LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices

» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by mwchristian - posted: 09-16-2014 11:29 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 2014

I am currently running Linux Mint 17 which I installed over my existing Mint 15 instance without a hitch, aside from a couple rounds of updates to patch the install current. My lifestyle changed and I now do 90% of my work on laptops, so I spent quite a while experimenting with different distros. I understand that a Linux distro is a personal decision and subject to heated debate. I have been a Red Hat and Debian fan since the mid- 90s, so I tend to fall back on my old favorites when a new problem confronts me. In this case, after trying the top ten Linux distros and even Dragonfly and Free BSD. I settled on Linux Mint as it had the drivers my Toshibas needed and installed without work-arounds. When it came to choosing a GUI I worked with all and picked XFce for a number of reasons. I found the integration and features fully developed and the installation completely flawless. The the prior issues I experienced with XFce panel plugins availability and ease of use are solved with this new release. With Linux Min 17 and XFce I enjoy a fully functional operating system without unwanted bloat which delivers speed and accustomed rock solid Linux performance on my laptops.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "Xfce"" by wsteward - posted: 06-27-2014 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by azhar_mz - posted: 09-14-2014 04:34 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 9629

i've stumbled upon this product right around 2010 since then it was really stable on my year 2000 toshiba satellite p3 1ghz. Many thanks to all involved in this product developement. Absolute linux is by far the best solutions for those with lo-resource but want something meaningfull for one's use. I enjoyed tarballing a lot with this one. Unfortunately my toshiba only wifi with pcmcia card. I am still working on it found already the workable site to worked with. Still in version 13 and no need to upgrade to 14 i guess. The amazing thing i newly discovered with abslute just a month ago was. It has an offline dictionary. Qstardict really shines up this very classical distro. Never get bored playing games with it. Fillet-ng was somewhat playable. Lastly i will always think absolute first for an old pc.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.0" by wsteward - posted: 10-03-2012 - Rating: ***** 4.50

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 09-05-2014 12:20 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 976

Zorin OS Light is based on Ubuntu with the LXDE desktop. It seems to be the largest LXDE distro, but it would still run well in 512MB of RAM. Pressing a key at boot-up gives a menu where you can choose a live session or installation. Donít use the installer from the menu if you need to reconfigure the HD: do that in a live session with Gparted, then run the installer. And donít try to encrypt /home ó it locks-up the installer. Despite my choice of a UK keyboard, I was given a US one. Luckily they have a keyboard management applet on the panel, so that was sorted with a few clicks. Software includes Abiword (with dictionary), Gnumeric, Firefox (with flash), Gnome-mplayer (with codecs), Audacious, and Wine. Running from the CLI gave critical warnings for Firefox and Gnumeric, but both worked. As with many Debian-based distros, more advanced activities were tricky. I had to install pulse-audio to get my USB speakers working, and that disabled the volume buttons on the keyboard ó the solution came (doesnít it always?) from the Arch wiki. Also im-chooser doesnít work, so changing input from GTK had to be done with ~/.profile. Still, these are exotic problems, the sort of thing that this site is here to solve. There are quite a few Debian-derived LXDE distros. Exe and WattOS are based on Debian Stable, Sparky is rolling-release, while Zorin and Lubuntu are currently based on Ubuntuís long-term support version. WattOS uses a non-pae kernel. Exe has the most software on the installation disk, while WattOS and Zorin will fit on a CD. Take your pick: all are well done.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "9 "Lite", "Educational Lite"" by wsteward - posted: 08-14-2014 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by cedar11 - posted: 09-03-2014 03:28 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 2252

First experience with Ubuntu, so nothing really to judge by other than many years and ditros of MS. firefox is much slower to load sites than firefox on windows, seems to hunt around a lot. Dash is handy, music box will take a bit of playing with as ms media is a simple functional library for music. Still running both systems for coparison but using Ubuntu as default, making myself learn it.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "14.04.1" by wsteward - posted: 07-25-2014 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by mbstemps1110 - posted: 09-03-2014 10:45 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 14485

Kylix used a specific system call that was 'depreciated' by the master Linux distribution, I think the only time it has happened, I don't know that for sure, but the dropping of the OS service the IDE used makes this the last distribution that can be used with KYLIX (Kylix is a RAD system that uses Object Pascal to generate native Linux code). John A. Ward

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Enterprise Linux 4.9" by wsteward - posted: 02-18-2011 - Rating: ******** 8.33

Last Review by socokev - posted: 09-02-2014 02:39 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 5892

I've been a Linux user for about 8 years but would certainly consider myself an eternal newbie. I'm not a tinkerer of systems and much prefer and stable OS so I can actually use my computer for what I sat down for, rather than having to constantly alter settings. I started off with Mandrake (before mandriva) and moved through various lightweight and full on distros. I found Ubuntu too hard on my hardware and Sabayon rolled a release that broke my GUI once and it felt like too much hassle. Even Mint became hassle with it's constant new releases due to following Ubuntu. Hence I arrived at Slackware. For all the talk about it's difficulty I have to say it's actually really, really simple to use. Follow the well written guides and you shouldn't have any problems. Using the command line can seem a little foreign to start with, if you're used to the 'big' distros but it's only learning and it's simple learning at that. Many people talk about the lack of packages - there seems to be almost everything you need on the install media and plenty more on Slackbuilds. And just so you know - whilst there is no dependency checking, the Slackbuild will tell you what you need and have a link to it - you don;t have to go searching for rare files or anything. I've no idea what more you need for a home desktop computer that isn't offered here - especially if you just want a computer to actually do stuff on. Plenty of security updates and an officially sanctioned Chrome build - but no big software updates that will break the system. My advice, simply sign up to the Slackware mailing lists so you'll know when to go trough the update routine. I've been so impressed by not having to think about the OS that I even donate cash through their website! Thoroughly recommended for people like me - who just want a computer which doesn't break itself when you press 'update-all'!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********** 9.60

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 09-01-2014 08:44 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 8635

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeKzRVYSxjw
Product Details: "11" by wsteward - posted: 05-09-2013 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by Bruce Baker - posted: 08-31-2014 03:12 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 1534

I don't have a large pallet of experience to draw on, but I did try Ubuntu and found it lacking. I took a gamble on Linux Mint and decided that this was the operating system I wanted. Then it was a small jump to KDE (to get the math and science oriented applications included). I think I'll stay.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17 "KDE"" by wsteward - posted: 06-24-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by UrAvgLinuxUser - posted: 08-26-2014 11:44 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 3118

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Z1Ta8-jG8A
Product Details: "13.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-20-2013 - Rating: ****** 5.67

Last Review by DavidMcCann - posted: 08-26-2014 11:36 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 1246

Peppermint is designed specifically for cloud computing: the only applications installed are a browser, video player, and music player. It is also said to be lightweight, using LXDE, and suitable for XP refugees with older computers, so long as they have a minimum of 256MB and x86 architecture. The main problem is that the latter promise is not true. The browser supplied is Chromium, compiled to run on CPUs with sse2. That means that the only 32-bit CPU that can run it is a Pentium 4: not a P3 or any AMD chip. I decided to install Opera, but that's not in the repository. I tried Midori, and that crashed with an illegal instruction. Finally I got Epiphany working, very slowly. The desktop is LXDE, but instead of using Openbox as its window manager, they've used the one from Xfce. But LXDE is developed using Openbox and xfcewm is written for Xfce. How long before the two fall out? In fact, that may have happened already. Some of the preset keyboard shortcuts, like Alt-F1 and the media buttons, do not work, even though they are entered in the configuration file. Also, the menu doesn't update properly when software is added or removed. The 64-bit version may be better, but the bad choice of desktop / window manager combination, and the sse2 problem suggest that these people don't have the skills to create a reliable distro. Still they seem to be learning: Peppermint 3's installer mistook my USB speakers for a keyboard.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "Five" by wsteward - posted: 06-24-2014 - Rating: ***** 5.00

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration