LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 6 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by thorn168 - posted: 02-28-2006 05:04 PM [ Post a Review
dreamlinux.png

Views: 30192

Dreamlinux 1.0 STUDIO Edition has to be one of the best Live CDs I have burned in over a year. The GUI is even more beautiful then the one in Conectiva 10.The window manager is XFCE4, the package manager is Synaptic/APT-GET, it has a linux version of "My Network places" that works really well, it has the MKDistro tool which allows you to customize the base Dreamlinux install to create your our version of Dreamlinux. The only complaint I have is that the live CD takes about 2+ minutes to boot up. Other then that I would highly recommend this distro to everyone.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Dreamlinux 1.0 STUDIO Edition" by thorn168 - posted: 02-28-2006 - Rating: ********* 8.67

Last Review by thorn168 - posted: 08-16-2005 05:18 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 23927

This distro is for a very specific audience, network intrusion/security auditors. This distro bundles all of the tools available into one LiveCD Linux distribution. Of course there is a drawback to this...the majority of the applications in this distro are "WHAX Tools". You won't be able to write your novel, play games or make graphic arts with this distro. But if you really wanted to test your own server/network security permissions and rules before going live on the internet then this distro might be for you. It pays to know your enemy and your enemy just might use this against your network. This distro is a SLAX based distro with most of the SLAX Apps stripped out and replaced with "WHAX Tools". I find that it is very slow to boot on a reasonably modern machine. (Dell P4 2gig, 256MB ram, 100MB PCI bus.) The desktop wallpaper is bothersome and distracting. (It is the first thing I change!) I do however like the icon set that they have chosen, the Icons are bright, clear and colorful. The linux core is 2.6.11.8 The window manager is KDE 3.4 although you can choose fluxbox on boot up if you like. This distro is in active development for more details on the applications go to the WHAX website at: http://iwhax.net

Rating: 5
Product Details: "V. 3.0" by thorn168 - posted: 08-16-2005 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by thorn168 - posted: 08-03-2005 05:28 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 29340

I like this book because it has a solid well thought out approach to Building and Administering a LAMP server. The Authors insist that you use the Command Line Interface (CLI) to build and administer the server. They also explain how to delete pre-installed server demons like Apache, PHP and MySQL and re-install from a Tar-gz file. (Personally compiling the Demons into the server seems like more work then simply using the RPM or the DEB file but they claim it is the best practice.) The Authors also reccomend Pico instead of VI for editing the system files. I would reccomend this for new and intermediate Linux Server admins. in addition to posting questions here on LQ. I would also advise anyone who runs a server to become a regular at the Security forum at LQ. Either that or check the Cert website daily for reported security issues.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Setting up LAMP: Getting Linux, Apache, and MySQL working together" by thorn168 - posted: 03-30-2005 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by thorn168 - posted: 07-06-2005 05:11 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 17659

The is and will probably now always be an unfinished project now that Conectiva has sold out to Mandrake and become Mandriva. >(

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Live CD 0.5 beta" by linuxbeta - posted: 08-15-2004 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by thorn168 - posted: 03-28-2005 09:45 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 46030

Webmin is the Gui Alternative to command line *nix administration. Many distributions now include Webmin as a standard package in the distribution. Even if your distribution does not include webmin you can add it if you choose to. This book covers a lot of ground. Begining with Webmin installation to the following: -setting up users & groups -creating disk qoutas -NFS file sharing -configuring boot loader -Apache web server configuration -DNS configuration -CVS configuration -DHCP configuration -managing majordomo mailing lists -Printer administration -Firewall Configuration -Voicemail configuration -Windows file sharing with Samba -Configuring Sendmail & Qmail -MySQL & PostgreSQL -ProFTPD & WU-FTPD -Squid Proxy server configuration Just to name the highlights. There is over 700+ pages of info in this book. The best thing about this book is that the text is licensed as open source. So if you do not wish to pay for the book you can go to the Webmin website to get the information that you need for your situation. http://www.webmin.com The only thing I found disappointing is that some of information in the book is already out of date but you can always go to the website to get the latest information on this software. This book is great for anyone who comes from a Windows-centric background because it allows you to do things in Linux without having to memorise a lot of command line commands. I was able to edit my grub2 configuration without having to open a terminal. Webmin can save you from doing a lot of typing at the command line.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Managing Liunx systems with Webmin" by thorn168 - posted: 03-20-2005 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by thorn168 - posted: 12-15-2004 05:41 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 40747

I still compiling my notes on the testing that I am doing on this distro. I will post them when I finish. I am currently using Conectiva 10 professional. I downloaded all three discs. I love this distro. Grub2 loads faster then Lilo for me. Synaptic makes updating, installing and uninstalling easy. Webmin is really powerful once you learn how to use it. I am surprised that no one has really commented on this distro almost 6 months after its release. My only real complaint so far is that I cannot obtain the updates for this distro. I think that if I could get the updates most of my problems with this distro would be resolved. Compared to my experience with Mandrake 10.0 Official Conectiva 10 is a more professional product. However Conectiva does require 2 floppy discs to install from a floppy boot. "Boot.img" and "floppy.img" once those discs finish doing their job the rest of the work is done by the first installation CD. I am still working on evaluating this distro so please have patience with me until I finish my research Thorn

Rating: 8
Product Details: "10" by linuxfreak19 - posted: 07-16-2004 - Rating: ****** 5.75



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration