LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 4 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by mdlinuxwolf - posted: 12-01-2013 03:06 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4150

I made a reiser4 backup with mint 12 32 bit. I'm trying to get 15 64 bit to read it. All my data is there. Other then that, nice implementation of KDE desktop.
Product Details: "15 "KDE"" by wsteward - posted: 07-22-2013 - Rating:

Last Review by mdlinuxwolf - posted: 11-06-2009 02:06 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 97728

I was running an ancient version of Fedora 8 on my laptop, (3000 N100 w. 2 gig RAM + Core Duo CPU) Initially, I tried upgrading it with a live version of Fedora 9, but it didn't have any of the features that I wanted. I tried my first install with the full DVD. The first attempt detected Fedora 9, but wouldn't install any additional features that F8 had & I wanted back. Basically, I didn't want Gnome and did want Open Office. I tried to run upgrade again & it didn't see any version of Linux at all. So, I did a clean install. Even though this is a DVD that I downloaded the day before and burned, it still needed over 1000 packages upgraded. As of now, I have less then 300 to go. I'm having more problems getting the wireless printer to work. It doesn't detect printers as easily as F8 did. I still have to decide what version of Adobe Flash I want. I'll probably go ahead and install Flash 9 for now. That should work with youtube !! (Priorities) The multimedia thing was pretty straight forward. Repeat after me "Livna is your friend." Using Yumex makes life a lot easier for handling the repositories. I recommend mplayer (kmplayer) and VLC. Get them from their websites. My computer seems to run a little faster as well. The wireless picked up a network that I never even knew existed. No hardware was changed or upgraded. Still, the true test is how it behaves a month later.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "11" by wsteward - posted: 06-09-2009 - Rating: ******* 6.75

Last Review by mdlinuxwolf - posted: 02-02-2008 04:51 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 50508

Like I said before, Sabayon isn't quite there yet.  Consider it like Alpha or Beta software, for example like an unstable release of Debian.  Still, it has a lot of potential and makes a great live CD so long as you don't actually install it.  Sabayon is region free when playing a DVD.  However, your hardware must also be region free or the picture will have massive distortions.  It plays DVD movies out of the box and has most of the multimedia codecs preinstalled.

Since using Sabayon, I tried Fedora 7 on my laptop which is a 3000 N100.  It worked very well.  The internal sound didn't work, but an external USB sound card did.  This card was part of an Altec Lansing headphone and microphone set.  After that, I installed Fedora 8, which works perfectly aside from the occassional system lockup.

If you have one of these laptops (3000 N100), give Fedora 8 a try.  Install it from the live CD.  It even found a wireless HP photo printer by itself.


Rating: 4
Product Details: "3.4" by mdlinuxwolf - posted: 08-28-2007 - Rating: ****** 6.00

Last Review by mdlinuxwolf - posted: 06-23-2007 05:14 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 101192

I just installed SuSE 10.2 on a Lenovo Laptop 3000 N100. It dual boots with Vista Business. Hint: You have to resize the Vista partition from within Vista or all hell will break loose. Fortunately enough, I knew this going in. The Lenovo has 2 gigs of 667 speed DDR2 RAM and an Intel Core Duo running at 1.8 Gigahertz. For Vista, this is adequate. For SuSE 10.2, performance is spectacular. By far the fastest machine I've ever owned. The boot screen scrolls so fast you can't even read it. There are 2 bugs, however. First, if you try to add a source to YaST, it says that the source isn't a source and refuses to use it. It says that everything is a directory even when the URLs are correct. Second, the sound doesn't work. On Novell's site under the HCL, there is a green check mark with a note that external speakers are bad. Guess what, so is the headphone jack. No sound NADA, fuggetabutit. You can't successfully switch drivers either. YaST will not allow it. 10.3 will have a better sound driver. I will fix it with an upgrade. One other note: I've tried Linux in quite a few configurations with different file systems. With the Ext type, I've had quite a few freeze ups and stability issues. It works fine for a few months and then... I always recommend that newbies or anyone else use the ReiserFS configuration. Yes, it is also faster as well. Security is excellent.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "openSUSE 10.2" by mrmeetze - posted: 12-10-2006 - Rating: ******** 7.98



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration