LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by fx.verry - posted: 11-24-2014 02:53 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7680

adaadadada

Rating: 3
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.6" by wsteward - posted: 01-14-2011 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by doxxx - posted: 11-21-2014 08:39 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3725

I have been using computers since 1984 and working with them since 1990. from CPM & DOS 1.0 through Win 8, with some Puppy Linux variations thrown in. I have been using Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr since May, 2014. I moved up to big time (for me) Linux distro because there were too many things that I could not do with Puppy Precise 5.7.1. I had also been using Windows 8.1 on this laptop for about a year when it started committing suicide. Multiple times. Like three installations in a row, none lasting more that 24 hours. So in great frustration with Windows, I looked for the most popular distros I could find and chose Ubuntu from the mess. The learning curve was much steeper that I expected. I had mistakenly thought that my experience with Puppy would help. LOL! After wiping the drive and a clean install, I began using Ubuntu. There are a few inherent bugs, but; I've found work-a-rounds. Some of the problems I've had involved; Passphrase not being accepted Screenshots hot keys not working Google Chrome not working, at all Reclaiming the classic scrollbar Cleanup/removal of apps Conky Converting video to mp3 CUPS Leaking memory errors Waking from suspend and forgetting settings Touchpad on/off changing on its own Lost launcher Slow Firefox But; to be entirely honest, I was to fault much of the time. I did not understand that thing are just done differently in Linux Smile I'm always in too much of a hurry to wait for something to execute. And even though I been through DOS 1.0 to 6.22, I still had a hard time getting use to the terminal. I have in time, found solutions to all the problems that I have had. There is an immense support community out there in internet-land and they are mostly very supportive. I've found that a Google search will most often come up with answers from Ubuntu Forums and these answers are win! After six months, my current problems are with some of the apps and not really with Ubuntu.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: ***** 4.75

Last Review by sulo31 - posted: 11-08-2014 04:35 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2067

asdasdasd

Rating: 10
Product Details: "5.7" by wsteward - posted: 08-02-2011 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by sulo31 - posted: 11-08-2014 03:01 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 150906

th u

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.4" by wsteward - posted: 09-07-2009 - Rating: ******** 7.53

Last Review by mariose - posted: 11-04-2014 05:55 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7816

Slackware seems to be the right choice for Linux users who know what they want and know what they are doing. It is also the right choice for someone wanting to dig deeper into the Linux operating system. If you are comfortable installing apps from the SHELL then you should not have any problems. Slackware offers all the bells and whistles and even more than what I have seen on other distributions. If you are studying Linux it is a good starting point in order to find out how the internals work. I was previously using Ubuntu for years and thought I had found THE right system for me. Once I had recently installed Slackware, I could never go back to Ubuntu or any other distribution as this point. Well done to Patrick and the team.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.56

Last Review by kevison - posted: 11-03-2014 06:40 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7816

This distro has been around a long time. I have been using it off and on for over 17 years. It revives the curious in me about software/operating systems and experimentation.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.56

Last Review by SA_Ron - posted: 11-02-2014 03:13 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1180

Well, it's an rpm distro. I'd been using ubuntu/.deb distros for the last few years and I wanted to go back to rpm. Now I kinda remember why I left them. Setup was fine. Setting up the network was fine, as well as browser and email. The issue was when I wanted to try to play a video with totem. No codecs. I'd been spoiled with other distros because the codecs were included in the initial installation. No VLC player in the repos either. After banging my head online for a couple hours trying to figure out how to get the codecs installed, I finally found a place that showed me how to install VLC and I could finally watch videos I'd downloaded. I really thought that codec crap was a thing of the past. I gave it a 7 because it eventually does the things I want it to do. Just takes a little more effort and time to do it than I anticipated. Like I said, I got spoiled with other distros. Might be nitpicking, but the desktop looks about 10 years old too. Too tired from fighting with the video to reconfig the desktop to look newer. Probably won't be on this very long, but it is serviceable. Oh, almost forgot. It's pretty slow for just about anything. I'd gotten used to smaller, faster distros. I have 4G of RAM. While that's not a whole lot, it was enough for other distros to work smoothly.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "6.6" by wsteward - posted: 10-29-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by mizrhappy - posted: 10-25-2014 03:55 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 578

One of the best reivews, only it's for 14.4 http://mylinuxexplore.blogspot.com/2014/04/kubuntu-1404-lts-trusty-tahr-review.html More stable, and very user friendly.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.10" by wsteward - posted: 10-24-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by deason2504 - posted: 10-24-2014 11:06 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3030

Love what's in the package.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.10" by wsteward - posted: 10-24-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by percy_vere_uk - posted: 10-24-2014 09:15 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2863

This is an excellent learning tool, I have used several linux distributions over the years but felt I just wanted to learn more about the works. I found that building a basic LFS system was straightforward with clear detailed instructions. You just need plenty of time for this mainly because there is no package management, but this is a better way to learn and you can see what the various dependencies do. My thanks to Gerard Beekmans and the team for producing this. Percy

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.5" by wsteward - posted: 03-03-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration