LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 4 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by kayakman - posted: 11-13-2013 10:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7942

Installation was the easiest I have seen. I'm not good with technical judgements so I must leave that for others. The first update package is very useful with most things needed to be up and running. Still checking other software installed and will get back to you. The last Mint version I used was Version 11.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "15 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 07-13-2013 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by kayakman - posted: 02-06-2013 10:49 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 99512

Unlike Ubuntu, Debian 6.0 did not offer WL BCM4312 drivers/package. So I could not get the wireless part to work. My skill use in terminal usage is terrible. So I'm looking for another distro that will give me the drivers ready to install for Broadcom WL. I would like to use it wirelessly; enjoy the clean look of things, and the pop-up menus instead of the icons. That keeps the desktop clean and less strain on the eyes.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "6.0" by wsteward - posted: 02-06-2011 - Rating: ********* 8.93

Last Review by kayakman - posted: 10-18-2011 09:38 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 22614

Overall it was easy to install and use. The availability of so much software is staggering. Just wish I was smart enough to make the most use of the operating system and software. Educating self is a major objective. Strongly recommend.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "11" by wsteward - posted: 05-26-2011 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by kayakman - posted: 02-21-2011 11:54 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 82088

Review of SLACKWARE: After 3 days of attempting to find a way to make a wireless connection....it has eluded me to no end. I'm tired of people saying Slackware is so Great. If you happen to be a code writer/programmer, I guess this distro is for you. Not for me. My nic card shows up during the booting process. No way to determine how to find it from the desktop or do any configuration for it. Not one that makes sense. My laptop is a Dell 1545, 4gb ram, 80gb hard drive for installing Slackware, it took two attempts. Finally got a desktop (XFCE) to appear. My best experience of linux distros: LinuxMint10.1, PCLOS and SUSEEDucation. I know I know I'm overly critical here and you guys that know linux inside out I envy. Yet I was wanting to try Slackware and see what all the hype is about. So far...None.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "Linux 13.1" by wsteward - posted: 05-26-2010 - Rating: ********* 9.25



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration