LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by stefan1959 - posted: 04-14-2014 03:56 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 117

Great for learning how a linux os worki and compiling software packages. Steve

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.5" by wsteward - posted: 03-03-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Pf945sm - posted: 03-26-2014 09:58 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 11855

I love Debian for what it stands for and it's stability over other distro's. The downside is that you're sometimes stuck with older versions which can lead to incompatibilities with some newer software. If you stick with the default repositories this isn't a problem but when you start compiling stuff from source and run into higher requirements this can be problematic. Sometimes there can be small bugs that take longer to fix or make their way into the release cycle. Sometimes, this these are fixed in newer versions in Testing or Sid but it takes time for it to end up in Stable. Community support isn't bad, but compared to Ubuntu or Mint forums, it is somewhat less. Dare I say the Debian followers tend to be airy, a bit arrogant, and often expect newcomers to have a level of understanding of Linux that can't be expected from a newcomer. This may scare off some Debian/Linux newbies.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 7.57

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 03-23-2014 11:32 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 455

When I tried the Openbox version of Slackel last year, after rebooting I was told “something bad has happened” and dumped into the command line. It turned out to be a segmentation fault and it’s still there. In my review of the KDE version, I asked “what has Slackel got that Salix hasn’t?” In this case, the answer is “only the bug”, since a check on my installation revealed that the Salix repository is the only one set up.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "6.0 "Openbox"" by wsteward - posted: 03-10-2014 - Rating: * 1.00

Last Review by darry1966 - posted: 03-21-2014 04:23 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14607

More stable than version 6. Works great on Laptops.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 11-28-2011 - Rating: ********* 8.75

Last Review by abourawash - posted: 03-18-2014 12:25 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 17851

Excellent

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 11-22-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 03-18-2014 11:39 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1222

LMDE is a semi-rolling release based on Debian testing: changes are saved into monthly update packs. I tested the 32-bit Mate version. The installer was not as easy to use as the normal Mint one and also more limited: you can’t encrypt /home and the only filing system available is ext4. As usual with Mint, Mate came with Mint’s own Gnomish menu applet and without a pager, but that’s easily remedied. Mate, or perhaps Mint, seems to be getting bloated: this was as big as Pinguy with Gnome 3. The programs provided included Totem, Banshee, VLC, Gimp, Firefox, Thunderbird, Pidgin, Xchat, and LibreOffice. Media codecs and Flash were also provided. A few warnings were left when programs were run from CLI and, of the three media players, only Totem worked. I had a problem installing new programs: first I got ‘hash sum mismatch’, then next day a 404, so I had to run the software sources tool and select a new mirror. It would have been better if apt-get had tried a different mirror automatically, as yum does. Of course, that’s a Debian problem, not a Mint one, as is the incorrect dependency marking I ran into. Some of the things I installed really should have been there: gufw to enable the firewall and bum to configure the daemons. Compared to the regular Mint, you get a bigger repository, a semi-rolling release, and an inferior installer. Compared to Debian, you get Mint’s configuration tools: I was able to select my USB speakers — usually a nightmare in Debian — with a few clicks.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "201403 "Debian"" by wsteward - posted: 03-03-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by Graubart - posted: 03-18-2014 02:28 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 5444

I did not come to Linux in search of a hobby or calling. Like most current refugees from Windows (pfui!), I was looking for what Windows (pfui!) once boasted of being--a stable, easy-to-use platform from which to launch productive software. After considerable research, I concluded that Mint 16 Cinnamon met that definition. I have had no reason to regret that choice. Mint runs briskly on my Toshiba netbook, linked automatically with my wi-fi and perhaps because I installed it in the same partition as Windows 8 (pfui!), I have full access to all my data files. An Office suite equivalent, a familiar Web browser and a good photo editor cover probably 90 percent of my computing needs, and Mint 16 has them all. The occasional need to reboot to get to some Windows-dependent package is no great burden. If I ever get Wine sorted out, I may well dump Windows (pfui!) altogether. I did find Mint's default theme artwork to be rather clunky, but a search through the the Mint artwork turned up a simple, elegant wallpaper titled, appropriately, Olivia, which dropped neatly into its place.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "15" by wsteward - posted: 05-30-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.40

Last Review by duydang2110 - posted: 03-14-2014 09:24 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 17851

Great

Rating: 6
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 11-22-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by Bruce from Canada - posted: 03-13-2014 03:25 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3483

With reservations: (Remember, any system is only as good as its hardware, at best.) 1) Not for older machines 2) Not for basic users (the cost of reasonable hardware alone is more than basic users would want to commit.) 3) for Gamers: Only for that minority of Linux gamers with a DIY propensity. The Gaming side of the industry leans too strongly towards the paid software side of the market. Most gamers will spend that money, a minority will not. e.g. there is only one gaming mouse manufacturer that is supported in Linux. This alone, does not bode well for Linux fairness. 4a) for serious non-gaming users: This is a good choice, also for game programmers and developers, so long as they can port effectively to the Microsoft/paid software environment. 4b) For serious non-gaming users who are not developers. Gaming hardware often is a good choice because of the resources that have gone into its development, fuelled by the gamers' money. This is my situation with my latest new computer running F20. Asus Maximus VI Formula Motherboard with 32 Gb. of gSkill ram. Boot: OCZ Vertex 4 .5 tb. SSD in LVM with 2 Tb. WD Black FAEZ. Data Storage on a combo of a RAID 5 D-Link DNS-343 and a 2X2 RAID0 box on the end of a USB3 connection, not part of the LVM. ...and more. So my "game" is largely > or debugging spreadsheets, sound and video, multilingual. I am also starting to look into running NFS on the same hardware.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "Fedora 20" by wsteward - posted: 12-18-2013 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by ext2 - posted: 03-09-2014 05:14 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 23633

Excellent

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.4" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2013 - Rating: ******** 7.67

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration