LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2006, 08:58 PM   #211
win32sux
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,870

Rep: Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371Reputation: 371

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidsrsb
A full shift to the 2.6 kernel is going to affect a lot of packages.
One day Pat is going to have to bite the bullet.
I think that there will be so few developers using and interested in 2.4.33 that 2.4.34 never happens and it becomes a relic.
Look at 2.2.26 - last updated over two years ago
i agree with you... but the shift is very unlikely to happen for 11.0 IMHO, which is precisely what a lot of people have speculated on this thread...

i believe 11.0 will ship with 2.4.32, or perhaps patrick will wait for 2.4.33, as it's already in -rc2 status (at the time of this post)... i think he should wait for 2.4.33, considering how riddled with bugs 2.4.32 is, but who knows...

Last edited by win32sux; 06-29-2006 at 09:01 PM.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 06:46 AM   #212
erickFis
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Brasil
Distribution: Slackware 13.1_64 Gold Edition
Posts: 205

Rep: Reputation: 32
Maybe Pat is waiting to compete with Vista

just a joke...

like some people have already said in this thread,
slackware 10.2 didn't worked for me, and I just canīt
understand why...
In my last try it was wine that didn't worked,
and since I need it for playing my diablo (I'm a addict),
I gave up...
I remember that the changelog they said that it was a x.org package problem, and it was being fixed in a new package release, it didn't worked...

Another big problem in 10.2 for me is that there is no gnome. Ok, I'm a kde fan and user, but there is some programs that you can't live without!
(gimp, gthumb, grip, gcalc, ...)

I'm a slack user & fan since slack 9. Then moved to 10 and then to 10.1. Since then I live in the cvs way for all my programs and kernel, but for the system packages I'd rather be more carefull.

Every day I go to slackware.com to see if there is any "Slackware 11 released", and when it comes I'll try it, for sure, but thinking about gnome and wine bothers me...
 
Old 06-30-2006, 10:13 AM   #213
hitest
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Rupert, B.C., Canada
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD
Posts: 4,163

Rep: Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by erickFis

Another big problem in 10.2 for me is that there is no gnome. Ok, I'm a kde fan and user, but there is some programs that you can't live without!
(gimp, gthumb, grip, gcalc, ...)
There are a few very good Slackware versions of Gnome. I've run Freerock and it was very good. Now I'm running Dropline Gnome on my Slackware 10.2 box. I highly recommend Dropline.
I love the fact that I can easily use Java in Fire Fox 1.5.0.4 to access my company data base.
Heh, I had to use apt-get in Ubuntu to get Java. Java works out of the box when you install Dropline.
Dropline is highly polished, mature.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 11:01 AM   #214
ithaycu
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Slackware 10.2
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixfool
Yeah, Slackware and Slamd64 are two separate distros.

On that note (I don't mean to hijack), I wonder when Pat is going to address an official 64-bit version of Slackware. He can put it off only so long, IMO. Right now, 64-bit share isn't as prevalent as 32-bit but it's moving pretty quickly. Sooner or later, people are going to be wanting a 64-bit version of Slackware from Pat. I wonder if, once Slamd64 gets more polished, Pat and Fred will talk and maybe a merge will take place.

Just musing.

Can anyone recommend a good 64 Bit distro?

Cheers,
Ithaycu
 
Old 06-30-2006, 12:33 PM   #215
Old_Fogie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: SLACKWARE 4TW! =D
Posts: 1,515

Rep: Reputation: 62
@hitest

I have a huge problem with java not working at all in KDE/firefox/slack10.2

do you mean to tell me that putting in gnome the java works? really? OMG if that is true I guess I have to consider putting it in.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 12:59 PM   #216
h4kteur
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
delete please

Last edited by h4kteur; 06-30-2006 at 01:01 PM.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 01:01 PM   #217
h4kteur
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Fogie
@hitest

I have a huge problem with java not working at all in KDE/firefox/slack10.2

do you mean to tell me that putting in gnome the java works? really? OMG if that is true I guess I have to consider putting it in.
Java has nothing to do with gnome, if it didn't worki without gnome it won't work with gnome. But I don't know why java don't work for you. Have you installed jre-1_5_0_04-i586-2.tgz from the l directory of slackware ?

sorry for bad english.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 01:01 PM   #218
zborgerd
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware / Dropline GNOME
Posts: 378

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Fogie
@hitest

I have a huge problem with java not working at all in KDE/firefox/slack10.2

do you mean to tell me that putting in gnome the java works? really? OMG if that is true I guess I have to consider putting it in.
It's probably mostly an issue in regards to the plugin symlink within the Firefox plugins directory. It utilizes the existing Java plugin from Slackware's Java jre-1_5_0_04-i586-2.tgz package.

With Dropline, we have a custom Firefox build that sets a symlink to the Java plugin during its installation phase. It probably should work with Slackware's stock Firefox package as well. We tend to keep Firefox plugins in a constant, non-versioned location though on Dropline systems.

If you have jre-1_5_0_04-i586-2.tgz installed, just make sure that your java plugin is symlinked from within the Firefox plugins directory. E.g...

Quote:
zborgerd@escudo:/usr/lib/firefox/plugins$ ls -l libjavaplugin_oji.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 50 2005-09-11 00:02 libjavaplugin_oji.so -> /usr/lib/java/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so
Slackware's Firefox build is patched to look in the existing Mozilla directory (/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/) for plugins as well. So, you could probably just use that as a centralized plugin location if you prefer to use both browsers.

Last edited by zborgerd; 06-30-2006 at 01:05 PM.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 01:01 PM   #219
drumz
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 188

Rep: Reputation: 33
Java works for me. Just make sure you have a symlink in /usr/lib/firefox/plugins to /usr/lib/jre{insert_version}/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so. Verify it works by checking about:plugins in Firefox.

Last edited by drumz; 06-30-2006 at 01:03 PM.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 04:50 PM   #220
kd5pbo
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithaycu
Can anyone recommend a good 64 Bit distro?

Cheers,
Ithaycu

SuSE is supposed to be very good on 64 bit architectures. I stopped using it a while back (32bit), but my problems were mostly of a newbie nature. If you use slackware you should be able to get around these with no problem.

On the surface, SuSE is more or less like Mandriva and Redhat (both of which have 64bit builds, I believe), in that there's lots of included scripts and such and pre-ordained everything. It does not have Mandriva's infuriating wizards, though. It does have a nice gui which spits out scripts and modifies files and whatnot (yast2).

If you're really adventurous, you could try LFS or the like.

You could also start with the 32bit version of slackware, and go through and starting with the kernel, recompile everything, still using the stock scripts.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 05:57 PM   #221
hitest
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Rupert, B.C., Canada
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD
Posts: 4,163

Rep: Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Fogie
@hitest

I have a huge problem with java not working at all in KDE/firefox/slack10.2

do you mean to tell me that putting in gnome the java works? really? OMG if that is true I guess I have to consider putting it in.
Yep! Java just works for me now! I had issues with my old Slackware 10.2 box and decided to do a clean install of 10.2. I read great things here about Dropline Gnome and decided to give it a try. Installed Dropline last night and then tried logging onto a website that needs Sun Java and it just worked. Life is good:-)
 
Old 06-30-2006, 06:59 PM   #222
drlouis
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Ne
Distribution: slackware 12 on Dell XPS m1710
Posts: 90

Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by erickFis
Another big problem in 10.2 for me is that there is no gnome. Ok, I'm a kde fan and user, but there is some programs that you can't live without!
(gimp, gthumb, grip, gcalc, ...)
I dont know about any of the others you mention, but I run Slack 10.2 with KDE and use GIMP every day - it was right on the CD. I'd venture to bet that the others are also easy to install and run in KDE.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 06:59 PM   #223
cwwilson721
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: In my house.
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10 64bit, Slackware 13.1 64-bit
Posts: 2,649
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 65
My java works fine straight out of the box with a fresh -current install
 
Old 06-30-2006, 08:10 PM   #224
hitest
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Prince Rupert, B.C., Canada
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD
Posts: 4,163

Rep: Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527Reputation: 527
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwwilson721
My java works fine straight out of the box with a fresh -current install
Cool. I'm not running current. So I can assume that 11.0 will probably run java straight out of the box too.
Thanks. Good to know.
 
Old 06-30-2006, 08:58 PM   #225
cwwilson721
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: In my house.
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10 64bit, Slackware 13.1 64-bit
Posts: 2,649
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 65
To be fair, so did 10.2. I upgraded it (java from Sun), then made the symlinks according to the install instructions, and never had an issue with 10.0, 10.1, nor 10.2 either.
 
  


Closed Thread

Tags
advice, chat, far, general, upgrade


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slack 10.2 slack 10.2 ran xserver after all on sata with via board devafree LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories 5 05-30-2006 11:54 PM
Frozen-Bubble(from slack 8.2) Not Running in slack 9 bongski55 Slackware 8 01-02-2006 04:10 PM
Slack 10.1 will a Slack 10 Wine pkg work? acummings Slackware 1 03-25-2005 04:55 AM
Using Slack 10's 2.6.7 kernel packages on Slack 10.1? SocialEngineer Slackware 1 03-05-2005 11:53 AM
cd rom error on installation media (With both slack 9,1 and slack 10) busbarn Slackware - Installation 6 07-15-2004 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration