LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 8 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 04-27-2009 04:54 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 43408

6.1 is DVD again. But it didn't come for normal download up to now just torrents or together with linux-magazines to buy. (Beside I like the possibility of either a CD or a DVD because mostly the CD is more than enough but for a fix installation a DVD might be better)
Product Details: "6.0" by wsteward - posted: 01-30-2009 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 03-09-2009 10:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 31852

I tested the SabayonLinux 4.r2 as a LiveDVD It was a very good distribution but as it is so big and build for explicit new hardware. So the LiveDVD is just for learning it to know but not suitable to carry your system always with you.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Sabayon Linux 4" by wsteward - posted: 12-28-2008 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 03-09-2009 10:04 AM [ Post a Review
install1.png

Views: 36409

Mandriva is one of the big distributions that offer everything and even more but it can be still used with a LiveCD It is multilingual You have the choice between Gnome or KDE. It is good documented and supported with various forums. Just the internet wasn't detected automatically. Once you know how to do it isn't difficult anymore but maybe this is a manco for beginners.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2009.1" by openland - posted: 01-08-2009 - Rating: ********** 9.67

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 03-09-2009 09:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 43408

I tested Version 6.0.1 with the standard LXDE-Desktop. It is a medium sized distribution that works fine from also LiveCD. It did everything as I inspected maybe it isn't as spectacular as you expect from the distribution that once started with the hipe of the LiveCDs. It seems that different distributions become always more similar to the others.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "6.0" by wsteward - posted: 01-30-2009 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 03-09-2009 09:45 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 15477

Puppy is the absolutely hit for me. I started with it my journey into the linuxworld. It is easy to use, small works as a liveCD but it is also installed very easily and quickly. There are wizards for everything. Even if it is small up to now I couldn't find a thing Puppy was unable to do for private desktop purpose. There is an excellent documentation via manuals and numerous forums. It worked fine on every hardware I tried it. The only thing I missed is an equal translation to german and italian.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Puppy Linux 4.1.2" by wsteward - posted: 12-09-2008 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 03-09-2009 09:37 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 23738

It is a small distribution simlpe to understand - which means also suitable for beginners. It can be used like a LiveCD. What fascinated me was that I could select at the homepage the modules I was interested in and got them directly included in the iso-File. Easier it can't be anymore.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Slax 6.0.9" by wsteward - posted: 12-14-2008 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 03-04-2009 03:40 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 39752

The LiveCD started easily with an old and with new computer. Firefox worked fine and there was not even a problem with Flash-plugin. It was very easy to use and worked fine. It offers everything for all day use. I just can recommend it even for beginners.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "openmamba milestone1-1.0" by computerophil - posted: 02-21-2009 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by computerophil - posted: 03-04-2009 03:31 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 27882

I tried this distro on two computers: With the first it couldn't work because it didn't cope with the old VGA-card. With the second a new laptop this wasn't a problem. There was an icon from skype but it din't react at all. Firefox worked but had problem to install Flash-Plugin. I could neither really find a menu nor a button to shut down (log out,...). For a beginner this must be a horror and he probably would never try linux again.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "2.0" by wsteward - posted: 11-11-2008 - Rating: * 1.00



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration