LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by Dieselchair - posted: 06-27-2015 04:46 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 9807

Long ago when I built my first computer it was not in the budget to buy some proprietary software. This forced me into the world of linux, at least for few months. I didn't really feel comfortable with Ubuntu. After a few more linux distros and some $10 proprietary software bought through my collage, I still was not really comfortable. Linux Mint was fun and almost comfortable. It came close, but not enough for me to really enjoy it. Then I found slackware. Slackware to me seemed to have the values and structure I wanted. Something simple that works, but also can do what ever I needed it to do. The learning curve was steep and at times difficult. The slack mentality eluded me. Trashing my system with silly mistakes, typos in the command line, ATI madness, it was not easy but I stayed with it. I wanted to get my slack back as they say. All that time and effort forcing myself into the command line and spending time to learn slack. Was it worth it? Did I get my slack back? YES!!!!! It was well worth it! What was once hard to understand is now second nature. Slackware takes a bit more skill and knowledge to use but the end result is greater then I expected! I can do things now that I thought were out of my reach. It has put me in control and forced me to learn. I'm a better computer user, and would even go as far as to say administrator. From running my own rack server to making an old computer run better then it ever did before. Slackware is a way of life now, and I am very comfortable. I get to use my computer and enjoy it too! Not only that, but actually understand how it works and how to fix it.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.64

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-17-2015 01:23 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1855

do not trust them with your support dollars. They reneg, stalk & slander you if you complain.

Rating: 2
Product Details: "2014.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-24-2014 - Rating: ****** 5.50

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-17-2015 06:47 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 175

I've been using Linux for over 15 years and I like what I see here. LXDE version was tested and installed on several machines. Compared to LinuxMint Debian it does not break as often and bugs reports are not completely ignored. Being Debian based this distro will run on older machines >10years with low specs. I've found the update function is broken since some repos have moved and the terminal will close and give a false positive. Users must correct the repos and then run command line update, upgrade Debian 8 and kernels not longer support nvidia legacy cards 173; you must use nouveau (ugg) Suggested improvements:
  • alter lsb-release to show Sparky instead of Debian. (this will give better grub listings)
  • Sparky GUI apps will show ok when they are not, it needs a delay or better command results display
  • have web site posts made prominent to show users how to fix upgrade blocks, breakage


Rating: 7
Product Details: "3.6" by galen - posted: 06-16-2015 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by jtylers - posted: 06-16-2015 11:39 AM [ Post a Review
dnvim_xlargecover.jpg

Views: 143

This was a great book to read and re-read. I would practice one vim tip every day until the end of the book and then start over to polish those skills again. My programming skills have been enhanced greatly by becoming proficient with vim. I would recommend getting a hard copy so that it's easier to jump around and get straight to what you want to know when you need a reference.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Practical Vim: Edit Text at the Speed of Thought" by jtylers - posted: 05-20-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-15-2015 05:50 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 147

I've been using Linux for over 15 years & I believe these matter; honesty, ethics, support. Not eye candy. There are close to nil Linux reviews from this perspective. LL is a very impressive distro, it would be a top distro except:
  • dislike and censor bug reports
  • no code of conduct
  • no transparency on who owns & who is affiliated
  • no root access during install
  • no mounting devices during install
  • no root access during recovery mode
  • rogue grub2, it takes over. it's also misconfigured, does not play nice with other distros
  • unjust banning for support & forums
  • unjust demands on users (respond or else mentality, while blocking responses)
  • refusal to state user / supporter guidelines or rules
  • hostile to feedback
  • egocentric
The minor oversight of not including card games to lure the MS users over. Conclusion: No matter how good a distribution is, ethical support matters. Any distro deserves no respect when they censor bug reports, life ban supporters, lie about there conduct. Any egocentric admin undermines a foundation of Linux that Linux has better standards of behaviour than MicroSoft. I expected better from Linux Lite; I was sadly disappointed. I plan to update this review when more information is gathered. Unanswered questions:
  • who backs Linux Lite?
  • what is with the military 5-eyes affiliation?
  • why so anti-skeptic?
  • why back paranormal scam artists?


Rating: 3
Product Details: "2.4" by galen - posted: 06-15-2015 - Rating: *** 3.00

Last Review by galen - posted: 06-15-2015 05:34 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2876

Sad to report LL suffers major flaws in how it is run. There is no place for ego and an admin who refuses to accept legit bugs reports, demand quick responses while blocking responses, bug reports and attachments. They have no code of conduct, nor terms of use, no transparency and quick to life ban supporters. Plus when the admin has a hate on for skeptics; you know they need to fix their ethical void. They need to get the message ethics & honesty matter. see 2.4 for more

Rating: 3
Product Details: "Lite 2.0" by wsteward - posted: 06-02-2014 - Rating: ****** 5.50

Last Review by draganNI - posted: 06-07-2015 08:29 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3166

very good!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "6.6" by wsteward - posted: 10-29-2014 - Rating: ******** 7.67

Last Review by Rocky Bennett - posted: 05-26-2015 06:43 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1722

I am new to Linux and I chose Linux Mint for it's simplicity and complete out-of-the box feel. So far I love it. I have been a Windows devotee since I first got introduced to home computers, but I am now a Linux fanboy and I will recommend this OS to anyone I can.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-30-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by dspie - posted: 05-22-2015 09:45 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4431

I am dual booting on a 5 year old toshiba laptop with Windows 7 and Linux Mint 17 XFCE. This is the best I have used. Install was on top of Linux Mint 14 and was smooth. It did updates and everything was quick and simple. I installed Chromium and imported all bookmarks from an html file. No glitches with anything.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by Jon Wilob - posted: 04-27-2015 06:04 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1545

Mint 17.1 stole me away from Ubuntu 14.04 and Zorin. The only distro I would recommend over Rebecca for new users is Linux Lite. LL for me was by far the most intuitive and easier to learn Linux with. Windoze folks making the transition from Gates' garbage would be well served using LL. A wonderful install is to dual-boot LL and Mint 17.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.1 "KDE"" by wsteward - posted: 01-22-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration