LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 36 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by tuneturkey - posted: 01-06-2015 11:01 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2144

how to load Dropbox?
Product Details: "5.2.8" by wsteward - posted: 08-21-2011 - Rating:

Last Review by guub - posted: 01-01-2015 04:18 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 10676

paldo is still active (10+ years) and independently developed, but now as a rolling release. It was one of the early Gnome 3 and systemd adopters and is still largely vanilla, with a few customized install metapackages. The package manager hasn't changed a bit - still command line only and slow, but it works fine with the basic upkg-install/remove/upgrade commands for packages from the online repository. If one dabbles in building packages from source it means manually configuring scripts for dependencies, though, and isn't really worth the time except for the fun of it. Fortunately, the packages repo is sufficient for a gnome-based system and has been consistently maintained for years; it's one of the best features of the distro - kudos to the developer for reliable, bleeding-edge package updates on a roughly weekly basis.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "1.22" by DavidMcCann - posted: 10-13-2010 - Rating: ******* 6.50

Last Review by TxLonghorn - posted: 12-26-2014 01:08 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2437

Korora is a great distro. They have implemented their Cinnamon desktop so that runs well with no glitches. (That is an improvement on their last attempt.) I have Korora installed on a machine which literally will not run anything else - including Knoppix or Linux Mint. Everything worked for me out of the box - wireless, printer, videos, etc. Package management with yum is excellent.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "20" by wsteward - posted: 01-11-2014 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by Amdawe - posted: 12-25-2014 04:10 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7052

This distribution can be installed by everyone using the manual.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.29

Last Review by Gusbo - posted: 12-10-2014 04:15 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 9085

Installed on an Acer Aspire 3000 Via USB on 80 GB HDD Over wrote WinXP Picked up all the hardware on loading with hard wired connection asked all the right questions and did them perfectly Switching to WiFi after complete loading was a piece of cake Beats the Win stuff Enjoying this Laptop again

Rating: 10
Product Details: "19" by wsteward - posted: 07-03-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by zinner09 - posted: 12-08-2014 02:01 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 16186

where is the link pls
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.25

Last Review by curtvaughan - posted: 12-02-2014 07:13 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3748

Have a double boot of both Cinnamon and XFCE on my Dell netbook. With a divided 250 GB hard drive and a GB of memory, both distros work great. XFCE is slightly faster. My holiday project is to try to get XFCE to install on my 9 year old MacBook Pro, which Apple no longer supports with software/security updates.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by dubkat - posted: 12-02-2014 12:50 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1439

I only recommend Gentoo to those who i believe can handle the challenge. Which is rare. I recommend openSUSE to beginners. (no, not ubuntu, no, not fedora either).

Rating: 9
Product Details: "20140826" by wsteward - posted: 09-05-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by fx.verry - posted: 11-24-2014 02:53 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7884

adaadadada

Rating: 3
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.6" by wsteward - posted: 01-14-2011 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by doxxx - posted: 11-21-2014 08:39 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3880

I have been using computers since 1984 and working with them since 1990. from CPM & DOS 1.0 through Win 8, with some Puppy Linux variations thrown in. I have been using Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr since May, 2014. I moved up to big time (for me) Linux distro because there were too many things that I could not do with Puppy Precise 5.7.1. I had also been using Windows 8.1 on this laptop for about a year when it started committing suicide. Multiple times. Like three installations in a row, none lasting more that 24 hours. So in great frustration with Windows, I looked for the most popular distros I could find and chose Ubuntu from the mess. The learning curve was much steeper that I expected. I had mistakenly thought that my experience with Puppy would help. LOL! After wiping the drive and a clean install, I began using Ubuntu. There are a few inherent bugs, but; I've found work-a-rounds. Some of the problems I've had involved; Passphrase not being accepted Screenshots hot keys not working Google Chrome not working, at all Reclaiming the classic scrollbar Cleanup/removal of apps Conky Converting video to mp3 CUPS Leaking memory errors Waking from suspend and forgetting settings Touchpad on/off changing on its own Lost launcher Slow Firefox But; to be entirely honest, I was to fault much of the time. I did not understand that thing are just done differently in Linux Smile I'm always in too much of a hurry to wait for something to execute. And even though I been through DOS 1.0 to 6.22, I still had a hard time getting use to the terminal. I have in time, found solutions to all the problems that I have had. There is an immense support community out there in internet-land and they are mostly very supportive. I've found that a Google search will most often come up with answers from Ubuntu Forums and these answers are win! After six months, my current problems are with some of the apps and not really with Ubuntu.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: ***** 4.75

« Prev Page · Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration