LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 26 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 02-01-2008 01:52 AM [ Post a Review
XandrosBlue.jpg

Views: 74503

What can I say about this distribution, simply that it works, it detected my windows partition and automatically partioned my harddisk, (I still need windows for games) instead of having to spend hours getting my graphics card, my sound card, my modem, and printer working, it just detected them and I was set to go. In just half an hour I was ready to go, I'm still trying to work out what the catch is, but all I can say is it's just nice to have something that just works. ------------------------------ DC Comics Collection

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Open Circulation Edition (OCE) 3.02" by masinick - posted: 03-25-2006 - Rating: ******** 7.80

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-31-2008 02:14 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 29742

Once you have Vector Linux installed, configured, and customized to your needs itís an absolute pleasure to run. Itís fast and sleek and well thought out. Some features, such as those for managing WiFi connections and removable hardware, are absolutely second to none. ------------------------------ Fauna

Rating: 10
Product Details: "5.8 Standard Gold" by shahgols - posted: 02-12-2007 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-31-2008 01:35 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 48811

I was expecting a lot more from this book. The book consists of a slew of sales literature on the various distributions, a practice exam of questionable quality, and a list of definitions that can be found in at least 100 places along with some VERY BASIC Linux tasks. Nothing is covered in depth. The redeeming parts of this book are the sections on PC architechure, video modes, and troubleshooting. At best, it's over-priced ... ------------------------------ Colanders & Food Strainers

Rating: 5
Product Details: "Sair Linux and GNU Certification, Level 1: Installation & Configuration" by trickykid - posted: 03-25-2004 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-31-2008 01:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 26220

DSL is small, but dynamite comes in small packages. Easy, powerful, accessible, and fun -- sounds like some of the things that got you interested in the Linux revolution to begin with. ------------------------------ Education

Rating: 9
Product Details: "0.7.3" by jeremy - posted: 07-30-2004 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-30-2008 01:40 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 388568

So far, I am quite impressed by opensuse10.1, but I am having significant difficulty getting my new machine with an intel D945GNT motherboard, which has onboard high definition audio), to make any sort of a peep. The 945G chipset has the 82801 (ICH7) which according to suse should be autodetected, so I don't think its an issue of the hardware being too new for the driver. ------------------------------ Action

Rating: 3
Product Details: "10.1 Final GM" by xtknight - posted: 05-13-2006 - Rating: ****** 6.04

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-30-2008 01:34 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 62620

Sabayon Linux aims to give users all the bleeding edge software of SimplyMEPIS and PCLinuxOS but is based on Gentoo and uses Portage as its package management system. I havenít used Gentoo for a couple of years now, but Sabayonís popularity is continually increasing and with a new release itís now time to give it a try. ------------------------------ Dance Pop

Rating: 10
Product Details: "3.3" by lleb - posted: 06-08-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-30-2008 01:30 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24203

What caught my attention with Vector Linux were the things that are missing. No messy setup process choosing to install package A, B, or C for the same function. No guessing at what would be starting when I rebooted the system. No figuring out what icons are for and what on earth some of the oddly named applications do, exactly. No system bloat of 10 different applications to handle any possible preference of what to use for a specific task. Just a clean, uncluttered 650MB worth of software, ready to go. I didn't even have to hand tune it. If you're not afraid of changing a root password with "passwd" or put off by checking a "Boot X on Start" option, this may very well be the distribution for you. I can heartily recommend it. ------------------------------ Authors, A-Z

Rating: 10
Product Details: "4.3" by Zuggy - posted: 12-19-2004 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-30-2008 01:24 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 117427

I was pleased with MEPIS's hardware detection and configuration. My display was correctly configured to use the desired 1280x800 resolution, a welcome sound greeted my first login, the volume controls worked on my keyboard, and my wireless Ethernet adapter was ready for the input of my Wi-Fi Protected Access passkey. ------------------------------ Accessories

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0" by masinick - posted: 10-08-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.12

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-30-2008 01:21 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 21769

This is the best book that will take you from the Zero level (actually, i had some good knowledge about Linux administration and programming) to a level that allow you to run some network services (such as; email, shared folders, LDAP, Proxy, DNS ...etc). I highly recommend to have this book in your home or work. ------------------------------ Reflective Gear

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Fedora Core 6 Unleashed" by Lsatenstein - posted: 01-15-2007 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by Alex2008 - posted: 01-30-2008 01:13 AM [ Post a Review
190238dolphinlogo.png

Views: 30405

With Zenwalk I can achieve everything I want to do at home, including exchanging email with Thunderbird, Web browsing with Mozilla, listening to my MP3s in Audacious, watching video in gxine, and writing my uncle an old-fashioned letter with AbiWord. I can even cling to some Windows stuff, like Adobe Photoshop and Dreamweaver, which work well thanks to the Crossover Office software installed with Zenwalk. ------------------------------ Gauges

Rating: 10
Product Details: "1.2" by cfuttrup - posted: 09-16-2005 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration