Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back > Reviews
User Name


» Number of reviews : 11 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by sochi - posted: 11-18-2015 10:25 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 13523

Racy 5.3 kernel 3.0.25 is usefull for anything, and can run my old laptop as the new one. Wireless connexion is easy. Note that Racy 5.5 cannot operate (black screen). But 5.3 is enough for my usage, at home.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.3 "Wary", "Racy"" by wsteward - posted: 04-05-2012 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by sochi - posted: 11-18-2015 10:19 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 3152

Thin Slacko is the best puppy in my opinion because the most common appliactions are available, browser included for around 130MB, well in the puppy's spirit. Users so can add some of their favorites keeping Slacko ability to run fully in RAM on 528MB computers.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "5.3.3 "Slacko"" by wsteward - posted: 05-06-2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by cathartes - posted: 11-07-2015 03:05 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 11861

After a hiatus from Linux of some eighteen years, I again find myself using the very distribution I started with—Slackware. I do a lot of work using computers. While I am not an IT professional, I've always been particular about my computing. I like having certain things a certain way, and am very critical of complexity. However, I haven't the time nor inclination to "roll my own" Linux install, or otherwise wish to muck with too many extraneous details that other Linux users (rightfully) never have to think about. For my needs, Slackware strikes an excellent balance. While release 14.1 is now getting a bit long in the tooth, my experience transitioning to -current was straightforward and nearly painless on three rather different PCs. Reviews of Slackware often neglect mention of SlackBuilds. While not exactly an official repository, it (and the slackbuilds-users mailing list) is an excellent resource which will mostly make up for the inconvenience of having to build & update some of your software piecemeal. If nothing else, you will know exactly what goes into your system! Gone will be the days you want to install one small bit of software only to be faced with a large, indiscriminate apt-get dump of software "dependencies" your software may or may not actually need, but that some repo package maintainer-cum-bureaucrat decided you should install anyway. Slackware puts you, Dear User, back in the driver's seat! I can't recommend Slackware to casual users coming fresh from Windows or Mac. A fresh install of Slackware can feel a bit bare, and some of the basic hardware support (e.g., audio, networking) will remain sparsely configured for some machines until the user gets their hands a little dirty. However, for someone who is willing to commit, Slackware promises a “set and forget” experience on a stable, time-tested distribution supported by a competent & responsive corps of folks who aren't jerks. Eighteen years after my first exposure to it, Slackware feels very much the same as I remember it, and yet has evolved into something so much better.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.40

Last Review by Harshit_24 - posted: 10-28-2015 03:36 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 5629

Every software for an average home user are preinstalled in this distro with Indian language support. Its great for new users & home users.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "4" by DavidMcCann - posted: 10-17-2012 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by fjennings - posted: 10-26-2015 01:31 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 1095

One of the biggest problems we've had in our production environment has been with the Network Interfaces. At random times, and for no apparent reason, the network interfaces will just stop and enter the disabled state. One of the faults we currently have is being able to monitor this, so we hear about it from our Helpdesk. The issue seems to only exist when using the latest UEK for Oracle Linux 6.7. When we use the Red Hat Compatible Kernel, the issue does not exist. Oracle help support has not been helpful on the situation and state that it is because the system is virtualized, though our physical systems have the same problem. After installing Oracle Linux 6.7 on Hyper-V on 2012R2, the Oracle Linux will not start. We do not have this issue with Oracle Linux 6.6 or Oracle Linux 7.0 on the same Hyper-V cluster.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "6.7" by mralk3 - posted: 07-31-2015 - Rating: **** 4.00

Last Review by azohunvey - posted: 10-05-2015 01:06 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 1330

Better, that slackware, fedora, zorin. Worse than ubuntu 14.02 with gnome 3

Rating: 8
Product Details: "17.2" by mralk3 - posted: 06-30-2015 - Rating: ******** 8.00

Last Review by TRK-hun - posted: 09-30-2015 03:13 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 11861

Wacom how to manage panel? ... and generally the hardware? And usually patented drives and flash, pdf, gif and graphics converters How do I buy? Thanks

Rating: 7
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.40

Last Review by lin66uxx - posted: 09-06-2015 07:03 AM [ Post a Review

Views: 3188

Works good .

Rating: 10
Product Details: "8.0" by schneidz - posted: 05-02-2015 - Rating: ********** 9.67

Last Review by AstorBG - posted: 09-03-2015 03:26 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 3683

The review is objective. Also, toward the pros: they have very informative/helpful/welcoming forum as well as they do not tolerate idiots/scummers/bots in their forums. Pefect for new linux users.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "2014.12" by wsteward - posted: 12-24-2014 - Rating: ******* 6.67

Last Review by Tonus - posted: 09-01-2015 04:07 PM [ Post a Review

Views: 11861

After a few years far from linux (old hardware as around me stunning new that I didn't own) , I recently bought a laptop. Didn't last long with w8 and looked for a linux distro : seeing the release date of the last slackware I tried last Debian. A month later I'm back with slackware. Everything I really learnt was with this distro. So simple you can't mess with it, so stable that current is a pleasure to follow !

Rating: 10
Product Details: "14.1" by wsteward - posted: 11-08-2013 - Rating: ********* 9.40

Next Page »


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration