LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2010, 12:14 PM   #1
arpanetguru
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: 0
Residual windows after installing NVIDIA proprietary drivers Thinkpad T510/Slackware


I just received my laptop this week and have been tweaking my laptop to acquire more stability. I just installed the NVIDIA proprietary drivers for the NVS 3100M chipset and I have a residual windows that wont disappear even after reboot. Even after reinstalling the NVIDIA driver it stays. Is there some way to flush the framebuffer? Thanks.
 
Old 11-18-2010, 12:19 PM   #2
serafean
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Location: Czech Republic
Distribution: Gentoo, Chakra
Posts: 871
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 103Reputation: 103
Disconnecting all powersource would be the way to go. Have you by any chance left the display on for a couple of hours as a static image? I did that once and had a residual image; a night without power solved it -this was on a desktop and the screen was the only culprit. If the window is still there after a few hours without power/after a bios reset, I'd contact custommer support.
 
Old 11-18-2010, 12:26 PM   #3
arpanetguru
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 80

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I just powered down and removed the battery, still have the window there in kde. Any other ideas?
 
Old 11-18-2010, 12:48 PM   #4
H_TeXMeX_H
Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: $RANDOM
Distribution: slackware64
Posts: 12,928
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269
What exactly do you mean ? Any screenshot ?
 
Old 11-18-2010, 12:50 PM   #5
arpanetguru
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 80

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Well there is one border of a residual window that wont go away. It only appears in KDE, no other window managers. Will post a screenshot when I get back to the computer.
 
Old 11-18-2010, 01:07 PM   #6
H_TeXMeX_H
Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: $RANDOM
Distribution: slackware64
Posts: 12,928
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269Reputation: 1269
Then it has nothing to do with nvidia, IMO. It has something to do with KDE.
 
Old 11-18-2010, 03:03 PM   #7
arpanetguru
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 80

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Yes, the issue is isolated to just KDE, I included a screenshot and you can see the residual just below the top of the screen. Im sure there has to be some way to clear the framebuffer that KDE calls, thanks for all your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_Residual.jpg (156.0 KB, 15 views)
 
Old 11-18-2010, 03:34 PM   #8
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Hanover, Germany
Distribution: Main: Gentoo Others: What fits the task
Posts: 15,592
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046Reputation: 4046
I think that this has not anything to do with the framebuffer. I would think that a setting in KDE is borked. Try to rename your KDE-settings folder and restart KDE. I am not a KDE-user, so I can only guess that it is .kde in your home folder.
 
Old 11-18-2010, 03:46 PM   #9
arpanetguru
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 80

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Renamed the .kde folder to .kde-bak and restarted KDE fixed the problem. Thanks.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xrandr with proprietary NVidia drivers ordealbyfire83 Linux - Hardware 5 09-28-2010 05:36 AM
possible to have two proprietary nvidia drivers installed? zuzoa Linux - Software 1 05-13-2010 03:17 PM
Need help with Nvidia proprietary drivers Dugon143 Linux - Hardware 8 10-30-2007 02:05 PM
nVidia proprietary drivers - different code for different cards? jhwilliams Linux - Hardware 1 06-13-2007 09:59 PM
Proprietary nvidia drivers vs. generic intel sound and ethernet drivers vharishankar Linux - Hardware 2 02-22-2005 05:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration