LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by texadactyl - posted: 06-19-2014 09:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3460

I would suggest one of the other desktops (XFCE, LXDE, Gnome, KDE, etc.). For myself, I prefer XFCE or LXDE because they are light-weight and run more efficiently on green custom-built systems.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by BlackMaxPhoto - posted: 06-19-2014 12:44 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3460

- I actually use Ubuntu Studio 14.04 w Xfce rather than Unity Having spent the last six years using various Debian-Ubuntu distributions I settled on this one, as it has been the only currently active Debian based Graphics distribution that WORKS out the box that I have seen. Building a usable color profiling app is essential, but I was able to do it without too much trouble. Maybe one day I'll build an Arch box, but for now UBS 14.04 WORKS

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-14-2014 11:28 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 943

I tested the 32-bit version of Mint with the Mate desktop. The live disk started well enough, but once installed the GUI kept crashing. I eventually solved that problem by changing the display manager, replacing mdm with xdm. That led to plymouthd continuing to run, which was only solved by disabling it altogether. The software included LibreOffice (without spell-checking), Gimp, Firefox (with Flash), Pidgin, HexChat, Thunderbird, Banshee, and VLC and Totem (with codecs). There were several warnings from GTK and GLib when running from the CLI, but everything worked except for LibreOffice. In Writer, display problems made it almost unusable. I replaced it with OpenOffice from Apache, which worked except for having an invisible scrollbar. That was cured by changing the theme. I also had an invisible notification area on the panel: a Gnome2/Mate bug which has affected Ubuntu and Mint sporadically for at least 4 years, for which there seems to be no remedy. There seem to be quite a few people having graphics problems: it may be well to wait for version 17.1.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by bobww99 - posted: 06-12-2014 04:05 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6855

Peppermint 3 Wifi and printer hookups can be a nightmare. Run slow on 640MB of ram. You really need 1K min. OS is user friendly. The OS alone would get an 8 or 9 if it had some decent moderators/members who would not joke constantly.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Three" by wsteward - posted: 07-24-2012 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by kishor joshi - posted: 06-08-2014 07:14 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 943

No Guest can be added with 64 bits. 1) Host Linux Mint 16-Olivia- Cinnamon 64 bits- any Guest either with 32 bit or 64 bits can be addeed. 2) Host Linux Mint 17- Qiana Ė Cinnamon 64 bits Ė No Guest can be added with 64 bits. Option is not available for choosing guest with 64 bits while creating new machine in Virtual Box.Hence guest (with 64 bit) can not be added.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by telmuun1221 - posted: 06-08-2014 02:07 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 146742

how to download it
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.4" by wsteward - posted: 09-07-2009 - Rating: ******* 7.39

Last Review by telmuun1221 - posted: 06-08-2014 02:01 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 16220

lets see
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.8" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2012 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by vandamme - posted: 06-05-2014 04:02 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 943

I have a separate /home partition, and I boot Windoze7 (well, I could, but seldom), and a couple other partitions for the "distro of the week". I've used Mint for several years, and it's my favorite over a couple flavors of Ubuntu, Bodhi, Puppy, openSUSE... I forget what else. Let's face it, there's not a lot of difference between distros and having all the drivers, codecs, and polish counts for something. The only hangup with Mint was that you had to reinstall when it got stale, but now they are going to keep this one updated for several years. So, I think it's the best Debian variant ...for me anyhow.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-04-2014 10:38 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 543

WattOS has switched its base from Ubuntu to Debian. The main version still uses LXDE, and Mate and Openbox are also offered. I looked at the 32-bit LXDE version. This was partly because the the others, on different servers, were threatening to take over 24 hours to download! Thereís a small user forum, but no wiki or installation instructions available, although the Debian and LXDE documentation can obviously be used. The live session loaded without any problems, and installation was simple. Thereís little choice, however: the filing system must be ext4 and thereís no provision to encrypt /home. WattOS installs very little software: just Shotwell, VLC (with codecs), Audacious, and Iceweasel (with Flash). Being taken from Debian Stable, there were no detectable bugs. Synaptic is available for installing extra software. Configuration beyond the basic can be a problem, as neither Debian not LXDE are user-friendly in this respect. For example, enabling my USB speakers (a mystery in itself) removed the volume control from the panel, and the keyboard buttons donít work in LXDE by default. WattOS is competing with Lubuntu, Zorin Light, and Salix. If you need a non-pae kernel, itís the only option. Otherwise, I preferred Salix and Zorin Light, while Lubuntu is the only one to offer encryption of /home.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "R8" by wsteward - posted: 05-12-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-04-2014 10:35 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 544

This version of Lubuntu is a long-term-support one. I tested the 32-bit version, using the alternative installation disk. This is not live, but it will run in 256MB rather than needing 512. Itís quite powerful, though, and offers a wide range of filing systems and encryption of /home. Software included Abiword (with spell-checker), Gnumeric, mtPaint, Firefox (no Flash), Pidgin, Sylpheed, Audacious, GNOME Mplayer (with codecs). There were some warnings in connection with Glib, two labeled critical, but everything ran. Neither Firefox not the Software Centre could find Flash, but Synaptic came to the rescue. Ubuntuís Software Centre generally seems better at trying to sell things than finding programs. As with WattOS, enabling my USB speakers (no easy task) made the volume control disappear from the panel, and the buttons on the keyboard donít work with LXDE by default. Lubuntu is competing with WattOS, Salix, and Zorin Light. It needs more memory than the others : an absolute minimum of 256MB. For a computer old enough to need a non-pae kernel, choose WattOS. If you want better configuration tools, try Salix.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration