LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 36 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by draganNI - posted: 06-07-2015 08:29 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3513

very good!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "6.6" by wsteward - posted: 10-29-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.67

Last Review by Rocky Bennett - posted: 05-26-2015 06:43 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1923

I am new to Linux and I chose Linux Mint for it's simplicity and complete out-of-the box feel. So far I love it. I have been a Windows devotee since I first got introduced to home computers, but I am now a Linux fanboy and I will recommend this OS to anyone I can.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-30-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by dspie - posted: 05-22-2015 09:45 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4619

I am dual booting on a 5 year old toshiba laptop with Windows 7 and Linux Mint 17 XFCE. This is the best I have used. Install was on top of Linux Mint 14 and was smooth. It did updates and everything was quick and simple. I installed Chromium and imported all bookmarks from an html file. No glitches with anything.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Jon Wilob - posted: 04-27-2015 06:04 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1722

Mint 17.1 stole me away from Ubuntu 14.04 and Zorin. The only distro I would recommend over Rebecca for new users is Linux Lite. LL for me was by far the most intuitive and easier to learn Linux with. Windoze folks making the transition from Gates' garbage would be well served using LL. A wonderful install is to dual-boot LL and Mint 17.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.1 "KDE"" by wsteward - posted: 01-22-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by guub - posted: 04-05-2015 04:48 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 414

paldo is still active (10+ years) and independently developed, but now as a rolling release. It was one of the early Gnome 3 and systemd adopters and is still largely vanilla, with a few customized install metapackages. The package manager hasn't changed a bit - still command line only and slow, but it works fine with the basic upkg-install/remove/upgrade commands for packages from the online repository. If one dabbles in building packages from source it means manually configuring scripts for dependencies, though, and isn't really worth the time except for the fun of it. Fortunately, the packages repo is sufficient for a gnome-based system and has been consistently maintained for years; it's one of the best features of the distro - kudos to the developer for reliable, bleeding-edge package updates on a roughly weekly basis.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "rolling release" by guub - posted: 04-05-2015 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 03-27-2015 11:27 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 571

Not only installable from a CD, now there are pendrive installation images. Can be used live from pendrives or SD(HC) cards. Some network/wifi adapters not supported because the manufacturers won't release the code; need to check first to avoid disappointment. You may find your favourite program is not available, but there are suitable alternatives. You will need to know the basics of how unix works to get the best from the system. Full documentation is available to be read by the user, when needed, & there is a comprehensive FAQ. All in all, a very good O/S.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.6" by wsteward - posted: 11-02-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by NutNBolt - posted: 03-26-2015 12:10 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1923

I not only recommend Linux Mint, but I am actively promoting it. My (sort-of paying) hobby is acquiring, restoring and reselling older computers; both laptops and desktops. I set them up with Mint - the amd64 version if possible, but the i686 version works very well too. Most people don't care what OS is on there, they just want to use their Facebook account. I have set up appx 20 computers in the last 6 months and have never had a single person complain that Win---s is not installed. I have three towers, two notebooks and a netbook on my home network. I do all the updates and maintenance, but really, the time needed is insignificant. I started evaluating Linux (as a replacement for Win7) in 2011 with the OpenSuse distro and have also tried Gentoo and Redhat. Mint seems to be the overall winner; although the others were certainly very good. I could go on all night singing praises, but you get the idea... Back to the salt mines for me.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-30-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by rodeo - posted: 03-16-2015 01:49 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2260

Beginners install all the shiny desktop stuff and more experienced users leave it out. I've really gotten to like this distro over the years.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04.2" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by mdlinuxwolf - posted: 03-12-2015 10:56 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1722

Overall, each of the spins are great to use. I'd recommend using either KDE or MATE if you are just getting started. Cinnamon is also excellent. Still, there is no master distribution which has all of the popular desktops installed once. PC-BSD, whatever it's advantages or disadvantages, allows you to choose one or as many as close to a dozen different desktops at once during the initial install. Currently, I'm running mint 17.1 on a HP all in one T23. I removed and gave away the original hard drive and substituted a SSD instead. I also put in the maximum amount of RAM (16 gigs) but left the CPU alone... ... for now!! It's excellent and linux sees all the hardware on the computer itself. You may or may not have to use a wired USB keyboard or mouse. I haven't tested the ones included in the box.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.1 "KDE"" by wsteward - posted: 01-22-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by curtvaughan - posted: 02-26-2015 06:06 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 21870

Debian is a fine distribution with a long heritage in the Linux world. It speaks well to it that so many forks depend upon it. As others have mentioned above, its forums are plagued with arrogant, rather unpleasant folks - not a majority by any means, but significant enough to be insulting not only to newbies, but to experienced developers and users of other distros, Ubuntu and Mint being prime targets. It is an operating system, not a religion. I hope that perspective will remain with yet another fork, Devuan, on the horizon.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

« Prev Page · Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration