LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Slackware (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/)
-   -   Review of Slackware 12.1 (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/review-of-slackware-12-1-a-640581/)

symatic 05-07-2008 12:49 PM

Review of Slackware 12.1
 
http://www.techiemoe.com/tech/slack121.htm

bgeddy 05-07-2008 12:59 PM

Think he was after a Windows style install !!

Anyway - he obviously didn't read the Slackware-HOWTO about adding users.

symatic 05-07-2008 01:47 PM

Yeah, most do not read the supplied help files. I expect more from a reviewer. Atleast distrowatch did a decent review.

hitest 05-07-2008 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by symatic (Post 3145895)

I find it rather amusing when a reviewer writes a critique that demonstrates his lack of knowledge:-)

H_TeXMeX_H 05-07-2008 02:00 PM

To the reviewer, please install Ubuntu immediately, and stop reviewing Slackware without reading a little bit beforehand, and stop complaining about things not being automated, some people like it that way, maybe because the automation is trying to guess what I want to do and just can't.

ice_nine 05-07-2008 03:02 PM

Maybe Slackware jsut really really likes me, but my automount works perfectly every time.

It's almost like it's magic.

phantom_cyph 05-07-2008 03:18 PM

Lol...is that site a joke?

XavierP 05-07-2008 03:35 PM

I remembered adding a user to plugdev from when I tried out Gentoo, so that wasn't an issue to me. It seems that he likes lots of things to be automatic and that's fine, but for people who like to get their hands a little dirty, Slackware is ideal.

symatic 05-07-2008 04:18 PM

I guess he didn't use the arrow key when he adduser to his system it seriously adds the groups for you. Also did anyone else notice sound worked out of the box. Small but significant things in 12.1, I really am impressed.

Quote:

but for people who like to get their hands a little dirty, Slackware is ideal.
When I first heard of linux it was slackware and debian. I'm sure there were more but they were the big ones. I couldn't for the life of me figure out the debian installer, and so my journey began with Slack. I should have sticked with it more through out the years, I maybe would be a more competent user.

SqdnGuns 05-07-2008 04:28 PM

Well, we can fire off an email to him explaining his shortcomings and lack of knowledge and point him in the right direction........

feedback@techiemoe.com

brianL 05-07-2008 04:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by symatic (Post 3146087)
Also did anyone else notice sound worked out of the box.

Yes, I was that eager to get going, that I forgot the alsaconf and alsactl store steps, so it was quite a surprise to hear the KDE startup music. The sound seems cleaner, with a tighter, less muffled, bass too.
As for that article, everyone's entitled to their own opinion - even if it's the wrong one. Slackware suits me.

adriv 05-07-2008 04:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by symatic (Post 3146087)
I guess he didn't use the arrow key when he adduser to his system it seriously adds the groups for you.

Yeah, I noticed that, can't recall I saw that before on Slackware. Something new, or didn't I pay attention before? :)

rkelsen 05-07-2008 06:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hitest (Post 3145967)
I find it rather amusing when a reviewer writes a critique that demonstrates his lack of knowledge:-)

It was amusing at first, but now it is becoming rather annoying.

All he proved was that he didn't RTFM.

phantom_cyph 05-07-2008 06:31 PM

Oh..yah, thank God for (and the Slackware team) getting the sound to work automatically...

AceofSpades19 05-07-2008 06:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phantom_cyph (Post 3146190)
Oh..yah, thank God for (and the Slackware team) getting the sound to work automatically...

automatic is for the weak :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.