LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2004, 10:24 PM   #1
Chryzmo
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Slackware 10.1
Posts: 180

Rep: Reputation: 30
Switching To Console With CTRL+ALT+F2


Heyas,

I recently switched from Mandrake 9.2 to Slackware 9.1. I am liking it a lot mroe now. However, I was wondering if there was a way to get it so that when I hit CTRL+ALT+F(1-6) I can switch to a console, like how it worked in Mandrake? Right now if I hit CTRL+ALT+F2 it takes me to a blank screen with a single blinking cursor at the top left. How do I set it so that when I switch to that screen it will have a log on screen so I could log on as another user and do whatever?

Thanks,
Chris
 
Old 03-11-2004, 10:32 PM   #2
carboncopy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Malaysia
Distribution: Fedora Core, Slackware, Mac OS X, Debian, OpenSUSE
Posts: 1,210
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 45
Assuming that you are not in xwindows environment.

Then the command is Alt+F1 for tty1, Alt+F2 for tty2 and so on. In xwindow, just start the console terminal.
 
Old 03-12-2004, 05:33 AM   #3
slakmagik
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,113

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
You need to edit /etc/inittab to open the other terminals while in X. However, if you hit Ctrl-Alt-F6, you should have one open.
 
Old 03-12-2004, 06:33 PM   #4
flyfishin
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: KC, MO
Distribution: CentOS, RHEL, SuSE, Fedora
Posts: 243

Rep: Reputation: 30
It sounds like you have your machine booting to runlevel 4. When you boot to runlevel 4 you only get one console. I remember seeing the reason posted somewhere but can't remember where. The comment may even be in the /etc/inittab file. As digiot says that one console should be on console 6.
 
Old 03-13-2004, 08:40 PM   #5
medusa
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi Chryzmo,

this thread should answer your question

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...t=console+tty6

cheers
medusa
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005LE: No text mode console at Ctrl+Alt+F2 JLP Mandriva 0 07-18-2005 11:21 AM
No alt-ctrl-F7/F8 spotslayer Suse/Novell 3 04-26-2005 07:50 PM
dark screen when pressing Ctrl + Alt + Backspace or Ctrl + Alt F1-F6 in Gnome or KDE trinoo Slackware 5 01-28-2005 08:13 AM
Switching window focus (like alt+tab in windows) and Ctrl+Alt+F1 X windows problem... DiZASTiX Linux - Software 3 01-20-2005 04:56 PM
ctrl+alt+F6 does NOT restore console kadaver Slackware 1 03-10-2004 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration