LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-18-2014 11:05 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1072

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dt0ZzxlI35c
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating:

Last Review by Dawn262 - posted: 08-18-2014 07:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1789

This update fixed an annoying problem in that my Dell notebook would sometimes "forget" that that the numlock was on. Now it stays in the position I set it. No unexpected surprised. Interesting enough, my wireless seems to me faster and more stable as well. I don't know if this is intentional with this upgrade, but I noticed the better performance. Thank you, team Ubuntu!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "12.04.5" by wsteward - posted: 08-08-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by jimbrechin - posted: 08-18-2014 02:25 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4523

Very easy to use and well maintained. Plenty of versions to try out and Forum very helpful.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2013.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Bill_Gates - posted: 08-17-2014 12:56 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1621

The hope for a seamless upgrade is dashed. Printing which used to work well now fails with "Broken Filter" status, whatever that means Dash Home no longer works so cannot launch apps or go to recently used items. Bit like my school reports really "Could do better!"

Rating: 3
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by holden87 - posted: 08-16-2014 01:28 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2899

As my signature states, I think I found the distro to end my distrohopping madness.

Best points overall are definitely the installer, which is by far the best one i have encountered, then next the integration of KDE, which is wonderful and YaST. YaST is a really near-perfect one-stop shop GUI for everything you want to set up on your system, without editing the text files in your / directory.

On the other hand, YaST can seem a little bloated sometimes, especially its GTK version.

It doesn't use too much of my system's resources (a 4-5 years old dual core Pentium + 4gb of RAM ).

It looks great, and it's very very reliable.

And one of the great things is that openSUSE hits the sweetest possible spot between corporate sponsorship, giving back upstream, cross-distro collaboration, openness...

I'd also recommend it to any beginner, as yes, there's a lot of third-party apps in OBS, but you can install them with a single click from software.opensuse.org.

The best distro I've used to this day.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-20-2013 - Rating: ****** 5.67

Last Review by anchorman - posted: 08-15-2014 10:47 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 19488

I usually get the information I need to progress using Python. It is indeed a large sized book, but I don't see where anything should be removed.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Programming Python, Third Edition" by Mara - posted: 02-11-2007 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-14-2014 05:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1760

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7m2A4iQJ4uU
Product Details: "20" by wsteward - posted: 01-11-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-12-2014 06:23 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 657

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptpiMfTDN3U
Product Details: "0.2" by wsteward - posted: 08-12-2013 - Rating:

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-09-2014 05:06 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1170

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFMCqj7I-aY
Product Details: "9" by wsteward - posted: 07-16-2014 - Rating:

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 08-08-2014 11:19 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 968

The appearance of a Gnome version of Ubuntu seems to show the Canonical can recognise when theyíve got it wrong: the result is an example of getting it right. The disk menu includes the option to check the files, a better option than just verifying the download with a checksum. If you need to shrink a Windows partition, do it with Windows: thereís no Gparted provided. The installer is simple and offers encryption of /home. It needs 1GB of RAM to run. The old bug of the disk failing on certain video chips has been cured. The default is the main version of Gnome, although you can switch to the Classic version by clicking on the gearwheel at log-in. I found the system sluggish, but I was using the 32-bit version and I donít think Gnome is suitable for older computers any more. There were a few problems: some keyboard shortcuts didnít work and neither did installing a second keyboard driver. One small triumph: this version of Ubuntu joins the very small group of Debian derivatives which can handle multiple sound devices without problems. Software included LibreOffice (with spell-checking), Firefox (with flash), Evolution mail, Empathy, Shotwell, Rhythmbox, and Totem (with codecs). Firefox, Evolution, and Rhythmbox gave critical warnings in the CLI, but everything worked. LibreOffice Writer is the new version that gives display problems on some hardware: the solution is to use 100% zoom instead of Optional, or to get OpenOffice. If you need a firewall, install and run gufw. If you like Gnome, you will like this: for ease of installation, user-friendliness, and long-term support, it has the edge on Debian, Fedora, or OpenSUSE.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration