LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 26 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 319

Whilst trying this version of FreeBSD, I found it to be a somewhat heavy system, if you have the resources, it is a good BSD desktop system. I had it running on a 3.4ghz i3 with 4gb ram, and a dual 1ghz, 1gb ram system, but found it slow compared to my usual Linux distro. (Perhaps because it uses ZFS.)

Rating: 9
Product Details: "10.0.3" by wsteward - posted: 09-09-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:24 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 525

Whilst this distro was one of the first lightweight live installable distros, it has become stuck in the past, nothing new since 2012. It still works, but trying to get security updates seems unlikely. I would leave this distro to the history books. There are better more modern lightweight distros out there now, such as SliTaz, which I like.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "4.11" by dpeirce - posted: 08-16-2014 - Rating: ****** 6.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 198

Very good midweight distro with just about everything you could want on a daily basis, uses XFCE desktop to save on resources.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.2 "MX"" by wsteward - posted: 07-01-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1686

A very full desktop distro, yet still only takes about 2.5gb of your disk. Works on old and new computers, using very little ram. Excellent forum also.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.2" by wsteward - posted: 11-06-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 04:06 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8632

I use 'base' mainly because I need a web browser, music player, and a movie player - all included in the 'base' distro, plus much more, yet only about 1.5gb installation. N.B. The 'base' version has been dropped in 13.2, so this 13.1 is the latest, however, install it and just 'upgrade' to bring it right upto date.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.1" by wsteward - posted: 06-21-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Rooster68 - posted: 09-30-2014 07:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 850

I carry this distro around on a USB stick when I travel and it has not failed me yet on any machine. I run it at home on an ancient Imac and it's perfect. Never a hiccup,never an "oops". Great packagers,testers and a really friendly forum. When all the kerfuffle about the bash vulnerability came out,they not only had the fix but a test to see if you were vulnerable in hours. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because it can't bring me my coffee in the mornings.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "2014.08" by wsteward - posted: 08-19-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by darkturtle - posted: 09-30-2014 02:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 22422

fantastic !!!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "6.3" by wsteward - posted: 06-22-2012 - Rating: ********* 8.63

Last Review by mwchristian - posted: 09-16-2014 11:29 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2631

I am currently running Linux Mint 17 which I installed over my existing Mint 15 instance without a hitch, aside from a couple rounds of updates to patch the install current. My lifestyle changed and I now do 90% of my work on laptops, so I spent quite a while experimenting with different distros. I understand that a Linux distro is a personal decision and subject to heated debate. I have been a Red Hat and Debian fan since the mid- 90s, so I tend to fall back on my old favorites when a new problem confronts me. In this case, after trying the top ten Linux distros and even Dragonfly and Free BSD. I settled on Linux Mint as it had the drivers my Toshibas needed and installed without work-arounds. When it came to choosing a GUI I worked with all and picked XFce for a number of reasons. I found the integration and features fully developed and the installation completely flawless. The the prior issues I experienced with XFce panel plugins availability and ease of use are solved with this new release. With Linux Min 17 and XFce I enjoy a fully functional operating system without unwanted bloat which delivers speed and accustomed rock solid Linux performance on my laptops.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by azhar_mz - posted: 09-14-2014 04:34 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 10047

i've stumbled upon this product right around 2010 since then it was really stable on my year 2000 toshiba satellite p3 1ghz. Many thanks to all involved in this product developement. Absolute linux is by far the best solutions for those with lo-resource but want something meaningfull for one's use. I enjoyed tarballing a lot with this one. Unfortunately my toshiba only wifi with pcmcia card. I am still working on it found already the workable site to worked with. Still in version 13 and no need to upgrade to 14 i guess. The amazing thing i newly discovered with abslute just a month ago was. It has an offline dictionary. Qstardict really shines up this very classical distro. Never get bored playing games with it. Fillet-ng was somewhat playable. Lastly i will always think absolute first for an old pc.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 10-03-2012 - Rating: ***** 4.50

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 09-05-2014 12:20 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1357

Zorin OS Light is based on Ubuntu with the LXDE desktop. It seems to be the largest LXDE distro, but it would still run well in 512MB of RAM. Pressing a key at boot-up gives a menu where you can choose a live session or installation. Donít use the installer from the menu if you need to reconfigure the HD: do that in a live session with Gparted, then run the installer. And donít try to encrypt /home ó it locks-up the installer. Despite my choice of a UK keyboard, I was given a US one. Luckily they have a keyboard management applet on the panel, so that was sorted with a few clicks. Software includes Abiword (with dictionary), Gnumeric, Firefox (with flash), Gnome-mplayer (with codecs), Audacious, and Wine. Running from the CLI gave critical warnings for Firefox and Gnumeric, but both worked. As with many Debian-based distros, more advanced activities were tricky. I had to install pulse-audio to get my USB speakers working, and that disabled the volume buttons on the keyboard ó the solution came (doesnít it always?) from the Arch wiki. Also im-chooser doesnít work, so changing input from GTK had to be done with ~/.profile. Still, these are exotic problems, the sort of thing that this site is here to solve. There are quite a few Debian-derived LXDE distros. Exe and WattOS are based on Debian Stable, Sparky is rolling-release, while Zorin and Lubuntu are currently based on Ubuntuís long-term support version. WattOS uses a non-pae kernel. Exe has the most software on the installation disk, while WattOS and Zorin will fit on a CD. Take your pick: all are well done.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "9 "Lite", "Educational Lite"" by wsteward - posted: 08-14-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

« Prev Page · Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration