LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by romesh17 - posted: 11-26-2016 03:17 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 14933

hjjjjjj

Rating: 6
Product Details: "6.7" by mralk3 - posted: 07-22-2015 - Rating: ****** 5.50

Last Review by Socorro7 - posted: 11-07-2016 09:49 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 26352

thanks

Rating: 6
Product Details: "7.1" by evo2 - posted: 03-05-2015 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by offgridguy - posted: 10-19-2016 10:08 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 8222

I have tried quite a few Linux distros, but after (finally) getting around to Debian, I have found THE distro. Although the installation itself was more complex than most of the others, I did get it sorted out. A high priority for me is the root user account, which Debian has. Had I known that sooner, I would have been here sooner. A struggle learning how to get the missing RealTek firmware but with help from ardvark71, I'm up and running. I love the ease with which Debian recognized and configured my Brother printer. No frustrating struggle with the Brother driver download site, just connect the printer, power on and go. Other distros may still come and go but Debian is on my machine to stay. Debian, try the rest, use the best.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.86

Last Review by SCerovec - posted: 10-19-2016 05:09 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 16562

Goodness comes at a cost. Here at Slackware it's reading, in English. - Those who read will understand. - Those who understand will learn. `There is no substitute for knowledge.` - Those who know can do it right. `Uninformed decision comes from wrong assumption, and we all know what assumption is ` Wink Once I noticed a striking resemblance of a DVD-player-box and a computer running Slackware: They'll run until the hardware deteriorates and get obsolete - as boringly and as reliably as imaginable. No bugs, no annoying `critical update: download 3GB each month!`, no software breakdown, no bit-rot, nothing. Just reliant and boring operation.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.47

Last Review by vuthachh - posted: 10-11-2016 05:08 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3017

I would like SLES 12 to install on my desktop PC for learning to be network administrator

Rating: 5
Product Details: "12" by wsteward - posted: 10-28-2014 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by hainguyen080682 - posted: 09-29-2016 11:56 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 11082

not see link
Product Details: "5.9" by wsteward - posted: 01-09-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by Slacker-Tuxd - posted: 08-24-2016 12:00 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 25240

Ran across this review section after downloading a new 14.0 iso. after my slack 14.0- disc is wearing thin from constant use.It needed to be replaced, Slackware is everything you want in a distro.that does its best not to emulate Windows production schedule. Wine is recommended is this case, even then it doesn`t emulate Windows either ;D I am sure the other more user-friendly distros work for those to give them what they need, of course I tend to little biased starting with Linux Unleashed Slackware 3.1 Wink after a long sad bout with Bill Gates OS . I made it back to Linux, never really considered any other distro as slack is what I cut my Unix/GNU/Linux Teeth on. Ive had the little BSD devil whispering at me.. but I`m a Slacker. As mentioned above http://www.slackbuilds.org has a plethora of choices to choose from the folks deep inside the info files, which have written developed and support their programs to SlackBuilds have been very helpful. Slackware lets you think, with a wide array of options.Then rewards you with the knowledge of a job well done. LQ is a Guide among Guides. 1st choice in looking for answers after seeking docs on the disk. THANKS To Linus Torvalds!, Pat Volkerding!,LinuxQuestions.org! =)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by hazel - posted: 08-20-2016 12:15 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2435

Linux From Scratch is not a distribution! It's a meta-distribution. What you end up with depends entirely on what you want. There are two stages in creating a working Linux From Scratch. The first is LFS proper, which gives you a minimal working Linux system, but not one that can do anything useful. The second stage is BLFS (Beyond Linux From Scratch) where you add the desktop (if desired) and the applications. LFS comes in two flavours: sysvinit and systemd. This neatly evades the continuing warfare between the two systems. You simply choose the one you prefer. Apart from this difference, everyone who creates an LFS system ends up with the same thing. The main requirement (at least for novices) is an ability to do as you are told. Follow the book and you will not go far wrong. The philosophy of BLFS is quite different. You build and install only the software you want so everyone's finished BLFS system will be different. Dependencies are dealt with efficiently: mandatory, recommended and optional dependencies are listed in the book for each package. Several different desktops are included. You need to have a working Linux system as build host for LFS, but this could be a live disc. LFS itself makes a good host for a new LFS build. The most recommended host is probably Slackware. Debian and its derivatives will need some small adjustments. You can update most of the software using the SVN versions of the books, but it is not recommended to update the core of LFS (gcc, binutils, Linux kernel and glibc). When new versions of these come out, it is time for a new build!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "7.7" by wsteward - posted: 03-08-2015 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by Sir Douglas - posted: 08-05-2016 12:12 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 5554

Linux Mint: Just do it.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.2 "KDE", "Xfce"" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by jamison20000e - posted: 07-22-2016 03:27 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 107029

Have used Sid (i.e: unstable\experimental) the most in over 20 years now... Old, new, ARM, &c or virtual machines it works great! Thanks: https://www.debian.org/devel/ !+!+! :hattip:

Rating: 10
Product Details: "SID" by iceman47 - posted: 06-16-2003 - Rating: ********** 9.69

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration