LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > Linux - News > Syndicated Linux News
User Name
Password
Syndicated Linux News This forum is for the discussion of Syndicated Linux News stories.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2011, 01:50 PM   #1
LXer
LXer NewsBot
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 76,325

Rep: Reputation: 87
LXer: Set up RH VirtIO SCSI driver on Windows XP KVM at KVM-QEMU Instance on F14


Published at LXer:

Create Windows KVM via virt-manager as usual. Download latest VirtIO Win drivers from Fedora. Location is http://alt.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt...st/images/bin/. File virtio-win-1.1.11-0.vfd to KVM and ISO image virtio-win-1.1.11-0.iso to Fedora’s FS. Create fake qcow2 file.

Read More...
 
Old 01-08-2011, 02:00 PM   #2
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
What in the world? Running Windows in a VM on Linux? Why would I *ever* do that? It's proprietary software and deserves to die a slow, painful death.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 11:37 AM   #3
Hangdog42
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,791
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 414Reputation: 414Reputation: 414Reputation: 414Reputation: 414
Maybe because there are times when you need to run Windows? I know you find this hard to believe, but Windows is major OS and there is software that really runs best on Windows. I run a Windows VM on my Linux machine for just such uses.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 12:21 PM   #4
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
I don't care if it is wrong to run windows in a VM in Linux, I already have plans to do just that, particularly:
  • Windows3.1
  • Windows95
  • Windows98
  • Windows98 SE
  • WindowsNT 4.0 Workstation
  • Windows2000 Pro

Got a problem with that Kenny?

Last edited by Jeebizz; 01-09-2011 at 12:24 PM.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 12:34 PM   #5
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
Well, in that case you're running an Abandonware version of Windows, which is even worse than a more up-to-date version.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 12:40 PM   #6
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
If you say so... I have games and other programs that just don't run in more up to date versions of windows, and its not like I will allow Internet access from these VMs.

Besides, games also fit in the category of abandonware and as far as I'm concerned the best PC games were on old school windows and DOS.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 12:47 PM   #7
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeebizz View Post
If you say so... I have games and other programs that just don't run in more up to date versions of windows, and its not like I will allow Internet access from these VMs.

Besides, games also fit in the category of abandonware and as far as I'm concerned the best PC games were on old school windows and DOS.
Yes, but the only way to obtain those versions of Windows is to do so illegally. If you're that desperate, why not just run ReactOS in a VM? Older games and other apps would probably work on it just as easily.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 12:50 PM   #8
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
Because ReactOS tries to emulate the NT Kernel, and games that I have don't work well even in the REAL NT environment. I would rather just go with the real WindowsNT since the progress on ReactOS is as fast as the progress on Haiku, which is a crawl.

Besides I like to keep my options open if DosBOX or ScummVM cannot correctly run my old games, I will just turn to a VM of an actual old Windows environment.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 12:53 PM   #9
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
Then what about FreeDOS? If your games are that old can't you run them on it?
 
Old 01-09-2011, 12:54 PM   #10
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
DosBOX runs my games better than FreeDOS, but I do also have some games that require DirectX, and well that means Windows, so...
 
Old 01-09-2011, 01:00 PM   #11
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
Well then can't you use WineD3D or something?
 
Old 01-09-2011, 01:04 PM   #12
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
Well why should I? If I choose to just go ahead and run a Windows VM that is my decision. If I have these versions already at my disposal, why not? I don't care if it is still 'proprietary-abandonware'. It is for my own personal use.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 01:15 PM   #13
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
Yes, but you would have to download an illegal copy of it as there are no legal copies in circulation. Which means that you would also run into older versions of Windows Genuine Advantage… and the rest is history.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 01:18 PM   #14
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
I happen to have legit versions of 3.1/95/98/98SE/NT/2000, as well as XP and besides, WGA (Windows Genuine Advantage) only applies to Windows XP and beyond.

Last edited by Jeebizz; 01-09-2011 at 01:20 PM.
 
Old 01-09-2011, 01:21 PM   #15
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
Okay, well if you already have them then you're good to go.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Install Oracle 11gR2 on SL6 KVM at KVM-QEMU Instance on SL 6 (alpha 3) LXer Syndicated Linux News 2 01-01-2011 07:42 AM
LXer: KVM & Virtio (disk/nic) on Scientific Linux 6 (alpha 3) LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 12-29-2010 04:10 PM
On qemu-kvm, qemu-ifup script not found on Slackware 13 AndrewGaven Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 14 01-29-2010 04:36 AM
Loading kvm-intel module for qemu-kvm 0.11.0 alkos333 Slackware 6 11-13-2009 11:01 PM
LXer: Using kvm, or kqemu, to speed up qemu LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-25-2007 02:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration