LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2010, 07:29 AM   #1
2handband
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Alexandria, Minnesota
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 809

Rep: Reputation: 96
The KDE 4.6 beta 2 issues thread


Thought I'd start this one; I just installed Eric's KDE 4.6 beta2 package. So far looks pretty good, although I haven't really had a chance to play with it much. There must have been an upgrade to kwebkitpart since the version at Slackbuilds.org went up; it's much smoother and one really annoying issue for which I filed a bug report is now solved. KDE has changed the g$dd@#med settings dialog again; can't they leave it alone for two consecutive releases?

I had the same Akonadi issues Eric reported, and my ultimate solution was the same. Contrary to Eric's concerns this will NOT nuke your e-mail if you're a Kmail user; it's safe in ~/.kde/share/apps/kmail/mail.

One big problem so far: the new Kmail won't send or receive email. At all. I'm not sure if this is a bug or something I'm doing wrong; I have a shout for help in over at the KDE forum.
 
Old 12-13-2010, 09:21 AM   #2
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 2,555

Rep: Reputation: 424Reputation: 424Reputation: 424Reputation: 424Reputation: 424
My findings:
- Konqueror doesn't save proxy setting changes, so by default it's always direct connection
- If HAL is not disabled, if you plug USB flash drive, it will appear twice. I haven't tried if HAL is disabled though
 
Old 12-13-2010, 10:24 AM   #3
mlangdn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,377

Rep: Reputation: 170Reputation: 170
I think I'm going to sit this one out - at least until after Christmas. I don't have much time if something goes south.
 
Old 12-13-2010, 10:30 AM   #4
2handband
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Alexandria, Minnesota
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 96
I got the pop to work by deleting the account and starting over. I did the same with the SMTP but it didn't help; outgoing messages just sit in the outbox forever.
 
Old 12-13-2010, 10:45 AM   #5
mlangdn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,377

Rep: Reputation: 170Reputation: 170
SMTP may use a different port than the usual. I had to change mine for my gmail account. I did that in thunderbird, not sure how kmail works on changing ports.
 
Old 12-13-2010, 11:06 AM   #6
2handband
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Alexandria, Minnesota
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlangdn View Post
SMTP may use a different port than the usual. I had to change mine for my gmail account. I did that in thunderbird, not sure how kmail works on changing ports.
I've been using port 587 for Gmail since forever...
 
Old 12-13-2010, 11:12 AM   #7
2handband
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Alexandria, Minnesota
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 96
Tried port 465... no difference.
 
Old 12-13-2010, 01:32 PM   #8
mlangdn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,377

Rep: Reputation: 170Reputation: 170
I had to go look - 587 is what I am using also.
 
Old 12-14-2010, 01:21 AM   #9
y0g1
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 5
Here the same - smtp doesn't work.
No error messages, just messages stay in outbox without any action.
Pop3 works fine.
I did fresh kde setup on newly created user and it didn't help.
Does somebody use smtp in kde-4.6-beta2?
 
Old 12-14-2010, 05:19 AM   #10
2handband
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Alexandria, Minnesota
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 96
I'm working through the problem over on the KDE forum. So far no success. Part of the problem I was having with pop is that the new Akonadi requires Kwallet to save the password... can't say I'm thrilled about that. That level of security is only necessary if you're sharing a computer with someone you don't trust, so in my opinion it ought to be optional.

I also just noticed something else... where the hell is Knotebook???
 
Old 12-14-2010, 06:09 AM   #11
mlangdn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Kentucky
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,377

Rep: Reputation: 170Reputation: 170
Seems like a good decision to wait a bit. I just wasn't feeling that adventurous this time.
 
Old 12-14-2010, 06:18 AM   #12
2handband
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Alexandria, Minnesota
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 96
Except for the PIm issues, it hasn't been much of an adventure. Everything else has been very smooth.
 
Old 12-15-2010, 02:52 AM   #13
y0g1
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 5
Hello,
I have found the solution for missing smtp in kmail2. I opened akonadiconsole and add Mail Dispatcher Agent.
Now smtp from kmail works.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-15-2010, 03:15 AM   #14
ponce
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Pisa, Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 2,447

Rep: Reputation: 875Reputation: 875Reputation: 875Reputation: 875Reputation: 875Reputation: 875Reputation: 875
yupz, can confirm that, tnx y0g1
 
Old 12-15-2010, 04:11 AM   #15
SavoTU
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Slackware64 Current
Posts: 155

Rep: Reputation: 22
After running for a few hours i am not able to open any new apps if i open the console then wait for the problem to occur i get

Quote:
savo@home:~$ k3b
Maximum number of clients reachedMaximum number of clients reachedMaximum number of clients reachedMaximum number of clients reachedk3b: cannot connect to X server :0.0
kde(2695): Communication problem with "k3b" , it probably crashed.
Error message was: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown" : " "The name org.k3b.k3b was not provided by any .service files" "
At the moment i only have Firefox and the console open plus the kde tray apps (kmix Klipper etc).
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You can now marked your own thread as solved : BETA jeremy LQ Suggestions & Feedback 30 07-18-2009 06:27 AM
Beta Test Thread UMG:Chicken_Sop General 7 02-19-2008 03:46 PM
Issues with Qt thread or XDisplay in Linux dipk_23 Programming 0 04-20-2007 02:29 AM
Dreaded Newbie thread. Moving MBR issues simo923 Mandriva 2 02-26-2006 08:06 AM
GAIM 2.0 beta 1 installation issues WayuU Debian 1 01-12-2006 04:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration