LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 5 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by masand - posted: 04-22-2005 02:22 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 90152

ubuntu is a fine distro based on debian i do not have very fast conncetion at ny home,so i depend on offline downloads.so i am not ablke to use apt-get very much which is very much required to work on ubuntu as u need to install a lot of packages and it lacks basic mp3 support so u need to get those packges initally also,not a big deal of u have some good internet connection ubuntu has a good desktop which is nice and stable and the environment of debain. i am waitng for CDs of all popular ubuntu packages which will be bundled in some CD,so that we can have the popluar packages without using apt-get

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Hoary 5.04" by masonm - posted: 04-13-2005 - Rating: ********* 8.63

Last Review by masand - posted: 04-22-2005 02:15 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 29243

i started working on ubuntu but i was not accustomed to gnome desktop so i got kubuntu which was like kde+ubuntu without gnome i got kubuntu installed it has a good desktop ,one of the best i have seen on linux .it is quite stable too,but again not all packages can be bundled in a single CD,so i installed all the extra packages like gnome dektop ,firefox form the ubit CD that i had. and i was able to work in a debain environment ,so i like kubuntu and would recommend it

Rating: 8
Product Details: "5.04" by masand - posted: 04-22-2005 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by masand - posted: 01-08-2005 12:51 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 34756

I tried my hand on LFS 4.0 but could be succesfull then came LFS 5.1 and LFS 6.0 i got packages for LFS 6.0 and started working on it presently i am buildng the packages and i have surpassed my last build stage and i have faced no problems till now except those which were due to my mistake It is a great learning experience and i hoping to work ahead with BLFS

Rating: 9
Product Details: "6.0" by masand - posted: 01-08-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.33

Last Review by masand - posted: 01-06-2005 11:49 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 20182

I got the ISO of this distro in a CD. and since then i was excited about using a linux from an indian company. the installation was quite easy but this linux is 2.4 based kernel, whcih should be 2.6 since we had more that 1 year of 2.6 been launched. here is a short package list 3 Office suites (Openoffice.org, Koffice and GNOME office), 3 browsers, Mozilla, Opera, Galeon, 2 e-mail clients kmail and evolution, numerous multimedia applications, XINE, Ogle, Mtv, realplayer ; QT Designer, Kdeveloper, Kylix Community Edition, GLADE complete the IDE list. Besides this it has a graphical front end for CVS, gdb and other miscellaneous tools. Server components included in this version are, Apache, squid, Iptables, MySQL, PostgreSQL, FTP and many other essential ones

Rating: 7
Product Details: "POWER DESK 4.0" by masand - posted: 01-06-2005 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by masand - posted: 08-29-2004 03:51 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 47971

hi... have read many editions of the book, and it hs improved from where it started. the software bundles with it is good,but the matter in the magazine needs to be improved more.. it has given a local perspective to linux , but an international perspective is lacking. also it has two booklets, one for the newbees and one for professionals a good magazine to buy.. regards

Rating: 7
Product Details: "LINUX For You" by LinuxLala - posted: 04-01-2004 - Rating: ******* 7.00



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration