LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by verissimo - posted: 07-12-2014 10:15 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2223

Where is the link to download?
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by sameer.n.soni - posted: 07-10-2014 02:24 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1032

Well it's based on Ubuntu but I found it better than Ubuntu. Simpler and faster.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "17" by wsteward - posted: 06-01-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by sameer.n.soni - posted: 07-10-2014 02:12 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3628

Great distro. The description in two words. I has all tge features which a newbie wants. But I would recommend Xubuntu or Lubuntu to those having a little old PC. Coz the Unity interface is too heavy Even Kubuntu was kinda sluggish. For thise reading this PC I'm providing my PC specs for you to compare with your PC. CPU: Intel Core2Duo @2.53 GHz Motherboard: Intel G41 Express Chipset RAM: 2 GiB Hard Drive: 500 GiB (140 GiB for Linux and Swap)

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 07-09-2014 10:40 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 147

Sparky is a rolling release distro, based on Debian testing. The default desktop LXDE, but I tested the 32-bit version with Xfce. I had trouble downloading from one server, but the other was fine. The installer is run from the live session, and listed in the menu under System. Itís simple to use, but it doesnít offer encryption and it will hang if you choose any filing system other than ext4. Both the installation and the installed system would be fine with 512MB. Xfce is well implemented and set up with top panel, bottom dock, and Conky. Software includes Icedove, Iceweasel, Pidgin, Xchat, Liferea, LibreOffice, Gimp, VLC, Exaile, Gnome-mplayer, and a bundle of games. Flash, media codecs, and spell-checking are installed. All programs worked, with a few warnings when run from the CLI. Like most Debian distros, other than Mint, Sparky had no tool capable of making my USB speakers the default, so I could only get sound with media software, not with Iceweasel. I also had what seem to be the usual Debian problems doing an update, which were not helped by Sparky getting the name of a mirror wrong. If you want a rolling-release derivative of Debian, the alternatives are Mintís Debian Edition, Semplice, or SolydXK. The choice will depend on which GUI you prefer, although Mint is marginally better.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "3.4 "MATE", "Xfce", "Base"" by wsteward - posted: 06-28-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by khom_meanmon - posted: 07-04-2014 01:36 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 16306

thank you for share

Rating: 6
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 5.8" by wsteward - posted: 02-22-2012 - Rating: ******** 7.50

Last Review by Reagen - posted: 07-02-2014 09:26 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2223

Excelent

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Linux 7" by wsteward - posted: 06-11-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 07-01-2014 12:04 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 201

Linux Lite is based on the long-term-support version of Ubuntu. It fits onto a CD and will give a reasonable performance with a Pentium III or M and 512 MB. Installation is done from a live session with Ubuntuís installer, but without the option to encrypt /home. Thereís a good installation guide on the website. I tested the 32-bit version. The desktop is a standard Xfce, although it defaults to the Whisker menu and Orage and Catfish arenít installed. The file manager has been given a useful ďopen as administratorĒ option. The software includes LibreOffice, Firefox, Thunderbird, Mumble, Xchat, Gimp, VLC, and Steam. Flash and the media codecs are installed, but not spell-checking for LibreOffice. Everything worked perfectly. Apart from the usual shortage of configuration tools in Debian derivatives, my only complaint was that it gave me a US locale; finding out how to change that brought me back to Debianís lack of good GUI toolsÖ Linux Lite is well worth considering among the Debian derivatives with Xfce: slightly better than Xubuntu, Mint, and OS4, although not quite as nice as Antix MX.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Lite 2.0" by wsteward - posted: 06-02-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-26-2014 12:53 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 235

For my annual inspection of PCLinuxOS Iíve tried the 32-bit KDE and Mate versions. The start-up screen offers a live session (normal, failsafe, or loaded into RAM), installation, or a disk check. If you choose to check the disk, it will go to a live session afterwards, so if you need a different language, select it first with F2. The desktop of the live session has an icon to access detailed installation instructions, and the menu has a Help Portal giving links to many useful web sites. The installer is easy, although it doesnít support encrypting /home. The KDE version naturally needs a reasonable amount of memory ó 1GB would be the absolute minimum ó but, since the special effects are not activated by default, itís not sluggish on single-core CPUs. The first thing to do is to get the updates. I had a couple of failures, solved by switching to a different mirror. Thereís a lot of software installed: LibreOffice (with spell-checking), Gimp, KolourPaint, Inkscape, Firefox (with Flash), Thunderbird, Kmail, Skype, Clementine, Dragon, VLC (with codecs), Great Little Radio Player, and a bundle of games. The items I checked worked well. It gave me a US locale, despite my UK keyboard, but thereís a locale-setting tool in the excellent configuration centre. The Mate version starts you off with very few programs: Firefox, Pidgin, Thunderbird, Skype, Clementine, VLC, and Great Little Radio Player. Thereís a menu option to install LibreOffice but, since the current version of that doesnít like my computer, I installed OpenOffice: the job was simple, unlike in Mint. As with Mint, the notification area on the panel was invisible, but this is a Mate bug that only affects certain hardware. Finally I looked at the Xfce respin. This is unofficial, and the download link is in the Xfce section of the PCLinuxOS forum. The software selection was different again: Firefox, Pidgin, Thunderbird, Skype, XChat, VLC, Great Little Radio Player, DeaDBeef, DeVeDe, Gimp, Inkscape, and LibreOffice. I noticed that, as well as the usual HPLIP, support tools for Epson and Lexmark printers were included. The only problem was that the developer had forgotten to populate the keyboard shortcuts file: not even Alt-F4 was there! The tool to do this is the one to configure the Window Manger, not the one for the keyboard. The only criticisms I could make are the few niggles mentioned above and the usual struggle to enable my USB speakers : not major issues. This is the most stable of rolling-release distros, and a good choice for beginner or expert. And itís the only distro that has a free monthly magazine!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "2014.05" by DavidMcCann - posted: 06-26-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by mariose - posted: 06-21-2014 03:46 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 3628

Not bad...decent product!

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.04" by wsteward - posted: 04-18-2014 - Rating: ******** 8.17

Last Review by indoroot - posted: 06-21-2014 06:11 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24349

must have iso

Rating: 7
Product Details: "6.5" by wsteward - posted: 11-22-2013 - Rating: ********* 8.60

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration