LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 36 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by khom_meanmon - posted: 07-04-2014 01:36 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 16469

thank you for share

Rating: 6
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.8" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2012 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by Reagen - posted: 07-02-2014 09:26 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3234

Excelent

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 07-01-2014 12:04 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 367

Linux Lite is based on the long-term-support version of Ubuntu. It fits onto a CD and will give a reasonable performance with a Pentium III or M and 512 MB. Installation is done from a live session with Ubuntu’s installer, but without the option to encrypt /home. There’s a good installation guide on the website. I tested the 32-bit version. The desktop is a standard Xfce, although it defaults to the Whisker menu and Orage and Catfish aren’t installed. The file manager has been given a useful “open as administrator” option. The software includes LibreOffice, Firefox, Thunderbird, Mumble, Xchat, Gimp, VLC, and Steam. Flash and the media codecs are installed, but not spell-checking for LibreOffice. Everything worked perfectly. Apart from the usual shortage of configuration tools in Debian derivatives, my only complaint was that it gave me a US locale; finding out how to change that brought me back to Debian’s lack of good GUI tools… Linux Lite is well worth considering among the Debian derivatives with Xfce: slightly better than Xubuntu, Mint, and OS4, although not quite as nice as Antix MX.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Lite 2.0" by wsteward - posted: 06-02-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-26-2014 12:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 396

For my annual inspection of PCLinuxOS I’ve tried the 32-bit KDE and Mate versions. The start-up screen offers a live session (normal, failsafe, or loaded into RAM), installation, or a disk check. If you choose to check the disk, it will go to a live session afterwards, so if you need a different language, select it first with F2. The desktop of the live session has an icon to access detailed installation instructions, and the menu has a Help Portal giving links to many useful web sites. The installer is easy, although it doesn’t support encrypting /home. The KDE version naturally needs a reasonable amount of memory — 1GB would be the absolute minimum — but, since the special effects are not activated by default, it’s not sluggish on single-core CPUs. The first thing to do is to get the updates. I had a couple of failures, solved by switching to a different mirror. There’s a lot of software installed: LibreOffice (with spell-checking), Gimp, KolourPaint, Inkscape, Firefox (with Flash), Thunderbird, Kmail, Skype, Clementine, Dragon, VLC (with codecs), Great Little Radio Player, and a bundle of games. The items I checked worked well. It gave me a US locale, despite my UK keyboard, but there’s a locale-setting tool in the excellent configuration centre. The Mate version starts you off with very few programs: Firefox, Pidgin, Thunderbird, Skype, Clementine, VLC, and Great Little Radio Player. There’s a menu option to install LibreOffice but, since the current version of that doesn’t like my computer, I installed OpenOffice: the job was simple, unlike in Mint. As with Mint, the notification area on the panel was invisible, but this is a Mate bug that only affects certain hardware. Finally I looked at the Xfce respin. This is unofficial, and the download link is in the Xfce section of the PCLinuxOS forum. The software selection was different again: Firefox, Pidgin, Thunderbird, Skype, XChat, VLC, Great Little Radio Player, DeaDBeef, DeVeDe, Gimp, Inkscape, and LibreOffice. I noticed that, as well as the usual HPLIP, support tools for Epson and Lexmark printers were included. The only problem was that the developer had forgotten to populate the keyboard shortcuts file: not even Alt-F4 was there! The tool to do this is the one to configure the Window Manger, not the one for the keyboard. The only criticisms I could make are the few niggles mentioned above and the usual struggle to enable my USB speakers : not major issues. This is the most stable of rolling-release distros, and a good choice for beginner or expert. And it’s the only distro that has a free monthly magazine!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "2014.05" by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-26-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by mariose - posted: 06-21-2014 03:46 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 4200

Not bad...decent product!

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by indoroot - posted: 06-21-2014 06:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24834

must have iso

Rating: 7
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 11-22-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.60

Last Review by doomcake - posted: 06-20-2014 05:58 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 57632

slax v7.8 desktop is a very pleasing to the eye. The process to install\run it , is simple. The only downside is the lack of modules. The modules are a brilliant idea ,especially for noobs. I seem to remember the older versions of slax having more modules to choose from,but even then i had to spend a lot of time trying to convert packages into the correct slax format ,so they would be recognized. If you are new to slax and linux ,you will see that you are limited to what is offered on the slax website in their modules page. If more modules were available on the slax site ,i think it could lead to more people using slax. p.s..you can spend some time searching and probably find some custom made packages for various programs,but they might be old versions.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "SLAX Standard 5.0.5" by iZvi - posted: 06-07-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by texadactyl - posted: 06-19-2014 09:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4200

I would suggest one of the other desktops (XFCE, LXDE, Gnome, KDE, etc.). For myself, I prefer XFCE or LXDE because they are light-weight and run more efficiently on green custom-built systems.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by BlackMaxPhoto - posted: 06-19-2014 12:44 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4200

- I actually use Ubuntu Studio 14.04 w Xfce rather than Unity Having spent the last six years using various Debian-Ubuntu distributions I settled on this one, as it has been the only currently active Debian based Graphics distribution that WORKS out the box that I have seen. Building a usable color profiling app is essential, but I was able to do it without too much trouble. Maybe one day I'll build an Arch box, but for now UBS 14.04 WORKS

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-14-2014 11:28 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1262

I tested the 32-bit version of Mint with the Mate desktop. The live disk started well enough, but once installed the GUI kept crashing. I eventually solved that problem by changing the display manager, replacing mdm with xdm. That led to plymouthd continuing to run, which was only solved by disabling it altogether. The software included LibreOffice (without spell-checking), Gimp, Firefox (with Flash), Pidgin, HexChat, Thunderbird, Banshee, and VLC and Totem (with codecs). There were several warnings from GTK and GLib when running from the CLI, but everything worked except for LibreOffice. In Writer, display problems made it almost unusable. I replaced it with OpenOffice from Apache, which worked except for having an invisible scrollbar. That was cured by changing the theme. I also had an invisible notification area on the panel: a Gnome2/Mate bug which has affected Ubuntu and Mint sporadically for at least 4 years, for which there seems to be no remedy. There seem to be quite a few people having graphics problems: it may be well to wait for version 17.1.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

« Prev Page · Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration