LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 36 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by mariose - posted: 11-04-2014 05:55 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7477

Slackware seems to be the right choice for Linux users who know what they want and know what they are doing. It is also the right choice for someone wanting to dig deeper into the Linux operating system. If you are comfortable installing apps from the SHELL then you should not have any problems. Slackware offers all the bells and whistles and even more than what I have seen on other distributions. If you are studying Linux it is a good starting point in order to find out how the internals work. I was previously using Ubuntu for years and thought I had found THE right system for me. Once I had recently installed Slackware, I could never go back to Ubuntu or any other distribution as this point. Well done to Patrick and the team.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by kevison - posted: 11-03-2014 06:40 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7477

This distro has been around a long time. I have been using it off and on for over 17 years. It revives the curious in me about software/operating systems and experimentation.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by SA_Ron - posted: 11-02-2014 03:13 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 804

Well, it's an rpm distro. I'd been using ubuntu/.deb distros for the last few years and I wanted to go back to rpm. Now I kinda remember why I left them. Setup was fine. Setting up the network was fine, as well as browser and email. The issue was when I wanted to try to play a video with totem. No codecs. I'd been spoiled with other distros because the codecs were included in the initial installation. No VLC player in the repos either. After banging my head online for a couple hours trying to figure out how to get the codecs installed, I finally found a place that showed me how to install VLC and I could finally watch videos I'd downloaded. I really thought that codec crap was a thing of the past. I gave it a 7 because it eventually does the things I want it to do. Just takes a little more effort and time to do it than I anticipated. Like I said, I got spoiled with other distros. Might be nitpicking, but the desktop looks about 10 years old too. Too tired from fighting with the video to reconfig the desktop to look newer. Probably won't be on this very long, but it is serviceable. Oh, almost forgot. It's pretty slow for just about anything. I'd gotten used to smaller, faster distros. I have 4G of RAM. While that's not a whole lot, it was enough for other distros to work smoothly.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "6.6" by wsteward - posted: 10-29-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by mizrhappy - posted: 10-25-2014 03:55 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 427

One of the best reivews, only it's for 14.4 http://mylinuxexplore.blogspot.com/2014/04/kubuntu-1404-lts-trusty-tahr-review.html More stable, and very user friendly.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.10" by wsteward - posted: 10-24-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by deason2504 - posted: 10-24-2014 11:06 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2408

Love what's in the package.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.10" by wsteward - posted: 10-24-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by percy_vere_uk - posted: 10-24-2014 09:15 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2747

This is an excellent learning tool, I have used several linux distributions over the years but felt I just wanted to learn more about the works. I found that building a basic LFS system was straightforward with clear detailed instructions. You just need plenty of time for this mainly because there is no package management, but this is a better way to learn and you can see what the various dependencies do. My thanks to Gerard Beekmans and the team for producing this. Percy

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.5" by wsteward - posted: 03-03-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by ryanaud - posted: 10-15-2014 07:51 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 13489

great

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by AndyInMokum - posted: 10-13-2014 09:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1816

Peppermint Five is a Cloud oriented Hybrid OS. It is available in both 32bit and 64bit versions. It uses Ubuntu 14.04 LTS as its base. This provides de facto support until April 2019. It uses a highly customised version of LXDE. Instead of using Openbox as the window manager it uses Xfwm4 as the window manager. This provides a far more refined user experience. The all new Peppermint Control Center provides the user with a level of control that is not available in other LXDE based distros. Peppermint Five is different to any other Linux distribution. This means it not only functions as an ultra quick desktop computer. It also functions simultaneously as an elegant Cloud OS, similar to a Chromebook. This is thanks to the ridiculously simple to use Ice application, This in-house app is able to turn any URL into an SSB, (SiteSpecificBrowser). These are in essence, stand alone apps that you choose where to appear in the menu system. You are able to launch these, pseudo-apps like an ordinary package. They just run in The Cloud - very cool indeed!! In keeping with the Cloud philosophy, Peppermint has a minimal amount of locally pre-installed packages. Instead there are a few pre-made SSBs for Google Drive, Pixlr Editor, Pixlr O-Matic, the Online User Guide and the Peppermint Forum. With the Ice application, you can very quickly make more for - YouTube, GMail, Newspapers even Angry Birds and Facebook - whatever you want! If you want or, need locally installed packages, you'll find everything that's in the Ubuntu repositories available. They can be easily installed, with APT in the terminal, through Synaptic, GDebi or, from the Software Center. The most popular and highly rated applications can be found in the Featured category. The Peppermint specific metapackages can be found in the Featured category as well. Proprietary software packages such as Skype and SpiderOak can be downloaded on activation of the Canonical Partners repository. Everything is built for speed and convenience and this is done exceptionally well. The SSBs work seamlessly with the locally installed programmes. After you have made a few SSBs and used them. You will very quickly find them indispensable. As a bonus, the Peppermint Forums are excellent. They are a wealth of information and are extremely nOOb friendly and very helpful. The developers at Peppermint have seen the direction computing is taking in the home and in business. That is the rapidly growing trend to use far greater Cloud integration. There is no stopping that. They have really taken the bull by the horns with Peppermint Five and delivered something that is unique in the Linux desktop world. Peppermint Five brings to the user a level of ease of use, flexibility and freedom that no other Linux OS or for that matter any OS can offer out of the box. This is a very special distro that really could be leading the Linux desktop computer in an exciting new direction.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Five" by wsteward - posted: 06-24-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by sochi - posted: 10-13-2014 03:21 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8286

Ubuntu repositories Precise : need compilers for puppy. Puppy Precise is adult, and running very well. Developers have done there job But the menu remains the same, lacking of new apps compiled for puppy linux. Lucid stores are still where i get my apps.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "5.7 "Precise"" by wsteward - posted: 07-29-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.67

Last Review by rporro - posted: 10-09-2014 01:32 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 19464

Even though having that Cons many of us had mentioned before I still recommend it, because even when it still a not so old version of a software they update the security issues they may have or are detected. Also talking about security they have a very responsive team giving a quick fix to backholes detected on the system.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

« Prev Page · Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration