LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 8 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 07-31-2012 03:44 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 15570

The frustration in having to slide from the left side of the monitor screen to the right, to choose a software as and is stupid design decision. Gnome3 will have troubles in Fedora18 when the Linux Mint Mate interface arrives. The panel below and ability to switch desktops with one mouseclick defeats getting carpal tunnel problems from excessive mouse button use. I prefer Fedora over Ubuntu. My ration is 55 to 45.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 05-30-2012 - Rating: ******* 7.44

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 11-11-2011 01:50 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 25271

mjmwired.com

Rating: 8
Product Details: "16" by wsteward - posted: 11-09-2011 - Rating: ******* 6.88

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 09-04-2008 08:24 PM [ Post a Review
f9launch.png

Views: 87532

I am writing from the Fedora 9 implementation. There are no errors during the boot process, and no errors since my installation, one week after the initial dvd's were made available. One advantage I have is that my mother board is from Intel, which has linux support for it's device drivers. Therefore, all my devices worked immediately after installation. I did proceed to livna to get the other non-opensource but free drivers. Fedora 9 is fast in execution, and I noted that my system ran cooler, due to the new kernel scheduler software. A great distro. PS. I also found favour with UBUNTU and PCLINUXOS which I also boot on alternate days. Both are great desktop systems, but Fedora is a fantastic all -around system for desktop and server.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "9 (Sulphur)" by algogeek - posted: 05-19-2008 - Rating: ****** 6.11

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 01-15-2007 05:05 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 21687

The book is not for bed time reading. I began with a review of the preparation chapter, and then skimmed or read in detail, the chapters of interest. I feel that the book is too fat with historical information. Perhaps it could be pruned by 20%. A frustration I encountered is that the quick list table of contents on the inside front cover does not match the chapter titles for example (of many. I guess a chapter was added but the cover references were forgotten. For example, Cover says Backup my * system Chapter 16 But it is really chapter 17. Many other examples with indexing flaws. I did not bother with the cover stuff, except to use my ball point to make the corrections. For the chapters of interest to me, which I found well written, I took a post-it sticky, and put it on that page with its flap hanging out. In some chapters the authors were quite explicit about what to do. In other areas, their experience did not shine through, but documentation was acceptable. I got the feeling that the authors were more familiar with KDE then with Gnome. That said, the Gnome equvalents to KDE functionality was not always identified. Authors discussed fonts, but did not seem aware of the fc-cache command to force the cacheing of fonts. At the price it is a good book. I would bet that the second edition will have many of the errors cleaned up and be a reference book for everyones bookcase of briefcase. Together, this book with the one from Chris Tyler make a great pair of manuals, all towards Fedora support and pleasure in use.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Fedora Core 6 Unleashed" by Lsatenstein - posted: 01-15-2007 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 01-10-2007 04:48 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 165237

Loaded it in, upgraded it, and took off. Noted the daily 6 or 7 updates that have been arriving since release date. Stopped applying updates as the sysem was stable before the patches and I was afraid the patches might break something that is working. Recognized all the hardware immediately. I discovered that if we right-mouse click on some of the selections, then the entire group of objects under that selection would be chosen. (select and right-click on kde, gnome, Postgress etc)

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Core 6" by kevxh - posted: 11-02-2006 - Rating: ********* 8.52

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 12-23-2006 05:43 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 64987

It is my Fedora bible. From it I learned to bypass the setup defaults to permit me to better configure the hard disk partition for re-installs. It is my bed time reading. Has nice chapter about fonts and font management, logical volume management (lvm) and a best configuration recommendation. Grammar, for the best part, was good, without the usual defaults that are demonstrated by American Authors. (He says "I am going to talk to you about xxx" whereas the American authors say "I am going to talk to you on xxx". (I always sat on a chair or on a xxx. The good grammar makes the book easy to follow. I love the labs. These labs reinforce the learning. Leslie

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Fedora Linux: A Complete Guide to Red Hat's Community Distribution" by XavierP - posted: 11-17-2006 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 10-02-2006 07:01 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 209259

A shortcoming of all linux's for North America is the absence of good multimedia plugins and third party non foss (free open source software). Hoever, given a reference to Stanton Finley's web site and the easylinux.info websites. I complemented the Fedora install with these extra features. As far as the install is concerned, I experienced no trouble, every piece of hardware was recognized. In the install process there is an opportunity to choose the options desired, or to wait for internet access and do them later. This list of install software is not advertised or indicated well, and thus, the user will feel that it does not come with enough. To the contrary, it comes with just the right amount or excessive amounts of software. I did most of my install from the dvd, and then used the yum facility to get the upgrades. When SUSE10 destroyed my installation, I found the Fedora RESPIN UNITY DVD's (a dvd with 6 months of updates merged to the release DVDs) and used it to rebuild my system. Time spent by yum after the RESPIN dvd was about 1 hour. Once set up, there is no incentive to change. Changing to another distribution, or from another distribution is like changing 4 quarters for a dollar.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Core 5" by dfowensby - posted: 03-21-2006 - Rating: ******* 7.32

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 09-03-2006 08:06 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 387553

The system cleverly jumped over my core5 install (with some hinting) and proceeded directly to my second drive (Sata). I am pleased with the install process, except that I wanted to chose the keyboard layout before proceeding. The install operation is proceeding as I write this, and if I cannot make keyboard changes, or boot the system, then I will be back to the web for help.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "10.1 Final GM" by xtknight - posted: 05-13-2006 - Rating: ****** 6.04



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration