LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by jamison20000e - posted: 07-22-2016 02:27 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 105942

Have used Sid (i.e: unstable\experimental) the most in over 20 years now... Old, new, ARM, &c or virtual machines it works great! Thanks: https://www.debian.org/devel/ !+!+! :hattip:

Rating: 10
Product Details: "SID" by iceman47 - posted: 06-16-2003 - Rating: ********** 9.69

Last Review by zaivala - posted: 07-08-2016 10:14 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6919

I'm confused by the other review. Ikey said on Jupiter Broadcasting's Linux Unplugged that Solus 1.2 is a completely home-baked distro, not now or ever based on Debian (previously based on another distro, but not Debian). It is also strictly a 64-bit system. What I think the problem may be is that there is a difference between whatever SolusOS is and the product Ikey made (http://solus-project.com), and we need to have a way to resolve naming practices. At any rate, it is a snap to install, a joy to behold, easy to use... until you want to add packages not in the limited repository. How do you add packages? I haven't asked Ikey yet. I know I use SoftMaker Office for Linux 2016, and have not yet managed to get that installed in Solus. Fortunately, I dual-boot with LinuxMint 18, so I'm good. I'm sure Ikey will be upgrading this as he goes along; a new point upgrade is about to be released, 1.2.1. Not being your nuts-and-bolts type, I can't really dissect this, but it's worth a look and you'll probably get more out of it than I did. I'm your typical Windows user who hates Microsoft, not your typical Linux geek who knows coding... So take this with a block of salt, but you'll love it anyhow.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "1.2 "Legacy"" by wsteward - posted: 09-03-2012 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by bachhavrahul7 - posted: 06-21-2016 11:34 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 21719

fcgfg

Rating: 5
Product Details: "7.1" by evo2 - posted: 03-05-2015 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by comcastuser - posted: 05-14-2016 08:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2767

This is my first shot at a review on here so please excuse the unprofessional words... I'll start with, NIGHTMARE-FREE. NFS and Samba have seen fit to nanny the user by restricting the sharing of the root directory even via LAN (seriously, if someone gets on THIS LAN, it's because they're inside my house stealing my computer!) - but I'm 99.99% sure this is not Centos's fault at all. Still, I'm adding it in on the 0.01% chance that it is. Plus, a lot of stuff in the GUI freezes when you remain connected to a Samba share whose host is shut off or otherwise inaccessible. And when I try to access Samba shares on a Windows machine, it acts very funky since the last update. Again, all of this is unlikely to be Centos's fault in any way. Other than that, one of my two Centos 7 machines used to be a Windows gaming box and I haven't rebooted it back to Windows in 6 long months. If I'm not gaming, I'm using one Centos box as a workstation and another as a file server. I cannot possibly overstate how quick, efficient and convenient it is to work on Centos 7. Aesthetically it puts Windows 7 to utter shame when you fire up KDE Plasma. Even Gnome-Classic is competitive. It's all crisp, clean and efficient. It's also fast. Like, really fast. Linux is usually very fast, but compared to my old Centos 6.5 box, it is slightly faster than that when it comes to X apps. The interface has lost its odd quirks that used to make it less convenient than Windows in some areas, particularly cutting and pasting and navigating menus. That makes a moderate improvement in productivity for me, but even moderate improvements are good. I had major conflicts with repos on earlier versions of Centos that haven't arisen after more intense usage here. For me that is a huge plus that gives this distro a score of 11 out of 10. Centos 6.5 also had huge problems with its insane oom-killer stopping programs while I had huge amounts of physical RAM left. That hasn't reared its head here. The native X drivers now give me full functionality with my nVidia and ATI cards alike. Transparencies, huge screen panning, all of that works now. I don't even need compiz, and those proprietary drivers are finally right out. The bad part is that some programs are unavailable, like the KID3 music tagger program, though I found a replacement for that, and some other really useful (NOT!!!) software like animated backgrounds that I really find to be pretty. (They're only available on Ubuntu.) Flash is very funky on Centos 7 - it's very hard to get it working on most browsers - although I know for a fact that this isn't Centos's fault. There is another really irritating problem I can't think of right now that drags down my score on here back down to 10/10. Probably shows how important it is. I use Linux for file serving, graphics editing, torrenting, writing, video conversions, listening to music, managing finances, watching videos, playing video games, messing with music editing, video chats with family, and my wife also uses Linux for much the same things plus blogging.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0-1406" by wsteward - posted: 07-15-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by sinar.kk - posted: 05-13-2016 12:26 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 15076

Once you're a slackware user, then no returning back from it .

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.44

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 05-12-2016 08:57 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2347

Installation was easy, updates are well tested and modules are reviewed for code improvement

Rating: 9
Product Details: "11 SP4" by mralk3 - posted: 07-18-2015 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by sochi - posted: 04-05-2016 03:30 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8768

Far beter than the Slackware Puppy (Slacko). However Ubuntu main repository is getting poor too. Multiverse and universe still available make it easy.. Puppy Linux is becoming a Geek OS, Most of its forum Suscribers are linux pupils, not real users.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.0 "Tahrpup"" by wsteward - posted: 10-29-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Michael Uplawski - posted: 03-30-2016 02:31 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 6799

Linux Version 4.4.0-1-amd64, Compiled #1 SMP Debian 4.4.6-1 (2016-03-17) Stretch/Sid. Fluxbox 1.3.5. Two 2GHz Intel Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B940 @ 2.00GHz Processors, 7,9GB RAM, 7982,00 Bogomips Total I am taking the liberty of installing software from source, with the help of the Porg package organizer. Different from other Linux-distributions, Debian felt like home from the start.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.83

Last Review by D VENU GOPAL - posted: 03-18-2016 12:17 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3893

please provide 1 usb bootable centos 5.8 iso

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.8" by wsteward - posted: 03-08-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by jtommy - posted: 03-14-2016 04:35 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 21719

sadre

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.1" by evo2 - posted: 03-05-2015 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration