LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2006, 06:47 PM   #796
rkelsen
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 1,805

Rep: Reputation: 231Reputation: 231Reputation: 231

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklin
None of the 2.6 kernels for slackware have these filesystems compiled into the kernel.
The "huge26.s" kernel has support for almost every filesystem built in. At 3.1Mb, it isn't really all that big when compared to a BSD kernel. It can be found under the "/kernels" directory of Slackware-current.
 
Old 08-26-2006, 09:18 PM   #797
Franklin
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Slackware, WinXP, Windows 7
Posts: 1,253

Rep: Reputation: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkelsen
The "huge26.s" kernel has support for almost every filesystem built in. At 3.1Mb, it isn't really all that big when compared to a BSD kernel. It can be found under the "/kernels" directory of Slackware-current.
I know that, I just never bother with it because I always install what's in /testing (now /extra) and make an initrd so I didn't think of it immediately. I realized I was not quite right as I clicked the post button, but since he was complaining slightly that he needed to install the modules seperately with huge26.s I let it be. Pick you poison
 
Old 08-26-2006, 10:45 PM   #798
gmartin
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: PA
Distribution: Slackware 13.37 Linux Reg # 341245
Posts: 285

Rep: Reputation: 40
Converting -current

I have a new core duo system awaiting 11.0. I installed 10.2 and went current a couple weeks back. Since then I've been maintaining a -current directory rsync'd with one of the mirrors, although I've not applied all the changes.

When 11 comes out I'd like to do the following
- build fresh to 11.0
- install the 2.6.x huge kernel (need sata, reiser, highmem4g and smp support)

So the question is, when Pat goes final - I assume -current will become -11.0. How do I get the final changes in to my -current replica once the name changes? Will Pat actually copy current to 11.0 so that -current will be a copy of 11.0 (at least til his first changes get posted?)

Thanks
 
Old 08-27-2006, 01:14 AM   #799
rkelsen
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 1,805

Rep: Reputation: 231Reputation: 231Reputation: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmartin
How do I get the final changes in to my -current replica once the name changes?
# mv slackware-current slackware-11.0

Then, rsync that (and change the path in your rsync command to slackware-11.0).
 
Old 08-27-2006, 02:05 AM   #800
jp-lack
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: NJ - US
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 93

Rep: Reputation: 15
I just upgraded to current and everything looks great but dhcpcd

I have one NIC and one wireless card (built in) so when slackware is loading it will try to set the networking using dhcpcd, the problem is that it will try to set the network for BOTH devices -- I use wireless at home and sometimes the NIC at the office --

when I'm home it takes like 120 secs to realized that eth0 wont work and then starts with eth1 (which takes < 10 secs). I did not have this problem with the previous verions and its kinda anoying.
 
Old 08-27-2006, 02:43 AM   #801
nykey
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Tg-Jiu, Romania
Distribution: OpenSUSE 11.1 / echo "Windows XP" > Trash
Posts: 360

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowtigger
hello all,
I'm not to sure where to ask this.

I decided to have a look at the 2.6.17.11 kernel and it doesn't have reiserfs or ext3 in the kernel, only as a module. What is the chances of getting this changed.

I can assure you that huge26.s (2.6.17.11 kernel) has reiserfs support built-in. You made the mistake I made too at first and you installed kernel-generic from /extra dir. The kernel-generic indeed, does not have reiserfs built-in and you need an initrd to boot it. So if you just install huge26.s and then go to /extra dir and only install from there kernel-modules and kernel-source you will be more than okay. As for someone who said they should be moved in the /a directory... not such a good ideea because first of all, you see 2.4.33 is the default kernel and if I choose it and then choose the Full (noob) install ? It will install both 2.4.x and 2.6.x kernels which in the end the last one ( the 2.6.x kernel ) will overwrite the symlinks to my 2.4.x kernel that I actually wanted to have it installed on my system. There is a way, if you are sure you're only gonna use the 2.6.x kernels, and that's how I do it, is to modify your Slack installation, delete the 2.4.x kernel-ide and kernel-modules from a/ dir and copy instead the 2.6.x kernel-modules ( DO NOT copy the kernel-generic too if you don't want to use initrd ) then delete the 2.4.x kernel-source from the k/ dir and copy instead the 2.6.x kernel-source, leave the kernel-headers untouched (unless you need 2.6.x headers for a special reason which you are sure about), rebuild the iso again, burn it and you're on. With this ocassion you can even remove unwanted packages from your CD('s) and at install you can just select the Full option with no worry as it will install only what you want anyway and by removing unwanted packages you have the chance of burning only 1 CD with everything you need. For those who don't know, check this out http://www.linuxquestions.org/linux/...ome_Slack_CUSS
 
Old 08-27-2006, 06:42 AM   #802
Old_Fogie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: SLACKWARE 4TW! =D
Posts: 1,515

Rep: Reputation: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp-lack
I just upgraded to current and everything looks great but dhcpcd

I have one NIC and one wireless card (built in) so when slackware is loading it will try to set the networking using dhcpcd, the problem is that it will try to set the network for BOTH devices -- I use wireless at home and sometimes the NIC at the office --

when I'm home it takes like 120 secs to realized that eth0 wont work and then starts with eth1 (which takes < 10 secs). I did not have this problem with the previous verions and its kinda anoying.
in slack 10.2 i changed one of the scripts to reduce the wait time, tho i cannot for the life of me find where it is. that long wait time can be reduced, maybe one of the guys here knows.
 
Old 08-27-2006, 09:59 AM   #803
Zmyrgel
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Finland
Distribution: Slackware, CentOS, RHEL, OpenBSD
Posts: 1,006

Rep: Reputation: 36
Slackware's dhcpcd settings are in /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf

Not sure on how to add the timeout option, though.
In Gentoo it's something like 'DHCPCD_ETH0="-t 5"' to wait 5 sec before timeout.
 
Old 08-27-2006, 04:33 PM   #804
Daga
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: A comfy chair...
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 110

Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Fogie
in slack 10.2 i changed one of the scripts to reduce the wait time, tho i cannot for the life of me find where it is. that long wait time can be reduced, maybe one of the guys here knows.
Open up /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 and do a search for dhcpcd. It's the number right after '-t'. The default for Slamd64 (what I'm running now) is 10 seconds.
 
Old 08-27-2006, 11:55 PM   #805
win32sux
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,870

Rep: Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371
many changes hit -current today, and i think this one sounds really great:
Quote:
x/fontconfig-2.2.3-i486-2.tgz: Patched /etc/fonts.conf to favor the DejaVu
fonts over the Vera ones if they are present on the machine. US English
users should notice only minor (if any) differences with this patch,
but other users could see their language displayed properly out-of-the box
for the first time. :-)
international font support (and fonts in general) was one of the many reasons i switched my desktop to ubuntu... if this change does what it sounds like it does, then i am sure there's gonna be many people who will be extremely happy...
 
Old 08-28-2006, 03:50 AM   #806
Zmyrgel
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Finland
Distribution: Slackware, CentOS, RHEL, OpenBSD
Posts: 1,006

Rep: Reputation: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by win32sux
many changes hit -current today, and i think this one sounds really great:international font support (and fonts in general) was one of the many reasons i switched my desktop to ubuntu... if this change does what it sounds like it does, then i am sure there's gonna be many people who will be extremely happy...
Atleast I will be very pleased with this change I've been tinkering with the fonts all the time to make them appear somewhat pleasing to the eye.

If I could just get the nemonico to work...
 
Old 08-29-2006, 11:00 AM   #807
erickFis
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Brasil
Distribution: Slackware 13.1_64 Gold Edition
Posts: 205

Rep: Reputation: 32
Today Pat wrote a new changelog in his changeblog (as himself is calling it), and I am afraid with the news:

it seens to be a bug or issue in xorg packages related to ati video cards.

And I've just bougth a ati video card.....

Do you have any thoughs about?
 
Old 08-29-2006, 11:02 AM   #808
raska
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Aguascalientes, AGS. Mexico.
Distribution: Slackware 13.0 kernel 2.6.29.6
Posts: 816

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickFis
...And I've just bougth a ati video card.....
Do you have any thoughs about?
Not any nice one dude.
I stepped away from ATi long ago.
 
Old 08-29-2006, 11:22 AM   #809
dive
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 3,211

Rep: Reputation: 293Reputation: 293Reputation: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickFis
And I've just bougth a ati video card.....
I've been an nvidia man for years and from what I read on these forums from the problems people have with ATI, nvidia is the best way for linux.
 
Old 08-29-2006, 11:29 AM   #810
nykey
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Tg-Jiu, Romania
Distribution: OpenSUSE 11.1 / echo "Windows XP" > Trash
Posts: 360

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by dive
I've been an nvidia man for years and from what I read on these forums from the problems people have with ATI, nvidia is the best way for linux.
Not just for linux, for everything I choose Nvidia, it just never made me problems... and as they say
Code:
the way it's meant to be
 
  


Closed Thread

Tags
advice, chat, far, general, upgrade


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slack 10.2 slack 10.2 ran xserver after all on sata with via board devafree LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories 5 05-31-2006 12:54 AM
Frozen-Bubble(from slack 8.2) Not Running in slack 9 bongski55 Slackware 8 01-02-2006 05:10 PM
Slack 10.1 will a Slack 10 Wine pkg work? acummings Slackware 1 03-25-2005 05:55 AM
Using Slack 10's 2.6.7 kernel packages on Slack 10.1? SocialEngineer Slackware 1 03-05-2005 12:53 PM
cd rom error on installation media (With both slack 9,1 and slack 10) busbarn Slackware - Installation 6 07-15-2004 04:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration