LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 4 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by perezomail - posted: 02-18-2013 07:35 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 19067

I think this is going to be my system for an unforeseen amount of time, I don't plan on any other Distros being on this, built by me desktop, or any others by it. When I first installed Slackware, while Kubuntu 1204 was on half my hard drive and I was duel booting vary happily, Kubuntu and Slackware. Until the day I upgraded my programs on Slackware and had graphics issues, I must say I was surprised to see 3.7.1 kernel after the upgrade of Slackware, while Kubuntu was only using 3.4 or something like that. I then opted to wipe my hard-drive clean down to all zeros and install only Slackware and upgrading only programs like Firefox and Opera. It was a faster install than Kubuntu and with saving my 64 bit programs on a flash drive I have had no issues whatsoever with kernel 3.2. I chose Slackware for the learning experience and got for me the best Distro ever. Heck, I even made myself a Slackware shirt.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by perezomail - posted: 05-12-2010 10:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 41165

before finaly installing ubuntu on my netbook i was vary pleased with pclinuxos gnome honestly id still have it on my netbook if it wasnt for the network settup namely for smb or windows network it was a little to simplified and hence became a pain in the neck when i tried to reconfigure it to suit my home network one area would be the way i wanted it and the rest stayed the same the default theme is spectacular which it was on all my computers however after battle with the network config area for sometime i opted out if this distro had a network configuration like that of ubuntu and the rest stayed the same ubuntu would be gone like yesterdau on my netbook

Rating: 6
Product Details: "2010" by wsteward - posted: 04-21-2010 - Rating: ******** 7.80

Last Review by perezomail - posted: 05-12-2010 10:30 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 171814

for xmas last year i got a new to me computer currently running on mepis 8.5 and debian for my privet use i have a netbook currently on lucid or ububuntu 10-4 mepis is for the family use which is kde (im not a fan of) which once was able to print without issue on my canon ip200 so i downloaded and made a cd of debian for my slave drive now if i have to print anything from any computer in the house it is sent to debian for somereason ubuntu mepis and a number of others ive tested do not support this printer without issue the only issue i have with debian is the grub for some reason when i tried three times to install it on my netbook it was asking for a grub rescue so i gave up and 12 distros later i put on my netbook ubuntu which is a little bloted compaired to debian as it stands my favorite distro between the three is debian

Rating: 10
Product Details: "5.0" by wsteward - posted: 02-23-2009 - Rating: ********* 9.13

Last Review by perezomail - posted: 08-10-2009 06:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 97724

I have an acer AOA 110-1722 512 ram 8gig drive +16gid esd in short i have two fingers up for fc11 and they are not thumbs I have been running on fedora10 with autoten for quite sometime and everything works great. about the only thing I have not been able to accomplish is getting Cricket modem A600 that is An edvo cdma cellular modem visa vie USB drive. none of the websites I have been alerted to involving this kind of modem have worked for me but other than that fedora 10 has been fantastic. I have tried various spins and ways to make these spins bootable for fedora 11. If it is not that it wont begin to install it will crash during the downloading of the software updates. I have been sent to the developers website on numerous occasions. End result in this month long quest to attain fedora 11 I have opted to stay with fedora 10 for quite a time after its end of life. for all of those with similar computers to my own and are fedora fans I would recommend the same.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "11" by wsteward - posted: 06-09-2009 - Rating: ******* 6.75



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration