LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by juandresen - posted: 02-04-2016 03:22 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 6044

If using as a server debian stable (debian 8) version will give you what it promises, stability. But if you're using it as a desktop you might better go with debian testing (debian 9); this version will have most of the packages at the current version. The stability is still much better than for Ubuntu, so the cost is not high for getting newer packages.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.83

Last Review by ZZII - posted: 01-25-2016 11:03 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3359

I'd install it before: Windows 8/8.1 vanilla Windows 10 Any other Linux distro I'd install it after: Windows 7 Windows 8/8.1 with Classic Shell I prefer it to Ubuntu but I'm biased against Ubuntu because I personally didn't like any of the desktop environments I tried as much as Mint's Cinnamon

Rating: 9
Product Details: "17.2" by mralk3 - posted: 06-30-2015 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by kooth - posted: 01-15-2016 07:57 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14330

This was my first Linux install on my own hardware. Since then I've done a few on a Raspberry Pi and OlinuxIno. Hands down Fedora 20 beat them all! Note: I installed it in 2014.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Fedora 20" by wsteward - posted: 12-18-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.33

Last Review by Rocky Bennett - posted: 01-08-2016 03:28 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3850

This seemed like a nice way to try Ubuntu, but it never worked correctly on my Intel Haswell based system.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "14.04.3" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 01-06-2016 12:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1043

Since Rolling Release-based, I am currently at Manjaro 15.12 due updates. This distro is a joy to use. I opted for the xfce version, but there are numerous gorgeous community based versions ranging from openbox, fluxbox, jwm, budgie, gnome, kde, I3, enlightenment, etc. The Openbox, jwm, and fluxbox versions are unrivaled in beauty and settings. Only negative they have versus the xfce, kde, mate, and gnome version is the sound issue for my AMD A8 based ASUS laptop.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "0.8.12" by wsteward - posted: 02-26-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by kazuya1977 - posted: 01-06-2016 12:14 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6617

I have to rank as a 10 in relation to the competition. This is my number 1 recommended distro for desktop beginners and users who just want everything running and available upon install. Personally, I triple boot Linux Mint, Manjaro Linux (arch-based) and Semplice Linux (debian-based)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by offgridguy - posted: 12-27-2015 01:05 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 23697

I have read all of the above reviews, they all contain great advice and insight irrespective of individual opinions. I am only just starting with Slackware, but I already know that it's a 'keeper'. This OS forces me to learn and use the command line and is teaching me a lot about computers. This is the first Linux distro that lets me feel as if I have some control,instead of vice versa. I know there are plenty of cons to this system, as mentioned in the above reviews but I like it for what it is, and I won't complain about what it isn't. I have a lot to learn in the coming months but I am looking forward to learning. I appreciate all of the above reviewers for sharing their thoughts, much of which I agree with, so I won't repeat it here.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 8.95

Last Review by WisdomFire - posted: 12-16-2015 06:03 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 14312

Well, I am relatively new to the whole Linux scheme of things, as I only just started with Linux about 2-ish years ago. Anyway, I started using Ubuntu a bit before that, but it was h...o...l...y... ...c...r...a...p slow on my old hardware. Yeah, I am one of those Linux users. Old hardware, temperamental machine, etc... Anyway... Slackware has been a breath of fresh air for my machine. If you know what you are doing when you fiddle around with custom setups, it can be an absolute dream. I did replace the Hard-drive in my new-er laptop with a 120GB SSD, so I have SCREAMING FAST boot-times. Now, this isn't to say I haven't run into any freezes. I definitely have. But when I have it is mostly my fault with missing packages that I threw away or just didn't install yet (128GB is somewhat limited for me...). But overall, the experience is good. I installed it onto a 5+ year old laptop, and it is still running with its .5GB RAM and Intel Centrino and what-not and it is still running. Now, my biggest complaint about Slackware is the lack of official package management. I have to go online to grab them unless I rig up my own script. There are some out there, but they aren't official and included. Sad Fun-fact: Slackware Linux is the longest maintained, still alive, Linux distro of all. https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/58/Linux_Distribution_Timeline_with_Android.svg ^-- Semi-accurate Map of Linux distros Long-live the Slackware project!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.44

Last Review by perfection - posted: 12-04-2015 12:12 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 14312

It is perfect for use on a daily basis. They say it's hard but it's actually simple and easy when it really dedicated to want to use!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.44

Last Review by barnarasta - posted: 11-30-2015 12:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24265

Debian Wheezy is the more robust version I've ever known to have it on production servers. Should have 10 years of support LTS to assimilate the change, Jessie has many changes.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.17

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration