LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 07-25-2014 12:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 106

This was my second encounter with Antergos, and my second failure. The problems started with downloading, where the connection was repeatedly lost. Eventually I got the disk and booted into the Gnome desktop. The first thing I tried was Chromium, which failed with an illegal instruction. Then I ran the installer. The graphical installer was labeled beta software, so I used the curses one. Contrary to the release notes, you do not get the option to use KDE or Mate: only Cinnamon, Gnome, or Xfce. Imagine my surprise when I found that the installer was not using the disk, but downloading all the packages! But I was not surprised when the connection was lost, and the installation failed. Antergos looks like a classic case of too few developers trying to take on too much.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "2014.05.26" by wsteward - posted: 05-27-2014 - Rating: * 1.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 07-24-2014 10:46 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 150

Salix is one of the few distros which seems equally reliable, whichever GUI you choose. This time I tried Mate, in the 32-bit version. At present, Salix only offers an installation disk. The installer is keyboard- rather than mouse-based, but easy to use provided you read the excellent user guide first. There is no option to encrypt /home. The recommended minimum hardware is a Pentium III and 512MB of RAM. The software provided included LibreOffice, Firefox, Pidgin, Claws-mail, Exaile, Totem, and Gimp. As usual, the menu includes a tool to install media codecs, and the Flash plugin was provided. The only missing item was the help file for LibreOffice, which was quickly added: make sure you get the US-English help, as the other English versions aren’t recognised. All the software worked well, and I had none of the problems I’d had with the latest Mint. The repository contains all the software from Slackware and almost as many extras. There are also good ‘housekeeping tools’, and I was able to select my USB speakers with a few mouse-clicks, unlike the situation in most Debian derivatives. Currently, this seems the most reliable Mate distro.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1 "MATE"" by wsteward - posted: 06-02-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by John_zhangxj - posted: 07-24-2014 08:54 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3178

great
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by Bee1 - posted: 07-23-2014 05:52 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 176

Newbie to linux and linux mint, started dabbing in android development found Windows complicated when it came to ides so someone advise linux mint so here I am and here I will stay.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "17 "KDE"" by wsteward - posted: 06-24-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by herakles - posted: 07-14-2014 02:41 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 8656

I downloaded and installed a Vm Dragora on a mint 17 Linux host BUT it always keep asking me " rafaela login" and "password !" Anybody has an idea ?
Product Details: "2.2" by wsteward - posted: 04-25-2012 - Rating: ** 2.00

Last Review by TheMaskedMarvel - posted: 07-13-2014 12:25 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 463

Thanks for the detail here. I'm about to upgrade from LM16 to 17.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by verissimo - posted: 07-12-2014 10:15 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3178

Where is the link to download?
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by sameer.n.soni - posted: 07-10-2014 02:24 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1246

Well it's based on Ubuntu but I found it better than Ubuntu. Simpler and faster.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by sameer.n.soni - posted: 07-10-2014 02:12 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4190

Great distro. The description in two words. I has all tge features which a newbie wants. But I would recommend Xubuntu or Lubuntu to those having a little old PC. Coz the Unity interface is too heavy Even Kubuntu was kinda sluggish. For thise reading this PC I'm providing my PC specs for you to compare with your PC. CPU: Intel Core2Duo @2.53 GHz Motherboard: Intel G41 Express Chipset RAM: 2 GiB Hard Drive: 500 GiB (140 GiB for Linux and Swap)

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 07-09-2014 10:40 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 325

Sparky is a rolling release distro, based on Debian testing. The default desktop LXDE, but I tested the 32-bit version with Xfce. I had trouble downloading from one server, but the other was fine. The installer is run from the live session, and listed in the menu under System. It’s simple to use, but it doesn’t offer encryption and it will hang if you choose any filing system other than ext4. Both the installation and the installed system would be fine with 512MB. Xfce is well implemented and set up with top panel, bottom dock, and Conky. Software includes Icedove, Iceweasel, Pidgin, Xchat, Liferea, LibreOffice, Gimp, VLC, Exaile, Gnome-mplayer, and a bundle of games. Flash, media codecs, and spell-checking are installed. All programs worked, with a few warnings when run from the CLI. Like most Debian distros, other than Mint, Sparky had no tool capable of making my USB speakers the default, so I could only get sound with media software, not with Iceweasel. I also had what seem to be the usual Debian problems doing an update, which were not helped by Sparky getting the name of a mirror wrong. If you want a rolling-release derivative of Debian, the alternatives are Mint’s Debian Edition, Semplice, or SolydXK. The choice will depend on which GUI you prefer, although Mint is marginally better.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "3.4 "MATE", "Xfce", "Base"" by wsteward - posted: 06-28-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration