LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 14 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 11-21-2007 10:17 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 38488

This is a great book for any administrator who has servers or hosts available to the internet or outside world beyond their own network who don't have expensive hardware firewalls in place to handle traffic, routing, etc. With the book covering from the basics of knowing iptables and the types of detections, it goes into more depth of network layer attacks, transport layer and application layer attacks. All of these cover great details and how to defend against such attacks. From this point on, it starts to cover psad, it's features, what can be done with psad deployed in your network and how to set it up to notify and auto respond to potential attacks, basically creating iptable rules to block suspicious traffic that is hitting your server or hosts. It goes on to cover deploying fwsnort, for further detection and protection. All around this is a great book and before I can say I obtained this book, we were already deploying psad in our own environment. Having a handy reference now makes things easier with setups and configurations explained in simpler terms without having to refer to online documentation or man pages. Everyone likes examples.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Linux Firewalls - Attack Detection And Response with IPTABLES, PSAD and FWS" by trickykid - posted: 11-21-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 02-13-2007 03:26 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 20823

Excellent resource for those wanting to learn how to setup and manage RAID within Linux. A good resource for picking and choosing what type of RAID best suits your setup.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Managing RAID on Linux" by t3gah - posted: 05-05-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 05-25-2005 08:23 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 46775

Another great "Nutshell" book by O'Reilly for the quick desktop reference series. Starting off with a brief overview of MySQL with references to mailing lists, the packages involved and several other important aspects to consider when dealing with database software, it then goes into quick details of installation procedures. It's quick and to the point approach to me gives it a quick thumbs up as it doesn't go into too many details but outlines the basic processes with enough detail that even those that aren't familiar with MySQL installations could easily follow. With its quick tutorial on SQL statements, its a refresher for some but everyday knowledge for others and possibly new for beginners. Though I recommend this book for any MySQL user, I wouldn't recommend it for someone who is new to databases or MySQL as a learning book but definitely a book to keep alongside after reading a book that goes into more details in introducing someone to MySQL. This is a desktop reference book, a book to keep on your side when you don't have time to search online for the answers and from what I've read, it should help me in the time in need. It will definitely be a book I keep by my side.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "MySQL in a Nutshell" by trickykid - posted: 05-25-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 03-20-2005 06:17 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 60326

Rising costs and slow updates, we've already starting making the switch to CentOS 4.0 for all of our developers who use Linux on the desktop.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "WS 3 Update 1" by refields - posted: 03-19-2004 - Rating: ******** 7.75

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 03-20-2005 06:15 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 25416

"* No ReiserFS support during installation?! I don't want ext3, it's inferior to reiser. And you don't have to agree with that to agree that it should at least be an option. " Actually ReiserFS is supported, it is a boot: command you have to pass during the first initial install, etc. Redhat is always a reliable source for a reliable operating system. But with recent license and support costs rising, our work is looking into switching to cut costs. Paying 80k a year for all Redhat licensing and support when we've called 2 times in 2 years for support is not worth it. Overall the distribution is great, only negative thing I find is they release slow updates, most of the time we're building our own.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Enterprise 3.0 ES" by mgatny - posted: 03-17-2004 - Rating: ****** 6.20

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 08-21-2004 03:32 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 34496

This book is a great book for those starting out with using Linux for the first time and should make it easy for those to follow along as it supplies Fedora Core on 4 cd's. It starts out like many Linux books, a background on Linux, what it is and does. The pros and cons of Linux compared to other operating systems and so on. Then it goes into details on how to install Fedora and Redhat. It runs you thru the basic installation process which I see helpful for those very new to the installation but very boring for those who've installed Linux. The only good thing I did like was it covered a little about the kickstart tools, to create a custom kickstart, install from, etc. The next several chapters cover the basics any person who's been using Linux for months or longer should be familiar with. If your one of these people who have used Linux and are comfortable with basic commands used daily along with the X Window system, Gnome, KDE or any other Window Manager, basic networking, you can most likely skip these chapters as you will maybe only learn a few tidbits of information you might not have known before. Around Chapter 11 is when it starts getting a little more involved, learning about setting up particular services. I do like the fact it goes over SELinux. This is the first book I've come across that actually mentions it. For those who don't know what SELinux is, its Security Enhanced Linux, developed by the NSA which implements Mandatory Access Control. To learn more, you'll have to either visit their site or pick up this book. Though it does take several chapters for those advanced users to enjoy this book, the later chapters that dicuss how to setup DNS, Samba, Apache and most of the other major services used, its not a very indepth book covering such topics. It's pretty straightforward, can get anyone going and working with such services. I totally recommend this book for those wanting to learn Linux, have never used Linux or have installed it for the first time and get to know it better. For those who want a book to go in more depth about setting up Apache or DNS, your probably better off getting a book just for that particular service. Overall, a great book and read. I knew most of the topics already but still learned some other small details I never pay attention to myself.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "A Practical Guide to Red Hat Linux-Fedora Core and Red Hat Enterprise Linux" by XavierP - posted: 07-05-2004 - Rating: ******** 7.67

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 03-25-2004 08:38 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 31179

This was an excellent book a few years back in regards to using modems and serial communications in Linux. Its like having the howto's on paper, a great need if you can't get online to view the docs. This book saved me many times when I was still on dialup.

Rating: 9
Product Details: " Linux Modem and Serial Communications, Vol. 1" by trickykid - posted: 03-25-2004 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 02-09-2004 11:29 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 20456

This was a very good book and I highly recommend it to newbies to even advanced users who deal with Apache on a day to day basis. Even if your starting out, this book is very straight forward, takes you from installing Apache to full blown administering Apache to take full advantage of its power.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Linux Apache Web Server Administration - Craig Hunt Linux Library" by trickykid - posted: 02-09-2004 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 02-09-2004 05:33 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 33554

Vector Linux 4.0 is a slimmed down version based off Slackware. The installer was a breeze with easy to understand menus. I did however not understand why it needed a reboot after using cfdisk to reconfigure my partitions. I was also dissappointed that it didn't allow me to customize my install selecting the packages I wanted. Another thing I did not like was it didn't install wireless tools. I would find this a very useful package to include in the default install as I had to grab the package from one of my Slackware cd's to get myself going online. Pros: Very fast using IceWM on a 475mhz laptop and 128 megs of RAM, Easy install, detected all of my laptop's hardware. Cons: Doesn't install wireless tools, slow install for the size that it is, too many default icons on IceWM desktop. I think this is a perfect distro for those who like Slackware, want a slimmed down version who also don't depend on Gnome or KDE for their desktop. Though it comes with some GUI utilities from what I could see, most who are familiar with the CLI could easily get around and configure this machine to their liking. It didn't come off with good impressions at first but the more I use it the more I like it.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "4.0" by trickykid - posted: 02-09-2004 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by trickykid - posted: 02-02-2004 09:03 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 21603

I obtained a fee copy of Lindows 4.5 Developer Edition from the Lindows.com website thru a promotion and after installing, am very happy I did not have to buy this particular distro to test out. After burning the iso to cd and then starting the installation, the install is as basic as it gets. I opted to install this on a 475mhz K6-II laptop with 128 megs of RAM. Even though the recommended specs it suggest is 800mhz with 256 megs of RAM, I soon realized that they aren't kidding. It is slow, very slow. During the install, it launches of course a GUI install that pretty much gives you 3 steps to install. First it asks if you want it to take over the whole disk or disks and or you can select a partition to install to in "Advanced Mode". I opted for the Advanced mode to see how well their partition tool was which to my suprise only gives you the option to select a particular partition to install the OS to. No other options, no configuring of your disk, etc. I find it only useful if your dual booting and you've already allocated a free partition to install the OS to. So much for the Advanced Mode. The next step is to put in your computer name and administrator password. Of course it doesn't mention root and of course no option to add other users. After this, it proceeds to the installation which gives you no configuration of what you want installed, configured, etc. It just simply installs I suppose everything. That's less steps than Windows and less options really than a basic Windows install. The install took about 30 minutes which was not suprising since of course my machine is slightly older and didn't meet their specs but for a desktop distro, I would think they could slim this install down and have it run on older hardware since most don't have the latest and greatest, especially if your not a gamer or the like. Upon reboot after the installation, it seemed to find my wireless nic but yet booting up, I had to end up modprobing the correct module and then hand configuring my network before it would work to connect to the internet. Upon connecting, they don't really describe their browser, mail client and such with detail but I can tell its just a hacked version of Mozilla or Konqueror most likely. I guess one nice thing is the GUI browser to samba shares in which it detected. I didn't realize that you do have to pay for the so-called wonderful Click and Run which to me seems like its just a front end web-browser gui to their website to click on packages to install, which most likely installs via apt-get on the backend which you can get for free using Debian or any other distro on 95% of the packages they offer. Some of the others like StarOffice I do give them credit for getting customers discounts on the price you have to pay. There's not much else to really describe this distro really except that is basic to install, the hacked GUI is KDE with tons of Lindows logo's and I found nothing to be developer about it really. I would think this is a great OS for people who don't want to use Windows or get a cheap alternative but for anyone who wants to learn Linux, I highly recommend to not waste your time. This is a grandma made easy distro to install and use and I really find the Click and Run to actually be a ripoff, since anyone with half a mind would realize are free and could probably learn how to install with just a little more brain power consumption.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "4.5" by trickykid - posted: 02-02-2004 - Rating: **** 4.00

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration