LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 36 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by ext2 - posted: 03-09-2014 05:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 17758

Excellent

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 11-22-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by Brosch91 - posted: 03-07-2014 09:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2389

I used to be an avid Ubuntu user back in the day, but once Ubuntu went to Unity along with the distro starting to get more unstable and buggy over the years, I decided to stop using it. I then started jumping distro to distro, having a hard time finding a distro to call home. I've tried pclinuxos, linux mint, sabayon, gentoo, and more but they just didn't click with me. Then I tried Slackware, and with the well documented slackdocs and the slackbook, I learned it quickly and really learned to love this distribution of GNU/Linux. It is extremely stable and I really like the LILO boot loader! And the slackbuilds make it easy to install any application you want, as they have many slackbuilds for a big variety of software available. And the one thing I love Slackware about is they don't try to be what they aren't. One problem with most of the distros out there is they have identity problems. They try being one thing, then another thing. They just can't make up their minds! Not with Slackware, they have kept the same identity since the 90s and have gotten very good at doing what they do by being the same distro in every update. One thing you can count on with Slackware is that it won't try to change identities in the next update. They just keep it simple, updating it but keeping it the same distro we all know and love. I hope Slackware sticks around for the many years to come, because it has my full support!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Drakeo - posted: 03-07-2014 08:06 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2389

Slackware does the most to keep things in there place and lets the world orbit around them.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by rich442 - posted: 03-06-2014 08:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3088

The best thing about Oracle linux 6 is its affordable support and excellent kernel features. Oracle linux has received harsh grades from its skeptics who state that its closed development cycle make it dangerous to use. What these detractors fail to note is that all commercially licensed linuces have closed development cycles to preserve quality of the final product (compare the development of FreeBSD, Slackware, OpenBSD and the ubuntu server). OS's with closed development cycles are able to produce higher quality products based on the fact that their developers work in close proximity to each other. Oracle is faster, more fully supported and more unified than any of its open-developed cousins. Further, Oracle releases upstream patches and security advisories within days and sometimes hours of their appearing on the Upstream vendor's repositories. CentOS often takes months to release their version of the patches. Since Oracle is virtually the same as CentOS and its cousins, the slowness of security patches and new releases can become a deciding factor for those who need high performance and consistent quality. On the other hand, it is not certain that Oracle wholeheartedly supports the future of this version of linux. Oracle remains devoted to big-ticket items such as their high-end Solaris UNIX products and their database product MySQL. Oracle products are, they claim, a defining factor in a customer buying service from Oracle. This is how Oracle seems to be leveraging their UEK Linux and it is slowly working. Oracle sells its product based on its version a no-downtime updating feature called Ksplice (provided with Premium Support contract). Ksplice is a feature that allows a user to install security updates without the need to restart the system or network. This, according to Oracle, eliminates downtime. I am skeptical of this claim because rebooting a network doesn't seem to take very much time. With the same applications available to Scientific and CentOS linuces (and the source code always available), I have a hard time telling how the Oracle kernel (and Ksplice) can be a game-changing feature for a desktop user or small business owner. Oracle certainly releases fixes much faster and also provides a polished system from the get-go. Scientific and CentOS are much smaller operations and have fewer dvelopers (although just as dedicated and qualified as those at Oracle). Oracle offers user-friendly paid support that is much cheaper than RedHat support. Support can be purchased without the need to reinstall the OS (again, a feature of Ksplice). I doubt that CentOS development model can compete with Oracle's unified and controlled approach to recompiling the upstream source code. Oracle argues that its enterprise linux is far superior to CentOS because Redhat patches may be applied to Oracle linux almost instantly. Other EL clones need to recompile the source code for the Red Hat patches thus increasing the delay time between the actual security advisory and the time that a patch shows up on the CentOS repositories. Onc again, Oracle uses this factor as a major selling point, even claiming that its linux product is vastly superior to CentOS and Scientific Please take my "review" as an expression of personal opinion based on my experience running Oracle 6.5 on my own production machines. I have serious praise for Oracle, but also serious doubts for this product. I just want to make it clear that I am basing this on my own research and personal use of Oracle, CentOS and Scientific Linux. Unlike CentOS and Scientific, an Oracle account is required to gain access to the ISO files. This was a bummer for me because I am not sure I will become a paying customer. If, after trying Oracle, you would like to switch back to CentOS, Scientific, ClearOS and etc, the process is rather dificult. The ol6_latest repository contains 18 seperate repository files (for MySQL, SpaceWalk20 and other things). It is labor intensive to erase these 18 repo files from /etc/yum.repos.d so I don't recommend switching back to RedHat unless you are willing to do a clean install.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "6.3" by wsteward - posted: 06-29-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by sima01529 - posted: 03-02-2014 03:47 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 144412

great
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.4" by wsteward - posted: 09-07-2009 - Rating: ******* 7.41

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 02-26-2014 04:49 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1068

The Zenwalk website is still offering version 7.0, so I had to use a link from Distrowatch to get 7.4. Documentation is unimpressive: the manual is 6 years old and the wiki is empty. The installation disk (not live) allowed a choice of keyboard, manual or automatic partitioning, and the configuration of lilo. Creating a user, setting passwords, and selecting a locale are done at first boot, but no time zone is selected. When I rebooted I could only log into tty1. Using startx gave twm with a terminal that deleted characters as fast as they were typed and which eventually crashed. The log file had no error messages, except for the final “connection to X server lost”. The Zenwalk forum showed no-one else with a graphics problem, but there aren’t many people there anyway. The manual says run xorgconfig, which was missing. Suspecting, correctly, that video driver was faulty, I replaced it with vesa, which I only managed to do by writing an xorg.conf file. The software supplied included Firefox (with flash), Mplayer (with codecs), LibreOffice (without spell-checking), and Thunderbird; they worked, with a few CLI complaints. The package manager had to have the mirrors enabled and that took several attempts. I used it to install the spell-checker for LibreOffice, but that didn’t work. To enable my USB speakers I had to write an asoundrc file. The tool to set keyboard shortcuts is broken and most of the standard ones (like Alt-F4) are missing. One can edit the configuration file, but try finding the names of the shortcuts, such as “close_window_key”. Finally I copied the file from my Salix installation. I think the obvious answer to Zenwalk’s problems is to use Salix in the first place.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "7.4" by wsteward - posted: 02-19-2014 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 02-26-2014 10:59 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 679

To install Mageia I chose the 32-bit version of the 4GB, customisable DVD. The bug tracker shows many people unable to run the disk (as opposed using a USB stick) but I had no trouble. The installer is excellent: simple to use but with lots of options. Unfortunately, the installer was the best part. I tried three desktops. In Xfce, drop-down menus frequently failed to display any text. In Mate, many of the panel plugins were invisible, even the notification area and updates tool. Both these desktops also had many missing components. The default KDE was better, as one would expect, but very bloated compared with other distros. If you have less than 2GB, there may be swapping. The package manager is set to use the DVD for the core repository and disable that for “tainted” (i.e. patented) software; setting the correct repositories has to be done from a different program. Media codecs are not installed and there is no guidance on which files are needed. I tried the instructions from an old Mandriva site, but without success. Finally I spotted that there were two versions of ffmpeg: one in core, one in tainted: I replaced the first with the second and it worked. The package manager still keeps trying to persuade you to delete “orphan programs”, most of which are actually vital components. My USB speakers were unusable (a problem inherited from Mandriva) until I blacklisted the kernel plugin for motherboard sound; again, an undocumented solution. I'd sum up Mageia as usable (if you stick to KDE) but shoddy: it certainly doesn’t make my top 20.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "4" by DavidMcCann - posted: 02-26-2014 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by simsalagrimm2014 - posted: 02-21-2014 11:18 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1151

I found this when I was looking for a distro for playing, and looks really well

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Supreme 2" by wsteward - posted: 07-19-2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by parnote - posted: 02-19-2014 07:02 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1973

Rolling release ... no reinstallation every six months. Dynamic & thriving community Monthly Magazine ... The PCLinuxOS Magazine Excellent hardware recognition Outstanding selection of programs in the repository. NOT Mandriva based! PCLinuxOS was originally, but is now its own, independent distro. PCLinuxOS pulls in the best of openSUSE, Fedora, Ubuntu, Debian, Slackware, Arch and every other Linux distro. Even though PCLinuxOS uses the RPM packaging system, most Mandriva RPMs will no longer work on PCLinuxOS (they have diverged that much) without serious revamping of the source RPM.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2013.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Clovis_Sangrail - posted: 02-07-2014 03:20 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3459

It works for me! The install was smooth enough. I did not try to do an upgrade, just emailed a few homedirs to myself, then restored them after the install. Using the LXterm windowing system I get decent response on an old dell dimension 8200 tower with 2GB ram.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Fedora 20" by wsteward - posted: 12-18-2013 - Rating: ******** 7.50

« Prev Page · Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration