Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.
|
| Notices |
Welcome to LinuxQuestions.org, a friendly and active Linux Community.
You are currently viewing LQ as a guest. By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics, receive our newsletter, use the advanced search, subscribe to threads and access many other special features. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today!
Note that registered members see fewer ads, and ContentLink is completely disabled once you log in.
Are you new to LinuxQuestions.org? Visit the following links:
Site Howto |
Site FAQ |
Sitemap |
Register Now
If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you need to reset your password, click here.
Having a problem logging in? Please visit this page to clear all LQ-related cookies.
 |
GNU/Linux Basic Guide
This 255-page guide will provide you with the keys to understand the philosophy of free software, teach you how to use and handle it, and give you the tools required to move easily in the world of GNU/Linux. Many users and administrators will be taking their first steps with this GNU/Linux Basic guide and it will show you how to approach and solve the problems you encounter.
Click Here to receive this Complete Guide absolutely free. |
|
 |
10-08-2012, 02:45 PM
|
#1
|
|
Member
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-14.0
Posts: 129
Rep:
|
Is frei0r a harmful dependency to ffmpeg?
Howdy Slackers:
Thought I would bring the following to your attention:
On slackbuilds.org, frei0r is an optional dependency of ffmpeg, and when clicking on the source download: frei0r-plugins-1.3.tar.gz at http://slackbuilds.org/repository/14...raries/frei0r/, I am directed to http://www.piksel.no/frei0r/releases...ins-1.3.tar.gz, where firefox gives me the following warning:
Quote:
Reported Attack Page!
This web page at www.piksel.no has been reported as an attack page and has been blocked based on your security preferences.
Attack pages try to install programs that steal private information, use your computer to attack others, or damage your system.Some attack pages intentionally distribute harmful software, but many are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.
|
hmmm... guess I'll skip this dependency for now...
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 02:53 PM
|
#2
|
|
Member
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-14.0
Posts: 129
Original Poster
Rep:
|
but frei0r is mandatory dependency for openshot
But uh-oh... I like openshot, and frei0r is a mandatory dependency of openshot, so does anybody know whether frei0r really is harmful, or is firefox just being too paranoid, and I should add an exception and proceed...
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 03:15 PM
|
#3
|
|
Senior Member
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Pisa, Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,933
|
here clicking on the link under firefox shows no warning (downloads the frior sources)...
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 03:17 PM
|
#4
|
|
Member
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-14.0
Posts: 129
Original Poster
Rep:
|
i guess I'll live dangerously (nothing new), and download it anyways, because I like openshot, and most likely, any malware there would hopefully be directed towards windows...
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 03:19 PM
|
#5
|
|
Senior Member
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Distribution: distro hopper
Posts: 3,657
|
I looked up Frei0r on Freshmeat, and it gave me the following safe mirror:
http://ftp.dyne.org/.index/index.php...i0r%2Freleases
Last edited by dugan; 10-08-2012 at 03:23 PM.
|
|
|
1 members found this post helpful.
|
10-08-2012, 03:22 PM
|
#6
|
|
Member
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-14.0
Posts: 129
Original Poster
Rep:
|
I'm using the 15.0.1 version of firefox that came with slackware64-14.0, and noticed in the "security" pane of its preferences a checkbox for "block reported attack sites"... maybe yours is unchecked, ponce? thanks dugan, I'll try that one, and compare it to the one I dangerously downloaded...
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 03:23 PM
|
#7
|
|
Member
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 259
Rep:
|
frei0r is not harmful. The website that host frei0r's source code seems to have been blacklisted.
If you are worried about using the site download the source code via wget.
|
|
|
1 members found this post helpful.
|
10-08-2012, 03:27 PM
|
#8
|
|
Senior Member
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Pisa, Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,933
|
the md5sum of the file is the same of the one on Jaromil's site (I verified the signature too).
Quote:
Originally Posted by slac-in-the-box
I'm using the 15.0.1 version of firefox that came with slackware64-14.0, and noticed in the "security" pane of its preferences a checkbox for "block reported attack sites"... maybe yours is unchecked, ponce? thanks
|
I just tried with it checked, but still no probs.
Last edited by ponce; 10-08-2012 at 03:29 PM.
|
|
|
1 members found this post helpful.
|
10-08-2012, 03:32 PM
|
#9
|
|
Member
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-14.0
Posts: 129
Original Poster
Rep:
|
Quote:
|
the md5sum of the file is the same of the one on Jaromil's site (I verified the signature too).
|
just verified the same thing
I clicked a link that said "why is this site blocked" and this was the report:
Quote:
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for piksel.no
What is the current listing status for piksel.no?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 10 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-10-08, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2012-10-06.
Malicious software is hosted on 2 domain(s), including rrhyiomkc.ns02.info/, qfwjrs.3-a.net/.
This site was hosted on 2 network(s) including AS224 (UNINETT), AS15169 (Google Internet Backbone).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, piksel.no did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.
|
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 03:37 PM
|
#10
|
|
Member
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-14.0
Posts: 129
Original Poster
Rep:
|
Thanks everybody... I guess it's just trivial, and nothing to worry about! I'm moving on.
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 05:55 PM
|
#11
|
|
Member
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 279
Rep:
|
I just installed ffmpeg two days ago with all dependencies installed. Never noticed the warning since I'm using sbopkg
But when I visit the download page, I do get the security warning.
|
|
|
|
10-08-2012, 08:41 PM
|
#12
|
|
Senior Member
Registered: Jul 2011
Distribution: Slackware64-14.0, LFS-7.3, FreeBSD 9.1
Posts: 1,098
Rep: 
|
I normally never install optional dependencies. Often you can get away with the default dependencies without penalty.
|
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.
|
|
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing
Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute
content, let us know.
|
Latest Threads
LQ News
|
|