LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2006, 10:11 AM   #1
ppfundst
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: slackware-current
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 0
slack 11 + Core Duo T2600 + cpufreqd2.20 = variable frequency for 1 cpu only?


Hi there!

I am using a Dell m90 with a Intel 2600 (Intel Core Duo 2.1Ghz) processor. I installed cpufreqd-2.2.0 and cpufrequtils-002 on a brand new Slackware 11 with kernel 2.6.17.13 and I can monitor my CPUs (core duo=2 cpus) speed in KDE. All that is working great.

I can customize the rules in cpufreqd.conf and they got reconized well. Simple and excellent.

But.. wait, only ONE of the two processors gets is frequency changed by cpufreqd.

If I do:
Quote:
cpufreqd -D -V 7
(launching in foreground, maximum verbosity), I get upon event (for instance plugging AC cable):

...
Quote:
cpufreqd_loop : New Rule ("AC Rule"), applying.
cpufreqd_set_profile : Couldn't set profile "HPerf" set for cpu0
cpufreqd_loop : Cannot set policy, Rule unchanged ("none").
Yes! only cpu1 has its frequency changed! This is confirmed by the KDE system monitor applet and a
Quote:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
(the lines 'cpu Mhz' is different for each proc):
Quote:
bash-3.1$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 14
model name : Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2600 @ 2.16GHz
stepping : 8
cpu MHz : 2167.000
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx constant_tsc pni monitor vmx est tm2 xtpr
bogomips : 4329.44

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 14
model name : Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2600 @ 2.16GHz
stepping : 8
cpu MHz : 1000.000
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx constant_tsc pni monitor vmx est tm2 xtpr
bogomips : 4322.79

I am kind of puzzuled here; I do not know where to look to debug this...

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks,

Patrick

Just for info, here are my modules loaded:
Quote:
bash-3.1$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
speedstep_centrino 7536 1
cpufreq_stats 5952 0
freq_table 4640 2 speedstep_centrino,cpufreq_stats
button 6032 0
thermal 11656 1
processor 23368 2 speedstep_centrino,thermal
fan 4356 1
battery 8708 1
ac 4484 0
snd_seq_dummy 3716 0
snd_seq_oss 33664 0
snd_seq_midi_event 7040 1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 52432 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device 7564 3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss 42016 0
snd_mixer_oss 18432 1 snd_pcm_oss
ipv6 252448 14
pcmcia 33324 0
firmware_class 9344 1 pcmcia
yenta_socket 25740 0
rsrc_nonstatic 12928 1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core 37912 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
capability 4232 0
commoncap 6272 1 capability
lp 11528 0
parport_pc 26308 1
parport 34760 2 lp,parport_pc
pcspkr 3584 0
psmouse 39816 0
nvidia 4548308 12
serio_raw 6532 0
i2c_i801 8844 0
intel_agp 21788 1
agpgart 30540 2 nvidia,intel_agp
evdev 9600 0
shpchp 38056 0
ohci1394 33328 0
tg3 112004 0
ieee1394 92376 1 ohci1394
i2c_core 18688 2 nvidia,i2c_i801
sg 30108 0
ehci_hcd 33160 0
snd_hda_intel 16532 0
snd_hda_codec 145712 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm 83972 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer 22660 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
sdhci 14720 0
snd 49124 9 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm,snd _timer
uhci_hcd 22412 0
mmc_core 20736 1 sdhci
soundcore 8928 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 8968 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
and my cpufreqd.conf:
Quote:
# this is a comment
# see CPUFREQD.CONF(5) manpage for a complete reference

[General]
pidfile=/var/run/cpufreqd.pid
poll_interval=2
verbosity=6
#enable_remote=1
#remote_group=root
[/General]

#[acpi_event]
#acpid_socket=/var/run/acpid.socket
#[/acpi_event]

#[nforce2_atxp1]
#vcore_path=/some/path
#vcore_default=1500
#[/nforce2_atxp1]

#[sensors_plugin]
#sensors_conf=/some/file
#[/sensors_plugin]

[Profile]
name=Low
minfreq=20%
maxfreq=20%
policy=ondemand
[/Profile]

[Profile]
name=OnDemandLow
minfreq=20%
maxfreq=80%
policy=ondemand
[/Profile]

[Profile]
name=HPerf
minfreq=100%
maxfreq=100%
policy=performance
#exec_post=echo 8 > /proc/acpi/sony/brightness
[/Profile]

##
# Basic states
##
# when AC use performance mode
[Rule]
name=AC Rule
ac=on # (on/off)
profile=HPerf
[/Rule]

[Rule]
name=No AC
ac=off # (on/off)
profile=Low
[/Rule]

##
# Special Rules
##
# CPU Too hot!
[Rule]
name=CPU Too Hot
acpi_temperature=55-100
cpu_interval=50-100
profile=OnDemandLow
[/Rule]

# use performance mode if I'm watching a movie
# I don't care for batteries!
# But don't heat too much.
[Rule]
name=Movie Watcher
programs=xine,mplayer,gmplayer
battery_interval=0-100
acpi_temperature=0-60
cpu_interval=0-100
profile=HPerf
[/Rule]

Last edited by ppfundst; 10-09-2006 at 10:14 AM.
 
Old 10-11-2006, 09:19 AM   #2
marnold
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 256

Rep: Reputation: 32
I don't have a similar setup, but are you using the smp kernel?
 
Old 10-12-2006, 12:13 PM   #3
ppfundst
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: slackware-current
Posts: 11

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
indeed!

yes, i am using an smp kernel:

from .config:

#
# Processor type and features
#
CONFIG_SMP=y
CONFIG_X86_PC=y


Thanks,

Patrick
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Frequency Scaling runa Linux - Hardware 5 04-24-2011 11:23 AM
FC5, core duo T2600, cpufreq works just for cpu0 Tijn Linux - Hardware 3 10-16-2006 04:03 AM
fedora core on mac mini core duo ss4ivan Linux - Software 0 04-10-2006 06:39 PM
Any word on Ubuntu on a core duo cpu? ctt1wbw Ubuntu 3 02-24-2006 06:41 AM
[Q] Warning CPU frequency.... TheEdge Linux - Hardware 2 11-30-2004 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration