LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2006, 02:05 PM   #766
sockmonkee
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: slackware 10.2
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: 0

here's hoping!
 
Old 08-24-2006, 03:51 PM   #767
aquaboogie90
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Location: California
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: 15
I hope Amarok will be upgraded to 1.4.2. According to the site, several bugs and things seem to have been fixed.
 
Old 08-24-2006, 07:47 PM   #768
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 2,548

Rep: Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422
i have asked Pat yesterday and he said Yes. Amarok will be upgraded, but not for libtunepimp as it will break Juk. Also for k3b, and libmusicbrainz
 
Old 08-24-2006, 08:24 PM   #769
Old_Fogie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: SLACKWARE 4TW! =D
Posts: 1,515

Rep: Reputation: 62
@aquaboogie90:

You know what, I just tried 1.4.2 here and I actually found it a little more buggy for me maybe it's the libtunepimp as willysr pointed out? I did notice that 1.4.2 compiled and 'make' really really fast this time wow!

I had to put ruby in to get it to compile, and that seemed to go ok. I wound up going back to version 1.4.1 again as it seems more stable for me.

The amarok is a real promising app, but I can't use it at all to be honest no matter what version. I'm probably doing something wrong here, but I cant get amarok to play my flac files and hear computer beeps or error messages, etc in KDE at the same time.

I really like the XMMS but no media library extension was tuff, but I found an add on to XMMS that puts a KDE-kicker that works really well to solve the 'no media library' part of xmms it's at http://xmms-kde.sourceforge.net/about.html
 
Old 08-24-2006, 08:36 PM   #770
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 2,548

Rep: Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422
probably yes. It makes compilation faster, but it causes a new bugs

I though Ruby is needed since 1.4.1 i think, since Pat had added ruby on it also when he added amarok 1.4.1 on the -current

Hey, you can also use web-based interface to control XMMS. I had used it a long time ago, but i forgot it's name. PhpXMMS or something like that.
 
Old 08-24-2006, 08:48 PM   #771
davidsrsb
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Distribution: Slackware 13.37 current
Posts: 770

Rep: Reputation: 33
Amarok is hardly a release blocker.
Stable kernel/udev/X11/kde are what matters
 
Old 08-24-2006, 08:51 PM   #772
masinick
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Location: Concord, NH
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 35
It'll be nice to see the latest release and give it a try.

Slackware was the VERY FIRST GNU/Linux distro I ever tried, WAY back in 1995. It was relatively easy to install back then, but device support wasn't even close to what it is today. On the other hand, that old software absolutely SMOKED on an old Micron P100 - a 100 Mhz Pentium with a 2.1 GB hard drive, a 2X CDrom reader and 16 MB of memory. Try to run much of anything on that kind of hardware today!

These days, I tend to prefer Debian GNU/Linux software, and I happen to be running the Debian Etch release right now. Debian still has one of the worst installers in the business. It is WAY too interactive, and the only way to shut it up is to provide a configuration file and do an unattended install. Otherwise, it prompts you for parameters before installing the packages, then once all the packages are installed, it prompts you over and over again to tell it how you want it to configure various packages. Once installed, though, it is terrific, the best overall combo available. You typically install Debian binary packages (.deb format) but you can also install Debian sources and build anything you want. Naturally, you can also use alien and install other kinds of packages, such as Slackware .tgz packages or Red Hat .rpm packages.

Slackware is one of the few distros that comes close to Debian in snappiness out of the box. I suppose you can get that by using a source compiled and optimized distro, but it just isn't worth the time and effort to me.

I'm not quite the Slackware fan I once was. I tend to mostly use the prepackaged Debian distros, like SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Kanotix, and Knoppix, but Slackware still holds a special spot in my heart, being my first distro experience on a PC. (Prior to that, I'd been using UNIX systems for the fifteen to twenty years before that). Today, I use Red Hat Enterprise Linux and Sun Solaris systems at work (the Solaris boxes are mostly on their way out the door, though). On the desk, I am forced to use Windows XP at work. At home, I use some flavor of Debian-based Linux about 95% of the time, and I test distros the other 5%. I hope to give this new, upcoming Slackware a nice test and perhaps ride it around the block for a while, just for good old times!
 
Old 08-25-2006, 02:27 AM   #773
curos
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 72

Rep: Reputation: 15
Let us rejoyce.

Wanted to wait until slack 11 came out before i said it, but couldn't hold it in that long.
 
Old 08-25-2006, 05:51 AM   #774
win32sux
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,870

Rep: Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371
well, RC3 is out...

looks like Pat figured-out why 2.4.33.1 wasn't booting...

the most interesting thing seems to be:
Quote:
After much thought and consultation with developers, it has been decided to
move 2.6.17.x out of /testing and into /extra. It runs stable by all reports,
has better wireless support, and is not going to be stale as soon. In
addition, HIGHMEM4G has been enabled. This caused no problems with my old
486 with 24MB (the one I use for compiling KDE ;-), and Tomas Matejicek has
enabled this in SLAX for a long time with no reports of problems, so I
believe it is a safe option (and is needed by many modern machines).
Thanks again to Andrea for building these kernels and packages. :-)

Last edited by win32sux; 08-25-2006 at 05:54 AM.
 
Old 08-25-2006, 06:05 AM   #775
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 2,548

Rep: Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422Reputation: 422
i was just about to post about that also
Slackware rocks
 
Old 08-25-2006, 10:21 AM   #776
Old_Fogie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: SLACKWARE 4TW! =D
Posts: 1,515

Rep: Reputation: 62
wow! Pat compiiles slackware on a 486 with 24MB!

I can only imagine how long it must take to compile stuff.

But better safe then sorry I say.
 
Old 08-25-2006, 10:57 AM   #777
Eternal_Newbie
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Location: The Pudding Isles
Distribution: Slackware 13.37
Posts: 573

Rep: Reputation: 58
I wonder when 11.1 will be ready
 
Old 08-25-2006, 11:00 AM   #778
Eternal_Newbie
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Location: The Pudding Isles
Distribution: Slackware 13.37
Posts: 573

Rep: Reputation: 58
But on a serious note I suppose compiling Slackware on a 486 is the only real way of making sure it works on one.

Weird -can't edit my posts in Opera 9.01

Edit: It was temporary glitch, restarted Opera and the edit button is back again.

Last edited by Eternal_Newbie; 08-25-2006 at 11:09 AM.
 
Old 08-25-2006, 04:10 PM   #779
Mr Marmmalade
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 181

Rep: Reputation: 16
Wow! Great stuff in the changelog. I shouldn't need to recompile anything with the 2.6.17.11 kernel as it will auto detect & use my SMP AthlonX2 & with HIGHMEM4G enabled it will handle my 2gb system! Excellent. No need to recompile for me then hopefully! It's not primarily lazyness on my part, it's just that I usually break something. I've also just ordered the Slack11DVD+Essentials bundle + donation, but who knows how long AirMail will take to reach Scotland! All the stuff about lm_sensors looks good too, so I may eventually get the desktop display with system stats. ...if I understood the changelog correctly.

Eternal_Newbie; I like your location 'The Pudding Isles'! I even Googled for it, I'd like it to be a real place.

Last edited by Mr Marmmalade; 08-26-2006 at 03:51 PM.
 
Old 08-25-2006, 05:28 PM   #780
win32sux
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,870

Rep: Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Fogie
wow! Pat compiiles slackware on a 486 with 24MB!

I can only imagine how long it must take to compile stuff.

But better safe then sorry I say.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eternal_Newbie
But on a serious note I suppose compiling Slackware on a 486 is the only real way of making sure it works on one.
guys, i'm pretty sure the compiling KDE on a 486 thing was a joke...

he probably just uses that 486 to test binaries...

on a side note, IIRC kernel 2.4.32 wouldn't boot on a 486 if compiled on a 486 (due to a bug)... so if that kernel was compiled on patrick's 486, then nobody would have been able to boot -current on 486s during the many months -current was on 2.4.32...

Last edited by win32sux; 08-25-2006 at 09:09 PM.
 
  


Closed Thread

Tags
advice, chat, far, general, upgrade


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slack 10.2 slack 10.2 ran xserver after all on sata with via board devafree LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories 5 05-30-2006 11:54 PM
Frozen-Bubble(from slack 8.2) Not Running in slack 9 bongski55 Slackware 8 01-02-2006 04:10 PM
Slack 10.1 will a Slack 10 Wine pkg work? acummings Slackware 1 03-25-2005 04:55 AM
Using Slack 10's 2.6.7 kernel packages on Slack 10.1? SocialEngineer Slackware 1 03-05-2005 11:53 AM
cd rom error on installation media (With both slack 9,1 and slack 10) busbarn Slackware - Installation 6 07-15-2004 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration