LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 5 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by michael@greg:~> - posted: 06-26-2005 11:28 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 26906

If you want to use OpenSSL to create a small Certificate Authority, "Network Security with OpenSSL" gives you what you need to do it. I successfully used this book to support a TLS/SSL3 Enabled FTP server. I used chapters One (background), Two (basic commands) and Three (Public Key Infrastructure) to create my CA. Chapters Four through Ten explain how to use OpenSSL for programming. "Network Security with OpenSSL" is not extremely thorough but by the same token it is not overwhelming to the novice. I recommend this book if you want to create x.509 certificates for secure FTP or HTTPS. I cannot speak to the programming aspect of the book, but the knowledge that I gained on the creation of x.509 certificates and PKI justified the cost of the book to me.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Network Security with OpenSSL" by michael@greg:~> - posted: 06-25-2005 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by michael@greg:~> - posted: 06-25-2005 07:44 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 115843

Using, configuring and maintaining SuSE is an intuitive and refreshing process. SuSE's interface is refreshing compared to Windows, Mac OS, Red Hat, Linspire and Ubuntu. You will never be confused or misled if you are trying to achieve a particular goal with SuSE. I have never been disappointed with SuSE Professional. It has everything that an average student or office worker could want at home. SuSE is capable of serving every need that Linux can offer. SuSE is the most excellent software I have ever used. I was tired of computing on Microsoft's terms; SuSE saved me from Microsoft. If you need to make a positive first impression with Linux, use SuSE 9.x Professional.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "9.2 Professional" by SlackerLX - posted: 12-11-2004 - Rating: ******** 7.65

Last Review by michael@greg:~> - posted: 06-25-2005 07:24 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 76472

It has every feature that I hate about my Windows experience built-in and set to 'Automatic'. It has nothing I like about Linux except the immunity to Windows viruses and Windows malware inherent to all Linux distributions. Restrictive licensing. Do not install Linspire if you get it for free.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "Linspire 5.0" by ronepowell - posted: 04-25-2005 - Rating: ****** 6.20

Last Review by michael@greg:~> - posted: 06-25-2005 07:16 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 17573

Minislack gives you everything you need and nothing else. I use Minislack to check e-mail, weather and for general browsing. I use it to teach myself C++. I use it to host my Counter-Strike: Source, TeamSpeak VoIP, Ventrilo VoIP, FTP and TLS/SSL3 Enabled FTP servers. Minislack is pleasant to use. I am pleased with Minislack's performance on the desktop and it suits a small scale Linux server like the one that I manage. Use Minislack 1.1 to avoid a bug in XFFM specific to 1.0.1. Features: 1. Developer friendly. 2. Teaches basic Linux skills. 3. Simple desktop interface. 4. A good starting point for a server. 5. Reliable. 6. The Minislack community has a good heart. Pitfalls: 1. Do not use Minislack for multimedia. 2. OpenOffice is not included. 3. Be prepared to download prerequisite libraries for software not included in the ISO. 4. Configuration before and after installation is for experts. 5. Thunderbird is not a good e-mail client.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "1.0.1" by michael@greg:~> - posted: 06-25-2005 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by michael@greg:~> - posted: 06-25-2005 06:00 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 144698

I downloaded four ISOs from 'fedora.redhat.com' and checked my copies against the SHA1 checksums posted next to the links for the ISOs. Each of the four ISOs were perfect copies from the Internet. I burned the four images onto four new CD-Rs and all four were bad. The burning process for all four FC4 discs gave the same result as when I burned FC3, which worked. I used the same box and the same OS that I used to burn FC3. I am not sure what happened. Maybe these images should be burned on a 2.4 kernel, but I am not willing to throw away four more discs for FC4 even with a guarantee.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "4" by adamb10 - posted: 06-15-2005 - Rating: ******** 7.60



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration