LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Slackware (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/)
-   -   OpenOffice 2 preview runs on Slack (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/openoffice-2-preview-runs-on-slack-267411/)

dhave 12-17-2004 10:29 AM

OpenOffice 2 preview runs on Slack
 
If you're interested:

(1) Go to http://download.openoffice.org/680/index.html and choose a mirror.

(2) DL a snapshot for Linux.

(3) Unpack the tarball somewhere. You'll get a bunch of rpm files.

(4) Use rpm2tgz to convert the rpms to Slackware packages.

(5) Use installpkg to install the tgz packages. You probably don't need all the files, but I installed everything except the distro-specific menu packages (e.g., for Suse and Redhat). The program self-installed at /opt/openoffice.org1.9.xxx.

(6) Launch the program as ordinary user from /opt/openoffice.org1.9.xxx/program/soffice. (Or .../swriter, .../scalc, .../simpress, etc.)

This worked well on my Slack Current system. I haven't noticed any interference with my existing OpenOffice 1.1.3 installation.

NOTE: (added 22july05) I've since installed many of the snapshots and previews, up through 1.9.120. The simplified procedure above works fine for the current snapshots.


iZvi 12-17-2004 12:20 PM

Thanks, I'll try this. Using rpm packages converted to tgz archives very often brings to me unsolved dependancies. I will probably try this for the fun, but I'm afraid that it will fail. Do you know if it comes with the libraries it requires or will I have to solve dependacy problems? I don't have all of the libraries foer Slack installed.

dhave 12-17-2004 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by iZvi
Using rpm packages converted to tgz archives very often brings to me unsolved dependancies. I will probably try this for the fun, but I'm afraid that it will fail. Do you know if it comes with the libraries it requires or will I have to solve dependacy problems? I don't have all of the libraries foer Slack installed.
I didn't have any dependency problems, but that may not be the case for others. It could help that I already have OO1.13 installed.

dhave 12-17-2004 12:34 PM

iZvi, to better answer question:

I see a bunch of libraries in the /program subdirectory that OO installed, so I think you'll probably be O.K.

dhave 12-19-2004 03:55 PM

If you're interested, here's someone's review of the OO v.2 preview: http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=20293 .

Cedrik 12-19-2004 04:45 PM

And a post install setup :
http://installation.openoffice.org/s...=dev&msgNo=609

gargamel 02-17-2005 11:24 AM

Unfortunately, I can't get 1.9.77 running that way.

(7) # /opt/openoffice.org1.9.65/program/configimport --spool

tells me that there is no spool directory found.

Trying to run OOo, nevertheless, gives me this:

gargamel@host:~$ /opt/openoffice.org1.9.77/program/soffice
*** glibc detected *** free(): invalid pointer: 0x413e4c94 ***
/opt/openoffice.org1.9.77/program/soffice: line 235: 11019 Abgebrochen "$sd_prog/$sd_binary" "$@"

Any idea, what's wrong? I am on Slack 10.1, and have the same difficulty with OOo 1.1.4. In 10.0 it worked.

gargamel

dhave 02-28-2005 02:55 PM

I slightly edited the instructions in the initial post to work with OpenOffice 2 beta candidate, which was just released. The filename is OOo_2.0bc_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz and is available at http://download.openoffice.org/680/index.html .

cavalier 03-05-2005 10:23 AM

I've just downloaed the Beta from OO.o (OOo_2.0beta_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz), and while it's still a whole pile of RPMs, when I run rpm2tgz on them, I get a whole bunch of empty packages. Anyone else run into this problem?

xushi 03-05-2005 11:27 AM

i managed to install it with no problems.

put the rpms into a folder and
rpm2tgz *
pkgtool > current

and then just go to /opt/openoffice/programs/soffice

I have to admit its a beauty.. a big improvement over 1.3

cavalier 03-05-2005 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by xushi

put the rpms into a folder and
rpm2tgz *
pkgtool > current

I unpacked the RPMS, they all look good, plenty large enough to look legit, but the results of running rpm2tgz give me a bunch of files that look like this in pkgtool:
Code:

Package Name: ==>openofficeorg-calc-1.9.79-1.i586<==
Size: Compressed: 0 K, uncompressed: 10 K.

It's like that for every single package.

Am I using a bogus version of rpm2tgz, maybe? It's the stock version from Slack 10.1

dhave 03-05-2005 01:31 PM

cavalier, I can't figure out what's going wrong for you. I did a google groups search and did find a couple of posts about empty tgz files being produced by rpm2tgz. Unfortunately, there was no resolution mentioned.

The tgz files rpm2tgz produced for me are very similar in size to the rpms. I cd'd to the RPMS directory that was created when I unpacked the big OOo2 beta tar.gz file. Then I changed the extension of the distro-specific rpms that I didn't want to convert. Then, as user, I did "rpm2tgz *.rpm". It takes a couple of minutes, but it worked fine.

I'd be happy to upload my OOo2 beta tgz files if somebody knows of a host that can accept them. (This assumes that the OOo license permits this; I'm not sure, but I assume it does.)

cavalier 03-05-2005 02:47 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by clawhead
I'd be happy to upload my OOo2 beta tgz files if somebody knows of a host that can accept them.
clawhead, I've got my own domain/hosted space. My bandwidth limitations won't let me share them with the world at large, but if you wanted to upload them for me, I'd sure appreciate it. Email me at ==>removed<== and I'll give you the site, userid and password.

UPDATE: Thanks to clawhead, this is no longer a problem. Still not sure why rpm2tgz is such a flop on my machine, but I'm past that with my OO install.

jjthomas 03-05-2005 11:17 PM

I followed the instructions posted by clawhead, with the exception I used pkgtool to install the tgz files with; and omitted the
# /opt/openoffice.org1.9.xx/program/configimport --spool
# /opt/openoffice.org1.9.xx/program/update-mime-data "openoffice1.9

steps.

So far it has worked and I do not have a prevous version of OO installed.

Thanks for taking the time to post those instructions.

-J

Wartz 03-06-2005 12:57 AM

Thx for the guide clawhead. I have OO 2 working just fine now.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.