by wsteward - posted: 03-03-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by galen - posted: 03-26-2013 03:13 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 12997

superb collection of recovery tools. A very usable OS on its own. Bugs that are reported get fixed, how novel (winks at LinuxMint)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2013_02_28" by wsteward - posted: 03-01-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 03-25-2013 08:13 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 10353

too dangerous to use (seems to hunt & corrupt other distros on hard drive), not worth the forum abuse. They censor bug reports, ban, wipe posts and harass you on other bug reporting sites.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "2013.02" by wsteward - posted: 02-01-2013 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 01-09-2005 07:09 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 21999

Let me declare right from the start I support PL and I've donated time and web space to keep this worthy distro alive. Pl has been around for awhile and it has slipped in ratings as super distros come out. PL is a solid mature and highly efficient slackware based distro. PL was bold to introduce gcc3 gtk2 and 2.6kernel early on, and that has caused problems and that is the price of adopting new base software. I've used many distros and continue to try several each quarter. Where I find PL shines is in having loads of apps and services to choose. Great depth of applications, smooth fonts and speed. PL is certainly a worthy distro as at least your 3rd distro to have on hand, think of it as a glass of milk in the midst of the cola (distro) wars PS giving this distro a 3 rating is plain a-hole-ish

Rating: 8
Product Details: "9.6" by bareego - posted: 05-02-2004 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 03-16-2004 08:55 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 22362

Sorry but this is an obsolete distro as much as one can admire keeping the retro linux alive. Great for a retro party. Install was tedious and buggy. Would be better with a boot disk and install from CD

Rating: 4
Product Details: "" by Megaman X - posted: 01-04-2004 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 03-16-2004 08:51 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 46629

Outstanding distro for it's size. Developer has the best example of KISS around. Carry a floppy around with your ISP, email configs and you are mobile on even the lowliest hardware. A must have distro to amaze others. Can be used on recycled old computers. Would like to see it even smaller and fit on a 100Meg zip drive... ok maybe a 250Meg ZIP

Rating: 10
Product Details: "0.6.1" by spoody_goon - posted: 03-15-2004 - Rating: ********** 9.56

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration