LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back > Reviews
User Name


» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by prudra - posted: 08-07-2015 09:07 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 2163

I don't have experience of many other linux distributions and so cannot compare with other distributions.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.67

Last Review by auge - posted: 08-07-2015 04:41 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 5885

At work I switched everything to CentOS 6 a long time ago. This was the single best decision regarding operating-systemns for the company I can imagine. It runs perfectly in VMWare, Hyper-V and XEN, it fully supports DELL, HP and custom servers and it has a great community with many excellent users. We use this especially for high-load webservers with NginX+FastCGI as SSL-Terminators and DMZ-Hosts, as enterprise-proxy-servers with very high-load and for various other enterprise-services, like ntp, postfix as a smtp-queue-buffer with spamfilter, scp/sftp/ftp-server for deployment, websites with php and for a huge postgresql-cluster. Allover this Operating-System saved the company millions of Euros while parallely being better than Solaris, Unixware and others.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 12-02-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by cgreen1124 - posted: 08-06-2015 06:08 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 2143


Rating: 5
Product Details: "6.7" by mralk3 - posted: 07-22-2015 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by Charliesrch - posted: 07-30-2015 03:38 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 2912

I first installed Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS two months ago. I inherited a donated HP Desktop with a bogus Windows 7 op-sys. A few weeks later I had a problem with my HP Laptop and I replaced W-7 on it also. I have been completely happy since. I can still access my old windows file backups and have had a wonderful time studying and practicing with 'Intro To Linux'(.pdf). I'm on a fixed income and this gives me a challenge learning the multitudinous line commands in a Terminal. As of this year, Microsoft is too expensive and too much of a headache for me to afford. The rewards are GREAT!!! with Ubuntu.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.04.2" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by jkiwi - posted: 07-14-2015 02:32 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 2163

I'm glad I can still revert to Classic Gnome Desktop

Rating: 9
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.67

Last Review by zaivala - posted: 07-13-2015 11:45 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 27498

I'm running it right now. Updates are semi-mythical, usually results in an error message of unable to contact look and feel is exactly the same as the early Ubuntu updates to the Xandros-based EeePC interface, which is lovely. Apparently there is a 1.7 and a 2.0 Alpha, but nothing in 1.6 makes it possible to upgrade, only do a new install. For that matter, the LQ Search feature keeps coming up blank when looking for information on this distro. That's a shame, this is a very good distro and needs to be continued and supported.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "1.6" by wsteward - posted: 05-03-2010 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by oliversjgilmour - posted: 07-09-2015 07:16 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 602

A fantastic distribution, highly customisable, very fast to boot and great init system. Networking can be difficult, under certain circumstances, but shouldn't be too difficult to fix. Repositories contain not much more than the essentials. Their wiki is a fantastic resource for all extra little tidbits that you might need to work out. Overall, I rate this distribution, very highly.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "3.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-17-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Dieselchair - posted: 06-27-2015 04:46 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 11141

Long ago when I built my first computer it was not in the budget to buy some proprietary software. This forced me into the world of linux, at least for few months. I didn't really feel comfortable with Ubuntu. After a few more linux distros and some $10 proprietary software bought through my collage, I still was not really comfortable. Linux Mint was fun and almost comfortable. It came close, but not enough for me to really enjoy it. Then I found slackware. Slackware to me seemed to have the values and structure I wanted. Something simple that works, but also can do what ever I needed it to do. The learning curve was steep and at times difficult. The slack mentality eluded me. Trashing my system with silly mistakes, typos in the command line, ATI madness, it was not easy but I stayed with it. I wanted to get my slack back as they say. All that time and effort forcing myself into the command line and spending time to learn slack. Was it worth it? Did I get my slack back? YES!!!!! It was well worth it! What was once hard to understand is now second nature. Slackware takes a bit more skill and knowledge to use but the end result is greater then I expected! I can do things now that I thought were out of my reach. It has put me in control and forced me to learn. I'm a better computer user, and would even go as far as to say administrator. From running my own rack server to making an old computer run better then it ever did before. Slackware is a way of life now, and I am very comfortable. I get to use my computer and enjoy it too! Not only that, but actually understand how it works and how to fix it.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.43

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-17-2015 01:23 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 3007

do not trust them with your support dollars. They reneg, stalk & slander you if you complain.

Rating: 2
Product Details: "2014.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-24-2014 - Rating: ******* 6.67

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-17-2015 06:47 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 569

I've been using Linux for over 15 years and I like what I see here. LXDE version was tested and installed on several machines. Compared to LinuxMint Debian it does not break as often and bugs reports are not completely ignored. Being Debian based this distro will run on older machines >10years with low specs. I've found the update function is broken since some repos have moved and the terminal will close and give a false positive. Users must correct the repos and then run command line update, upgrade Debian 8 and kernels not longer support nvidia legacy cards 173; you must use nouveau (ugg) Suggested improvements:
  • alter lsb-release to show Sparky instead of Debian. (this will give better grub listings)
  • Sparky GUI apps will show ok when they are not, it needs a delay or better command results display
  • have web site posts made prominent to show users how to fix upgrade blocks, breakage

Rating: 7
Product Details: "3.6" by galen - posted: 06-16-2015 - Rating: ******* 7.00

« Prev Page


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration