LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-26-2014 11:44 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2521

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Z1Ta8-jG8A
Product Details: "13.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-20-2013 - Rating: ****** 5.67

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 08-26-2014 11:36 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 405

Peppermint is designed specifically for cloud computing: the only applications installed are a browser, video player, and music player. It is also said to be lightweight, using LXDE, and suitable for XP refugees with older computers, so long as they have a minimum of 256MB and x86 architecture. The main problem is that the latter promise is not true. The browser supplied is Chromium, compiled to run on CPUs with sse2. That means that the only 32-bit CPU that can run it is a Pentium 4: not a P3 or any AMD chip. I decided to install Opera, but that's not in the repository. I tried Midori, and that crashed with an illegal instruction. Finally I got Epiphany working, very slowly. The desktop is LXDE, but instead of using Openbox as its window manager, they've used the one from Xfce. But LXDE is developed using Openbox and xfcewm is written for Xfce. How long before the two fall out? In fact, that may have happened already. Some of the preset keyboard shortcuts, like Alt-F1 and the media buttons, do not work, even though they are entered in the configuration file. Also, the menu doesn't update properly when software is added or removed. The 64-bit version may be better, but the bad choice of desktop / window manager combination, and the sse2 problem suggest that these people don't have the skills to create a reliable distro. Still they seem to be learning: Peppermint 3's installer mistook my USB speakers for a keyboard.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "Five" by wsteward - posted: 06-24-2014 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 08-24-2014 10:14 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 135

Black Lab offers 64-bit, 32-bit, and non-pae versions. I tested the 32-bit one. It draws on various repositories: Ubuntu, Xubuntu, and Elementaryos. No documentation is provided, but obviously the Ubuntu and Xfce sites provide all thatís needed. No md5sum is provided and the disk is not self-checking, but it does have m5dsums for its files, so you could check them yourself. Gparted is not provided, so shrinking a Windows partition is best does from Windows. The installer is the usual Ubuntu one, with the option to encrypt /home. The interface is Xfce, with the whisker menu. Many shortcuts are preset, like super+e for the editor and super+t for the terminal. Itís said to support a touch-screen, but I wasnít able to test that. At the request of their clients, the commercial version will switch to Gnome in edition 6, but itís hoped that an Xfce image will still be provided for the free version. The software installed included Abiword (with spell-checking), Gnumeric, Firefox (with Flash), Thunderbird Mail, Pidgin, Xchat, Audacious, Audacity, OpenShot, VLC (with codecs), and Steam. Everything worked except VLC, and only Audacity left warnings in the terminal. I installed Parole to replace VLC, and it worked after I reconfigured with ďparole --xv falseĒ. Black Lab competes with Xubuntu, AntiX MX, Linux Lite, and ZevenOS. All are good and very similar. Black Lab has a non-pae version and offers commercial support, but is the only one without Gparted; AntiX has a better installer; both AntiX and Linux Lite give you LibreOffice by default; Linux Lite canít encrypt /home; Xubuntu has support for the blind.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "5" by DavidMcCann - posted: 08-24-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-18-2014 11:05 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 451

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dt0ZzxlI35c
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating:

Last Review by Dawn262 - posted: 08-18-2014 07:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 772

This update fixed an annoying problem in that my Dell notebook would sometimes "forget" that that the numlock was on. Now it stays in the position I set it. No unexpected surprised. Interesting enough, my wireless seems to me faster and more stable as well. I don't know if this is intentional with this upgrade, but I noticed the better performance. Thank you, team Ubuntu!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "12.04.5" by wsteward - posted: 08-08-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by jimbrechin - posted: 08-18-2014 02:25 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4170

Very easy to use and well maintained. Plenty of versions to try out and Forum very helpful.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "2013.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Bill_Gates - posted: 08-17-2014 12:56 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 787

The hope for a seamless upgrade is dashed. Printing which used to work well now fails with "Broken Filter" status, whatever that means Dash Home no longer works so cannot launch apps or go to recently used items. Bit like my school reports really "Could do better!"

Rating: 3
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by holden87 - posted: 08-16-2014 01:28 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2521

As my signature states, I think I found the distro to end my distrohopping madness.

Best points overall are definitely the installer, which is by far the best one i have encountered, then next the integration of KDE, which is wonderful and YaST. YaST is a really near-perfect one-stop shop GUI for everything you want to set up on your system, without editing the text files in your / directory.

On the other hand, YaST can seem a little bloated sometimes, especially its GTK version.

It doesn't use too much of my system's resources (a 4-5 years old dual core Pentium + 4gb of RAM ).

It looks great, and it's very very reliable.

And one of the great things is that openSUSE hits the sweetest possible spot between corporate sponsorship, giving back upstream, cross-distro collaboration, openness...

I'd also recommend it to any beginner, as yes, there's a lot of third-party apps in OBS, but you can install them with a single click from software.opensuse.org.

The best distro I've used to this day.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-20-2013 - Rating: ****** 5.67

Last Review by anchorman - posted: 08-15-2014 10:47 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 19307

I usually get the information I need to progress using Python. It is indeed a large sized book, but I don't see where anything should be removed.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Programming Python, Third Edition" by Mara - posted: 02-11-2007 - Rating: ********* 8.50

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-14-2014 05:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1553

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7m2A4iQJ4uU
Product Details: "20" by wsteward - posted: 01-11-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration