LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 6 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by XenaneX - posted: 07-26-2013 11:17 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 5577

I'm using Magia3 64 bit. Started using it a month or so ago because I just got tired of PCLinuxOS 64 bit that wasn't working well for me. Mageia seems faster and updates haven't broken anything. The repository works well once you get used to it. The forum people seem considerably friendlier than what I'm accustomed to, aside from Mepis which rates #1 with me. I really see no reason not to give it a 10 rating. They have done a good job.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "3" by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-04-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by XenaneX - posted: 07-05-2011 12:47 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 31015

I'm still using this distro even though 2011.6 is out (which I do have installed and use sometimes). I just can't seem to do without Konqueror FM in this version. I installed this distro on an old computer with an Intel Coppermine processor. Life is good. The repository is still available, just not updated anymore. These folks are so thorough they have lots and lots and lots of rules for posting in their forums. I really like this. http://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/index.php/topic,92875.0.html Another list of rules on how to politely reply to a question would be a nice addition.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "2009.2" by wsteward - posted: 07-08-2009 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by XenaneX - posted: 06-29-2011 04:39 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 20123

Downloaded and installed it today. I am amazed at the ease of installation, the speed, the fit and finish and polish of this well done distro. It has exceeded my expectations. I have some work to do to learn the ins and outs of KDE, but I'll just have to bite the bullet and do it. I use the file manager a lot and Konqueror under PCLinuxOS 2009 is what sold me on the distro in the first place. Firefox works well in this distro and PCLinuxOS has so much else to offer.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2011.6" by wsteward - posted: 06-28-2011 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by XenaneX - posted: 06-21-2011 04:54 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 32383

I've stuck with the 2009 version for the most part due to the fact I can't live without Konqueror file manager in that version. 64 bit would be nice but not totally necessary. I realize it might take a lot of work to upgrade the OS to 64 bit. PCLinuxOS now has a fist full of versions and the XFCE one is emerging as one of my favorites. I'm waiting for a newer version before installing it permanently. As an alternative, I'm looking at ArchBang which is 64 bit and looks sharp. Other than that, I can't find anything else to compare with PCLinuxOS.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "2010.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-20-2010 - Rating: ******** 7.60

Last Review by XenaneX - posted: 05-26-2009 09:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 18972

The OS works well and looks good. It's not perfect and some other KDE based distros have surpassed it in looks. I was elated to find my printer works now and it works well. Wifi setup is easy if you have some familiarity with setting one up. If you're a newbie, you can get it set up with just a little effort. After reading some criticisms of their forums, I realized why I threw my hands up and quit posting on them. Using search is a decent way to find help but the ratio of off topic posts is overbearing. I've gone so far as searching the Ubuntu forums for help with issues that sprang up in my PCLOS system. They're going to be hurting for a while since many of their more professional devs got fed up and left. Still, I recommend PCLinux0S 2009 and it will be my favorite distro until something better comes along.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "2009.1" by widget - posted: 04-13-2009 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by XenaneX - posted: 05-26-2009 08:59 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 500115

I tried a few distros and settled on PCLOS07. It does pretty much what I want an OS to do. I never got a printer to work very well, but I was unable to upgrade which may have been a factor. The forums...I got the impression staffing was too limited to give everyone the help they needed. Too many posts were answered by "go read this rule" or "read the manual". I expected to see "shut up and just go away". Well, many of the devs did just that which tells you something is broken with the way things are being done. When texstar left for months on end, it was like shooting the OS in the foot. When PCLinuxOS recovers from all the troubles, things should improve.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "2007" by davecs - posted: 05-21-2007 - Rating: ********* 8.62



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration