LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 12-24-2014, 02:21 PM   #151
_gin
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2012
Distribution: Oracle Linux
Posts: 106

Rep: Reputation: Disabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaditya View Post
With patched wicd-1.7.3 and urwid-1.3.0, wicd-curses seems to work here, but only partially..

wicd-curses showed up when executed, but the keyboard commands did not work, and when I pressed enter it started connecting, then crashed (it got connected as the wicd-gtk --tray icon turned green).

The crashes seem reproducible here, whenever I press enter it connects/disconnects, but crashes.

Here is the output:
Code:
$ wicd-curses 
ERROR:dbus.connection:Exception in handler for D-Bus signal:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/dbus/connection.py", line 230, in maybe_handle_message
    self._handler(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 97, in wrapper
    return func(*args, **kargs)
  File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 850, in update_netlist
    self.wiredCB.get_body().set_list(wiredL)
  File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 469, in set_list
    wired.ReadWiredNetworkProfile(self.get_selected_profile())
  File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 535, in get_selected_profile
    return self.theList[loc]
IndexError: list index out of range
On my machine, the program does not stop cleanly when It's been compiled with urwid-1.1.2, urwid-1.2.2, urwid-1.3.0, I get that kind of error.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-24-2014, 02:39 PM   #152
aaditya
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Location: India
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 272
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by _gin View Post
On my machine, the program does not stop cleanly when It's been compiled with urwid-1.1.2, urwid-1.2.2, urwid-1.3.0, I get that kind of error.
I think this error could be because of the patch applied to it (wicd-curses), without the patch it did not start for me (with urwid-1.3.0).

Code:
diff --git a/curses/wicd-curses.py b/curses/wicd-curses.py
index 641aa52..603609b 100755
--- a/curses/wicd-curses.py
+++ b/curses/wicd-curses.py
@@ -927,9 +927,10 @@ class appGUI():
         if not ui._started:
             return False
 
-        input_data = ui.get_input_nonblocking()
+        ui.set_input_timeouts(max_wait=0)
+        input_data = ui.get_input()
         # Resolve any "alarms" in the waiting
-        self.handle_keys(input_data[1])
+        self.handle_keys(input_data)
 
         # Update the screen
         canvas = self.frame.render( (self.size),True )
 
Old 12-25-2014, 03:42 AM   #153
ppr:kut
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 631

Rep: Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworkman View Post
I think pprkut has that one.
Indeed I do. To extend rworkman's list, here's what I currently have in my queue:

Code:
boost
exiv2
fftw
flac
gc
icu4c
ilmbase
jemalloc
judy
libao
libcdio
libcdio-paranoia
libdiscid
libdvdread
liblastfm
libogg
libraw1394
libvncserver
libvorbis
llvm
mariadb
net-snmp
openexr
pcre
php
python-setuptools
wavpack
xine-ui
xsane
yasm
I also have updates for giflib, libwpd and xine (1.2) under testing, but they need some more time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaperX7 View Post
Does Slackware use anything other than Clang from the LLVM project?
My 3.5 update adds clang-tools-extra and compiler-rt. I had a look at lldb as well, but the fact that it's not really supported on 32bit linux yet made me wait a bit longer.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-25-2014, 03:45 AM   #154
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 4,661

Rep: Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784Reputation: 1784
Is python-setuptools is the same as pysetuptools in SBo?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-25-2014, 03:52 AM   #155
ppr:kut
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 631

Rep: Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by willysr View Post
Is python-setuptools is the same as pysetuptools in SBo?
Yes. I changed the name to match what other distros are calling it.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-25-2014, 03:59 AM   #156
_gin
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2012
Distribution: Oracle Linux
Posts: 106

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppr:kut View Post
I also have updates for...xine (1.2) under testing...
Hi ppr:kut,

Out of curiosity, did you link xine-1.2.x with ffmpeg or libav, shared or static linking?
 
Old 12-25-2014, 04:03 AM   #157
ppr:kut
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 631

Rep: Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463Reputation: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by _gin View Post
Hi ppr:kut,

Out of curiosity, did you link xine-1.2.x with ffmpeg or libav, shared or static linking?
ffmpeg, statically linked
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-25-2014, 04:37 PM   #158
sbolokanov
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2013
Location: Бдинъ, Бѫлгариѧ
Distribution: GNU/Linux
Posts: 104

Rep: Reputation: 27
binutils 2.25 - http://ftp.gnu.org/gnu/binutils/?C=M;O=D
 
Old 12-25-2014, 07:16 PM   #159
ryanpcmcquen
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2013
Distribution: DistroWanderer
Posts: 381

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaditya View Post
I think this error could be because of the patch applied to it (wicd-curses), without the patch it did not start for me (with urwid-1.3.0).

Code:
diff --git a/curses/wicd-curses.py b/curses/wicd-curses.py
index 641aa52..603609b 100755
--- a/curses/wicd-curses.py
+++ b/curses/wicd-curses.py
@@ -927,9 +927,10 @@ class appGUI():
         if not ui._started:
             return False
 
-        input_data = ui.get_input_nonblocking()
+        ui.set_input_timeouts(max_wait=0)
+        input_data = ui.get_input()
         # Resolve any "alarms" in the waiting
-        self.handle_keys(input_data[1])
+        self.handle_keys(input_data)
 
         # Update the screen
         canvas = self.frame.render( (self.size),True )
Should we report upstream?
 
Old 12-25-2014, 07:28 PM   #160
ryanpcmcquen
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2013
Distribution: DistroWanderer
Posts: 381

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
For wicd/urwid, we may be able to get something out of this:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=894646

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/attachme...81&action=diff
 
Old 12-25-2014, 09:33 PM   #161
rworkman
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama (USA)
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 2,559

Rep: Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351
Quote:
Originally Posted by heiser891 View Post
Try that once and you'll see that it's a clusterheadache. I'm leaving that one for volkerdi :-)
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-25-2014, 10:15 PM   #162
rworkman
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama (USA)
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 2,559

Rep: Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351Reputation: 1351
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanpcmcquen View Post
I just pushed an update to the wicd directory linked earlier and included a couple of those patches, but I think the proper thing to do for now is leave urwid at 1.0.2 since everything works with it. I'm leaving the fix for urwid-1.3.0 in the build directory but commented out the line to apply it. Feel free to play around with it (and more importantly, someone should report a bug upstream), but until/unless things change, we'll keep urwid 1.0.2 for wicd.
 
Old 12-26-2014, 12:50 AM   #163
ryanpcmcquen
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2013
Distribution: DistroWanderer
Posts: 381

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworkman View Post
I just pushed an update to the wicd directory linked earlier and included a couple of those patches, but I think the proper thing to do for now is leave urwid at 1.0.2 since everything works with it. I'm leaving the fix for urwid-1.3.0 in the build directory but commented out the line to apply it. Feel free to play around with it (and more importantly, someone should report a bug upstream), but until/unless things change, we'll keep urwid 1.0.2 for wicd.
Thanks Robby. There is also urwid 1.0.3 that was released on github only, but in my testing it has the same issue as 1.3.0.
 
Old 12-26-2014, 05:16 AM   #164
sbolokanov
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2013
Location: Бдинъ, Бѫлгариѧ
Distribution: GNU/Linux
Posts: 104

Rep: Reputation: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworkman View Post
Try that once and you'll see that it's a clusterheadache. I'm leaving that one for volkerdi :-)
fair enough, just wanted to point out that there is a fresh update.
 
Old 12-26-2014, 10:55 AM   #165
aaditya
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Location: India
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 272
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworkman View Post
I just pushed an update to the wicd directory linked earlier and included a couple of those patches, but I think the proper thing to do for now is leave urwid at 1.0.2 since everything works with it. I'm leaving the fix for urwid-1.3.0 in the build directory but commented out the line to apply it. Feel free to play around with it (and more importantly, someone should report a bug upstream), but until/unless things change, we'll keep urwid 1.0.2 for wicd.
I think thats the simpler option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanpcmcquen View Post
Should we report upstream?
I dont use wicd-curses much, but there is an upstream report I found:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/wicd/+bug/1075399

I added a comment there.
 
  


Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slackpkg updated from current rotke Slackware 2 11-05-2012 01:30 PM
[SOLVED] when will -current be updated? danielldaniell Slackware 5 09-05-2009 10:15 AM
Updated Xorg now in -current chess Slackware 55 07-02-2009 07:39 PM
thread title not updated when edited nadroj LQ Suggestions & Feedback 12 12-15-2005 04:34 PM
UPDATED B3D Thread maximalred Linux - Software 0 12-20-2003 11:18 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration