LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Suse/Novell (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/suse-novell-60/)
-   -   OpenSUSE 11.2 Review (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/suse-novell-60/opensuse-11-2-review-768893/)

sinbsd 11-13-2009 07:38 AM

OpenSUSE 11.2 Review
 
Linux Critic has a good OpenSUSE 11.2 Review for those of you who may be looking for one. Covers the KDE and GNOME desktops.

ronlau9 11-13-2009 09:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sinbsd (Post 3755476)
Linux Critic has a good OpenSUSE 11.2 Review for those of you who may be looking for one. Covers the KDE and GNOME desktops.

well it is only one revieuw
I did install opensuse 11.2. to day .
Never had so much problems with opensuse .
First I try to upgrade .
For one reason or the other she refused to upgrade from opensuse 11.1
First try of install failed .
I like to install her on sda2 and sda 3 on sda4 was UBUNTU 9.10 which
she do not recognize .
Than she told me that I am using raid6 what ever that means.
Because I do not use a raid configuration.
A UBUNTU 9.10 was fresh install and I not done anything with I yet decide to give opensuse sda2 sda3 sda4
It seems to work now but no sound at all
Why because it says that have a totall different MOBO than I really have ,and my sound chip is on the MOBO
I write this down maybe it is use full for somebody else

jefro 11-13-2009 05:54 PM

A quick liveusbcreator test failed but I didn't get time to find out why.

taj 11-14-2009 12:54 PM

tried two different times and two different disc, both of which were reported by system to be good, neither one would allow install, would fail just before final upload, tried to run repair but kept saying kernel no good and several packages not installed and ext 4 no good, and would not repair.....now I know why I like ubuntu

~sHyLoCk~ 11-14-2009 01:15 PM

You're doing it wrong.

raysr 11-16-2009 02:45 PM

I installed 11.2 DVD last night and haven't had much difficulty at all. The one thing I'm struggling with now is how to get the wallpaper all the way to the edge of the screen.

Fred Caro 11-22-2009 11:35 PM

doing it wrong?
 
Short answer please! Suse 11.2 is fine as long as you don't want an update via Yast. It will not let me register (perhaps website overload) but worrying if you are concerned about vulnerabilities.

fred.

slackass 11-23-2009 12:37 AM

I messed around with 11.2 tonight and never did get VirtualBox working. Updater wont work. System takes about a minute or so to react to the kde “leave” button and then it go's to the “log in screen”??
I hosed it and will try it again next release.

~sHyLoCk~ 11-23-2009 12:38 AM

Registration is only for paid customers who bought Boxed Version.

~sHyLoCk~ 11-23-2009 12:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slackass (Post 3766325)
I messed around with 11.2 tonight and never did get VirtualBox working. Updater wont work. System takes about a minute or so to react to the kde “leave” button and then it go's to the “log in screen”??
I hosed it and will try it again next release.

My System is working pretty fast. Shutdown/reboot even suspend to disk works pretty fast and smooth. Overall responsiveness of the system has also majorly improved since the last release. This version is quite stable.

salasi 11-23-2009 08:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sinbsd (Post 3755476)
Linux Critic has a good OpenSUSE 11.2 Review for those of you who may be looking for one. Covers the KDE and GNOME desktops.

Well, you would say that... It does have a reasonable selection of screenshots, but when you strip out the screenshots and comments about appearance, there isn't really much of a review there.

Yeah, sure, if all you want to know is how it looks, you'll probably be over the moon with this (although it doesn't cover other desktops and it probably doesn't cover how you would set up openSUSE once you get it installed, so whether that helps all that much is another matter), but if you want information that goes beyond that, such as what versions of software they use, to what extent the GUIs are integrated with the rest of the system, what filesystems are the defaults, what other filesystems are supported, how well upgrade works, whether it works well on odd hardware, how extensive are the repositories, how much 'release-day patching' you'll have to do...well, you'll have to look elsewhere.

slackass 11-23-2009 09:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ~sHyLoCk~ (Post 3766331)
My System is working pretty fast. Shutdown/reboot even suspend to disk works pretty fast and smooth. Overall responsiveness of the system has also majorly improved since the last release. This version is quite stable.

My system ain't no slouch ether. I was using the _64 version. I hosed it last night and will try a re-install tonight. Perhaps there was something wrong with my installation and I must admit that I did become frustrated with yast.

~sHyLoCk~ 11-23-2009 10:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slackass (Post 3766744)
My system ain't no slouch ether. I was using the _64 version. I hosed it last night and will try a re-install tonight. Perhaps there was something wrong with my installation and I must admit that I did become frustrated with yast.

Use zypper for package maintenance.

YasT is quite nice for everything else, like kernel module loading, changing boot sequence,various system configuration, etc.

slackass 11-23-2009 11:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ~sHyLoCk~ (Post 3766753)
Use zypper for package maintenance.

Thanks! I'll do that.

slackass 11-29-2009 12:10 PM

Well, I did another install of 11.2 _64, but I went to the Suse web site first and did a little reading. Perhaps I should have did this before bitching about my first attempt at 11.2. I see nothing wrong with this distro and as a matter of fact I can say I'm pretty impressed. It's much better than 10.2 which is what my last Suse distro was.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.