LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Rocky Bennett - posted: 01-08-2016 03:28 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3582

This seemed like a nice way to try Ubuntu, but it never worked correctly on my Intel Haswell based system.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "14.04.3" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 01-06-2016 12:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 975

Since Rolling Release-based, I am currently at Manjaro 15.12 due updates. This distro is a joy to use. I opted for the xfce version, but there are numerous gorgeous community based versions ranging from openbox, fluxbox, jwm, budgie, gnome, kde, I3, enlightenment, etc. The Openbox, jwm, and fluxbox versions are unrivaled in beauty and settings. Only negative they have versus the xfce, kde, mate, and gnome version is the sound issue for my AMD A8 based ASUS laptop.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "0.8.12" by wsteward - posted: 02-26-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 01-06-2016 12:14 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6500

I have to rank as a 10 in relation to the competition. This is my number 1 recommended distro for desktop beginners and users who just want everything running and available upon install. Personally, I triple boot Linux Mint, Manjaro Linux (arch-based) and Semplice Linux (debian-based)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by offgridguy - posted: 12-27-2015 01:05 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 23485

I have read all of the above reviews, they all contain great advice and insight irrespective of individual opinions. I am only just starting with Slackware, but I already know that it's a 'keeper'. This OS forces me to learn and use the command line and is teaching me a lot about computers. This is the first Linux distro that lets me feel as if I have some control,instead of vice versa. I know there are plenty of cons to this system, as mentioned in the above reviews but I like it for what it is, and I won't complain about what it isn't. I have a lot to learn in the coming months but I am looking forward to learning. I appreciate all of the above reviewers for sharing their thoughts, much of which I agree with, so I won't repeat it here.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 8.95

Last Review by WisdomFire - posted: 12-16-2015 06:03 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 13980

Well, I am relatively new to the whole Linux scheme of things, as I only just started with Linux about 2-ish years ago. Anyway, I started using Ubuntu a bit before that, but it was h...o...l...y... ...c...r...a...p slow on my old hardware. Yeah, I am one of those Linux users. Old hardware, temperamental machine, etc... Anyway... Slackware has been a breath of fresh air for my machine. If you know what you are doing when you fiddle around with custom setups, it can be an absolute dream. I did replace the Hard-drive in my new-er laptop with a 120GB SSD, so I have SCREAMING FAST boot-times. Now, this isn't to say I haven't run into any freezes. I definitely have. But when I have it is mostly my fault with missing packages that I threw away or just didn't install yet (128GB is somewhat limited for me...). But overall, the experience is good. I installed it onto a 5+ year old laptop, and it is still running with its .5GB RAM and Intel Centrino and what-not and it is still running. Now, my biggest complaint about Slackware is the lack of official package management. I have to go online to grab them unless I rig up my own script. There are some out there, but they aren't official and included. Sad Fun-fact: Slackware Linux is the longest maintained, still alive, Linux distro of all. https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/58/Linux_Distribution_Timeline_with_Android.svg ^-- Semi-accurate Map of Linux distros Long-live the Slackware project!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.41

Last Review by perfection - posted: 12-04-2015 12:12 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 13980

It is perfect for use on a daily basis. They say it's hard but it's actually simple and easy when it really dedicated to want to use!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.41

Last Review by barnarasta - posted: 11-30-2015 12:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24147

Debian Wheezy is the more robust version I've ever known to have it on production servers. Should have 10 years of support LTS to assimilate the change, Jessie has many changes.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by sochi - posted: 11-18-2015 09:25 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14277

Racy 5.3 kernel 3.0.25 is usefull for anything, and can run my old laptop as the new one. Wireless connexion is easy. Note that Racy 5.5 cannot operate (black screen). But 5.3 is enough for my usage, at home.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.3 "Wary", "Racy"" by wsteward - posted: 04-05-2012 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by sochi - posted: 11-18-2015 09:19 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3711

Thin Slacko is the best puppy in my opinion because the most common appliactions are available, browser included for around 130MB, well in the puppy's spirit. Users so can add some of their favorites keeping Slacko ability to run fully in RAM on 528MB computers.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.3.3 "Slacko"" by wsteward - posted: 05-06-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by cathartes - posted: 11-07-2015 02:05 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 13980

After a hiatus from Linux of some eighteen years, I again find myself using the very distribution I started with—Slackware. I do a lot of work using computers. While I am not an IT professional, I've always been particular about my computing. I like having certain things a certain way, and am very critical of complexity. However, I haven't the time nor inclination to "roll my own" Linux install, or otherwise wish to muck with too many extraneous details that other Linux users (rightfully) never have to think about. For my needs, Slackware strikes an excellent balance. While release 14.1 is now getting a bit long in the tooth, my experience transitioning to -current was straightforward and nearly painless on three rather different PCs. Reviews of Slackware often neglect mention of SlackBuilds. While not exactly an official repository, it (and the slackbuilds-users mailing list) is an excellent resource which will mostly make up for the inconvenience of having to build & update some of your software piecemeal. If nothing else, you will know exactly what goes into your system! Gone will be the days you want to install one small bit of software only to be faced with a large, indiscriminate apt-get dump of software "dependencies" your software may or may not actually need, but that some repo package maintainer-cum-bureaucrat decided you should install anyway. Slackware puts you, Dear User, back in the driver's seat! I can't recommend Slackware to casual users coming fresh from Windows or Mac. A fresh install of Slackware can feel a bit bare, and some of the basic hardware support (e.g., audio, networking) will remain sparsely configured for some machines until the user gets their hands a little dirty. However, for someone who is willing to commit, Slackware promises a “set and forget” experience on a stable, time-tested distribution supported by a competent & responsive corps of folks who aren't jerks. Eighteen years after my first exposure to it, Slackware feels very much the same as I remember it, and yet has evolved into something so much better.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.41

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration