LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 6 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by addux - posted: 12-02-2012 08:21 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8768

I think this is a great release from Ubuntu. Like Unity or not, if you let it be and just use it, it's not bad. Purists may laugh at that notion, and debian feels snappier when I use it, but that doesn't mean this is a complete miss. Some things that stand out that I like: -indexed file searching from the start menu! It's fast and reliable as it should be.. -all the actions/programs seem very refined and uniform(visually), which is actually a big step forward for *nix distros if you ask me -ease of use, my wife uses fairly painlessly and seems to like it -bleeding edge of linux as always from debian/ubuntu -personally unity has grown on me, so I'll say it's a plus here - better support for 32 bit software on a 64 bit system that I don't like: -Most fall into the category of problems with linux as a whole -in favor of 32 bit binaries, they seem to be shying away from the other platforms that debian has infamously been ported to(read not enough time/resources). -there is some serious lag for full industry standard hardware support such as usb 3.0, mtpfs (newer android phones use this protocol) and others. USB 3.0 tranfer speeds using Ubuntu can be freakishly slow, when compared to windows and even it's debian counterpart. -the lack of choice that Ubuntu has. They obfuscate the visual choices and even the security choices more with each new release (see: Unitiy, sudo). This is good and bad in reality, good for end user ease of use, bad for choice. Over all I would recommened this to a person that wants to move to linux, or just try it. It is the easiest and best all around distro to date. Linux purists probably will stay away.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "12.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 08-24-2012 - Rating: ******* 7.33

Last Review by addux - posted: 05-24-2012 10:07 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 17883

Ubuntu has come a long way. I used to be purely Debian, and although I appreciated Ubuntu's philosophy and relentless effort to improve, It never seemed to be quite as stable and reliable. These days, Ubuntu feels as fast and as stable, offering a complete, easy-on-the-eyes, bleeding edge open source experience. It is worth mentioning that I have a very capable rig, so I haven't tested this version on lesser hardware, but I imagine it won't be all that great because it seems a bit more resource heavy. I will say Ubuntu 12.04 offers just about everything Debian does, and finally is as stable (sometimes I wonder if not a bit more stable). In Ubuntu's strive to make itself more user friendly it seems the devs have realised you have to dumb it down. This time around it is more evident than ever. The new user interface is way to similar to Mac OSX, and unlinke most Open Source distro's it is not as easy to change out of the box. You can always install Xubuntu or Kubuntu which is great, but the default version is pretty locked down in comparison to, say, Debian. But not so locked down that it is unchangable. I don't like the new trend to install their own 'payware' that, again, isn't as easy as before to keep from starting up or uninstalling. EG: Ubuntu one and the fact that The Apps store or whatever its called defaults to a few payware apps when you search for software. However I am fully aware that businesses need to make money, so my only worry is the slippery slope concern, or where it will go from here. Will they begin to push more and more of there own stuff? Or will this be it. Either case they have to make money, so I am really on the fence about this. And besides this is a great version of Ubuntu and I like Ubuntu One.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "12.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-27-2012 - Rating: ******** 7.83

Last Review by addux - posted: 02-10-2012 06:19 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 96552

Debian's new releases, albiet slow in coming about, are better with every release. Squeeze is no exception. I used to rely on Ubuntu for the bleeding edge, but with a decent selection from debian backports I have move to Debian alone. Install is fairly easy with even minimal computer experience. 95% of my hardware worked out of the box. All actions feel smooth, fast, and clean, especially with compiz Safe and secure as with all Debian products Customizable As with all *deb distros, great pkg slection

Rating: 9
Product Details: "6.0" by wsteward - posted: 02-06-2011 - Rating: ********* 8.93

Last Review by addux - posted: 03-22-2009 04:57 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 169746

Another great release, in my opinion, from Debian. Stable, fast, secure as usual. My biggest problem is with the iwl3945 driver and ucode/can't get my wireless card to work (good thing I don't use it). I've been with Debian since Etch was released and don't plan on leaving anytime soon. Free Software foundation has a plethora of apps and alternatives to just about everything.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.0" by wsteward - posted: 02-23-2009 - Rating: ********* 9.13

Last Review by addux - posted: 12-07-2007 05:28 PM [ Post a Review
desktop.png

Views: 433346

A year later and I still love this OS. I've used this distro for over a year now and have come to appreciate it greatly and learned a lot about linux and especially about debian. I prefer this over ubuntu, actually I am using lenny right now, since it is very stable and a little more bleeding edge. Cons: As I already stated most of the cons associated with debian are across the board with linux distros. I have had continued trouble with my wireless card in debian, despite it working flawlessly in ubuntu and other distros. There have been a few hiccups here and there, some websites don't function properly and continuously crash firefox(its been a while since this has happened). I have had a couple of kernel panics associated with compiz/nvidia/beryl. Community support is basically limited to me mooching off the guys using ubuntu. There might be some other minor issues that I can't think of right now. can't configure built-in webcam. Pros: Fast, as far as I am concerned it is fast. I'm a novice and I know other distros are faster but generally I think they take a bit more knowledge than I have to tweak them where you need it. 'installgui' is a very nice upgrade from the old school text install. Install was a breeze and took all of 30 minutes to get a base desktop/laptop setup. Lenny is a good alternative to etch and vice versa. Seemingly endless amount of tools/apps to chose from. Despite the few hiccups I mentioned I will still say it is very stable. I can run compiz, azureus compile programs, use vmware, brwose the web, manage finances literally for weeks without a reboot, system lockup or any noticeable degradation in performance(all aforementioned issues seemed to have been fixed one way or another). System updates are controllable and easy. APT-GET!! And of course all the unmentioned positives that come with any linux distro. Highly recommended if you have confidence with you linux knowledge.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "4.0 r0 (etch)" by Drax946 - posted: 04-09-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.41

Last Review by addux - posted: 12-17-2006 06:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 387687

I am actually very surprised to here all the problems with this OS. I started my linux experience with a crappy version called topolino-something. Didn't work. I then stumbled across SUSE 10.1 (unstable) and got it up and running on a fairly uncommon laptop Sony PCG-GRX560. And just about everyhting worked. New HP printer/scanners audio/MP3 video/DVD. It could be slow at times and even slower other times. And there were lots of bugs in the unstable version. I have the released version and all the bugs that were there have been eradicated, and it seems to run a bit faster. Nevertheless I am a complete novice with Linux but have found a safe haven for me to use the stability of linux easily in SUSE 10.1. I also use Xubuntu and have many more issues with it.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "10.1 Final GM" by xtknight - posted: 05-13-2006 - Rating: ****** 6.04



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration