LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 6 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by ronepowell - posted: 06-11-2007 04:25 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 132139

I must be the only person that always is stymied by ubuntu. For some reason, getting the correct resolution on both my laptop and my desktop has been far too difficult, as my only choice has been 800x600. Why that would be is a mystery, since a member of its "family" (mepis)never fails to set the correct resolution upon install. I never have been able to solve that problem easily. Then there is the wireless connection. Once again, mepis does it automatically, while I am wasting time with ubuntu trying to get that accomplished. So after all this, is the simple question. Why must a simple thing be so hard??

Rating: 5
Product Details: "Feisty Fawn 7.04" by soldierboy101st - posted: 04-15-2007 - Rating: ******** 8.31

Last Review by ronepowell - posted: 06-11-2007 04:13 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 55480

Unlike the previous reviewers who seem to have had several serious issues with Mandriva spring, mine was limited to one. It was, of course, a show stopper on my laptop, but did not apply on my desktop, which is wired. On the desktop I had no problem installing, including amending grub to do what I wanted. Also, now that free and non-free software is readily available, getting all the necessary software was pretty easy. I was looking forward to using it on my laptop, but that was not to be the case.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "One Live 2007 Spring" by james.faction - posted: 05-20-2007 - Rating: ***** 5.31

Last Review by ronepowell - posted: 06-11-2007 04:05 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 17479

I have used latest versions of ubuntu, mandriva, pclinuxos, mepis, vector, mint, and sabayon within the past month. I am not a power user --- basic internet, office, and media tasks, so the last thing I want is aggravation. Mepis was the only distro that connected my laptop without any intervention on my part. All the others presented various problems one way or another. It is possible that other distros are better for power users who do not mind taking the time to resolve various issues, but only pclinuxos comes as close in ease of use.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "SimplyMepis 6.5" by Brianfast - posted: 04-11-2007 - Rating: ******** 8.29

Last Review by ronepowell - posted: 06-06-2007 03:47 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 496989

The previous review has been very thorough in describing pclinux0s, and I subscribe to all the praise. I am not a power user -- basic tasks -- but have fascination with the linux world. I have used recent versions of Mepis, ubuntu, mint, sabayon, mandriva, and vector. While each have some good points, it is a toss up between mepis and pclinuxos for ease of use right out of the box. Mepis has the slight edge only because it recgnized my wireless driver, while pclinux did not. Fortunately, setting up the connection was quick and painless. It was not so with most of the other distros I tried (bearing in mind that I use the livecds first before installing). I love the look of pclinux, and that is the main reason it is now my distro of choice.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2007" by davecs - posted: 05-21-2007 - Rating: ********* 8.62

Last Review by ronepowell - posted: 04-28-2005 08:37 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 40879

MEPIS 3.3 does a wonderful job of balancing ease of use, with the full flexibility of debian. I also use Linspire 5.0, which is virtually flawless but also costs $50 per year. MEPIS 3.3, in my view, is almost as easy to use, and no one is obliged to pay for it (although I believe it deserves everyone's support at some level). I tried Ubuntu 5.04, which would not install without a lot of work on my part, PCLinux .81, which has great potential, but again I had to do some manual manipulation. The installer for Fedora Core 3 would not work. Mandrake needed labor to get it into a satisfactory usable state. None of that was required with MEPIS. In my opinion, this is absolutely the best value distro currently available.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "SimplyMepis 3.3" by dping - posted: 04-05-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by ronepowell - posted: 04-25-2005 07:40 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 75464

Linspire is a distro that works right from the beginning. Its installation is simple, but allows the user partitioning options typical of most LInux distros these days. Once that is done, and after answering the usual basic questions, the install went very smoothly. The bootloader recognized Windows, and MEPIS, which is loaded in another partitiion. After rebooting, it was a very simple matter to install additional programs using the wonderful CNR. Now I know that synaptic works well (I use it with MEPIS), but the slickness of the CNR is impressive. Is it worth $50 a year?? Well, that depends who you are. I joined last year and have to say that life is pretty simple. Remember that I am lilkely the target market for this product --- not entirely ignorant about Linux (I have used many distros), but just lazy. The two Linspire-unique products --- LPhoto, and LSongs --- are pretty functional. I also realize that there are excellent competing products such as Amarok, but again the integration of LSongs and LPhoto with the OS is excellent. What has really impressed me with this distro is the look. It is beautiful. I installed Firefox from CNR (Linspire still uses the Mozilla suite), and the font rendering is outstanding. I switched back to MEPIS --- which I really like, by the way --- and am struck by the superior look of Firefox in Linspire than in MEPIS. I have tried to duplicate the look in MEPIS, but with no luck. About the only "weakness" I noticed is that the time to boot was longer than MEPIS, and that other OS. I would recommend this distro to anyone wanting a fully functional slick distro, with no show stoppers. Is it worth $50 a year?? You decide.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Linspire 5.0" by ronepowell - posted: 04-25-2005 - Rating: ****** 6.20



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration