LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by mariose - posted: 06-21-2014 03:46 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 4066

Not bad...decent product!

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by indoroot - posted: 06-21-2014 06:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24725

must have iso

Rating: 7
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 11-22-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.60

Last Review by doomcake - posted: 06-20-2014 05:58 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 57584

slax v7.8 desktop is a very pleasing to the eye. The process to install\run it , is simple. The only downside is the lack of modules. The modules are a brilliant idea ,especially for noobs. I seem to remember the older versions of slax having more modules to choose from,but even then i had to spend a lot of time trying to convert packages into the correct slax format ,so they would be recognized. If you are new to slax and linux ,you will see that you are limited to what is offered on the slax website in their modules page. If more modules were available on the slax site ,i think it could lead to more people using slax. p.s..you can spend some time searching and probably find some custom made packages for various programs,but they might be old versions.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "SLAX Standard 5.0.5" by iZvi - posted: 06-07-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by texadactyl - posted: 06-19-2014 09:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4066

I would suggest one of the other desktops (XFCE, LXDE, Gnome, KDE, etc.). For myself, I prefer XFCE or LXDE because they are light-weight and run more efficiently on green custom-built systems.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by BlackMaxPhoto - posted: 06-19-2014 12:44 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4066

- I actually use Ubuntu Studio 14.04 w Xfce rather than Unity Having spent the last six years using various Debian-Ubuntu distributions I settled on this one, as it has been the only currently active Debian based Graphics distribution that WORKS out the box that I have seen. Building a usable color profiling app is essential, but I was able to do it without too much trouble. Maybe one day I'll build an Arch box, but for now UBS 14.04 WORKS

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-14-2014 11:28 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1202

I tested the 32-bit version of Mint with the Mate desktop. The live disk started well enough, but once installed the GUI kept crashing. I eventually solved that problem by changing the display manager, replacing mdm with xdm. That led to plymouthd continuing to run, which was only solved by disabling it altogether. The software included LibreOffice (without spell-checking), Gimp, Firefox (with Flash), Pidgin, HexChat, Thunderbird, Banshee, and VLC and Totem (with codecs). There were several warnings from GTK and GLib when running from the CLI, but everything worked except for LibreOffice. In Writer, display problems made it almost unusable. I replaced it with OpenOffice from Apache, which worked except for having an invisible scrollbar. That was cured by changing the theme. I also had an invisible notification area on the panel: a Gnome2/Mate bug which has affected Ubuntu and Mint sporadically for at least 4 years, for which there seems to be no remedy. There seem to be quite a few people having graphics problems: it may be well to wait for version 17.1.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by bobww99 - posted: 06-12-2014 04:05 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6990

Peppermint 3 Wifi and printer hookups can be a nightmare. Run slow on 640MB of ram. You really need 1K min. OS is user friendly. The OS alone would get an 8 or 9 if it had some decent moderators/members who would not joke constantly.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Three" by wsteward - posted: 07-24-2012 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by kishor joshi - posted: 06-08-2014 07:14 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1202

No Guest can be added with 64 bits. 1) Host Linux Mint 16-Olivia- Cinnamon 64 bits- any Guest either with 32 bit or 64 bits can be addeed. 2) Host Linux Mint 17- Qiana Cinnamon 64 bits No Guest can be added with 64 bits. Option is not available for choosing guest with 64 bits while creating new machine in Virtual Box.Hence guest (with 64 bit) can not be added.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by telmuun1221 - posted: 06-08-2014 02:07 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 147211

how to download it
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.4" by wsteward - posted: 09-07-2009 - Rating: ******* 7.39

Last Review by telmuun1221 - posted: 06-08-2014 02:01 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 16430

lets see
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.8" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2012 - Rating: ******** 7.50

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration