LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Amdawe - posted: 12-25-2014 04:10 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 6706

This distribution can be installed by everyone using the manual.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.29

Last Review by Gusbo - posted: 12-10-2014 04:15 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 8765

Installed on an Acer Aspire 3000 Via USB on 80 GB HDD Over wrote WinXP Picked up all the hardware on loading with hard wired connection asked all the right questions and did them perfectly Switching to WiFi after complete loading was a piece of cake Beats the Win stuff Enjoying this Laptop again

Rating: 10
Product Details: "19" by wsteward - posted: 07-03-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by zinner09 - posted: 12-08-2014 02:01 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 13458

where is the link pls
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by curtvaughan - posted: 12-02-2014 07:13 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3360

Have a double boot of both Cinnamon and XFCE on my Dell netbook. With a divided 250 GB hard drive and a GB of memory, both distros work great. XFCE is slightly faster. My holiday project is to try to get XFCE to install on my 9 year old MacBook Pro, which Apple no longer supports with software/security updates.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by dubkat - posted: 12-02-2014 12:50 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 763

I only recommend Gentoo to those who i believe can handle the challenge. Which is rare. I recommend openSUSE to beginners. (no, not ubuntu, no, not fedora either).

Rating: 9
Product Details: "20140826" by wsteward - posted: 09-05-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by fx.verry - posted: 11-24-2014 02:53 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7513

adaadadada

Rating: 3
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.6" by wsteward - posted: 01-14-2011 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by doxxx - posted: 11-21-2014 08:39 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3560

I have been using computers since 1984 and working with them since 1990. from CPM & DOS 1.0 through Win 8, with some Puppy Linux variations thrown in. I have been using Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr since May, 2014. I moved up to big time (for me) Linux distro because there were too many things that I could not do with Puppy Precise 5.7.1. I had also been using Windows 8.1 on this laptop for about a year when it started committing suicide. Multiple times. Like three installations in a row, none lasting more that 24 hours. So in great frustration with Windows, I looked for the most popular distros I could find and chose Ubuntu from the mess. The learning curve was much steeper that I expected. I had mistakenly thought that my experience with Puppy would help. LOL! After wiping the drive and a clean install, I began using Ubuntu. There are a few inherent bugs, but; I've found work-a-rounds. Some of the problems I've had involved; Passphrase not being accepted Screenshots hot keys not working Google Chrome not working, at all Reclaiming the classic scrollbar Cleanup/removal of apps Conky Converting video to mp3 CUPS Leaking memory errors Waking from suspend and forgetting settings Touchpad on/off changing on its own Lost launcher Slow Firefox But; to be entirely honest, I was to fault much of the time. I did not understand that thing are just done differently in Linux Smile I'm always in too much of a hurry to wait for something to execute. And even though I been through DOS 1.0 to 6.22, I still had a hard time getting use to the terminal. I have in time, found solutions to all the problems that I have had. There is an immense support community out there in internet-land and they are mostly very supportive. I've found that a Google search will most often come up with answers from Ubuntu Forums and these answers are win! After six months, my current problems are with some of the apps and not really with Ubuntu.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: ***** 4.75

Last Review by sulo31 - posted: 11-08-2014 04:35 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1943

asdasdasd

Rating: 10
Product Details: "5.7" by wsteward - posted: 08-02-2011 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by sulo31 - posted: 11-08-2014 03:01 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 150581

th u

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.4" by wsteward - posted: 09-07-2009 - Rating: ******** 7.53

Last Review by mariose - posted: 11-04-2014 05:55 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 7463

Slackware seems to be the right choice for Linux users who know what they want and know what they are doing. It is also the right choice for someone wanting to dig deeper into the Linux operating system. If you are comfortable installing apps from the SHELL then you should not have any problems. Slackware offers all the bells and whistles and even more than what I have seen on other distributions. If you are studying Linux it is a good starting point in order to find out how the internals work. I was previously using Ubuntu for years and thought I had found THE right system for me. Once I had recently installed Slackware, I could never go back to Ubuntu or any other distribution as this point. Well done to Patrick and the team.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration