LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by AndyInMokum - posted: 10-13-2014 09:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1682

Peppermint Five is a Cloud oriented Hybrid OS. It is available in both 32bit and 64bit versions. It uses Ubuntu 14.04 LTS as its base. This provides de facto support until April 2019. It uses a highly customised version of LXDE. Instead of using Openbox as the window manager it uses Xfwm4 as the window manager. This provides a far more refined user experience. The all new Peppermint Control Center provides the user with a level of control that is not available in other LXDE based distros. Peppermint Five is different to any other Linux distribution. This means it not only functions as an ultra quick desktop computer. It also functions simultaneously as an elegant Cloud OS, similar to a Chromebook. This is thanks to the ridiculously simple to use Ice application, This in-house app is able to turn any URL into an SSB, (SiteSpecificBrowser). These are in essence, stand alone apps that you choose where to appear in the menu system. You are able to launch these, pseudo-apps like an ordinary package. They just run in The Cloud - very cool indeed!! In keeping with the Cloud philosophy, Peppermint has a minimal amount of locally pre-installed packages. Instead there are a few pre-made SSBs for Google Drive, Pixlr Editor, Pixlr O-Matic, the Online User Guide and the Peppermint Forum. With the Ice application, you can very quickly make more for - YouTube, GMail, Newspapers even Angry Birds and Facebook - whatever you want! If you want or, need locally installed packages, you'll find everything that's in the Ubuntu repositories available. They can be easily installed, with APT in the terminal, through Synaptic, GDebi or, from the Software Center. The most popular and highly rated applications can be found in the Featured category. The Peppermint specific metapackages can be found in the Featured category as well. Proprietary software packages such as Skype and SpiderOak can be downloaded on activation of the Canonical Partners repository. Everything is built for speed and convenience and this is done exceptionally well. The SSBs work seamlessly with the locally installed programmes. After you have made a few SSBs and used them. You will very quickly find them indispensable. As a bonus, the Peppermint Forums are excellent. They are a wealth of information and are extremely nOOb friendly and very helpful. The developers at Peppermint have seen the direction computing is taking in the home and in business. That is the rapidly growing trend to use far greater Cloud integration. There is no stopping that. They have really taken the bull by the horns with Peppermint Five and delivered something that is unique in the Linux desktop world. Peppermint Five brings to the user a level of ease of use, flexibility and freedom that no other Linux OS or for that matter any OS can offer out of the box. This is a very special distro that really could be leading the Linux desktop computer in an exciting new direction.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Five" by wsteward - posted: 06-24-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by sochi - posted: 10-13-2014 03:21 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8101

Ubuntu repositories Precise : need compilers for puppy. Puppy Precise is adult, and running very well. Developers have done there job But the menu remains the same, lacking of new apps compiled for puppy linux. Lucid stores are still where i get my apps.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "5.7 "Precise"" by wsteward - posted: 07-29-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.67

Last Review by rporro - posted: 10-09-2014 01:32 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 18977

Even though having that Cons many of us had mentioned before I still recommend it, because even when it still a not so old version of a software they update the security issues they may have or are detected. Also talking about security they have a very responsive team giving a quick fix to backholes detected on the system.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by dinodesilva - posted: 10-09-2014 11:22 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 18977

Long live Debian! The greatest OS produced by one of the most generous, brilliant, disciplined teams on earth... A rare gem in a world where greed, hatred, competition and corruption rules... Thank you debian team!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by kayakman - posted: 10-06-2014 04:41 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3384

Ever since the install I could not get a complete update. Packages broken error message would come up. I never tried to print any documents until a few days ago and printing would happen on two different printers. Message says drivers were loading and still no printing. My only option is to save files to SD card and print from another machine. Menu lay out is nice and very populated. Some applications I have not heard of or used yet. Most of my use is social media, google earth, email, web surfing/shopping and a couple of games. Install was a breeze for me. Even with limited tech savey I have managed to install to mulitiple hard drives.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: ***** 4.75

Last Review by saneesh43 - posted: 10-06-2014 06:23 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 10136

hai where is the download link?how can I download?
Product Details: "Fedora 20" by wsteward - posted: 12-18-2013 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by saneesh43 - posted: 10-06-2014 04:49 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 11985

where is the download link?
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by nolretou - posted: 10-03-2014 11:44 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7138

Perfect for every use, server, desktop, home studio etc. No horrible crap like systemd are included, so it stays reliable. Once your machine is set up and running, it's ok for years.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 05:51 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 12463

I always come back to this distro. It is the modern 'Damn Small Linux' of the Linux world. It is mainly a very lightweight live web browsing distro for old and new hardware. It uses 'crunchbox' instead of the 'GNU utils', which can cause some problems with some GNU programs, but generally works well. Well worth investigating - but dowload the 'cooking' version, as it is the more upto date version, soon to be release 5.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "4.0" by wsteward - posted: 04-11-2012 - Rating: ****** 6.00

Last Review by fatmac - posted: 10-01-2014 05:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 448

Whilst trying this version of FreeBSD, I found it to be a somewhat heavy system, if you have the resources, it is a good BSD desktop system. I had it running on a 3.4ghz i3 with 4gb ram, and a dual 1ghz, 1gb ram system, but found it slow compared to my usual Linux distro. (Perhaps because it uses ZFS.)

Rating: 9
Product Details: "10.0.3" by wsteward - posted: 09-09-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration