LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2003, 07:36 AM   #1
VioLaToR
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Distribution: ArchLinux 2007.08 / Slackware 11.0
Posts: 58

Rep: Reputation: 15
Slack 9, no Run Command upon pressing Alt+F2


Any idea what happened to the Alt+F2 Run command?

This was a very useful feature and it's gone now.
 
Old 06-11-2003, 07:43 AM   #2
chakkerz
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: RedHat (RHEL, FC, CentOS), openSuSE, Mac OS X
Posts: 653

Rep: Reputation: 32
Open up the KDE control center
K>Settings>Control Center
go to "regional and accessibility"
select "Keyboard shortcuts"
under the heading "desktop" should be a "run command"
check it's ALT+F2 ... if it ain't ...
 
Old 06-11-2003, 12:19 PM   #3
Astro
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Ballston Lake, NY
Distribution: Slackware, Debian
Posts: 660

Rep: Reputation: 30
I'm assuming you're not talking about the virtual consoles then?
 
Old 06-12-2003, 10:05 AM   #4
VioLaToR
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Distribution: ArchLinux 2007.08 / Slackware 11.0
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
okay, now i am really confused. Before when i pressesd Alt+F2 nothing was happening. You said to check in the keyboard shortcuts, so i went in there to check it, and it says Run Command Alt+F2. I closed that settings window and hit Alt+F2 and now it works. Very strange... but at least it works now.

Astro, i'm not familiar with the term 'virtual console', so i can't say if the run command is called a virtual console or not.
 
Old 06-12-2003, 01:08 PM   #5
contrasutra
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 1,445

Rep: Reputation: 46
Could you please not use Red Text, it hurts my poor eyes.


Virtual consoles are just different consoles or terminals or CLIs (whatever) that you bring up by pressing Ctrl+Alt+F1-7.

I think he wasnt sure if you were refering to that, or just Alt+F2.

You use virtual consoles if you are just in Text mode and you want to be doing multiple commands/"things" at the same time.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No TTY when pressing Alt+F1 - 7 tribalmasters Fedora 10 08-15-2005 10:02 AM
windowmaker restarts when pressing Alt-Tab sohmc Linux - Software 0 02-23-2005 07:40 AM
dark screen when pressing Ctrl + Alt + Backspace or Ctrl + Alt F1-F6 in Gnome or KDE trinoo Slackware 5 01-28-2005 08:13 AM
Pressing 'alt 1' key twantrd Linux - General 2 01-07-2005 12:05 AM
X freezes when changing screens (pressing CTRL+ALT+*1-7) Glover Linux - General 1 06-28-2002 03:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration