LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Slacker-Tuxd - posted: 08-23-2016 11:00 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 24553

Ran across this review section after downloading a new 14.0 iso. after my slack 14.0- disc is wearing thin from constant use.It needed to be replaced, Slackware is everything you want in a distro.that does its best not to emulate Windows production schedule. Wine is recommended is this case, even then it doesn`t emulate Windows either ;D I am sure the other more user-friendly distros work for those to give them what they need, of course I tend to little biased starting with Linux Unleashed Slackware 3.1 Wink after a long sad bout with Bill Gates OS . I made it back to Linux, never really considered any other distro as slack is what I cut my Unix/GNU/Linux Teeth on. Ive had the little BSD devil whispering at me.. but I`m a Slacker. As mentioned above http://www.slackbuilds.org has a plethora of choices to choose from the folks deep inside the info files, which have written developed and support their programs to SlackBuilds have been very helpful. Slackware lets you think, with a wide array of options.Then rewards you with the knowledge of a job well done. LQ is a Guide among Guides. 1st choice in looking for answers after seeking docs on the disk. THANKS To Linus Torvalds!, Pat Volkerding!,LinuxQuestions.org! =)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by hazel - posted: 08-20-2016 11:15 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1930

Linux From Scratch is not a distribution! It's a meta-distribution. What you end up with depends entirely on what you want. There are two stages in creating a working Linux From Scratch. The first is LFS proper, which gives you a minimal working Linux system, but not one that can do anything useful. The second stage is BLFS (Beyond Linux From Scratch) where you add the desktop (if desired) and the applications. LFS comes in two flavours: sysvinit and systemd. This neatly evades the continuing warfare between the two systems. You simply choose the one you prefer. Apart from this difference, everyone who creates an LFS system ends up with the same thing. The main requirement (at least for novices) is an ability to do as you are told. Follow the book and you will not go far wrong. The philosophy of BLFS is quite different. You build and install only the software you want so everyone's finished BLFS system will be different. Dependencies are dealt with efficiently: mandatory, recommended and optional dependencies are listed in the book for each package. Several different desktops are included. You need to have a working Linux system as build host for LFS, but this could be a live disc. LFS itself makes a good host for a new LFS build. The most recommended host is probably Slackware. Debian and its derivatives will need some small adjustments. You can update most of the software using the SVN versions of the books, but it is not recommended to update the core of LFS (gcc, binutils, Linux kernel and glibc). When new versions of these come out, it is time for a new build!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "7.7" by wsteward - posted: 03-08-2015 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by Sir Douglas - posted: 08-05-2016 11:12 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4697

Linux Mint: Just do it.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.2 "KDE", "Xfce"" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by jamison20000e - posted: 07-22-2016 02:27 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 106470

Have used Sid (i.e: unstable\experimental) the most in over 20 years now... Old, new, ARM, &c or virtual machines it works great! Thanks: https://www.debian.org/devel/ !+!+! :hattip:

Rating: 10
Product Details: "SID" by iceman47 - posted: 06-16-2003 - Rating: ********** 9.69

Last Review by zaivala - posted: 07-08-2016 10:14 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 7049

I'm confused by the other review. Ikey said on Jupiter Broadcasting's Linux Unplugged that Solus 1.2 is a completely home-baked distro, not now or ever based on Debian (previously based on another distro, but not Debian). It is also strictly a 64-bit system. What I think the problem may be is that there is a difference between whatever SolusOS is and the product Ikey made (http://solus-project.com), and we need to have a way to resolve naming practices. At any rate, it is a snap to install, a joy to behold, easy to use... until you want to add packages not in the limited repository. How do you add packages? I haven't asked Ikey yet. I know I use SoftMaker Office for Linux 2016, and have not yet managed to get that installed in Solus. Fortunately, I dual-boot with LinuxMint 18, so I'm good. I'm sure Ikey will be upgrading this as he goes along; a new point upgrade is about to be released, 1.2.1. Not being your nuts-and-bolts type, I can't really dissect this, but it's worth a look and you'll probably get more out of it than I did. I'm your typical Windows user who hates Microsoft, not your typical Linux geek who knows coding... So take this with a block of salt, but you'll love it anyhow.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "1.2 "Legacy"" by wsteward - posted: 09-03-2012 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by bachhavrahul7 - posted: 06-21-2016 11:34 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 23004

fcgfg

Rating: 5
Product Details: "7.1" by evo2 - posted: 03-05-2015 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by comcastuser - posted: 05-14-2016 08:22 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2953

This is my first shot at a review on here so please excuse the unprofessional words... I'll start with, NIGHTMARE-FREE. NFS and Samba have seen fit to nanny the user by restricting the sharing of the root directory even via LAN (seriously, if someone gets on THIS LAN, it's because they're inside my house stealing my computer!) - but I'm 99.99% sure this is not Centos's fault at all. Still, I'm adding it in on the 0.01% chance that it is. Plus, a lot of stuff in the GUI freezes when you remain connected to a Samba share whose host is shut off or otherwise inaccessible. And when I try to access Samba shares on a Windows machine, it acts very funky since the last update. Again, all of this is unlikely to be Centos's fault in any way. Other than that, one of my two Centos 7 machines used to be a Windows gaming box and I haven't rebooted it back to Windows in 6 long months. If I'm not gaming, I'm using one Centos box as a workstation and another as a file server. I cannot possibly overstate how quick, efficient and convenient it is to work on Centos 7. Aesthetically it puts Windows 7 to utter shame when you fire up KDE Plasma. Even Gnome-Classic is competitive. It's all crisp, clean and efficient. It's also fast. Like, really fast. Linux is usually very fast, but compared to my old Centos 6.5 box, it is slightly faster than that when it comes to X apps. The interface has lost its odd quirks that used to make it less convenient than Windows in some areas, particularly cutting and pasting and navigating menus. That makes a moderate improvement in productivity for me, but even moderate improvements are good. I had major conflicts with repos on earlier versions of Centos that haven't arisen after more intense usage here. For me that is a huge plus that gives this distro a score of 11 out of 10. Centos 6.5 also had huge problems with its insane oom-killer stopping programs while I had huge amounts of physical RAM left. That hasn't reared its head here. The native X drivers now give me full functionality with my nVidia and ATI cards alike. Transparencies, huge screen panning, all of that works now. I don't even need compiz, and those proprietary drivers are finally right out. The bad part is that some programs are unavailable, like the KID3 music tagger program, though I found a replacement for that, and some other really useful (NOT!!!) software like animated backgrounds that I really find to be pretty. (They're only available on Ubuntu.) Flash is very funky on Centos 7 - it's very hard to get it working on most browsers - although I know for a fact that this isn't Centos's fault. There is another really irritating problem I can't think of right now that drags down my score on here back down to 10/10. Probably shows how important it is. I use Linux for file serving, graphics editing, torrenting, writing, video conversions, listening to music, managing finances, watching videos, playing video games, messing with music editing, video chats with family, and my wife also uses Linux for much the same things plus blogging.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "7.0-1406" by wsteward - posted: 07-15-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by sinar.kk - posted: 05-13-2016 12:26 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 15486

Once you're a slackware user, then no returning back from it .

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.44

Last Review by Lsatenstein - posted: 05-12-2016 08:57 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2675

Installation was easy, updates are well tested and modules are reviewed for code improvement

Rating: 9
Product Details: "11 SP4" by mralk3 - posted: 07-18-2015 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by sochi - posted: 04-05-2016 03:30 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 9046

Far beter than the Slackware Puppy (Slacko). However Ubuntu main repository is getting poor too. Multiverse and universe still available make it easy.. Puppy Linux is becoming a Geek OS, Most of its forum Suscribers are linux pupils, not real users.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.0 "Tahrpup"" by wsteward - posted: 10-29-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration