LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 26 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by offgridguy - posted: 02-23-2016 05:20 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1416

The strength of this OS is the DansGuardian web filter, which in effect acts as a very efficient baby sitter for young children or unsupervised users. This web filter can be configured using root privileges by editing the configuration files with the vim text editor,(or emacs) if that's your preference. It can also be uninstalled completely if you have no need for a web filter but still want an OS with a Christian theme. One consideration, if you don't need the web filter, it may be best to remove it, as it is a constantly running process that can use a lot of cpu, which may be an issue if you have an older or slow computer. I won't detail the process of removing DansGuardian here, unless someone requests it. The other drawback of ubuntu ce is that it is about 4 years behind the newest ubuntu release, however you can add the latest software from the repository, which helps. But as an operating system with a Christian theme, it is unique, as there are no others. If you already like ubuntu, you will probably like ubuntu ce. I understand there is an upgrade available to 14.04, but since I have never had success with ubuntu upgrades, I would wait for a newer version and do a complete new install. In the meantime you won't know if you like it until you try it. Edit; At this time Ubuntu CE is in a dormant state, according to the distrowatch site. It will probably be only a matter of time before it's gone completely.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "12.04" by wsteward - posted: 09-08-2012 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by jamison20000e - posted: 02-21-2016 09:12 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6818

Have distro hopped for just over 20 years now and Debian is my most used OS. Forks are cool but a spoon is better. :D Usually start with a netinst then
apt-add cdrom
x3DVDs or a Blu-ray and\or WiFi non-free firmware. Wink Thank you Debian!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.83

Last Review by jwpierce1830 - posted: 02-18-2016 09:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24210

Used Slackware first time in 1996. Installed from floppy disk. Now DVD or memory stick works fine for installing. Have a server and have used on laptop and older hardware where other Linux distributions would not work.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 8.95

Last Review by juandresen - posted: 02-04-2016 03:22 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 6818

If using as a server debian stable (debian 8) version will give you what it promises, stability. But if you're using it as a desktop you might better go with debian testing (debian 9); this version will have most of the packages at the current version. The stability is still much better than for Ubuntu, so the cost is not high for getting newer packages.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.83

Last Review by ZZII - posted: 01-25-2016 11:03 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3788

I'd install it before: Windows 8/8.1 vanilla Windows 10 Any other Linux distro I'd install it after: Windows 7 Windows 8/8.1 with Classic Shell I prefer it to Ubuntu but I'm biased against Ubuntu because I personally didn't like any of the desktop environments I tried as much as Mint's Cinnamon

Rating: 9
Product Details: "17.2" by mralk3 - posted: 06-30-2015 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by kooth - posted: 01-15-2016 07:57 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14859

This was my first Linux install on my own hardware. Since then I've done a few on a Raspberry Pi and OlinuxIno. Hands down Fedora 20 beat them all! Note: I installed it in 2014.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Fedora 20" by wsteward - posted: 12-18-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.33

Last Review by Rocky Bennett - posted: 01-08-2016 03:28 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 4448

This seemed like a nice way to try Ubuntu, but it never worked correctly on my Intel Haswell based system.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "14.04.3" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 01-06-2016 12:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1250

Since Rolling Release-based, I am currently at Manjaro 15.12 due updates. This distro is a joy to use. I opted for the xfce version, but there are numerous gorgeous community based versions ranging from openbox, fluxbox, jwm, budgie, gnome, kde, I3, enlightenment, etc. The Openbox, jwm, and fluxbox versions are unrivaled in beauty and settings. Only negative they have versus the xfce, kde, mate, and gnome version is the sound issue for my AMD A8 based ASUS laptop.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "0.8.12" by wsteward - posted: 02-26-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 01-06-2016 12:14 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 7064

I have to rank as a 10 in relation to the competition. This is my number 1 recommended distro for desktop beginners and users who just want everything running and available upon install. Personally, I triple boot Linux Mint, Manjaro Linux (arch-based) and Semplice Linux (debian-based)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by offgridguy - posted: 12-27-2015 01:05 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 24210

I have read all of the above reviews, they all contain great advice and insight irrespective of individual opinions. I am only just starting with Slackware, but I already know that it's a 'keeper'. This OS forces me to learn and use the command line and is teaching me a lot about computers. This is the first Linux distro that lets me feel as if I have some control,instead of vice versa. I know there are plenty of cons to this system, as mentioned in the above reviews but I like it for what it is, and I won't complain about what it isn't. I have a lot to learn in the coming months but I am looking forward to learning. I appreciate all of the above reviewers for sharing their thoughts, much of which I agree with, so I won't repeat it here.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 8.95

« Prev Page · Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration