LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 10 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 07-26-2006 09:08 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14743

BLAG is very fast. Applications launch quickly; the system boots quickly; and applications seem quite responsive. You can easily use synaptic to add just about any application that you would like. Still, this single-cd distribution features less bloated applications such as AbiWord and GNOME instead of the bloated KDE desktop. BLAG is committed to software freedom. Thus, this distribution refuses to include any proprietary software. From my experience, this probably explains in part why Blag crashes less frequently than other versions of Linux. Still, you may easily add non-free software if you desire. Of course, BLAG installs easily in about 15 minutes. Even my wife, who is the most computer illiterate person that I know, managed to independently install Blag during an emergency when I was not available to help her. BLAG is a derivative of Fedora Core 5. Thus, you may use Fedora repositories to add applications to BLAG. Nevertheless, BLAG is faster and easier to use than Fedora. In addition, it seems to recognize hardware more easily than Fedora. Despite BLAGS commitment to software freedom, you will still have a solid multimedia experience. BLAG can still handle virtually every file format with the notable expection of microsofts wmv files. Still, if you need to play these file types you can easily download the Codec. If you like proprietary software and lots of eyecandy, then BLAG is probably not for you. If you preffer the convenience of multi-cd pack distributions because you have a slow dial up connection, then BLAG is not for you. Otherwise, give BLAG a try if you need speed and value software freedom.
Product Details: "10000" by demitri_88 - posted: 06-30-2004 - Rating: ******* 6.67

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 07-26-2006 09:07 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24653

BLAG is very fast. Applications launch quickly; the system boots quickly; and applications seem quite responsive. You can easily use synaptic to add just about any application that you would like. Still, this single-cd distribution features less bloated applications such as AbiWord and GNOME instead of the bloated KDE desktop. BLAG is committed to software freedom. Thus, this distribution refuses to include any proprietary software. From my experience, this probably explains in part why Blag crashes less frequently than other versions of Linux. Still, you may easily add non-free software if you desire. Of course, BLAG installs easily in about 15 minutes. Even my wife, who is the most computer illiterate person that I know, managed to independently install Blag during an emergency when I was not available to help her. BLAG is a derivative of Fedora Core 5. Thus, you may use Fedora repositories to add applications to BLAG. Nevertheless, BLAG is faster and easier to use than Fedora. In addition, it seems to recognize hardware more easily than Fedora. Despite BLAGS commitment to software freedom, you will still have a solid multimedia experience. BLAG can still handle virtually every file format with the notable expection of microsofts wmv files. Still, if you need to play these file types you can easily download the Codec. If you like proprietary software and lots of eyecandy, then BLAG is probably not for you. If you preffer the convenience of multi-cd pack distributions because you have a slow dial up connection, then BLAG is not for you. Otherwise, give BLAG a try if you need speed and value software freedom.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "50000" by Dreamcast - posted: 07-26-2006 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 09-13-2005 04:56 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 89384

Debian has so many choices and possibilities that you will feel light headed when customizing the system for your needs. Ubuntu has stripped many of these choices away and offered the best of Debian for a desktop user on a single CD. I do not like sudo. I would rather just enter a root terminal and do my stuff there. In my opinion, Ubuntu is no easier to install than Debian.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Hoary 5.04" by masonm - posted: 04-13-2005 - Rating: ********* 8.63

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 07-15-2005 02:12 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 67114

If you want an easy to learn to use distrobution, then pay your $40 for Mandrake Discovery or $60 for Mandrake power pack. Unfortunately, you will need to spend money every 12 months to keep your Mandrake system current with the latest software. Learning to use Debian is a royal pain in the rear end. Still, once you learn some of the basics of Debian, you will never want to return to a different operating system. Your choices are limitless with Debian. Because Debian is a noncomercial distrobution, I trust it more than other operating systems. I know that Debian places my interests above all other interests.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Debian 3.1 r0" by ianaré - posted: 06-12-2005 - Rating: ******** 7.97

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 06-04-2005 09:30 PM [ Post a Review
144869dsl11.png

Views: 37074

This amazing little distrobution can easily work on the 8 year old computer that you were planning to throw away. The desktop is very customizable and laid out in an easy to understand fashion. You may run DSL as either a tiny 8cm live CD or a hard drive install. Installation should take no more than 10 minutes.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "1.1" by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 05-15-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 06-04-2005 09:15 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 140428

Most distributions of Linux are very simular after the initial installation. Suse, Mandrake, and Mepis are all great distributions. My favorite part of Debian is the fact that it is a non-comercial ditstribution. Moreover, the folks at Debian have a social contract that protects the interests of the users. Should you wish to install Debian Sarge on your PC you will only want the first 3 CDs of the Dozen or so CDs. CDs 4 and above have very specialized and rarely used applications. If you want a quick and easy way to get Debian, install Knoppix on your harddrive. In less than 15 minutes, you will have pure Debian on your computer.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Sarge" by smith847be - posted: 03-16-2004 - Rating: ********* 8.59

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 04-24-2005 11:12 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8908

Kanotix seems like a polished version of Knoppix. Still, it is so close to Knoppix, that I sometimes had difficulties telling the difference.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Bug Hunter 7" by rrfish72 - posted: 10-09-2004 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 04-24-2005 11:04 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 41097

Mepis is a great choice for the Linux newbie. Installation on the hard drive is very fast and easy. Still, a new Linux user might have difficulty setting up a dial-up hardware modem. Mepis comes with most every application that a computer user would need. Still, Mepis is a one man operation. Thus, I wonder what would happen to this distrobution if the one man died or changed jobs.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "SimplyMepis 3.3" by dping - posted: 04-05-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 04-24-2005 10:49 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 76335

Knoppix is an excellent live CD. It is also a very solid choice for a hard drive install. In fact, I use it as my primary operating system. However, I seem to change distributions every few weeks. I like the selection of software. Still, some things seem incomplete. For example, you can not specify your monitor resolution and frequency. Knoppix chooses this for you. As another example, Knoppix includes Kdevelop, yet, you need to visit www.kdevelop.com to view help files and tutorials. Fotunately, Knoppix will have a more complete DVD version in a couple months. Knoppix also leaves out a significant amount of proprietary software. I personally like this because I believe that software should be free. Some users may miss some of these non-free applications.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "3.7" by sphynx - posted: 01-12-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.13

Last Review by Dreamcast - posted: 08-02-2004 08:33 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 85746

Mandrake 10.0 has nearly every software application that a typical user would ever need. Installing new software is as easy as placing a check mark in the box next to the application in the software package list. Overall, Mandrake 10.0 is less complicated than Windows 98. The distribution is very intuitive. An experienced Microsoft windows user will immediately feel comfortable with Mandrake. My only gripe is that it does not have as many applications as Suse Professional (5CDs). The extra software applications are not necessary. Still, having a few extra applications would be cool. ------------------------------------------------------------------------ On 09-20-04, I purchased Mandrake Discovery for $35. This was an excellent investment. Discovery is even easier to install and use than the Download version. In addition, Discovery includes proprietary video drivers, flash and Java. I was not impressed with Mandrake Club, and Mandrake Expert. These services are available for free elsewhere on the internet. Most notably, LinuxQuestions is far superior to Mandrake Expert. Finally, I feel much better now that I have "purchased" a copy of Linux.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "10.0 Official Download" by claudius753 - posted: 06-07-2004 - Rating: ******** 8.44



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration