LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 5 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by brianL - posted: 10-10-2012 11:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 19330

David is entitled to his opinion, even if it is wrong. And without Slackware, there would be no offshoots such as Salix. Too little software? How can you say that, then recommend a cut-down fork? Six-and-a-half GB not enough? Anyway, enough of David and his problems. Smile Slackware 14.0 maintains the high standard of previous releases, which is more than can be said of many other distros.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by brianL - posted: 12-04-2011 09:27 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 107666

The rating should go to 11.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.37" by wsteward - posted: 04-28-2011 - Rating: ********** 9.59

Last Review by brianL - posted: 09-02-2009 10:57 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 117552

It's up to the usual high standard, with the added bonus of a 64 bit version for this release. Initially I didn't like KDE4, but I've got used to it, and there are alternative DE/WMs available. So that doesn't matter. It's what lies beneath that counts. Thoroughly recommended, as usual, to anybody - newbies or veterans, whatever.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.0" by gegechris99 - posted: 08-30-2009 - Rating: ********* 9.33

Last Review by brianL - posted: 12-17-2008 10:26 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 144176

Just as good as any previous Slackware - only the software versions change, the quality stays the same.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Slackware Linux 12.2" by wsteward - posted: 12-11-2008 - Rating: ********** 9.89

Last Review by brianL - posted: 06-27-2008 08:26 AM [ Post a Review
slackpenguinlogo.jpg

Views: 110002

Contrary to rumour and myth, Slack is a suitable distro for newbies, provided they are willing to engage their brains a little now and then. My first experience with GNU/Linux was installing Slackware 10 in 2005, I was a relative newbie to computers in general then, but I had little difficulty. Since then I've used 11, 12.0, and now 12.1, and each issue has been easier to install and configure. Personally, I just find Slackware a lot more interesting than other distros I've tried. I always do a full install, since I never know what aspect or field of computing I will get interested in next. No hunting through Package Managers for bits and pieces. I would recommend Slackware 12.1 to anyone, whatever their level of experience or needs.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "12.1" by Linux.tar.gz - posted: 05-26-2008 - Rating: ********** 9.93



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration