LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 6 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by masonm - posted: 04-29-2007 10:43 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 73207

I've been using GNU/Linux for quite a few years now and have been a long time Slackware Linux user although I have played around with a lot of other distributions. I had experimented with Debian Linux a few years ago and wasn't at all impressed with it. It was sluggish and simply didn't run as fast as I wanted my OS to run. As I had some time to kill today I decided to check out Debian in it's current state so I downloaded and installed Debian Testing (code named Lenny). I have to say that I am impressed with how much it has improved. It runs very nicely on my laptop, is very responsive, and is very easy on the resources. This combined with the apt package manager system that has made Debian such a popular base for distributions like Ubuntu and Mepis, makes Debian a pretty nice OS. In just about an hour I had the OS installed, all of my hardware configured (including the pesky cellular PC card that wasn't designed to run in Linux), and a nice Beryl 3D desktop in place. I've spent a few hours playing around with it, installing additional software, and just generally seeing how it does with the things that I need for it to do. I like the fact that isn't isn't "dumbed down" as distros like Ubuntu tend to be. Nothing wrong with that for some people. Many just want it to run without much manual intervention from them, but I prefer to have a bit more control over my system (the reason I've run Slackware for so many years). The apt package manager system makes installing software a snap in Debian and it's derivatives. You can either use it on the command line or use a GUI like Synaptic. You simply tell it what you want to install, it downloads it from the servers, along with any dependencies that are required, and then installs and configures the software. Pretty simple. And there are over 20,000 applications available so it's not hard to find something that will do the job you need. All in all I'd say that Debian has come a long way in making their OS both usable and responsive. I think I'll keep it a while.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Lenny" by masonm - posted: 04-29-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.17

Last Review by masonm - posted: 11-06-2005 12:49 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 287168

Having tried past SuSE versions, I am pleasantly surprised to see that 64 bit 10.0 version has improved greatly. The installation properly detected and configured all of my hardware and the installation is simple enough for even a complete Linux newbie to work through with no problem. It runs fairly quickly and is a very "complete" feeling distro with a lot of polish. The GUI configuration and update tools will make system maintenance a breeze for new Linux users and experienced alike. In the past YAST tended to create as many configuration problems as it solved, but SuSE seems to have improved upon this greatly. Installing additional applications is quite easy using YAST and I ran into very few dependency problems that couldn't be quickly solved. All in all I'd say that Novell has taken SuSE in the right direction and would highly recommend SuSE 10.0 for new and experienced users alike.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "10.0" by Micro420 - posted: 10-07-2005 - Rating: ******** 8.04

Last Review by masonm - posted: 04-13-2005 07:56 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 88997

Until now I hadn't tried Ubuntu because it had a reputation as a "newbie" distro and wasn't interested in aquiring the problems such "automatic" type distros usually have. A friend of mine tried the newest release, Hoary Hedgehog (I know, really stupid name) and he was quite impressed with it. I decided "what the heck" and gave it a test drive. The installer is nearly identical to the Debian Sarge installer which I was familiar with. While it isn't a nice shiny GUI installer, it's a very effective menu based text installer which is both efficient and logical. I doubt most people would have much trouble with the installer. The hardware detection was excellent. I use a laptop and some (many) distros have some trouble in properly detecting and configuring aptop hardware. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Ubuntu detected and correctly configured everything. Graphics, LCD monitor, pcmcia ethernet card, everything. I didn't have to tweak a single setting. Xorg even configured correctly! Amazing. The default (and only) window manager is Gnome 2.10 (the newest) with a very nice clean looking desktop. The brown theme takes a little time to grow on you and you can always change it if you really hate it. And if you don't like Gnome, you can always install Kubuntu which is the KDE version of Ubuntu, or simply install KDE to your Ubuntu system. There are some very handy tools included including an update notifier that lets you know if there are new updates availale from the Ubuntu/Debian repositories. Synaptic is the GUI frontend to the apt-get package manager and is very nice. The packages included by default are a pretty darned good selection and include Open Office, Firefox, Evolution, and many others. Over all I have to say that I'm very impressed with Ubuntu. They've done a great job in making a distro that is very user friendly, stable, has fresh versions of applications, and very dedicated to the open source philospy. Their product tag line is "Linuu for Human Beings" and I'd say it's pretty appropriate here.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Hoary 5.04" by masonm - posted: 04-13-2005 - Rating: ********* 8.63

Last Review by masonm - posted: 04-07-2005 01:59 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 231858

Everything works. Simple as that. Clean and uncluttered/unbloated install of Linux. Runs very nice and snappy. All the hardware on my laptop is configured and working perfectly with no problems at all.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "10.1" by jeremy - posted: 02-11-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.09

Last Review by masonm - posted: 03-17-2005 02:35 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 77476

Over-all best distro I've used. My poor old laptop has never run apps as fast as it does using Gentoo. If installing from stage1, bassically compiling the entire system from scratch, install takes a couple of days to get a base system up and running. Well worth it in the long run. If you've never installed a LFS, Gentoo, etc... you'll leanr a LOT about your computer and about Linux by the time you have Gentoo installed and running.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2004.3" by Nz_Boy_2004 - posted: 12-05-2004 - Rating: ********* 9.17

Last Review by masonm - posted: 02-21-2005 01:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 97378

This is a great product for someone to migrate from Window$ to Linux. Very easy to install and configure as are all the previous SuSE products of late. YAST makes installing and configuring hardware and software a breeze for the new Linux user and old hand alike. Not so great for a more experienced Linux user as the tools needed to compile and install non-rpm software are totally missing. While one can download and install the needed components needed to compile and install tarballs, it really is a pain to have to waste the time doing so. I would recommend the Professional version for the more experienced user, and the Personal for someone just learning to use Linux.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "9.1 Personal" by jeremy - posted: 08-01-2004 - Rating: ********* 9.20



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration