LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by shinroex - posted: 02-12-2015 02:17 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 151654

gogogogo

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.4" by wsteward - posted: 09-07-2009 - Rating: ******** 7.65

Last Review by jeremy - posted: 02-02-2015 08:38 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 16732

Please note that RHEL is a paid product and cannot be downloaded gratis. Requests for illegal downloads are against the LQ rules and will not be answered.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.25

Last Review by caiquo - posted: 01-27-2015 10:47 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 8852

My first introduction to Linux was with Slackware 7.0. I have tried to use other Linux distros but always come back to Slackware. It forces you to think to figure out how something works!! Never give up! If you make something work, you become very happy because it is an achievement. I was told it was stable. It is true. Once you figure out how to get an application working with Slackware, it will not crash like other linux distros on you! The key here is figure out how it works! But it takes patience, using online forums and learning from others. If you want to enjoy using Slackware, let sbopkg and queues be your friends. They make installation of applications quite easy. Don't forget Alienbob's scripts: especially the one to make you download and build slackware-current iso for usage. The beauty here is that the method of installation and other things are old school and don't change. As I am conservative and old school, I just love it here.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.60

Last Review by Birdski - posted: 01-18-2015 05:54 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 8852

Distros I have tried. Red Hat - My first distro before it became Fedora. This was too bloated for my tastes. Slackware - The second distro I tried. My GoTo Distro. No place like 127.0.0.1 Ubuntu - Hold my hand I'm scared. While doing that bloat me do death. Mint - A good beginner distro - Hold my hand while I take your virginity... Fedora - DO AS WE SAY, HOW WE SAY. WE KNOW WHATS BEST FOR YOU. openSUSE - Hold my hand, and turn on everything! I did like Yast though. FreeBSD - I really like FreeBSD, but there is no support for my the graphics card in my laptop. If Slackware takes a direction in the future that I don't like, this will be my distro of choice. Yes I know its not a Linux distro. After my trials of the other major distros out there, I have always found my way back to a Slackware distro. I have used it as a L.A.M.P server at work for many years. Its one of those set it and forget it distros. I feel if you are a new user, looking for something different. Something more technical, this is the way to go. You will learn the discipline of reading documentation, and the discipline of a command line interface (CLI). You will become your distro. It will instill a solid foundation of the inner workings of a Linux distro, and anything you try in the future will be like eating ice cream on a hot day.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.60

Last Review by arijan - posted: 01-10-2015 11:53 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 9865

As soon as Corenominal - the creator of Crunchbang (#!) decided to switch his distro to Debian base instead of Ubuntu, I started to plot against my one-and-only pure Debian (Gnome) system, and soon after I embraced #! There is nothing so special about #!, except the effort Corenominal has put into polishing the Debian minimal installation, with custom scripts, configuration, and selection of software to achieve strong, yet light system. The kind of effort many of us were too lazy to make. So, with #! you actually have the essential Debian, with fewest possible additions, optimized for low hardware resources. It has mixed libraries from Xfce and Gnome (plus some core LXDE applications), without those desktop environments actually installed. Instead, the powerful Openbox window manager keeps the things going. However, the downside of this, is the large set of libraries and tons of small applications/utilities to fill the gap of absence of full desktop environment, which makes it heavy on storage: the .iso package is 739mb, while there are very few applications pre-installed. The basic #! installation takes even more space than regular Ubuntu - and no lightweight distro should take that amount of space - not even close. Corenominal took a step further and made easier for new Linux users to get along with this distro: there is a startup script which offers installation of commonly used applications, such is Libre Office, popular browsers, Dropbox, and so on. Also, very useful are the shortcuts to major .conf files, available from the main menu, and Openbox keyboard shortcuts info, listed in Conky. The system is highly configurable, partly thanks to the lack of full desktop environment - almost all components are independent small applications that can be separately configured or easily replaced. In addition, if user wants to have a rolling release distro, it is as simple as adding new repositories and upgrading the system with a single terminal command. The #! community is very friendly and helpful, without which it would be very difficult for a beginner to master the subtleties of the system. Overall, this is reliable, beautiful (when configured), fast distro, yet it requires some knowledge of Debian and Linux in common, to feel comfortable with it. It doesn't get in your way - which is pretty much essential when functionality is in question. I keep on comparing it with other distributions (tested more than 100 different distros by now), and I still have #! as a base system on my desktops.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "11" by wsteward - posted: 05-09-2013 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by tuneturkey - posted: 01-06-2015 10:01 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2321

how to load Dropbox?
Product Details: "5.2.8" by wsteward - posted: 08-21-2011 - Rating:

Last Review by guub - posted: 01-01-2015 03:18 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 10726

paldo is still active (10+ years) and independently developed, but now as a rolling release. It was one of the early Gnome 3 and systemd adopters and is still largely vanilla, with a few customized install metapackages. The package manager hasn't changed a bit - still command line only and slow, but it works fine with the basic upkg-install/remove/upgrade commands for packages from the online repository. If one dabbles in building packages from source it means manually configuring scripts for dependencies, though, and isn't really worth the time except for the fun of it. Fortunately, the packages repo is sufficient for a gnome-based system and has been consistently maintained for years; it's one of the best features of the distro - kudos to the developer for reliable, bleeding-edge package updates on a roughly weekly basis.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "1.22" by DavidMcCann - posted: 10-13-2010 - Rating: ******* 6.50

Last Review by TxLonghorn - posted: 12-26-2014 12:08 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2550

Korora is a great distro. They have implemented their Cinnamon desktop so that runs well with no glitches. (That is an improvement on their last attempt.) I have Korora installed on a machine which literally will not run anything else - including Knoppix or Linux Mint. Everything worked for me out of the box - wireless, printer, videos, etc. Package management with yum is excellent.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "20" by wsteward - posted: 01-11-2014 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by Amdawe - posted: 12-25-2014 03:10 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7211

This distribution can be installed by everyone using the manual.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.29

Last Review by Gusbo - posted: 12-10-2014 03:15 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 9263

Installed on an Acer Aspire 3000 Via USB on 80 GB HDD Over wrote WinXP Picked up all the hardware on loading with hard wired connection asked all the right questions and did them perfectly Switching to WiFi after complete loading was a piece of cake Beats the Win stuff Enjoying this Laptop again

Rating: 10
Product Details: "19" by wsteward - posted: 07-03-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.50

« Prev Page



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration