LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by oldtechaa - posted: 08-26-2015 09:38 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 21121

This is my daily use OS. It works very well, even when I break it with my configurations.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 09-30-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.06

Last Review by mizrhappy - posted: 08-23-2015 10:48 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 228

Switched to Rafaela to get a sample of newest features and stability. Wound up staying with it for the past 2 weeks, awaiting Kubuntu's distro. Love all the sleek features of Mint that I didn't expect. Especially compatibility with QT5.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "17.2 "KDE", "Xfce"" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by oldtechaa - posted: 08-19-2015 04:52 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 10546

This is a great distribution, and keeps it simple. This can lead to things being hard for newbies who don't want to edit text files. I was new to Linux and jumped right into this, and it wasn't hard. For some people it might be, though. It is great on restricted Internet plans as it isn't always updating and you can easily compile packages from source that you've downloaded elsewhere, etc.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.58

Last Review by salviadud - posted: 08-15-2015 10:04 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2878

As usual, gentoo uses a live cd/dvd install. In my case, I opted for the live cd version. After having my fun with booting it due to the fact that it was my first time with EFI, I noticed that the bare minimum approach might not be the easiest for beginners. Compiling the kernel alone takes some understanding, although gentoo does have a command for that: genkernel . In my case, I compiled it manually. There are lots of options there, especially if you're a developer.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "20140826" by wsteward - posted: 09-05-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by Jerasmussen - posted: 08-12-2015 10:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 22123

I use currently use Debian 7.5 (wheezy) with a Xen cloud platform as my main computer. In the past I've installed Debian successfully on all manner of hardware, including a Power Mac and a Fujitsu Lifebook. The stability, hardware adaptability, and documentation are IMO second to none. I also want to say a word about the organization that is Debian, an ad-hoc structure often criticized for being unwieldy and slow to act. True perhaps, wrt corporate management models like Canonical or Red Hat, but the comparison is flawed: Debian is something else entirely. The lack of an over-arching executive authority isn't a weakness, it is in fact Debian's greatest strength. It fosters a consensus building process, the direct result of which is stable code and hardware agnosticism.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 05-05-2013 - Rating: ******** 8.09

Last Review by prudra - posted: 08-07-2015 09:07 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1407

I don't have experience of many other linux distributions and so cannot compare with other distributions.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by auge - posted: 08-07-2015 04:41 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 5603

At work I switched everything to CentOS 6 a long time ago. This was the single best decision regarding operating-systemns for the company I can imagine. It runs perfectly in VMWare, Hyper-V and XEN, it fully supports DELL, HP and custom servers and it has a great community with many excellent users. We use this especially for high-load webservers with NginX+FastCGI as SSL-Terminators and DMZ-Hosts, as enterprise-proxy-servers with very high-load and for various other enterprise-services, like ntp, postfix as a smtp-queue-buffer with spamfilter, scp/sftp/ftp-server for deployment, websites with php and for a huge postgresql-cluster. Allover this Operating-System saved the company millions of Euros while parallely being better than Solaris, Unixware and others.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 12-02-2013 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by cgreen1124 - posted: 08-06-2015 06:08 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 982

Maybe

Rating: 5
Product Details: "6.7" by mralk3 - posted: 07-22-2015 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Last Review by Charliesrch - posted: 07-30-2015 03:38 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2578

I first installed Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS two months ago. I inherited a donated HP Desktop with a bogus Windows 7 op-sys. A few weeks later I had a problem with my HP Laptop and I replaced W-7 on it also. I have been completely happy since. I can still access my old windows file backups and have had a wonderful time studying and practicing with 'Intro To Linux'(.pdf). I'm on a fixed income and this gives me a challenge learning the multitudinous line commands in a Terminal. As of this year, Microsoft is too expensive and too much of a headache for me to afford. The rewards are GREAT!!! with Ubuntu.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.04.2" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Last Review by jkiwi - posted: 07-14-2015 02:32 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1407

I'm glad I can still revert to Classic Gnome Desktop

Rating: 9
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.50

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration