LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 10 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 10-06-2013 09:18 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 19456

As usual from Debian,this distribution is very complete with software available for just about any imaginable endeavor. Many, many distributions are derived from this, the granddaddy. Why not use the original? I have used Debian for many years on all my devices and very seldom do I have problems. On those occasions that I have had issues, I have been able to find the solution by going to the various help fora devoted to Debian. Yes, the software is sometimes not the latest and the greatest. However, newer is not necessarily better. Tried and true tend to be more stable, which is a requirement for my machines. Thank you Debian!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 02-12-2011 07:40 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 101324

Great!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.0" by wsteward - posted: 02-06-2011 - Rating: ********* 8.93

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 01-05-2011 07:27 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 33570

Excellent distribution. For me it works better than any other OS, including Windows and Apple. I can do most anything, write presentations, edit, process, and embed videos. I heartily recommend Mandriva 2010.2

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Mandriva Linux 2010.2" by wsteward - posted: 12-26-2010 - Rating: ******* 6.89

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 07-29-2010 11:07 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 27509

Other than the Gnome panel not wanting to stay or crashing, the 2010.1 (spring) edition is excellent! I heartily recommend it. It seems much better than the 2010 edition, at least for me....

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Linux 2010.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-12-2010 - Rating: ********** 9.67

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 11-07-2009 10:18 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 48227

Very nice! First class hardware detection. Fairly quick to boot.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Linux 2010" by wsteward - posted: 11-05-2009 - Rating: ******** 8.22

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 06-07-2009 11:00 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 172281

I have used Mepis some and Mandriva for several years. I wanted to used Debian for a long time, mainly because of the social contract, but was never quite able to install it due to my ineptitude. Finally, with 5.0 I hit a home run. I love it and will stick with Debian. Maybe Debian can fix the auto login keyboard bug in Gnome?

Rating: 10
Product Details: "5.0" by wsteward - posted: 02-23-2009 - Rating: ********* 9.13

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 05-01-2009 07:54 PM [ Post a Review
install1.png

Views: 36741

I have been playing around with the Mandriva one Gnome cd for a while. It is a great distro, so I am going to update my computer from 2009 to 2009.1.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2009.1" by openland - posted: 01-08-2009 - Rating: ********** 9.67

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 12-15-2007 08:08 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 119627

I am posting a reply simply to chime in and say that if you enjoy Mepis, please consider buying a download subscription or support Mepis otherwise. This would give Warren more of an incentive and time to work on the distribution.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0" by masinick - posted: 10-08-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.12

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 12-09-2007 09:25 AM [ Post a Review
mandriva1.png

Views: 91210

Finally got around to installing the 64-bit edition. All is well, except a couple little problems. Kpowersave will crash on login. Putting a command directly in autostart will also crash. However, setting a symlink to kpowersave in the startup folder is a suitable workaround. No restricted driver for my graphics card, so graphics performance when playing some games is subpar. (32-bit had an excellent restricted driver) Wish there was a top notch OSS driver, oh well. My conclusion still stands,even with those minor annoyances. A great OS! UPDATE! I have installed Mandriva 2009 Powerpack on my machines. Mandriva is continuing their winning streak. This distro is close to being perfect. Just for the record. I have recently tried a number of other distributions, but none can compare to this one. I strongly recommend it.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Mandriva one, 2008 x32" by Olle Gladso - posted: 10-27-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.15

Last Review by Olle Gladso - posted: 08-15-2006 11:01 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 89158

Installed with nary a hitch on my computers. I could not get the built-in sound on my Vaio to work. A cheap 5.1 soundcard took care of that.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "10.1 Official Edition" by aRTee - posted: 11-10-2004 - Rating: ********* 8.83



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration