LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by bachhavrahul7 - posted: 06-21-2016 11:34 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 20533

fcgfg

Rating: 5
Product Details: "7.1" by evo2 - posted: 03-05-2015 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by comcastuser - posted: 05-14-2016 08:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2632

This is my first shot at a review on here so please excuse the unprofessional words... I'll start with, NIGHTMARE-FREE. NFS and Samba have seen fit to nanny the user by restricting the sharing of the root directory even via LAN (seriously, if someone gets on THIS LAN, it's because they're inside my house stealing my computer!) - but I'm 99.99% sure this is not Centos's fault at all. Still, I'm adding it in on the 0.01% chance that it is. Plus, a lot of stuff in the GUI freezes when you remain connected to a Samba share whose host is shut off or otherwise inaccessible. And when I try to access Samba shares on a Windows machine, it acts very funky since the last update. Again, all of this is unlikely to be Centos's fault in any way. Other than that, one of my two Centos 7 machines used to be a Windows gaming box and I haven't rebooted it back to Windows in 6 long months. If I'm not gaming, I'm using one Centos box as a workstation and another as a file server. I cannot possibly overstate how quick, efficient and convenient it is to work on Centos 7. Aesthetically it puts Windows 7 to utter shame when you fire up KDE Plasma. Even Gnome-Classic is competitive. It's all crisp, clean and efficient. It's also fast. Like, really fast. Linux is usually very fast, but compared to my old Centos 6.5 box, it is slightly faster than that when it comes to X apps. The interface has lost its odd quirks that used to make it less convenient than Windows in some areas, particularly cutting and pasting and navigating menus. That makes a moderate improvement in productivity for me, but even moderate improvements are good. I had major conflicts with repos on earlier versions of Centos that haven't arisen after more intense usage here. For me that is a huge plus that gives this distro a score of 11 out of 10. Centos 6.5 also had huge problems with its insane oom-killer stopping programs while I had huge amounts of physical RAM left. That hasn't reared its head here. The native X drivers now give me full functionality with my nVidia and ATI cards alike. Transparencies, huge screen panning, all of that works now. I don't even need compiz, and those proprietary drivers are finally right out. The bad part is that some programs are unavailable, like the KID3 music tagger program, though I found a replacement for that, and some other really useful (NOT!!!) software like animated backgrounds that I really find to be pretty. (They're only available on Ubuntu.) Flash is very funky on Centos 7 - it's very hard to get it working on most browsers - although I know for a fact that this isn't Centos's fault. There is another really irritating problem I can't think of right now that drags down my score on here back down to 10/10. Probably shows how important it is. I use Linux for file serving, graphics editing, torrenting, writing, video conversions, listening to music, managing finances, watching videos, playing video games, messing with music editing, video chats with family, and my wife also uses Linux for much the same things plus blogging.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0-1406" by wsteward - posted: 07-15-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by sinar.kk - posted: 05-13-2016 12:26 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14718

Once you're a slackware user, then no returning back from it .

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.44

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 05-12-2016 08:57 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2064

Installation was easy, updates are well tested and modules are reviewed for code improvement

Rating: 9
Product Details: "11 SP4" by mralk3 - posted: 07-18-2015 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by sochi - posted: 04-05-2016 03:30 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8526

Far beter than the Slackware Puppy (Slacko). However Ubuntu main repository is getting poor too. Multiverse and universe still available make it easy.. Puppy Linux is becoming a Geek OS, Most of its forum Suscribers are linux pupils, not real users.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.0 "Tahrpup"" by wsteward - posted: 10-29-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Michael Uplawski - posted: 03-30-2016 02:31 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6439

Linux Version 4.4.0-1-amd64, Compiled #1 SMP Debian 4.4.6-1 (2016-03-17) Stretch/Sid. Fluxbox 1.3.5. Two 2GHz Intel Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B940 @ 2.00GHz Processors, 7,9GB RAM, 7982,00 Bogomips Total I am taking the liberty of installing software from source, with the help of the Porg package organizer. Different from other Linux-distributions, Debian felt like home from the start.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.83

Last Review by D VENU GOPAL - posted: 03-18-2016 12:17 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3811

please provide 1 usb bootable centos 5.8 iso

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.8" by wsteward - posted: 03-08-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by jtommy - posted: 03-14-2016 04:35 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 20533

sadre

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.1" by evo2 - posted: 03-05-2015 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by offgridguy - posted: 02-23-2016 05:20 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1306

The strength of this OS is the DansGuardian web filter, which in effect acts as a very efficient baby sitter for young children or unsupervised users. This web filter can be configured using root privileges by editing the configuration files with the vim text editor,(or emacs) if that's your preference. It can also be uninstalled completely if you have no need for a web filter but still want an OS with a Christian theme. One consideration, if you don't need the web filter, it may be best to remove it, as it is a constantly running process that can use a lot of cpu, which may be an issue if you have an older or slow computer. I won't detail the process of removing DansGuardian here, unless someone requests it. The other drawback of ubuntu ce is that it is about 4 years behind the newest ubuntu release, however you can add the latest software from the repository, which helps. But as an operating system with a Christian theme, it is unique, as there are no others. If you already like ubuntu, you will probably like ubuntu ce. I understand there is an upgrade available to 14.04, but since I have never had success with ubuntu upgrades, I would wait for a newer version and do a complete new install. In the meantime you won't know if you like it until you try it. Edit; At this time Ubuntu CE is in a dormant state, according to the distrowatch site. It will probably be only a matter of time before it's gone completely.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "12.04" by wsteward - posted: 09-08-2012 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by jamison20000e - posted: 02-21-2016 09:12 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6439

Have distro hopped for just over 20 years now and Debian is my most used OS. Forks are cool but a spoon is better. :D Usually start with a netinst then
apt-add cdrom
x3DVDs or a Blu-ray and\or WiFi non-free firmware. Wink Thank you Debian!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.83

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration