LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2009, 12:05 AM   #1
Tirith
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Trouble installing slack12.2 on a Lenovo t400 to a drive in the ultrabay


I am having so much trouble with this...

I'm working with a t400, and using the hdd in the ultrabay and not wanting to touch the main hdd.


The idea is to Install slackware to the Ultrabay drive, which should be simple...

However I can't boot from DVD, so I partitioned out like this:

a 500gb seagate

sdb1 Linux [~250gb]
sdb2 Linux swap [8gb]
sdb3 fat32(win95) [8gb]
rest is free space



Using the image in the /usb-and-pxe-installers folder I made a usb boot key, then copyed the whole dvd to sdb3

key boots just fine, no screaming errors, ect.

1. cfdisk worked to make the parts,
2. launch setup
3. format sdb1 (ex3) and sdb2 for their roles,
4. pick the target (sdb1).
5. choose source (sdb3)
6. I choose packages(all but extra langs, however just min install also fails)

7. select install type, menu, newbie, ect does not matter which I choose the results are the same
8. Install starts then 2-10sec later it stops and tells me that install and config are complete and that I can restart with crt-alt-del

- using alt-f4 there is nothing listed here other than mounting for the target, and if I did a format, the formatting log is printed

- rebooting and picking the seagate drive from the device list too boot from hands with a _ on the second or 3rd line of the screen and I have to hold the power button got shutdown. booting internal drive goes right to win. and booting off the key, I can't see that anything has been done to sdb1 other than a format.

I'm kinda new to linux, I know just enough to break stuff really badly however I have installed slack and gotten a few desktop mtg running in VMware with 0 issues(outside of the normal issues you have with vms)

Other things I have tried would be to have the slack dvd copyed to a usb key and then booting with 2 keys in, one for the boot disk the other for the source info, installer still finds the needed files however install still never completes.

I really don't want to touch the internal hdd right now, and I just want to work linux of the ultrabay drive.

I have redownloaded the dvd from dif mirrors, just to make sure thats not the issue. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if its my hardware; from what I can tell the ultrabay drive is a normal SATA drive when connected to the laptop.
 
Old 03-08-2009, 11:39 PM   #2
Drakeo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: Urbana IL
Distribution: Slackware, Slacko,
Posts: 2,658
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
the problem is you just copied the iso image but slackware needs to have more than the image unless it is mounted in a loop why the install scripts look for /slackware/slackware/ just like the disk. is read on a cd but if you just have the image not the slackware files and folders in the your device /slackware/slackware. So right now the scripst see the image ? but no folders and files say we are done and asks to put lilo on the mbr.
now if you are using a key you need tell slackware where the slackware.12.2 is.
last but not least just do a full install it will not put extra languages on it. unless you add them. default is english.
 
Old 03-09-2009, 02:03 AM   #3
Tirith
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
ah! thank you!

That worked!!

what kept throwing me of was when I had no source cd/dvd/hdd/usb in the laptop it only show "base Slackware install" and listed no packages, after inserting a key with the source, it found all the packages. but then failed to install then. So I figured hey it just "knows" where they are, which it does if they are in the right place. Simply feeding the installer /slackware fix it and now its quiet enthusiastically installing slack
 
  


Reply

Tags
t400


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble inserting wireless modules mac80211 and iwl4965 after rewriting MBR, slack12 thethinker Slackware 1 01-01-2009 03:53 PM
Boot problems after installing Slack12 on Lenovo T61 laptop wcuff Slackware 8 09-12-2008 04:53 PM
acpi - partially working on a Lenovo 3000 N200 with Slack12.0 bogzab Slackware 2 04-01-2008 05:11 PM
Parallel Port CD drive and Slack12 LizG Slackware - Installation 6 10-21-2007 10:08 AM
Parallel Port CD drive and Slack12 LizG Slackware - Installation 2 10-20-2007 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration