LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 16 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 10-07-2013 11:16 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2252

I installed the xfce version and install cinnamon DE since I love the cinnamon Desltop environment. Very modern looking and fast performing. I install midori, docky, and cinnamon post install. Manjaro gives you a ready to go arch-based distro with a gui package manager and a easy to use GUI installer. It is the first arch-based distro that I could easily recommend to a beginner user of linux outside of Linux Mint/Zorin/Ubuntu (many more). It may be mere perception, but regardless of Desktop environment when compared to the other non-arch-based distros, it performs faster, crispier and more snappy. Less lagginess. The biggest con is the GUI package manager not being as robust as synpatic (debian)sometimes as well as the fact that Ubuntu/Debian has undisputably the greatest package repository.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "0.8.7" by wsteward - posted: 08-26-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 01-25-2012 11:56 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 18909

I had mentioned the dependence on cli for package management as a con. It is also a pro for this distro. Once you get familiar with packer -S packagename , it becomes ridiculously easy to add and remove software. Additionally, there is appset which is a gui front-end that resembles and has some capabilities like synaptic for viewing and knowing what packages are available and what they do. pacman and packer are still the prefered way for installing and uninstalling. Now unto the greatness of archbang. I have used this distro exclusively for 1 year and a month. It pretty much stopped me from my distrohopping ways. It has all the advantage of archlinux minus the hassle of just working once installed. it comes with openbox by default with some very nice must have applications e.g aurora firefox; flash is enabled by default. Upon install you get a minimalistic looking, but fully functional and fast distro installation ready to go or build on. The distro makes it more tolerable to learn arch and linux while benefitting from total customization power. Key drawbacks for newbie users would be: (1)If dual-booting, having to manually edit the menu boot to peroperly startup other OS(e.g windows 7) (2)Using packer -S application_name instead of synaptic package manager as in debian-based distros. (3) Refering to archwiki or the community guide for disabling and using gdm instead of slim/ldm. Gdm makes accessing other desktop environments very easy. (4)Since it is rolling-release,it could be taxing on your bandwith should you choose to run updates daily. The newest upgrades comes alarmingly fast. Once these 3 things which are not that bad are overcomed, you have a simply flawless system that is fast, stable, bleeding-edge, and gorgeous to work in. The package management system is more sane and easier to work with than debian-based counterparts. Performance on the bloated desktop environments like gnome 3 on archbang is better than with Mint, Ubuntu, Fedora, Suse, etc. I had cheese video and youtube both on with way less effect on my RAM and cpu usage than on the others. Besides the just work aspects of this distro, the community is much friendlier and patient with new users to arch. The archlinux wiki is the best guide in gnu/linux period. Archbang brings archlinux goodness to intermediate users like myself from other distros or bsd background. I dare say some newbie users could make the transition as well, but not as easily.For newbies to linux I would recommend Pinguy OS or even Mint(not my cup of tea) or Mepis. For intermediate users and advanced users seeking a distro that gives them power to customize, run latest apps reliably,with high-performance, minus the crazy compile times as seen in gentoo, and minus the dependency issues you might encounter sometimes/rarely in other distros, I recommend you give archbang a spin like I did. No regrets here at all. I am so thankful for this distro.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2011.11" by wsteward - posted: 11-02-2011 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 07-07-2011 03:41 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 12915

This distro is simply awesome. The bad part about this distro is that it ruined my distro-hopping tendencies. Itís installation process although very easy for an intermediate linux user might be slightly challenging for a totally beginning user. Current Kernel is the 2.6.37 which is free of that power regression bug currently existent in 2.6.38. This distro is like what vectorlinux did for slackware. It is the easiest or fastest means of getting archlinux goodness. It comes with packer which is a cli front-end for pacman and AUR (community packages) Of all the distros I have used recently {Crunchbang(Debian-based), Ubuntu, Salix(slack-based, none comes as fast in performance. Even after adding and using gnome 3 in my archbang post install, my cpu & RAM usage is way less. This is on a 4 gig RAM acer laptop with core 2 duo processor. I also find the community in archbang one of the most friendly and competent one. Thanks to this distro I can see myself installing and easily administering this arch-based distro on a beginner's PC. It is advisable to actually install archlinux core to better appreciate the effort made in this distro. Archbang is my new distro of choice for performance, functionality, bleeding-edge, and customizability.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "2011.02" by wsteward - posted: 02-05-2011 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 06-24-2011 08:49 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 15046

Archbang without a shadow of a doubt was heavenly upon my stumbling on it. It gave a shortcut approach for people wanting arch and its speed functionalities minus too much time spent reading wiki. Pros: Wireless were detected right away while in the live-install environment. The openbox desktop along with conky and menus looked gorgeous and yet light. At end of install you are given a gui desktop, not just cli environment. Default apps were great. The system was well put together (close to crunchbang) Cons: The installer should include option for using same user accounts as in dare I say Ubuntu/Mepis/Mint. I have to create a different user every install. There should be a script that automagically updates pacman to the most up to date pacman mirror and pacman version. A gui front end for pacman would be nice as was done in chakra (another arch derivative. The front-ends on arch wiki are not so easy to install and use from the AUR. ABS/AUR is still a little tricky to work with (install rare community packages) even with the wiki. Windows partition should also be automatically detected and provided as an option when booting up after install. Slim is a nice choice for login manager, but I replaced that quickly with Gdm as it makes adding and/or login into other desktop environments easier. Having said all these, archbang is one of the best distros I have ever used. And their faults stream from archlinux itself. But archlinux and archbang are wonderful nonetheless. pacman -Syu should sync and run flawlessly consistently without having to do mild troubleshooting. The wiki and archlinux community is quick to spot these things and come up with solutions. Once you master arch, it becomes difficult to go back to some handholding, bloated systems. The developers of archbang paid great attention to detail on this distro. The themes for openbox, wireless just working flawlessly and consistently on all desktop environments (KDE, gnome)without much hassle, etc. It is very good for advanced and intermediate users looking to have a speedy, functional, and customizable system.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "2010.09" by wsteward - posted: 09-25-2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 11-14-2008 08:55 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 92166

Very excellent distro as always. To confirm how good it is just try Linux Mint which is based on it. Those application bugs are a similar on all other distros. So I cannot penalize them on that. The OS is fully functional - Everything properly auto-mounts. And it is still idiot-proof for some users like myself. lol. In all a very good distro like Many others I can name - But the community is still unmatched by any.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.04" by mohtasham1983 - posted: 05-02-2008 - Rating: ******** 8.19

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 02-29-2008 09:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 118658

This is simply the best OS, I have ever ran till date. The best for me many years back was Mepis 3.1 in 2004 i believe. I tried many other OS which i love as well, but mepis 7 takes the whole OS thing and features to a whole other level. I can easily mount and see data on drives almost unmountable. It is extremely fast and everything works with a massive array of apps to install via synaptic from debian. This OS is near unbreakable.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0" by masinick - posted: 10-08-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.12

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 09-11-2007 09:18 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 30058

makes slackware seem very easy. Not quite as newbie friendly as Linux Mint, but is been one of the 3rd best distros I have had the priviledge of using fulltime. Installer is easy, it configures X in a safe manner, It has good set of packages and is relatively bleeding edge now unlike in the past distributions. Gslapt is a god-send. One can easily use this just like the Debian-based distros, but it runs faster. fluxbox on this distro is the prettiest I have seen thus far in all distros. I have kde, gnome, e17, icewm, xfce all working on my install with ease. Only issue has been with mounting external DVDROM device. Everything else works and mounts great. I highly recommend this distro.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "5.8 Standard Gold" by shahgols - posted: 02-12-2007 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 03-02-2007 08:30 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 111707

This is the only rpm-based distro I would consider and have already started to use primarily. It puts all the others to shame. Fedora is starting to get good also, but it is still not at the same level. The Debian-based distros and slack-based ones were my favorite before. This distro is equally as great as those and then some.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "0.93a" by davecs - posted: 08-27-2006 - Rating: ********** 9.83

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 03-02-2007 08:26 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 123419

Simply great product. Almost the best OS for a total PC newbie. This is what Suse, and many of the big commercial distros should be like. Other almost equally good distros are Zenwalk, pclinuxos, mepis, Sabayon{gentoo made easy - be careful with this one}, Vector Linux. This distro keeps getting better. But so does the other guys. Fedora is also starting to be good again.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.10 Edgy Eft" by dudeman41465 - posted: 10-29-2006 - Rating: ********* 9.23

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 12-19-2006 11:03 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 123419

This is the best OS for me today. I personally prefer Zenwalk for my use and all, but Edgy is great for users of all PC levels.And everything just works, the community support is unparallel. Wonderful product. And like somebody else mentioned here. It really puts some of the bigger commercial distros to shame. This distro is a serious contender if not already the best OS on Earth. Windows is not even nearly close to being as good as many of these other distros. Other reputable or equally great ones include Zenwalk, Mepis, Sabayon,Vector Linux,Pclinuxos, and others.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.10 Edgy Eft" by dudeman41465 - posted: 10-29-2006 - Rating: ********* 9.23

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration